728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw

18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw

The Homelite 18 in. Gas 42 cc Chainsaw is ideal for storm clean up, landscape work and firewood. This gas Chainsaw features an automatic oiler that helps keep the chain lubricated and a side a ccess chain tensioner for quick and easy adjustments. The Chainsaw also includes a case, one quart of bar and chain lubricant, and extra chain for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.623 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product70 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 154 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(26)
3
(12)
2
(8)
1
(73)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product70 of 150reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
John
from Hughesville, Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Chainsaw

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this just over a week and cut 10 pickup loads of oak, walnut, hickory, maple and some pine without any problems. I bought this originally to supplement my Craftsman when it's in the shop (about once every two weeks), but found this one to be more trouble free. I did mix the fuel at 40:1 rather than the 50:1 it recommends because of top head troubles experienced with the Craftsman. I figured a little more oil would keep the thing better lubricated without overdoing it so much as to cause gum up in the carb. My hunch was right, as I've had no problems thusfar. For the $99 it's on sale for now, it has already saved me days of waiting for the other one to get fixed. Overall I'm both pleased and surprised that this Homelite is such a good chainsaw for the price. Time will tell if this is better than the Craftsman, but after getting only 2 pickup loads before failure with that one, this one has been the better deal.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, value to price ratio outstanding
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Aayan
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small cleaning/cutting jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This non-commercial chain-saw is the first one I have ever owned and my experience with it wasn’t bad at all. It comes in a nice plastic molded case. No assembly required, just add the Bar oil, mix the gas with stabilizer oil in a dedicated gas container, pour the gas in the chainsaw and you are in business.
I had no problems starting it the first time/every time since I followed the exact directions mentions in the User Manual. This chainsaw helped in cleanup good amount of 15-25 feet tall trees that had about 3-6 inches thick trunk along with bunch of thick bushes. It took me about half an hour roughly to cut them all. This half hour does not include the time refilling the gasoline about 3 times, refilling the bar oil 3 times and adjusting the chain tension 4 times and of course cleaning time.
Overall I had no problems with cutting except when I cut anything that was thicker than 5 inches; it would struggle a bit even though the chain was brand new. I don’t know if that’s normal or not. While you are running it, you will notice the bar oil all over the bar and chain. That’s normal and by design to keep the chain lubricated. More than a month old gas is not recommended for this unit.
It weighs about 10 lbs. but after adding gas, bar oil and mixing oil, you will be carrying 11+ lbs. It’s a good product for small cleaning/cutting jobs around the yard for what it costs. If you plan to cut anything thicker than 10”, I would not recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Sharkey1989
from Hermon, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't answer this until he opens the box on Christmas Morning

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Husband was looking for the same one he brought over 20 years ago and it still works. I found another gas Homelite Gas Chainsaw 18 ". Apparently my Hubby thinks they work Great and with 8 acres of land and trees to be cut. I hope he will be very Happy Christmas Morning.
Merry Christmas :)
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
LosRubios
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good saw for occasional home use and winter logging

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this saw to replace a 10+ year old Homelite 18" 49cc chainsaw which started having carburettor problems during the summer after 10+ years of great service. This saw is a little different to start than the previous one with no throttle button. Instead you use the chain brake during starting which takes a little getting used to.
I like the fact that the saw comes with a carton of 2 cycle oil, a quart of chain bar oil and a spare Oregon chain. It is all you need to get going and to keep the saw running. Even though we used our old saw every winter for firewood, we only had to replace the saw chain after 10 years as we kept it sharpened during use.
Following the starting instructions, the saw starts as expected and it did need a few seconds to warm up before the throttle could be opened without stalling the engine out.
My wife decided she'd like to try out the saw and found it to be light and easy to use as can be seen from the attached video and pics.
After 30 mins use we had to tighten the chain and the new design for tensioning the chain and bar is much better than our old saw. The tensioner screw and the bar nuts are easily accessible whereas our older saw had the tensioner screw betwen the bar and the exhaust and would get clogged with oily sawdust which needed scraping out before the screw could be adjusted.
I was a little concerned that the newer model is only 42cc (compared to 49cc our older model) however the smaller engine wasn't noticeable and the saw handled 10" thick logs with no trouble. We ripped through a decent amount of wood in about an hour. The saw needed refueling after about 20 mins of use as it ran out of gas, however it didn't airlock and started right back up again.
It does seem to idle quicker than our older Homelite saw and as a result, it drops more chain lube oil on the ground while idling.
The saw seems to have more plastic parts than the older Homelite 18" however it still seems quite durable.
If you cut your own firewood and have a decent sized yard with trees that need maintaining, this is an excellent choice. It is a great price and comes with a handy hard plastic storage case when not in use for easy storage.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
John
from Hughesville, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow up on Nov 11, 2013 Review

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have completed my firewood cutting project with this saw (the Craftsman is still in the shop) and have no complaints whatsoever. I cut 18 pickup loads of hardwood, some as large as 26", without any problems from the saw. This was the best $99 I ever spent on a 2 cycle engine product. Actually, I got 10% off that price with the military discount, so the deal was outstanding.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: the firewood didn't cut itself the saw did it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
JETT
from Northeast PA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18" Homelite chainsaw

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little chainsaw have taken hardwood trees up to 14" in diameter without issue, many reviewers seem to have trouble starting chainsaw, advice would be to READ AND UNDERSTAND ALL DIRECTIONS before using, ensure chain tension is correct after warm up, gas to oil ratio is correct, gas & bar oil tanks are full and start cutting, have not had any issues with mine since initial use, cut several cords of hardwood with so far and looking forward to cutting many more, if there were a negative chains dull rather quickly, not an expensive top of the line chainsaw but for price range and quality of use saw is a very good value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Josh
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a alright saw for the price paid $80 on sale

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Main Reason I bought this saw was just for a back-up since my other saw runs the same fuel ratio and chain and it me with a hard plastic case all set up on sale for $80. When I first bought this saw it came with gas already in it. I had to pull and pull to get it started. it ran, but like garbage. I put fresh gas in and it won't start. I pulled the spark plug and it had a ton of dirt on it. not something you expect buying something new. I cleaned the plug and it fired right up, it won't idle. I gave the Idle screw a quarter of a turn and now it runs great. it has ok power good for smaller limbs and around the house use. if you got a lot of firewood then I would recommend get a better saw then this, but it will get the job done.
Pros: Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Mike
from Anderson County, Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked for two days

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for two days. will not start. The carburetor work not allow gas to go to engine, need a kit. Guess what no kit is made for this throw away. Had to buy new carburetor for $40.00. I was told by the parts department that it may work for about 20 more hours. The men at the parts place said that Home lite is now made to use only around the home very lightly. My last Home lite lasted several years but was not made in Chain. Workmanship has went down to the point, I will never buy one again. My Dad was right went he said, There was coming a day when nothing will be made with pride and in the USA.
Pros: Easy to Store, go looking, liked the brake system
Cons: Not Durable, under powered, throw away carburetor, no kit for carburetor must buy a new one
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
bigmama14
from ms
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great saw for the price

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw with case and extras well worth the price.Cranks right up easy.Enjoying this saw
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Klide
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incredible value on a terrific saw

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw is a great but. It will cut anything in its path with ease. Simple to operate. Plenty of safety features. Lots of cutting power.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Brama
from Effort, PA 188330, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

used a few hours the next day It wouldnt start and oil leaked all over my floor

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm returning this product by thursday hopefully I can get one that works without a problem like this one has given me..
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
xsmoor
from Antioch
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

chainsaw

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not a quality chainsaw----does not do good work
slow chainsaw- husband not satisfied with it
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Woody
from LaFollette, Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

piece of junk...Homelite Chainsaw

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The absolute worst item I have ever purchased....first time I tried to use it....pull rope broke....on off switch defective....chain flew off during use.....pure junk...if it were automobile...I would get full refund plus some $$$$ for my aggravation.............
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Greg
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got my project done

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
$79 on sale.... extra chain...2 year replacement .
I had a choice an expensive on that will break down anyways like th eone I am throwing away or something ot get the job done yesterday...
You may get what you pay for but sometimes you get a GOOD BARGAIN.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
JMReno
from Reno, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Bad

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought it because it was on sale (and I hadn't read the reviews). It came with a case, a scabbard, and an extra chain.
It is very hard to start at temperatures below 50 deg F. Above 50 deg F it starts ok as long as you follow the directions.
I have used it about 14 times for a total of about 14 hours. It still works fine.
I use canola oil for the bar because I don't want to put petroleum-based oil in the environment (and me). Naturally, I use real petroleum oil for the gas-oil mixture.
I fill the gas tank about half full and the bar tank full so I run out of gas before I run out of bar oil.
I am pleased with this thing and have trimmed almost an acre of trees with it. It is much more convenient to use than the electric chainsaw I had been using.
And it cuts really well.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
handydad
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great consumer grade saw!!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With all the negative reviews I had to add this review to comment on the good quality, ease of use and value. Don't get me wrong, this is not a pro saw and it will never compete on an even scale with the pro brand saws, but for a quarter of the price this saw does the job it was intended to do. Saw starts like most 2 stroke saws and if you are first time user, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! My saw is now 2 years old has worked very well after approx 50 hours of use. Original chain is a slow cutting consumer low kickback type that lasted about 20 hours cutting hardwood that was up to 40" in diameter. Now using regular pro type chain and the saw cuts even better now. Great saw, but not for the pro.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
JJJJJ

Great home owner chain saw

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice carrying case, extra blade, simple instructions and started right up and ran super smooth.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
aroyals
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small jobs around the property

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comes in a nice hard plastic case. We used it to clean up the cottonwood trees in the back of our property. The thickest branches we cut were about 4" and it did okay. This is definitely not a professional grade chainsaw, so don't get it expecting it to cut down your 2' wide 30 year old trees without a struggle. But we grab this when we need to cut more firewood from our burn pile and it starts right up (follow the starting instructions to avoid frustration). It comes with an extra chain which is great as well. So a good value for basic small jobs, just don't expect it to move mountains.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
Mick
from St Charles
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homelite Chainsaw Doesn't Cut It

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used once to remove fallen limb. Put away for winter. Spring is here and it won't run. Opened case and found bar oil leaked out of saw. Took it to Homelite authorized repair facility and was required to pay $35 to have it serviced for warranty work. Homelite warranty is not guaranteed even though I purchased 6 mos ago. Will never buy another Homelite product. Stich with Stihl.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw
M2131
from Tennessee
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad for the price

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my dad for Christmas. It was on sale and I was looking for a lightweight saw. The salesperson warned me not to buy this saw. I figured for the price I would try it and bring it back if I had problems. It has been used to cut up firewood and clear trees from a fence row. It has been run everyday for about a week without any problems. It was hard to start the first time out of the box but afterwards has done great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>