728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw

18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw

The Homelite 18 in. Gas 42cc Chainsaw is ideal for storm clean up, landscape work and firewood. This gas Chainsaw features an automatic oiler that helps keep the chain lubricated and a side access chain tensioner for quick and easy adjustments. The Chainsaw also includes a case, 1 Qt. of bar and chain lubricant, and extra chain for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.714 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product92 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 199 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(36)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(89)
Features 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product92 of 191reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sacramento CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Good Product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these from Home Depot back in Nov of 2014 used it to cut some fallen trees and was fine. I didnt use it again until this Spring and it was hard to start. When I did get it started it would shut down on me and I had to wait unitl it cooled off before I could start it again. Now it wont start at all its completed dead!. It says under warranty but you have to take in into a shop and they charge you $40 bucks just to look at it. I bought a second saw to replace the first one and this one is the same, it shuts down after it gets too and does not start anymore. I took it back for a full refund and tossed the first on in the trash
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small cleaning/cutting jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This non-commercial chain-saw is the first one I have ever owned and my experience with it wasn’t bad at all. It comes in a nice plastic molded case. No assembly required, just add the Bar oil, mix the gas with stabilizer oil in a dedicated gas container, pour the gas in the chainsaw and you are in business.
I had no problems starting it the first time/every time since I followed the exact directions mentions in the User Manual. This chainsaw helped in cleanup good amount of 15-25 feet tall trees that had about 3-6 inches thick trunk along with bunch of thick bushes. It took me about half an hour roughly to cut them all. This half hour does not include the time refilling the gasoline about 3 times, refilling the bar oil 3 times and adjusting the chain tension 4 times and of course cleaning time.
Overall I had no problems with cutting except when I cut anything that was thicker than 5 inches; it would struggle a bit even though the chain was brand new. I don’t know if that’s normal or not. While you are running it, you will notice the bar oil all over the bar and chain. That’s normal and by design to keep the chain lubricated. More than a month old gas is not recommended for this unit.
It weighs about 10 lbs. but after adding gas, bar oil and mixing oil, you will be carrying 11+ lbs. It’s a good product for small cleaning/cutting jobs around the yard for what it costs. If you plan to cut anything thicker than 10”, I would not recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
44out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't make this mistake

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The chain oiler has been leaking oil, making a mess, from early on. Now, after light occasional use for about a year, the pull-start has broken. I dismantled it to see what's wrong and found that everything except the spring is made of plastic. So that's what wrong. I bought this product because of positive experiences with Homelite in years past. Big mistake. Save frustration and don't make the same mistake. Price was low compared to the good ones but still a very poor value. Quality is so low, this wouldn't be a good value at any price.
Cons: Not Durable, cheap flimsy plastic
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good saw for occasional home use and winter logging

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We got this saw to replace a 10+ year old Homelite 18" 49cc chainsaw which started having carburettor problems during the summer after 10+ years of great service. This saw is a little different to start than the previous one with no throttle button. Instead you use the chain brake during starting which takes a little getting used to.
I like the fact that the saw comes with a carton of 2 cycle oil, a quart of chain bar oil and a spare Oregon chain. It is all you need to get going and to keep the saw running. Even though we used our old saw every winter for firewood, we only had to replace the saw chain after 10 years as we kept it sharpened during use.
Following the starting instructions, the saw starts as expected and it did need a few seconds to warm up before the throttle could be opened without stalling the engine out.
My wife decided she'd like to try out the saw and found it to be light and easy to use as can be seen from the attached video and pics.
After 30 mins use we had to tighten the chain and the new design for tensioning the chain and bar is much better than our old saw. The tensioner screw and the bar nuts are easily accessible whereas our older saw had the tensioner screw betwen the bar and the exhaust and would get clogged with oily sawdust which needed scraping out before the screw could be adjusted.
I was a little concerned that the newer model is only 42cc (compared to 49cc our older model) however the smaller engine wasn't noticeable and the saw handled 10" thick logs with no trouble. We ripped through a decent amount of wood in about an hour. The saw needed refueling after about 20 mins of use as it ran out of gas, however it didn't airlock and started right back up again.
It does seem to idle quicker than our older Homelite saw and as a result, it drops more chain lube oil on the ground while idling.
The saw seems to have more plastic parts than the older Homelite 18" however it still seems quite durable.
If you cut your own firewood and have a decent sized yard with trees that need maintaining, this is an excellent choice. It is a great price and comes with a handy hard plastic storage case when not in use for easy storage.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Raleigh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Utter rubbish

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked until I stored it for a month. Now will only start when it is cold. Run out a tank and wait a day before it will start again. The carburetor screws require a proprietary tool so forget manually adjusting it. Worst waste of money HD has ever foisted off on me.
Cons: bad quality, proprietary tools required
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Berwick, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the price

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The chainsaw is exactly what I was looking for. I have been shopping on line for a month for the one I wanted. Could not beat the price of Home Depot for the entire package.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Won't start after storing.

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Can't start it after storing it for two months. I was very happy when it was running. Ran great until short storage period.
Went out and bought an electric chain saw which did the job but is so much less efficient than the gas powered when it starts. Even after emptying fuel tank and mixing fresh batch and it still didn't start. Arm may take months to heal. lol
Cons: Not Durable, starting after storage
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the money this is an exceptional saw. I cut a LARGE amount of wood annually, I own multiple pro. series Stihl chain saws, 026, 028, 034 & 044. These are all professional grade saws that I have owned for years. I needed a smaller saw for trimming and cutting smaller wood that was not as heavy as my Stihl saws, they are all 15lbs plus. Althogh the Homelite dose not have the brute power of the Stihl saws it is a VERY good saw for the smaller cutting jobs. I am a seasoned wood cutter and think that the saw is a great value and would probably suffice for most people as their main saw. Overall as cost to performance it is a great saw. You just have to remember that it a residential grade saw and not a pro modle and that it will only take as good of care of you as you do it. The number one thing to remember about a two stroke motor is to dump ALL the fuel and run the carb dry before putting it away to store and start with fresh mix if your's has been on the shelf more than 30 days and the saw will start and run fine each time you use it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Vermont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reviews scared me!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My Homelite 18 inch saw as a gift. They also purchased the extended warranty with it (about $12) giving me 4 years of warranty total. It starts every time and I have no issues so far. Some of the problems I have read sound like user error. I would recommend reading the owner’s manual before use, it should eliminate a lot of these concerns. I have noticed complaints about the plastic tensioner. All those reviews appear to be at least a few years old. My saw has metal components for the tensioner. Older pictures of the saw show a big plastic dial, they must have done a redesign. The leak from the oiling system may be addressed in the owner’s manual. It does say to open the caps on the gas and oil tank to relive the pressure after use and before storage. I would assume if left under pressure the oiling system would leak but I don't know for sure. I drain the fluids after every use and clean the saw with compressed air. You do have to stay on top of the chain tension, mine was loose out of the box. This could be the cause of some reviews saying their chain jumped off the bar causing damage to the saw. First use was for about 2 hours on and off, I had to adjust chain tension a couple of times. Normal for a new chain from what I am told. I cut mostly small downed trees the largest being about 12 inches in diameter with no problems.
Pros: Light Weight, price
Cons: need to run more for accurate reliability review.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hughesville, Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Chainsaw

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this just over a week and cut 10 pickup loads of oak, walnut, hickory, maple and some pine without any problems. I bought this originally to supplement my Craftsman when it's in the shop (about once every two weeks), but found this one to be more trouble free. I did mix the fuel at 40:1 rather than the 50:1 it recommends because of top head troubles experienced with the Craftsman. I figured a little more oil would keep the thing better lubricated without overdoing it so much as to cause gum up in the carb. My hunch was right, as I've had no problems thusfar. For the $99 it's on sale for now, it has already saved me days of waiting for the other one to get fixed. Overall I'm both pleased and surprised that this Homelite is such a good chainsaw for the price. Time will tell if this is better than the Craftsman, but after getting only 2 pickup loads before failure with that one, this one has been the better deal.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, value to price ratio outstanding
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw at a great price!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I moved out onto three acres that had a lot of trees and brush that needed trimming. I almost purchased a $350 Stihl, but I've had so much trouble starting my Stihl weed-eater that I just couldn't bring myself to pay that money. My dad had this same chainsaw and recommended it. I figured I could buy three of these for the price of one of the Stihls. It was delivered to my house promptly, but the case was broken. One call and a new case arrived about a week later. By the way, a case for the Stihl saw was another $50.
About the saw - I love it. It cuts great, it starts every time, and so far I haven't had one issue. I've had it about 2-3 months and probably put 20 hours on it already. My dad's has lasted over 5 years and it starts every time too.
I recommend this saw: it will save you money, will start with ease, and will handle plenty of limbs, brush and medium sized trees. Don't waste your money on the more popular name brands. By one of these and something else you need for the same price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw

Best starting saw ever.

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I keep the Stihl in the Ranger and use the Homelite instead. Used to spend too much time starting the saw. Not now! Worn out 4 chains in 2 seasons.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Baltimore, Md
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A long sad story

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked the first season, but wouldn't start the second season even though we followed the storage advice in the manual. We took the carburetor apart and realized that the factory switched the tubes for the primer. Instead of pumping gas to the carburetor, it was pressurizing the gas tank. Crazy! We eventually got it running, but while working on it I realized that this is a cheap weed wacker with a saw attached, and that it's simply not going to last. Luckily there's a Stihl dealer up the street from me so for just $50 more, I got something that works great and will last. Even my friends didn't want the Homelite so I just threw it away :(
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great consumer grade saw!!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With all the negative reviews I had to add this review to comment on the good quality, ease of use and value. Don't get me wrong, this is not a pro saw and it will never compete on an even scale with the pro brand saws, but for a quarter of the price this saw does the job it was intended to do. Saw starts like most 2 stroke saws and if you are first time user, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! My saw is now 2 years old has worked very well after approx 50 hours of use. Original chain is a slow cutting consumer low kickback type that lasted about 20 hours cutting hardwood that was up to 40" in diameter. Now using regular pro type chain and the saw cuts even better now. Great saw, but not for the pro.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hermon, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't answer this until he opens the box on Christmas Morning

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My Husband was looking for the same one he brought over 20 years ago and it still works. I found another gas Homelite Gas Chainsaw 18 ". Apparently my Hubby thinks they work Great and with 8 acres of land and trees to be cut. I hope he will be very Happy Christmas Morning.
Merry Christmas :)
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you only use this saw about twice a year it might be okay. The engine actually seems fine but its all the other parts around it that just don't last. Muffler fell off. Chain tensioner won't stay tight. Won't idle well after a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Dallas, TX

DO NOT BUY THIS SAW!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you read the other reviews, you will notice several common complaints:
Chain oil leaks everywhere
Chain will not stay on the bar
Hard to start after being run for 20 or 30 minutes (Overheating)
I just returned my 3rd Homelite chainsaw in as many months. The first two were this model (18 in.) and the 3rd was the 20 in. Homelight. All three saws experienced the issues mentioned above, especially the overheating issue. Clearly Ryobi (who manufactures Homelite) has significant design flaws within these saws. I will NEVER buy another Homelite or Ryobi product again after this mess.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Good but dont expect it to LAST.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a tech at homedepot in a very busy area so I see all the returns and issues with all the products we sell. All homelites are basically built for the season, if you get more than one season out of the product you got lucky. THEY ARE NO LONGER BUILT WELL LIKE THEY WERE IN THE EARLY 2000's. Most of the homelites don't even come with air filters.
This saw does work well but only for small jobs and again will not last like an echo, Husqvarna, or stihl. Considering the cheapest echo to compete with this starts at $249, I would only recommend this saw to homeowners that will only use it for a season or are tight and cant spend the extra 100.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw

nice case

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
first time used started and ran as it should after about 10 minutes i shut it off moved some wood then went to restart and would not start. noticed air bubbles in prime bulb after 20 minutes it started then did the same thing brand new and needs fixed not happy
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 42cc Gas Chainsaw
from Anderson, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Terrible

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this saw a few years ago ...18" 42cc Model UT10580A I used the saw for about 15 minutes, ran out fuel and stored it over the summer...Fueled it and started it up. It ran for about 5 seconds and died out...I carried it to a shop twice...They could not repair it..Acts like it is not getting fuel...Worst purchase ever...Still looks like new...A useless paperweight...
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>