728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for UV9 Pond Filter

UV9 Pond Filter

The Beckett UV9 Pond Filter helps to reduce green water in ponds. This filter emits germicidal UV light to over-expose free-floating algae. This filter is recommended for ponds up to 600 gallons.
Overall rating:
3.83 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product45 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product45 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for UV9 Pond Filter
Review 1 for UV9 Pond Filter

Bad choice

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered on line. Shipped incorrect item (a set of 3 pond lights instead). Returned at store and re-ordered. Product arrived on 2nd order.
In my opinion, this product is poor at best. It is not designed to handle pressure of 200 gph pumps at all. The biggest complaint is that there are only 2 fitting sizes that "snap" (not screw) into place. Therefore, the build up pressure of reducing from higher gph pumps causes leaks and ultimately breakage of flimsy plastic nipples/fittings. I went to Lowe's and they actually have UV light/clarifiers in stock (Smart Pond brand I believe) and purchased a similar unit (at app. $20.00 more).
After an easy install, and 3 days later, I have clear water in my koi pond without any leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Anderson, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

short life

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have had to replace the first one, and now the new one only lasted about 3 months and the light went out. now i have to get another light because my pond is turning green. i think it shouldve lasted longer than that. if this is normal i will say this is not a very dependable product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UV9 Pond Filter

Product lightbulb broke within the first week.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Displeased. Product broke within the first week. Never ha time to uninstall and return the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am not happy with the product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought said product to help with my fish tank, what the product did was act like a water heater . I went to a timer with the hopes that it would help, but it didn't. I will have to wait till the winter months to try it again, but for others wanting to use it in an in pond with fish I do not recommend it.
Cons: functionality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Hawaii
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hawaii/Alaska BEWARE!!!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is an excellent item ON THE MAINLAND. Replacement bulbs are NOT available in Hawaii even though Home Depot sells them in their Stores.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UV9 Pond Filter

Terrible and mis-leading

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought this pump, installed it and it leaks, Called the company and spoke to someone who couldn't be less interested. She told me it was my pumps fault, (I have a very old, small pump) this filter can't handle over 600 GPH. The package says 400-800 GPH, She told me "take it back to Home Depot, Good Bye and have a great day" (Home Depot ad says up to 350GPH)
Cons: Leaks, misleading package, disinterested customer service
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UV9 Pond Filter

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed the pond filter to my pump and every thing seemed to be alright. I came back in a couple hours to check how it was working and it looked as if the pond water level had went down. I checked the fittings and they were okay, I had the filter in some plantings and when I picked it up the seam in the middle of filter was leaking at a rate of about five gallons an hour. I returned the filter and bought a competitors model which is working fine.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UV9 Pond Filter
from surf city, nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product leaks

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The half inch adapter leaks. It cannot be submerged, so it will empty a small pond in a few days
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Regret purchasing this pump

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My pump stopped working after 2 months of usages. I did n't realize till the next season. However when I asked Home depot about they asked me to talk to manufacturer .
Cons: Not Durable
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Staten Island, NY

Poor-man's UV filter

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This may work with some effort. First one I ordered came with some oily liquid inside UV chamber, of cause it did not work. Replacement worked (I love that HD is easy with replacements/returns), but had fingreprints on the lamp (which I cleaned to save the lamp). This shows that maker does not do good work with packaging.
Problems with filter:
1)Those snap-on 1/2 inch connectors(as shown on picture) will definitely leak. If you need 1/2 inch connection, buy threaded connector for 90cents (could be included).
2)There are no holes to attach(screw) this filter to base/wall.
3)Needs a strong pump to push water through, and may need priming (filling filter with water) if filter positioned lower than water intake.
I decided to keep it because it is cheap and I made it work (wasting couple hours and trips to Home Depot).
It seems to work (clean water).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Las Vegas, NV

Works great.... for a while....

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This worked great keeping my 150 gallon outdoor pond crystal clear. However after the bulb burned out, locating a replacement is nearly impossible and nobody seems to be able to ship it in less than 10 days in the meantime, your pond will choke with algae. There are several of this type of UV filter on the market... I would recommend finding one that is easier to replace the bulb and avoid this model.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Canfield, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beckett UV9 Pond Filter

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Not sure, as I had to reorder unit 2 x. Each had arrived cracked at the center hub. Home Depot accepted the returns at my local store, however, it became an inconvenience. The problem lies in Beckett's warehouse since shipping packaging would have warded off a gorilla attack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Harrington Park, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UV9 pond filter

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The filter it self is good but the twist on connections they include leak I had to BUY my own screw on connectors after a call to the manufactured told me to use screw on connections available at home depot. I recommend the filter but with the additional cost of the screw on connections.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: twist connectors leak, cleans pond good
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UV9 Pond Filter
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works as long as you use the 1" fittings

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I love that the uv light can be seen through the fittings, however I couldn't prevent the 5/8" fittings from leaking. The uv filter comes with rubber o rings, however the locking mechanism cannot apply appropriate pressure to prevent leaks. The 1" fitting works perfectly, preventing leaks and griping the hose. I suggest picking up some hose clamps for added security.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: 5/8" fitting is flawed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UV9 Pond Filter
from rochester, pa

little fixes

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a good pond water cleaner. But I had a hard time putting it together. I used vaseline on the o ring but the fitting would not slip over it. I found if you use an exacto knife on the inside where you press down and turn in the groove, cut a thin bevel on the edges that will come in contac with the oring
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

10 days and no change

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
10 days with no change in the water at all. Disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Boulder, colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insufficient hardware included

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've owned a lot of UV filters in 40 years. UV filters come and go, and have to be removed from the filtration system for convenient cleaning, and to replace the bulb every year or so. Most of us who have done this year-after-year know that using barbed hose hardware and metal hose clamps are b.s., especially if you run the pond through winter and it's cold outside. We connect and disconnect hoses to UV lights, filters, etc. with standard hose connectors, the modern plastic variety with large knurl nuts that allow you to loosen and tighten the connection with your bare hands (i.e. No Tools). This unit does not come with any hose connection hardware. It has only barb hardware, which forces you to cut the hardware off an existing hose, or go out and buy brass adapters to go from 3/4 pipe thread to standard hose thread. If you can't find plastic adapters, the brass will cost you $16.00.
A talking point for this filter is that the barbed connectors are made of clear plastic, so you can see at night whether the filter is on. You can see a dull UV glow at a distance emanating from the connectors. If you use hose connectors on your pond hardware however, there is no light to see because the unit doesn't come with a UV hose connector. You have to use opaque brass or plastic hardware that isn't translucent. How much would it have cost the manufacturer to include pipe to hose thread translucent fittings, perhaps 10-cents? If you have a hose fitting application, how much will it cost you to adapt? If you do, you won't see any light from this unit. The light emitter should have been on the outside housing of the unit, or they should have provided the translucent hose connector hardware.
UV filter bulbs are always expensive, and their life is about a year, even if you only run the light 4 months of the year when algae is a problem. None of the outer plastic housings leak, and they're all the same, so all that's important in the long run is how long the UV bulb lasts, how easy are they to replace, can you find them easily, and how much do they cost? You want the light to be visible at night (above) so you can monitor bulb life and know when you need to change the bulb. If the bulbs burn out in three months, you need to find another brand of filter. This unit initially had an appealing price at $60, but lost its luster when I had to buy additional hardware to install it, and I didn't get benefit of the light. Consider this before you buy if you intend a standard hose connection application.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: insufficient hardware
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Holiday Fl.

Only way to have a clear pond

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Already have UV filter on my other pond,a different brand.It is the only way to keep water sparkling clear.This one is just about the same set-up,only problem was it has fittings for 1/2 inch tubing or 1 inch tubing.
I have 3/4 tubing ,very common,so I had to return to the store and spend $4.99 for two other fittings that screwed right in.One thing I like about it is at night you can see if the bulb is working.My other pond you do not know if the bulb burnt out until the water starts turning green.I would recomend this UV Filter to anyone with a pond.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UV9 Pond Filter

I love the fact that you can see if the light is on.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 600 gallon pond and I have started to notice a difference in water clarity (2 weeks). It was very cloudy so I might have to do a water change so the filter can keep up with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks like this will do the job

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 13 days ago in 125 gallon pond and can now see my fish in the water. Based on other reviews I was expecting the water to be clearer sooner. I do belive it will do the job. Has worked better than anything else I have tried. Was easy to set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>