728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ponds & Pond Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for UV9 Pond Filter

UV9 Pond Filter

The Beckett UV9 Pond Filter helps to reduce green water in ponds. This filter emits germicidal UV light to over-expose free-floating algae. This filter is recommended for ponds up to 600 gallons.
Overall rating:
3.898 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product37 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product37 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for UV9 Pond Filter
Review 1 for UV9 Pond Filter

Product lightbulb broke within the first week.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Displeased. Product broke within the first week. Never ha time to uninstall and return the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UV9 Pond Filter

Terrible and mis-leading

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this pump, installed it and it leaks, Called the company and spoke to someone who couldn't be less interested. She told me it was my pumps fault, (I have a very old, small pump) this filter can't handle over 600 GPH. The package says 400-800 GPH, She told me "take it back to Home Depot, Good Bye and have a great day" (Home Depot ad says up to 350GPH)
Cons: Leaks, misleading package, disinterested customer service
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am not happy with the product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought said product to help with my fish tank, what the product did was act like a water heater . I went to a timer with the hopes that it would help, but it didn't. I will have to wait till the winter months to try it again, but for others wanting to use it in an in pond with fish I do not recommend it.
Cons: functionality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UV9 Pond Filter

Bad choice

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered on line. Shipped incorrect item (a set of 3 pond lights instead). Returned at store and re-ordered. Product arrived on 2nd order.
In my opinion, this product is poor at best. It is not designed to handle pressure of 200 gph pumps at all. The biggest complaint is that there are only 2 fitting sizes that "snap" (not screw) into place. Therefore, the build up pressure of reducing from higher gph pumps causes leaks and ultimately breakage of flimsy plastic nipples/fittings. I went to Lowe's and they actually have UV light/clarifiers in stock (Smart Pond brand I believe) and purchased a similar unit (at app. $20.00 more).
After an easy install, and 3 days later, I have clear water in my koi pond without any leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Hawaii
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hawaii/Alaska BEWARE!!!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is an excellent item ON THE MAINLAND. Replacement bulbs are NOT available in Hawaii even though Home Depot sells them in their Stores.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UV9 Pond Filter
from surf city, nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product leaks

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The half inch adapter leaks. It cannot be submerged, so it will empty a small pond in a few days
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Anderson, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

short life

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have had to replace the first one, and now the new one only lasted about 3 months and the light went out. now i have to get another light because my pond is turning green. i think it shouldve lasted longer than that. if this is normal i will say this is not a very dependable product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Canfield, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beckett UV9 Pond Filter

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Not sure, as I had to reorder unit 2 x. Each had arrived cracked at the center hub. Home Depot accepted the returns at my local store, however, it became an inconvenience. The problem lies in Beckett's warehouse since shipping packaging would have warded off a gorilla attack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Staten Island, NY

Poor-man's UV filter

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This may work with some effort. First one I ordered came with some oily liquid inside UV chamber, of cause it did not work. Replacement worked (I love that HD is easy with replacements/returns), but had fingreprints on the lamp (which I cleaned to save the lamp). This shows that maker does not do good work with packaging.
Problems with filter:
1)Those snap-on 1/2 inch connectors(as shown on picture) will definitely leak. If you need 1/2 inch connection, buy threaded connector for 90cents (could be included).
2)There are no holes to attach(screw) this filter to base/wall.
3)Needs a strong pump to push water through, and may need priming (filling filter with water) if filter positioned lower than water intake.
I decided to keep it because it is cheap and I made it work (wasting couple hours and trips to Home Depot).
It seems to work (clean water).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Las Vegas, NV

Works great.... for a while....

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This worked great keeping my 150 gallon outdoor pond crystal clear. However after the bulb burned out, locating a replacement is nearly impossible and nobody seems to be able to ship it in less than 10 days in the meantime, your pond will choke with algae. There are several of this type of UV filter on the market... I would recommend finding one that is easier to replace the bulb and avoid this model.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UV9 Pond Filter
from rochester, pa

little fixes

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a good pond water cleaner. But I had a hard time putting it together. I used vaseline on the o ring but the fitting would not slip over it. I found if you use an exacto knife on the inside where you press down and turn in the groove, cut a thin bevel on the edges that will come in contac with the oring
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

10 days and no change

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
10 days with no change in the water at all. Disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UV9 Pond Filter
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works as long as you use the 1" fittings

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love that the uv light can be seen through the fittings, however I couldn't prevent the 5/8" fittings from leaking. The uv filter comes with rubber o rings, however the locking mechanism cannot apply appropriate pressure to prevent leaks. The 1" fitting works perfectly, preventing leaks and griping the hose. I suggest picking up some hose clamps for added security.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: 5/8" fitting is flawed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UV9 Pond Filter
from georgia

Tired of fighting Algae!!!

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had a 300 gallon pond for 2 years and it seems all I do is fight the pea soup algae. I was having to add algaecide at least once a week and it was starting to kill my fish. I researched several brands of UV filters online and this one was the best price. I like the ability to attach this unit with several size pump hoses. I connecting mine to a small spitter pump with 1/2 inch tubing. I did have an O-ring leak when I first attached the included barbs, but there is an extra set included with the unit that I used and no leaks. The only other problem I forsee is where to purchase a replacement bulb when this one burns out. Other than that I think is was a good buy. The algae was gone in 2-3 days. Good unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Houston, TX

I have only had it a little over a week.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wish I would have bought this along time ago! It would have saved me a lot of work and water. I did drain my pond some and added fresh water so it wouldn't have to try and clear up so much. I did go to the hardware store and bought fittings and clamps so I could hook it up. But my water is clear, I have only had it a little over a week, instead of the pea green soup it has been for the past year!
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I don't know if the unit is durable, because as I said, I've only had a little while.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks like this will do the job

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 13 days ago in 125 gallon pond and can now see my fish in the water. Based on other reviews I was expecting the water to be clearer sooner. I do belive it will do the job. Has worked better than anything else I have tried. Was easy to set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UV9 Pond Filter
from dallas tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to instal,

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very satisfied with this product. It arived as soon as they said it would i couldn't waited to install it. I had tried just about everything to get rid of the green water in my pond.did not take but less than a week to clear the water crystal clear. Now i can see my fish and the bottom of the pond.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Wilkes-Barre, Pa

Did the job

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This filter cleared up the algae in our pond in a couple of days. We did have a little bit of a hard time with the hose connectors but eventually we got them to work. Good product for the money and does a great job so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Ocean Isle Beach, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to purchase some addistional adapters to put it into my application but they seemed to connect OK.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UV9 Pond Filter
from Holiday Fl.

Only way to have a clear pond

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Already have UV filter on my other pond,a different brand.It is the only way to keep water sparkling clear.This one is just about the same set-up,only problem was it has fittings for 1/2 inch tubing or 1 inch tubing.
I have 3/4 tubing ,very common,so I had to return to the store and spend $4.99 for two other fittings that screwed right in.One thing I like about it is at night you can see if the bulb is working.My other pond you do not know if the bulb burnt out until the water starts turning green.I would recomend this UV Filter to anyone with a pond.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>