728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit

Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit

The Kerr Lighting Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit features a low-voltage incandescent lighting system that's designed to remain consistently bright while producing a warm candlelight appearance. The kit comes with everything you need to mount the lights to new or existing wooden or composite structures like decks and docks. Weather-resistant components will help keep the equipment safe from damage outdoors.*Size and weight are approximate.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
Review 1 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
KristaOhio
from Ohio

We LOVE these lights!

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking to illuminate our deck, without drawing bugs with too bright of a light. We tried several versions of rope lighting, but every time sections would go out and we finally gave up. I asked an associate at Home Depot if there was anyting we could install into our deck and he said that everything like that would be a special order. I looked online and found these lights. We decided to give it a try. They were very easy to install, but it look a little while to complete the project. My husband used a jig-saw to cut holes in the deck floor, and these lights just pop right in. The electrical connection was not difficult, just follow the directions. They come with everything you need to complete the project (except the saw, wire cutters, and pliers). We receive constant compliments on these lights and they have really turned out great. They even withstand our son stepping on each one as he runs around the deck!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
James
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lights blow out constantly

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had these about 4 years now at my lake house. When they were new they look great. The winters in Alabama get pretty cold on the lake so we shut everything down. Every spring, since I have these, I have had to replace at least half of the 28 lights I have. Four years later, half of the light covers are broken. If these had not been so expensive when I bought them, I would replace them. Now I am just trying to keep them looking half way decent.
Pros: look good new, woork good new
Cons: Appearance, have to replace light bulbs frequently, look terrible after 4 years, light covers get very brittle over time, hard to find replacement parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
Dave

Good choice

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The good reviews are deserved. However, you cannot keep the transformer inside - it's photo activated only. It is made for outdoor use....
If you are mounting the lights to a composite deck you will need to 'block' the back - the mounts do not work with a normal composite decking thickness. Otherwise, excellent lights!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
MJay

Very happy with my deck lights

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We added on a huge deck in our yard; wanted lights that looked classy but did not overpower with brightness; these have been perfect. Easy to install; love the options with the sunsensor and the timer; and possibly the favorite feature of our deck! Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
docklight
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent lights

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to place low level 12 V dock lights on our dock. After several weeks of internet searches and reviews, we decided on this set. We purchased them here because HD beat everyone, including Amazon, by 25 dollars. The lights installed easily and work perfectly for what we wanted, look great at night. Only down side to this system is if any replacement parts are needed, the company really charges a lot per individual component. We had gotten another smaller set at a greatly reduced price on ebay, and have three spare lights due to that, so spare parts, at least for a while, shouldn't be an issue. We highly recommend these for areas easily accessible for installation, like a dock.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
allthenamesweretaken
from Clarksville, TN

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, and worked amazing. Definately a great buy for deck lighting when you need something but don't want it over-bearing. Excellent. Would definatley buy again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
joelgjr

Excellent value

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Compared to almost every other option out there, this is by far the best value. Does not provide bright light by any means but can easily make a deck or walkway safe and warm. Also, the 4 watt bulbs total only 56 watts on all 14 lights. That's a 44 watt excess on the supplied 100 Watt transformer. you can easily add more lights, or as I did put in 6 watt bulbs. Fixtures take up to 11 watt bulbs which are sold at homedepot.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deck/Dock-Mount 14-Light Outdoor Light Kit
yourfurnitureman
from Wolcottville, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great outdoor lights...we used these on two decks and couldn't be happier

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights were very easy to install in our decks, overall they are very nice lights and a nice control box, If we were in the market again we would choose these lights again today.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.