728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Skylights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs

14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs

Install the ODL 14 in. Tubular Skylight to help bring natural light into an interior space. The energy-saving skylight provides the light output equivalent of five 100-watt light bulbs. The skylight features an acrylic dome and an easy-to-clean diffuser. Designed for asphalt roofs, the skylight comes with the hardware needed for installation.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product38 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product38 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
Review 1 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Seattle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blue Tint, Plastic roof boot :o(

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So, I spent the last few days installing two of these skylights and two 14" Velux skylights. We put three into his house and one into mine. Both of the ODL ones have rather tight articulation - that's to say that the elbows are towards the end of the tubing. The plastic coating that covers the inside was put on prior to them assembling the tubes, which made it extremely difficult to articulate the angle prior to removing the film. Removing the film was difficult, as the metal was riveted together over the film. You're best bet is to gently push the metal in around the articulation joint as you pull out the film. IF you get the film out, then it will be easier to turn. That being said, the Velux was superior as there was about an extra 5" between articulation points.
The ODL had two long sections, which are connected, with one being marked TOP and one being marked BOTTOM. You'll need to buy extra tubing if there isn't an overlap of 2". I had a 2" gap and had to pay an additional $40 or so for the extension. The Velux comes with two articulation elbows and a 24" section of metal that you have to assemble with self tapping screws. This turned out to be much easier to use that the ODL.
The Velux has a nicer METAL (vs plastic) roof boot. It has a larger dome. It has a more diffused diffuser over the ceiling part, which is in fact two pieces of plastic sandwitched to about 1" thick. The ODL has a piece of glass that has small bumps, which refract more like tiny diamonds. In other words, the Velux had a more evenly scattered light falling on the objects around. However, the major difference in my opinion is that the tube/dome in the ODL gives off a bluish cast. The light coming in from the ceiling, looks like a very blue fluorescent tube light. The Velux light was much more evenly cast and gave off a more natural color.
The Velux also had much higher quality components, with four packs of screws (some were self tapping), whereas the ODL didn't even come with self tapping screws. If I could take back the ODL for the Velux, I'd do it in a minute.
A note on installation: if you can get a straight shot up from the ceiling, it will be your best choice. Any articulation (I had to move 7" off center over a 52" span because of a roof truss) makes for a major headache in installation. Two of the skylights we put in had this difficulty (which was more difficult with the ODL). The two that went in straight we could have easily done in two hours. Another note, don't do like some videos show and pull off all the roofing material above. Simple lay the roofing boot over your spot on the roof, upside down, and mark the radius with a crayon or chalk, then cut it out with a reciprocating saw. Put into place and seal it up.
Given the difference, I would definitely spend the extra $50 for the Velux.
The far left dome is the ODL, the two closer ones are the Velux.
Pros: Great Value, Functional
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Santa Maria, California

What a difference

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these for my darkest problem rooms, Kitchen, Living room, Garage They are now bright and beautiful. I keep reaching for the switch to shut off the light that I left on and then I smile and realize it is my new solar tube. They were quick and easy to install and I can hardly wait to see my electric bill next month. I even enjoy watching the light flicker as the clouds go over. Now every room in my house is bright and cheerful. Well worth the investment and they qualify for the government rebate for solar items. A added plus for the effort. Going green is affordable, thank you Home Depot!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Basehor, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great way to add needed light.

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 2 14" ODL tubular skylights. One for the utility room, the other for a bathroom that had no windows. They were both easily installed by my husband, and the extra light produced is fantastic. We have had several people come and try to turn the light off in the bathroom. We are installing another in our kitchen as it does not have enough light, and we love the others so much, and know another one will give us the added light we so much need. The only problem we have had was condensation in the utility room, and ODL sent us another lens to add and we have had no problem since. We wrapped the tubes with 31/2" installation from the roof to the ceilings. Would highly recommend doing this, and also the skylights.,
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Easy to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation instructions lacking

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed a 14" tubular skylight. The instruction guide indicates that you can turn the top tub to the desired position prior to installing it in the plastic roof flashing. I found that not to be the case. I had a tight turn in the attic, but I could only put the top tube down into the flashing with the smallest of bends because the tube joints would hang up on the flashing. The other problem I had was the tubes wouldn't bend. They put the plastic film in the tubes and into the joints of the tubes so you could hardly turn them at all. I spend hours picking film out of the joints prior and during the installation. I have installed two other tubular skylights from another manufacture, and I did not have these problems!
Cons: not a top shelf product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from homer glen il.

best buy

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the second one i have in the house and the light iit throws is awesome
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Vacaville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do recommend you read the installation instructions thoroughly before attempting this install. However, the directions are pretty easy to follow and the install went smoothly. It is much easier to do with two people (one in the house; one on the roof). My install was in a cathedral ceiling with no attic access but was too long a run for the "short" tube install and we had to make a few modifications to our plan.
I am amazed with the amount of light in my otherwise dark living room. Already planning to install the 10 inch model in my bathroom. Light is crisp and clear with no blue color (as reported by one previous customer)
Pros: Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good light. some problems with installation.

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I tried a flexible tubing unit and it was junk - would not transmit any light. This unit works very good. I had some problems with twisting the bottom and top tubes so they would go at an angle to fit between the rafters. It was very difficult to make them twist.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

How times have changed

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
About 10 years ago, when I built my house, I installed 4 ODL tubular skylights. Although they were difficult to install, They were worth it given how much light they add to the home. I have recommended them to several people after that experience. During a recent addition to my home I added 5 more of these tubes. As I finished the installation I found that the quality of these has dropped significantly. I found that the factory crimped rings for rotating the angles had either not been crimped much at all, or they had trimmed enough metal off to not make a solid connection at all. I would imagine this was done in an effort to increase profits by a couple dollars on every ten thousand or so they sell. I had one of these fail at 3 different joints while trying to align and install it. There is nothing like being twisted into a pretzel in a hot attic trying to reassemble one of these that was constructed with such poor quality. Even though I was able to get them back together, I would imagine that these are basically being held together with tape at this point. After this experience I would hesitate before recommending this product to anyone in the future.
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs

Lots of Light

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have the 14" model and can't believe the light it puts out.
My install went terrible. Everytime I went to adjust the elbows on it, it fell apart. The extention left gaps if I would have done it thier way. Directions were rotten. Don't give you enough tape for all the seams.
If you were going straight up, I think this thing would be a piece of cake to install, just buy extra tape.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Californis

No dimmer available

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this kit unless you are sure you really need the 14" diameter. Why? They make a dimmer ONLY for the 10" dia. model. One would think there would be one available for the bigger diameter model which lets in more light, but no, they say the don't sell enough of these to justify making one. So why even sell the 14" then? Sheesh!!
Cons: no dimmer available
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Skylight!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased a pair of the 14" tubular skylights as well as a 10" tubular skylight a few years ago and installed them in the living room, kitchen, and guest bath of my house. I love them so much that I just recently purchased another 14" tubular skylight for another room in my home.
They put off an incredible amount of natural light. The color of the light is not like a window with the sun shining in, it is a much cooler, blueish tone. I installed one 14" skylight in a 18x20 living room and it lights up the entire room. We do not have to turn a single electric light on until about 7-8pm on sunny days. We are able to pull the thermal curtains closed on all of the windows in the room and have natural light without excessive heat. Everyone that comes to our house comments on how great they look.
The installation process is not something that anybody can do without a bit of experience as you have to saw a hole in your roof and ceiling and line it up between the rafters. It is definitely a two person job unless you are fortunate enough to have 3-4 arms.
The only negative that I experienced is that the layout pattern for the 10" skylight that I purchased is too large, leaving you with a hole in your ceiling that is too big for the skylight to fit in. Luckily I was able to still get it installed, but had to caulk around the skylight and have to be extremely careful not to have the tube and everything fall out of the ceiling when cleaning the diffuser. You have to clean the diffuser every once in a while on the inside too as bugs tend to get trapped in there over time...even if you tape all the seams of the mylar tube.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs

Once installed this product is excellent, and recommended.

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installing the flashing went well, no problems. But rotating the tube in the attic caused both top rings to seperate due to the protective tape binding the rings. It was frustrating to get them together again. In section 5 the tube should be installed into the ceiling before the trim ring is installed. The installation took longer due to the above, from start to finish about five hours, this was my first install so I wanted to take my time to do it right. Now Iam very happy with the product and would recommend it.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: elbows hard to bend due to plastic in them
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Dallas Tx area

Kitchen remodel

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third Tubular skylight and the biggest one (14") the kitchen is dark when we put the awning down so this is a energy saver also no need to turn the lights on durning the day, The first two lights where install in the bath rooms (no windows). Now we have to close the door at night so we can sleep in past sun rise.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from California
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Payoff

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was having the roof done so I decide to add this gadget to the kitchen for more light. The installation is pretty easy, but the expense was great, I needed three 20" extension tubes due to cathedral ceilings, I don't know why the extension are so expensive but in total they were half the cost of the skylight itself. My wife is pretty happy with the amount of light that is coming in. My only advise is to count the cost before buy it. for me it came out to about four hundred and thirty bucks and I don't know when this light will pay for itself.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The skylight claims to give as much light as 5 regular bulbs, and it does and maybe even more. It was fairly easy to install with extensive instructions including pictures to help. The tube is a bit flimsy and won't take a lot of pushing or twisting so care must be taken when working with it but once installed I doubt this will matter as there is no need to make any additional adjustments to the fixture. My wife thought the outside dome was a little large and unsightly, I thought it was fine. The interior portion looks just like a large ceiling light fixture and is attractive enough. If you're looking to add some additional light to a room and can't fit a regular skylight or just don't want to do the extensive work involved with a regular skylight, this is a great alternative,
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a wonderful way to bring light into the room! Saves on energy too since I don't have to have lamps on during the day.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of solar tubes. It's a wonderful way to brighten up a space and it actually lifts my mood! This kit is complete and is very easy to install. Any handy homeowner can do it and you will definitely improve the liveability of your home and it's value!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Glendale, AZ

It added light to a dark area of the living room and kitchen

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I accidently placed it in the right area besides adding light to a dark area of the living room it lights up the kitchen also. The basic instulation was easy ie cutting the holes and mounting the top and bottom rings/tubes. The problem I had was trying to turn the anglers to get the top and bottom to line up for the middle tube. The metal is real thin and wanted to bend so had to be real careful, also wanted to bind and wouldn't move to get the proper angle. I was finally able to get the angle close enough to install the middle tube to work but was not perfect. That is the reason for the four stars instead of five. It should proably be three stars or 3 and a half.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from Tacoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is fairly easy but....

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to put in the kitchen. It is fairly easy and straight forward to install unless you have very little room to work. I Followed all the instructions to put it in which is a must! The first problem I ran into was after I cut all the holes and started puttin it in I couldn't get the pipes to pivot and line up. So what I had to was tear part the two spots that pivot on both tubes and take out all the plastic that was in between there. This was easy but when it came to putting back the pieces well that was very difficult and time consuming. After I had gotten all the pieces back in I started adjusting them to meet up with both holes. This was a little difficult. After I got everything into place I did not like the way it looked. I wanted to get the maximum amount of sunlight and I don't think it would of happened if I left it. So I ended up buying the extension kept the small end of each tube and just lined them up and taped them in place. Which was one thousands times easier. I would buy the extension if you are working in small space just in case. You can always return it
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Fits in Various Rooms
Cons: not functional, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs
from indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good product

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the 14" tubular skylight to help in lighting an an island in our kitchen. I also have installed a 10" in our home. Installed everything myself directions were good. The 14" tends to come apart easily at the rotation joints and is much trickier to get aligned and installed than the 10". I would recommend the manufacture add the option of an additional rotational elbow for this product. I had to get creative because of my attic space and roof sloop. All in all I would purchase this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. Tubular Skylight Kit with Composite Flashing for Asphalt Roofs

Tubular skylight

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The skylight rooftop installation went well, but the quality of the tubes are poor. You need to rotate the tubes to reach the opening and they fall apart. It is very difficult to put back together and don't fit well. I would not recommend this product due to the poor design.
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>