728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)

Ponytail Palm (Indoor)

Ponytail Palms are the perfect accent bonsai for low maintenance enthusiast. These trees thrive in low light conditions, and require infrequent watering and feeding. The delightful "fountains of foliage" add soft, cascading lines to the indoor landscape.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product21 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product21 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
Review 1 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

You won't be disappointed with this beauty

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This plant is stunning. Straight out of the box, I couldn't believe how huge it was. I had picked it out for my office and was nervous it was too large, but when I got it on my cabinet I thought it was a perfect size. It's eye catching and pretty. I've gotten many compliments.
The pot is a different color than the one pictured, but still very pretty--it is a more of a jade color than it appears in my photo. I was really impressed that the plant arrived in good shape with a nice pot, rocks, and tray. I really feel like I underpaid for this plant, especially when I think about how much I've paid for less impressive plants elsewhere.
Also, I was pleasantly surprised when this plant arrived within 2 days of placing of order, even with the standard shipping. I really didn't enjoy the 500,000 little packing peanuts included in the box, and I really couldn't find a way to get the plant out without making a mess. Took forever to clean up, but it wasn't a big deal, and it really kept the plant protected.
I like this plant so much, I'm planning to buy another for my parents.
Pros: Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, stunning
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Manchester, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiflul Palm

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great table top tree for the home or office. Even better in person. Well packed!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)

Small but beautiful

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pictures can make items look bigger than they are so understand that this palm is 8-12 inches when you receive it. It definitely didn't go into the space I'd chosen but I still love it. I also read the reviews ahead of time so was forewarned about all the packing peanuts and was prepared. (place a kitchen garbage bag in your kitchen sink and pour the peanuts in prior to trying to take the plant out). Mine came recently watered, perky and looked beautiful. I am really glad I purchased it and am considering a second one.
Pros: Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Los Angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good idea to get this shipped

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for the Ponytail Palm in particular as they are pet safe, but by the time this arrived, it was already starting to become white at the base of the leaves, which is not a good sign. I tried to water it once as you're not supposed to water these too much, and the leaves started to brown, and then it died. I think these plants cannot survive the journey if you are getting them shipped to your house.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ponytail Palm

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received a ponytail palm as a christmas gift. I live in Nebraska, it was <0 degrees in early January when I received the palm. The instructions said some of the palm could die out due to shipping. So I waited and it looked good for a couple weeks then it started turning light brown. My daughter who ordered this for me lives in Florida, she visited me the first week of March and told me that my palm was dead. I called Home Depot and they said they would replace it at no cost, but it would not be shipped for a few weeks. Finally I called at the end of May and asked about it. They told me I had to buy a new plant altogether. After talking to manager the best they could do was give me 10% off and free shipping. Reluctantly I still bought it because it was supposed to be a present. So I got 1 tree and PAID for 1.9 trees. So much for the better customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from bel aire, KS.

healthy beautiful packed well

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very beautiful plant just like the picture.packed well and arrive in a quick timely matter. Will buy again.
Pros: Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from South Brunswick, New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pony Tail Palm

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a gift I had sent to my daughter in Denver so I never saw the actual product. But, she is a "plant person" & loved it!! she said it was a bit wilted when it arrived but it sprung right back. I was also very pleased with the accuracy of the delivery. it was on time -as promised.
I also had help ordering it online from one of your staff at a local Home Depot.
so, Thank you!
Pros: Stylish, relatively healthy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Cookson, OK 74427, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The plant is beautiful.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The plant was carefully packed and arrived in good condition. The information provided about the plant was valuable and I thank you.
I was extremely impressed with the packing and i say GREAT JOB Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Lafayette,Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought two,everyone that sees them,LOVE THEM! Probably get more later.they are extremely hearty and look much better than these pictures show.
Pros: Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Cape May, NJ 08204, USA

really enjoying this

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered a few plants for myself for the holidays and this one is also very nice. I have it in my office and already the leaves have grown. It's so interesting and pretty. It does not require alot of care and the pot it came in is attractive as well. I think anyone would be happy with it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Toms River NJ

This product was everything I expected and more

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bonsai was healthy and beautiful. It was a gift for a friend and she loves it. It is also much bigger than I expected for the price. I am very satisfied.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Ardmore, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EXCELLENT PRICE

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This arrived perfect. Packed perfect. Better than pictured!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)

wonderful!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Came quickly and well packaged. Healthy, large plant. Highly recommended.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ponytail palm was a good plant only complaint was that i have purchased this plant before which was larger in size

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
plant was a good investment to go with other plant that i purchased last year, which is growing very well.
Pros: Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Arrived frozen and died in a day

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was frozen upon arrival. Could have been the fact that it was left in a cold truck overnight or warehouse. Arrived wrapped extremely well so props to the Home Depot. " defrosted" overnight to a gorgeous vivacious green palm only to shrivel and die the next day. Very sad to see it go.
Pros: don't know. it died
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Lake Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice bonsai. We ordered this with a second one (the bonsai sago); they came very well packaged in the same box. Both plants were in very good condition and have remained looking great after about a month.
It came planted in a dark blue, rectangular ceramic planter. The humidity tray is a black rectangular plastic tray that you put gravel in (gravel included) and place underneath the planter. It's cheap, but it serves its purpose and didn't warrant a lower rating because it's a good price for a plant of this quality even without the humidity tray.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pretty

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My pony tail plant arrived today in excellent condition. I do wish HD would stop using the styrofoam packing materials as it was such a mess to clean up after getting the plant out of the box. I had thought HD was more environmentally conscious. The plant in the pot was packed well but the humidity tray was simply dumped into the styrofoam in the bottom of the box. After spending 20 minutes cleaning up the peanut foam I forgot the tray was supposed to be in there so had to retrieve the box from the garbage and sift through the popcorn to find it. Having complained about the packing, the plant is very sweet. Hope it does well.
Pros: Stylish
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from va
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT BONSAI

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
from all plants I purchased from home depot this one is great.It's worth the money.If you looking for something that can last and looks great get it, don't bother with other plants.Some of the bonsai's especially the blooming ones are not worth the money
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great palm

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this type of palm. They are simple to maintain and grow slow. Palm was shipped in a protective box with no problems.
Pros: Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ponytail Palm (Indoor)
from Sterling, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Looking Plant

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just received mine today.I can't believe how nice and big it is. It arrived in excellent conditions. Thank you Home Depot!!!
Pros: Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>