728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Combustible Gas Detectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

For nearly 85 years General Tools has grown to become the recognized industry leader for specialty hand tools and instruments. The PNG2000A Detects natural gas, compressed natural gas, ch4, methane, propane, butane, liquid natural gas (LNG), liquid petroleum gas (LPG) to locate leaks in pipes, valves and fittings. This essential tool is packed with features such as audible and visible annunciation and Catalytic combustion sensor. The high sensitivity of the unit to natural gas (methane) and LPG (propane) and affordability make it ideal for the technician, do-it-yourselfer or homeowner.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
Review 1 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Angola, NY 14006, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works like promised

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I smelled gas in my house, but could not tell where it was coming from. Tried the old soap in a squirt bottle and still could not find the leak. I went on line to see if I could find something that would help and came across the General Company's "Gas Seeker". After reading mostly good reviews on the product, I thought I would give it a try.Simple and easy to use. Just push the button, let it warm up and simply pass it over your gas pipes and it will beep and show two different lights if it detects any gas. One light for a small slow leak and another for a larger leak. I found the first leak right away, so I kept checking more gas connections and found four more leaks!. It was money well spent and the price reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

Good Product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rerouted a gas line to fit a new stove and was pretty sure I could smell a gas leak, so I purchased this gas leak detector. It alarmed on the connection that was leaking instantly. After I resealed the pipe, this gas leak detector verified the connection was no longer leaking. Easy to use and well worth $40.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

able to detect large leaks only

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This detector is easy to use and detects large leaks. For example, if you turn on a kitchen gas burner and don't light it, you can hold the detector over the gas flow and it will detect the gas. Of course you can also easily smell the gas since the gas company adds an odor. I was trying to find a small leak due to a loose pipe fitting. I could get a whiff of the smell of the gas but couldn't be sure which joint was leaking. Unfortunately, my nose is more sensitive than this detector so it didn't help me. Ultimately, a more expensive detector was able to detect this small leak. So this product is useful only if you are seeking leaks of a certain magnitude. Since natural gas in my community has the odor added to it, I didn't find this detector helpful and I returned it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lives up to its claims!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a leak at my sons townhome in the gas line feeding the furnace. Even the highly paid house inspector with a high end gas "sniffer" said that the smell was due to the furnace belching upon startup and the furnace room should have better venting. I didn't believe him and purchased this unit and, behold, found the leak. After two hours of draining water heater and moving some plumbing to get to the leak, problem solved! The house inspector, if he had done his job, should have recommended this be fixed PROIR to us purchacing this townhome.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Louisville Ky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Better than soapy water

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product performed as advertised. I tested it on a leak I already knew about and it confirmed the source.
The only drawback is the fact it does not have a pump like the testers costing hundreds of dollars do.
Because of this, you have to get very close to the leak for the sensor to pick it up.
But for the price, I think it is better than traditional soapy water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do Not Buy. Does Not Work.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Held it right up to an open burner on my stove. Held it for 30 seconds. Nothing.
Held it right up to a gas leak in a furnace that my maintenance guy was fixing a that had a very obvious leak everyone could smell. Nothing.
Held it right up to the exhaust of my car. Held it for 30 seconds. Nothing.
Don't waste your money.
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Howell, Michigan

Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you fall into the category of amateur home-repair person, or just want something that is better than soapy-water, this is the device to have. This no-frills gas detector will provide you an ease of mind, as it does exactly what it is supposed to do. After having the detector delivered, I immediately went to my shop and tested the sensitivity of the product. It has two different levels that are displayed through a yellow and red LED light, along with two- different sounds that correspond to the light color.
If you are looking for something that will provide the exact amount of explosive gas in the air – this is not the product. Save your $50 dollars and put it toward one of the $200 - $300 testers. However, if you want something to have in your toolbox that will give you peace of mind – this is for you. And besides – it is made in the good ol’ USA!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Columbus, OH

Inexpensive and Useful Tool

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a very small natural gas leak in my basement above the suspended ceiling. I could smell the gas, but the use of a liquid detector fluid was of no help. The chemical the gas company puts into natural gas can be detected very easily by your nose, way before any explosion can take place, so the leak must have been very small. I started looking for some type of electronic gas detector and was expecting to pay a hundred dollars or more. I then came across the General Tools Gas Detector.
I ordered it and used the detector to check each pipe joint, and soon discovered a very, very small leak coming from one side of a joint. Repaired the joint and now no leak. The only negative is that since this is a passive unit (no sucking of air into the unit), it is a little slow in detection, but for the cost it was well worth it since non-passive units cost hundreds of dollars. Will use on all my gas line repairs so there will be no surprises.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Federal Way, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always went to fault mode after warmup

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the batteries & it warmed up & immediately went to fault mode (beeps at 1.5 sec intervals & yellow light on) I changed batteries, locations & indoor/ outdoors but still got the fault code. I returned it, will order another one. Hope this one will work. I like the concept.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: did not work fault code
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Colorado

pen style natural gas detector

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just converted from propane to natural gas and were smelling a 'gas' odor so we ordered this pen style gas detector. It works great, we detected a small leak and were able to fix it without calling for help. It is good to have around for any future problems. We are very pleased with the quality.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product for general home use.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item is as described, works fine but it does not seem to be a sensitive as I would like. Fortunately I stopped the leak before the tester arrived, at least for now, it is a reoccuring problem which soap and water solution or even commercial products have not shown the leak. I will be waiting to try this tester next time. I will also use it in my RV where the smell of gas spreads quickly and is hard to find. I used it during the filling of my Propane tanks and it alerted quickly to the gas in the air. I think it is going to work just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Cincinnati, OH

Great little detector

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a small leak in a natural gas fireplace. We had a repairman investigate and he was unable to find it. I tried to detect a leak with the detergent/bubble test method and was unable to find it. With this little natural gas detector, I found the problem in a matter of minutes. It is easy to use but sensitive enough to find a very small leak. Great product! It paid for itself it's first use!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

Turned on but did not work at all

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews and knew that some people had issues with this unit, but also saw that is actually worked for others. Well, I thought I would try my luck. I followed the directions completely and made sure it was zeroized in a clear-air area. I tested the unit at various locations including directly in the gas line. The unit didn't do a thing. No chirp, no light, nothing. I tried many times. I ended up taking it back....I got a dud. If you like to gamble, go ahead and try your luck with this one. I'm not headed to Vegas any time soon.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

Nice for the price

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I smelled gas in our furnace room but could not locate the leak.
I ordered this and it arrived quickly. I was able to find and fix the leak immediately. May not be what the "professional" needs, but for the homeowner it is perfect.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a propane water heater with a small leak. I could not find the leak but with this detector I was able to locate the leak fast!! Would highly recommend this product . Works well in tight spaces.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Utah
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great basic detector for the price

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeping in mind the price point of this device, it has done well. For my purposes (i.e. home and a few rentals) this was a perfect non-professional solution. I tested it on a known leak both an obvious leak and then a smaller tough leak. It detected both. This gave me more confidence with unknowns. Use is easy and seems to be a solid built detector. The mesh screen in the tip seems a bit exposed but otherwise exactly what I needed.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector

Glad I had it.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product prior to installing a tankless water heater which required changing out some gas line. It worked very well, sounding an alarm when even a little residual gas was in the line. Although I did the traditional soapy water test on all the new gas unions I found I felt more confidence in this detector to reassure me there were no gas leaks. The Home Depot price was the best I found (dramatically so compared to some sources) and shipping was quick enough that I had it before I started my project. A+!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Device

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a gas leak coming from the line to our fire pit and could not figure out where it was coming from. My husband replaced the valves and we were still smelling gas. We purchased this tool and it helped us discover the leak was actually at the base of the fire pit just under the concrete in an elbow joint that got corroded. It has lights on it that turn yellow for small leak detection and then turns red for a larger leak and it beeps accordingly, faster for red.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Bristol, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked exactly as advertised. It works great and is small and versatile. For the money I would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, cost
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pen Style Natural Gas Detector
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very hand tool

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is a very usefull tool.It found a leak that soap and water missed.I have been looking for the leak since we bought our home and it was in a pipe that the gas company installed
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>