728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function

Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function

Since 1910, General Tools has grown to become the recognized industry leader for specialty hand tools and instruments. The battery operated DCO 1001 features an electrochemical CO sensor with 3 points of auto calibration: 0, 100 and 500 ppm. The meter has a Backlit LCD Display and simultaneously exhibits Dual Readings of the current CO level and the maximum level since the meter was powered on, updated every second. Other features include automatic calibration to 0 ppm in fresh air and an audio alarm that can be set to sound whenever the CO level exceeds any of eight selectable levels, to indicate a dangerous CO concentration. It has a measuring range of 0-1000 ppm and comes complete with a soft case, a wrist strap, 3 AAA batteries and an instruction manual. Ideal for HVAC contractors, Plant Operators, Automotive experts and other professionals to detect dangerous carbon dioxide buildup.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
Review 1 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function

I don't trust it

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was using this for my home inspection business and it seemed to read 0 then when I would pick it up it would jump all over. 70-140 then 0. Didn't feel like I could put families health on the line with these results.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
from Manchester, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good instrument to check CO in home

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used an indoor rated gas heater in the basement during the cold weather and eventually a home CO monitor alarm triggered. This did not give the CO concentration but just that it had reached a dangerous level. We vented the house but was not sure that all the CO had been removed. We used this instrument to sweep the house and check that all CO had been removed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
from Bayside, NY

Not high end but does the job

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This small CO digital detector does a nice job of taking a quick CO reading. We were having some issues with ceiling mounted battery operated First Alert CO detectors that were going off. We used this hand held unit to confirm that the Firt Alert units were getting wrong readings (or defective units). It's not fancy, but for the average user it does the trick.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Product worked as advertised

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. This device is quite accurate. I use the tester to check for exhaust leaks on diesel engines.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function

works fine

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It seems to work fine. I don't have anything to compare it to to measure its accuracy. But it was easy to use and it is a good workable size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
from United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Has all of the features I need

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Instructions are well written. I tested it on several known values and was quite surprised to fin d out how accurate this product performed. It exceeded my expections.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is a great value.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These do no last as long as the more expensive models, because they cannot be re-calibrated. But they are so much less expensive that over a 10 year period they are a much better value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function

The product did not meet my needs

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I need a monitor that will stay on for as long as I need it on a job, at least a couple hours. This one has an auto shutoff that shuts it down after 15 minutes, and does not save the values. A manufacturer's engineer confirmed it cannot be overridden.
Pros: Compact
Cons: auto shut off cannot be adjusted
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Carbon Monoxide Detector with Auto Zero Function
from Ohio, USA

Calibration time is unfortunate but otherwise solid hardware

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nothing much to say; works as expected. Test on vehicle exhaust if you don't trust that the device is operating correctly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.