728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting

Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting

Since 1910, General Tools has grown to become the recognized industry leader for specialty hand tools and instruments. The new IRT206 Heat Seeker is a Gun Style Thermometer used for obtaining accurate temperatures instantly without having to contact the object being measured. It works by capturing and measuring the invisible infrared energy naturally emitted from all objects. It offers an easy and safe method to instantly measure surface temperatures of objects which are difficult or unsafe to contact. The Heat Seeker has a rugged, ergonomic design and features a backlit LCD display with built-in laser sighting. The IRT206 has a measurement range of -4 Deg to 608 Degrees F (0 to 320C) and utilizes a switchable on/off laser pointer for target location. The practical distance-to-spot ratio of 8:1 is suitable for most consumer and commercial applications. Ideal for General Construction, Electrical, HVAC, Food service, Home Inspection, Plant Operations and Automotive applications
Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
Review 1 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting

great tool

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
purchased this tool several months ago and had it has worked flawlessly... I would highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Cocolalla, ID
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always wanted one

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always wanted one of these. I borrowed one from a neighbor last year to help map out the zones on my radiant heat system. I bought this to make sure all of my doors and windows are air tight for winter (I used it again today, since in got to the low 30's last night). I tested its measurements with other thermometers and it was "dead-on-accurate".
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Highlands Ranch, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good diagnostic tool

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This infrared thermometer is testing accurate with its readings. Planning on using it this winter to test newly replaced windows vs. older window's heat transfer. Also plan on using it to detect cold air leaks on doors and windows. My 'value' rating may improve based on these findings.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Central IN.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as expected

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it to see the temp of the air coming out of the registers in my vaulted ceilings. Also to see if there are any "cold spots" in the ceiling or walls needing more insulation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting

Good for quick check!!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Best thing to check multiple refrigerators in seconds.. Not to go crazy with expensive laser thermometers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Gardiner Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Basic Machine

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Senses cold spots accurately.... Easy to use. Good Basic machine
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Jacksonville, Florida

Infrared Thermometer w/Laser Sighting

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the nfrared Thermometer w/Laser Sighting so I could measure AC duct output. The device also helped me discover air leaks. This item was perfect for the purpose. The Home Depot price was excellent and the item was delivered in only a few days.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Pennsylvania

Useful tool - I would recommend it.

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is not a complex tool to use. Just point and shoot. It sends out a laser dot just as a guide to show you where it is aiming. The actual reading takes place within a cone of scan area that is 1 unit wide for every 8 units you go out. If you are 8 feet from the thing you are measuring, the area scanned is 1 foot wide (1 foot in diameter). If you are 8 inches away, it is 1 inch wide.
I used it to measure heat in a commercial building I was renting. From ten feet away I quickly found that the ceiling was 80 degrees but the floor was 50 degrees and the registers were blowing air at 120 degrees. I then rerouted the return lines to pull more air toward the floor and out of the dropped ceiling. Saved many times its cost in fuel savings.
The only negative: it does not have a case or pouch to protect it. The biggest advantage: it uses a standard 9V battery. I was considering buying one of the Tek4 infrared readers but thought about what good it will be in 15 years when they no longer make the batteries or they cost more than the $12 they currently are.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Orange County California
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very useful device

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this scanner for a multitude of items. It's easy to use and reading variance with change in read distance is better than the specifications indicate. I can't speak to the overall accuracy, since I have no standard to compare it with. It does meet my requirements, is repeatable, was priced within reason, and, considering the noted caveat, it seems to be accurate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment! However I find that if I've been carrying it in my pocket, it takes a few seconds to come to temperature. Nevertheless great product. I would recommend it to anyone!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for the price

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you need a tool for general temperature knowledge, this is it. Not as precise as some of the high priced models but it's just what I needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Essential

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the instrument to monitor the temperature of my son's room that tends to vary in temperature from the rest of the home. "Point and shoot" style is quite easy. The device has given me peace of mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great product. A lot easier to read than those glass thermometer and you don't have to get close to hot oil if you are deep-frying. For the price it is excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Greenville, Ohio

Good buy

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is low cost and very easy to use. It works better than I expected and has become a well trusted tool in my tool kit
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Florida

Great product

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this thermometer for various things around my home. I also use it for automotive diagnosing. It's easy to use and has both Celsius and Fahrenheit readings. If only I could find a storage case for it now. I plan on having it for a long time.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
from Dallas, Tx

Good Buy for the Money

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My need is light business. This Infrared Thermo is the right tool at the right price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Infrared Thermometer with Laser Sighting
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product