728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Since 1910, General Tools has grown to become the recognized industry leader for specialty hand tools and instruments. Help create pocket hole joints with accuracy and ease with the General Tools Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit. This heavy-duty jig can be mounted to a bench for stationary use and also features a clamping system for added portability. Can be used a portable or bench mounted jig.
Overall rating:
3.357 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product8 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product8 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Review 1 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Should have bought the Kreg

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Walking through HD and stumbled on this. Was going to purchase the Kreg for a farmhouse table I'm building but when I saw this I couldn't pass up the value. By the time I drilled the 12th hole, the drill bit wandered so much it drilled the hole close to the edge of the wood. When I screwed the joint together the wood cracked apart and was useless. (see the photo). I thought it was odd that there were so many metal shavings coming out as I drilled the pocket holes. They should have stronger metal than aluminum. And I should have waited and just ordered the Kreg. Lesson learned the hard way.
Cons: Not Durable, low quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Spotsylvania, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor, cheap design

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two issues:
1. The holes are fixed and properly placed only for 3/4" stock. With any other thickness, the screws don't exit the wood at the center, which is required for a strong, stable joint.
2. The aluminum jig is ground away by the hardened steel drill bit. After a few dozen holes, the precision is gone and the angle of the holes wanders.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for small jobs!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great item for small jobs around the house . I have had this tool since 2010 and it has been very useful . I have fixed a dinner table,coffee table,created two fish tank stands and made two end table replicas of picture shown. As with any tool it must be used correctly and maintained.My neighbor borrowed it to fix a screen door a few months back and has yet to return it so I will be buying another maybe the kit this time around .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, price!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're considering buying this item, please, PLEASE read this review first.
I wanted a Kreg Jig for a long time, but balked at purchasing one because of the price; I wanted the model with the attached clamp, and it was upwards of $140. So when I saw this version of a pocket-hole jig, I decided to try it out and save some money in the process.
Big mistake.
It is garbage. Pure and simple. The construction is laughable, it's flimsy, and worst of all? It didn't work properly. That's because the sorry metal it's made of eventually shaved away from the inner holes after drilling a few times, so it caused the drill bit to (unbeknownst to me) shift all over the place. And that was only after drilling about 20 holes! Because of the shifting, the holes I drilled ended up being right at the edge of the wood, and when I screwed the pieces together of course the ends snapped like twigs. All my beautiful wood that I'd used up until that point to build my piece was ruined!
Thank God for Home Depot's fabulous customer service, because I was allowed to return it even though it was opened. However, I am still irritated with the General Tool Company because they owe me for the wood that their rotten tool chewed to pieces!
Do yourself a favor and don't buy this trash. Kreg Jig has a mini version that is only about 20 bucks, and that's what I got when I took this junk back. The manufacturer should be ashamed to even sell this trash; as a matter of fact, if they gave it away the price would be too high. Don't do it!
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Decent for small jobs

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used this jig for a few years and it's performed pretty well. I haven't had the sort of problems some reviewers have mentioned about the guide holes losing their accuracy over time but I will say this: the screw-clamp is not fun to use for big jobs. It's fiddly and time-consuming to tighten it down for each hole and if you've got a big project, you'll get sick of it very quickly. That, and your fingers will hurt from the tiny grip you've got to tighten down every time.
So, it's worked alright for me, but I'm shopping for something better now that I've got a bigger project in mind.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool for the price point

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For hidden joinery this tool is great. I bought mine about 4 years ago. Thumb can get a bit sore with use, but for placing a nice trim board on the front of a cabinet or a desk, this works better, looks better, and is stronger than using a small brad nailer.
I think it possible some of the other reviewers here were looking for something a bit different - for instance the screw coming out of the back of the joined piece. This tool drills at an angle, so if the screw being place into the wood is long enough, it WILL come through the back of the other board - no doubt. Solution - shorter screw - 3/4 inch or 1 in usually does the trick. If it just a trim piece, how long does the screw need to be right? For more strength in the joinery though - maybe a plate joiner or a dowel joiner would be better.
Mine has also had some of the aluminum shavings come out from my operating hand not being perfectly lined up when I start the drill. But again - for occasional small project use, and me slowing down and being careful, the thing is still working great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: thumb hurts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Good for a little project.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are only going to use it a number of times, sure it is worth the money. The pilot holes seem to get more drlled out everytime I make a pass. So eventually the tool will be junk. Do yourself a favor and buy the Jeg jig, its worth the hundred bucks.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Corydon, In

pocket jig

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great and cant compare with kreg jig because i haver never used one but looks like it does the exact thing for a fraction of the cost of the kreg. it can break twice and be replaced before paying for the kreg. i've had my original for years and still works like the day i bought it.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Cedar City, Utah

general pocket hole jig

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Junk, I made two joints, three screws came out the back. The guide sleeve is sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. No hope for this tool - it's going back immediatly. Fortunately, HD is really good about these things.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from augusta, ga

super quality and incredible price

PostedFebruary 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just got my Pocket Hole Jig from General Tools. Very impressed with the qualiity of this product. i have used all the best of the ones on the market from Kreg and Wolfcraft but I like this jig best of all. pros: made of solid aluminum, intergrated clamp, can be mounted on a bench, includes everything you need in the kit, special crews, drill bits, bits, everything. What a wonderful little tool and the price is sweet too.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from Covington, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for ocasional use

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The jig drilled consistant holes of proper depth. I found the clamp did not hold work securely. I used a second clamp near the top and it worked well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from West new york , nj

entry level Pocket Hole Jig Kit

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is awesome where has it been all my life!!!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from small town Eldora
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The metal base will last much longer than the plastic kind.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pocket hole set will replace the plastic set I previously had, and will last for years to come.
Pros: Long-Lasting
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aluminum Pocket Hole Jig Kit
from el paso tx

great product

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Serves its purpose, and then some. Makes perfect pocket holes for choining any two pieces of wood together , great for face frames on cabinetry.
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.