728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Christmas Tree Train Set

Christmas Tree Train Set

The Christmas tree train is truly a holiday classic for all to enjoy. The tree train moves on the sturdy track right in your Christmas tree. The sound of a train and the flashing head light will add to the warmth of the holidays.
Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product21 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product21 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for Christmas Tree Train Set
Review 1 for Christmas Tree Train Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!, but be patient

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my tree train! The first thing is, be a little careful and patient when you put it on the tree so it is balanced and set, and make sure everything is clipped in totally, and then it is works like a charm! The first couple times it got stuck in one place, but freed itself, and now it is fine. I recommend moving it once in a while when not in use so you don't warp the track. The train is heavy and causes the track to lean a little when stopped, and it pretty much stops the same place it started, so I would move it once in a while. I put it in my "village" tree.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Bronx, New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

it becomes part of the tree

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought it 2 years ago and still works. i love the little train but by the end of first week the noise the train makes was getting to me...so i opened the cart with the speaker and put a band-aid on it (you still hear the all aboard and the engine just much lower).The train will not run on rechargeable batteries and when placing batteries in note that one of the metal plates slides out.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas Tree Train Set

Obnoxious

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I love the idea of this train! I was so excited to get home and set it up. The train itself is really cute, but the sound is so obnoxious! If there was a button to turn the sound off this would be worth it, but since the sound is continuous it will be going back to the store! I am so disappointed! I really loved the idea of having a train in the tree. I wanted to love this train, but there isn't even a volume control to lower the sounds.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love Our Train!

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this train this year. I have always wanted a train to go around our tree, but our tree is VERY large and full. Plus with children, pets, and now grand children it wasn't practical. This train, being up around the top part of the tree is just what I needed.Even when not running it looks cute. My only complaint is there is no "sound off" switch, and it is a bit on the louder side.We just run it on the "short run" so it does not bother us so much. Because it runs on batteries, I would not be running it all the time anyway. Friends and family have seen my train, loved it, and now have bought one!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Ohio

leveling of track and eliminating sag

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing track, do the best you can to level it using the inside leveling screws. However, if you are not satisfied, simply support the track where necessary with the artificial limbs of the tree. This will add support and eliminate sag when the train travels.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas Tree Train Set

NOT YOU AVERAGE XMAS TRAIN!

PostedDecember 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unlike most trains that go on the floor, this train circles the tree seemingly in mid air! You can connect the tracks to the tree anywhere along its height! Adults and kids love it! Very happy with this one! Plus it can't get stepped on or chased by the dog
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Central Ohio

Excellent, especially for the price

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is as good as advertised. The instructions are pretty easy to follow, but are really unnecessary after you get started, because of the logical way it gets assembled. (Hint: Pick a spot about 2/3 up your tree and you will save yourself some bending of branches out of the way of the track.) Leveling the track takes a little time and patience, but I did the entire assembly by myself. With another person, it would have been a snap. The train runs smoothly and makes a great little addition to our tree
The train runs on two different settings (short and long). My only complaint is that the sounds are very loud and can annoy quickly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas Tree Train Set

Great concept!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this "toy" for my husband...my biggest kid! He couldn't wait to put it together, with the help of our 15 year old son. We used it only on an artificial tree, with a straight center. If the branches get in the way, the train doesn't work. The tracks fall apart easily, if not straight. Another issue is that the train is not very strong. Sometimes it hits a break in the tracks, and stops running. When it is running, it's very cute. We'll use it again this year, but will still keep it on our artifical tree, not a live one! I would purchase it again, but I wish they would make it a little more powerful!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Deltona, FL

Very Unique

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you get this train be sure to put on christmas tree before you decorate and if artificial tree.. also before you fan out your branchs. Do a test run to be sure all is level.. Other than that.. my children love this train. very easy to use and stops on it own.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from TX

This Train is a good buy

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one minor setback in the installation. I dropped one of the bolts and is was never found. I was able to go to the garage and quickly find a nut and bolt that would fit and it worked fine.
The kids and I love the train. The tunes are not too loud or quiet. My kids are 4 and under and we installed the train too high for them to easily start the train. It looks best up high sticking out of the tree. I wish there was a remote control switch so that the kids would start the train without having to be lifted up to reach it. Hopefully the nexts generation will have one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Longs SC

Absolutley wonderful !

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best little Christmas tradition we started. The train is out of the children and animals way. It's easy to put on a artifacial tree and one year we even put it on a live tree. We just love it and everyone that visits are like little kids seeing the train at eye level. Remember to put your supports where the track comes together for better support. You'll see what I mean when you put it together and do not use vegatable oil for the smoke thing. (not sure this one has that feature) but it makes a mess!! All I can say is we love it~
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Christmas Tree Train Set

STOPPED WORKING ATER TWO CHRISTMASES

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My children really loved this train. This would have been the third Christmas using it, but the train stopped working and will not run on the tracks this year. My children are very disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Christmas Tree Train Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

awesome idea .. great lights and sounds effects

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is our third Christmas with the tree train and my family loves it..We placed in on the floor last year and it was nice too.. the sound does get annoying for awhile but it grows into you...A remote to control the sound would be a great idea.. Overall we are very happy with the construction and the idea...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Kentucky

christmas train

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my hubby. He was like a child He had fun mouting it on the tree. it was easy. just make sure your track is level. childrens eys light up!! great product and great service it came quickly .. VERY HAPPY So happy I bought one for my daughter in Maui! she was also very happy.Her brother insulded it in minutes! great product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Wolverine Lake, MI

Total Junk!

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This train is terrible. The battery compartment is impossible and the springs break off. Very cheaply made and disappointing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Christmas Tree Train Set
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It looks great going around the tree.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our family has a tradition of a train around the Christmas tree. With the tree train we have our train on the tree and don't have to worry about it getting tipped over. It is the perfect ornament to the tree.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love trains...but not this one.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even after reading the reviews of this train, I thought it would be something unique for my "first year alone" tree. I love the concept and the design. The train has to warm up a few times the first time out of the box. It took about 5 minutes of the "noisy all-aboard clanking" to start moving. My 7 year old and I set it up on the floor first just on the track. I recommend this for the first use to make sure your train warms up and works before fighting with the tree installation.
The tree installation was a challenge as expected, but the process is necessary to make the track secure. As mentioned in other posts, the battery installation is a little irritating as well.
The biggest problem we had and the reason for my rating is because after a slight bump to the tree the train feel off the tracks and hit the floor. When this happened the couplers (connectors) broke and now the train sits idol because the tender has to stay connected to the engine for it to run. I need some replacement couplers and cannot find any that fit.
One positive about this train is the track is a standard gauge so most regular battery operated trains will fit it. I just hate spending a large amount of money for a track that connects inside my tree because the train is poor quality.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Christmas Tree Train Set

I love it.

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You have to get one! I love it! Fit perfectly on my 9ft tree. I thought it would be larger but it worked out for the best. I preferred no sound so I cut the blue wire. Easy set up.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, excellent value, pretty!
Cons: train sound may be too loud, train track may need duct tape at each connection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Christmas Tree Train Set

Great First Year, NOT Second

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this cuz my son Loves his trains. It was a pain to get on the tree by myself, but once it was up and running, it was awesome. We enjoyed it very much. Put it back in the box as it came. Took it out this year and within minutes of running, the hook that hooks the train together broke and the part that goes into the train that allows it to power also broke. Well, if you plan on keeping it ONE YEAR, have at it. Otherwise, I would highly recommend NOT getting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Christmas Tree Train Set
from Delaware
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Children will love it!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a little more difficult to put together then I thought it would be but not so hard that one person couldn't do it. It works great and looks great and my children and neighbor's children love it. They are constantly asking me to make the train go around. Batteries seem to last a long time because it has been used a lot this holiday season and still running on the same batteries I put in it when I set it up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>