728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

Architectural Mailboxes Geneva Post-Mount Locking Mailbox is ideal for receiving books, catalogues, bundled mail, prescriptions and packages. The generously sized delivery and retrieval doors may help to reduce your trips to the post office. Rubber seals on the doors help keep deliveries clean and dry. The mailbox is constructed of heavy gauge aluminum and galvanized steel for increased durability and longevity.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
Review 1 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality and Style

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased 05-29-12 & received 05-31-12. Wow! Had been looking for awhile and found this beauty. Not too victorian-styled and not too modern. Subtle design, bought in-ground post with decorative cover, Internet #100652533.
Excellent weight/quality, easy install. Found many "locking" mailboxes where I could get my hand inside (what's the point?), but this one is secure. Many compliments from neighbors. The sand color is very nice...not too stark like white can be, yet not beige/brown either. Nice, soft cream. Love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great mailbox, minor flaw, some things to consider

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mailbox looks great & has the locking features we need. The metal is great quality & the paint finish is also excellent. The doors operate properly, the interior capacity is great for a high volume of mail, for instance, it holds 30+ catalogs plus envelopes, & some smaller pkgs. It's a solid construction & therefore heavy. I employed someone to install it & he used a helper--took them an hour & half. The instructions were excellent. Two problems: the gasket around the front door came loose several times because of a rivet on the door--cutting out about 1/2 inch of gasket where the rivet passes has solved the problem. The back door gasket is fine. The other problem is that the height of the mailbox to meet postal standards for ease of access from the street means that it's kind of low for a person to access the back door & pull out the mail. We have to lean down to remove the mail, yet we're not particularly tall. Don't see any way around it but it's something for others to consider. Since the mailbox didn't come with numbers, we've bought some & put them on.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design, the lock works smoothly & comes w/2 keys.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Staten Island
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Take two

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is the second time I purchased this mailbox. The first time, the door was made incorrectly and didn't open right. This time it came with no defects and I've had it up and working for about a month. I love the look and I love that its got an extra deterrent from kids that haven't been taught boundaries. Take note this mail box is quite glossy which doesn't match my post but its not a big deal for me. I do think its a tad pricey but so far it's doing its job.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Howell, Mi.

Beautiful Mailbox

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox is not only beautiful to look at, but very practical as well. It accepts up to medium size packages and the locking feature keeps everything secure.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from PA

Solid Construction, Best Price

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really appealing design without looking too stilted, or glitzy, just right and unique. Much better construction than most boxes I looked at in-store. Additional internal steel plate helps keep integrity and further protects your mail, rubber grommet on door keeps things dry. HD had the best price, compared to other outlets and e-tailers (137.99), and they got it to me quickly. I also bought the 4X4 adapter to keep costs down by sleeving a 4X4 wood post, 12 screws make it a very sturdy option.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

very nice mailbox

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My boyfriend wanted a locking mailbox but I did not think that most of the ones we saw in person were very attractive. It seemed like the battle of beauty vs function. I found this mailbox on here and it was the best of both worlds. It is very nice quality and it gives us what we both want.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great functional mailbox and easy to install!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
After using another lockable mailbox brand, that wasn't not waterproof and had a skimpy pedestal design, this a great mailbox. The round pole and pedestal is secure and using 1.5 bags of quickrete it was quick and solid to setup in the ground. With kids playing around it and cars parked close I definately think it will hold up.
I love the waterproofing, and the lock is easy for the kids once they get the hang of it. I got the numbering as well and used the stencil to put it on. We shall see how the whole thing holds up this first winter and if the paint and numbering last, but i think the chances are pretty good!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, water proof, lockable secure, able to receive medium sized boxes
Cons: maybe a tad big
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best looking mailbox on our street!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
We are very pleased with our new mailbox! We had searched the stores and did not find what we wanted - took a chance on ordering from homedepot.com - mostly because I knew we could return it to a store with no hassles and LOVE the free shipping! This was easy to install and the quality is excellent!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

Not a great first impression

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
I would like to give this product a good review, and out of the box it looked fabulous. I had my boyfriend lay it out on our current post and it fit perfectly in with the decor despite being so much larger than my current mailbox. HOWEVER, having read mixed reviews I told him to check the actual mail box before permanently mounting it and LO and BEHOLD when he tried to open the mail drawer half the drawer fell out. It appears when the box was being manufactured a piece that was crucial to the hinge was never installed, making the whole mailbox unusable. So I've returned this one and I hope that my reorder doesn't come with any other surprises. The only reason I would reorder is because it looks so great and is the perfect shape for what I need. However the bad quality may win in the end.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: questionable quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Faulty hinge right out of the box

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Geneva Sand Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
I just received my new mailbox and noticed right away that the front door was crooked. Concerned that the magnetic latch wasn't working properly, I pulled it out and discovered one of the hinges was missing the small bolt that holds it in place. The bolt was nowhere to be found in the packaging. I was very disappointed that this fairly expensive mailbox was unusable. I returned it to my local Home Depot. I'm a little worried about ordering a replacement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

Rubber Seal has started to fall off...

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
Rubber seal around the inside of the door has started to fall off after 90 days.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox

Excellent mailbox

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Sand Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
The quality of this box is excellent, and I've received several positive comments from my neighbors on the design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Texas

Recommend

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Bronze Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
Easy to install and use and looks really nice. I really enjoy the back door feature that allows me to access the mail without standing in the busy street and I can keep an eye on the cars coming from both directions. Just hope it is able to stand up to the idiot kids that think mailbox bashing is a sport.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, rear access
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful, Easy Install

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Sand Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
Good quality, bought "Sand" color, along with decorative post. Designed well and not too ornate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Downey, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was well worth the price for Us...

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
Great product...Well made...Great Service from Home Depot...Will buy from Home Depot again...No problems...Fast shipping...Great job Home Depot!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: need to buy a post and mount...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Geneva White Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
from Buford, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is good

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Geneva Black Post-Mount Locking Mailbox
The product itself is good. seems durable, and doesn't leak so far.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.