728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cougar Ash Vacuum

Cougar Ash Vacuum

The Cougar Ash Vacuum comes from the leader in Ash Vacuum technology Loveless Ash and Dustless Technologies. The patented design gives you the safest, most secure way of cleaning ashes out of fireplaces, pellet stoves, grills or any device that creates ash. Its all-metal construction and fire resistant filters make the Cougar Ash Vacuum the right tool for a very important job. What good is an ash vacuum if it spews ash particles into the air whenever you flip the on switch? Unlike other ash vacuums, the Cougar has a proprietary coating on its primary filter that captures extremely fine particles to keep the ash inside the canister. It does not cough out dust when first turned on. You can also clean the primary filter without opening the canister by jiggling the agitator rod located on the top of the lid. Another innovative feature that helps keep the ash inside the canister so your home stays clean and ash free.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Cougar Ash Vacuum
Review 1 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
from Williamsport, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great ash vac...

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had this ash vac for a year now and have had no problems at all with it. Works great, has really good suction and is easy to empty. Pretty much maintenance free. One person complained that the hose clogged.....it does if you suction up pellets....which it tells you not to do! You can't go wrong with this ash vacuum!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
from Ohio

Does what others wont

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PROS: It does the job its intended for, to vac ash and smalls partials. We use ours for our pellet stove. No dust, easy to assemble, quitter then a shop vac and some Home Vacuums!
CONS: I'd like to have seen a holder for the hose, thats it!
Final thoughts: So far, we've used it 5 times, with no need to empty it yet. You can't go wrong with this unit and I've not had one problem at all with it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
from NorthEast U S A
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily

Cougar ash vac

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vac is well worth the money ! I use this vac once or twice a day while pellet stove is going,just dial back the pellet feed and let the flames go down then start vacuuming out the hot ash(no red or really hot ambers)but it handles really hot ash just fine and you won't see any ash or dust belching out the exhaust from this vac either.
With good pellets I have been able to run the stove 3 weeks straight without shutting down to vac the stove out.
Yes its expensive , but its worth every penny .
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cougar Ash Vacuum

Cougar Ash Vacuum

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it. Makes cleaning the stove a breeze. No more mess. Well worth it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Overpriced...overrated.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure why all the glowing reviews of this ash vac. It has obvious design flaws...the hose port is plastic and prone to warpage/burn-thru (it happened to me within the first week), as well as it being mounted so low on the carrying can you can really only accumulate a few inches of ash before the suction stops altogether and needs emptied. It's equipped with a metal hose, yet all 'ash' travels through a plastic port attached to a metal can. Why not make the port metal/aluminum/brass/stainless as well??
Also, the hose continually falls off despite the barbs that should keep it in place. I put tape around it to secure it because it became such a nuisance. The only positive is it does contain the dust that would otherwise circulate throughout the house.
Loveless CS is quick to respond and accommodating to questions/problems, but this ash vac warrants no accolades. I purchased based solely on the positive reviews and wanted a dustless vacuum for my fireplace insert.
Bottom line: other models can be had for the half the price without the inherit design setbacks. And, if this is their 'quiet' model...more engineering needs put into place. The decibel level is way too high even compared to a conventional shop-vac.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, design flaws
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

glad I bought it!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
what a difference from the "other" vaccuum I was using. No more poofs of dust when starting and running this vaccuum!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cougar Ash Vacuum
from Woodstock, CT

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After using this vac several times to clean my pellet stove I am very dissatisfied, the reason being the hose continuosly clogs.
I spend more time uncloging the hose than cleaning the pellet stove manually. I plan on returning it for a full refund.
Ben
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cougar Ash Vacuum

Excellent product!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love our new ash vacuum. It has dramatically cut down on ash dust in our home and is so convenient we use it almost daily during the winter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.