728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trash & Recycling or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology

Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology

Don't just mask smelly garbage odors with fragrances and messy baking soda; eliminate them. The upgraded dzt13 is now equipped with a carbon filter gate (CFG) that uses activated carbon to effectively eliminate and neutralize the toughest odors. Smelly an
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product97 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(75)
4
(27)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product97 of 105reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
Review 1 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Even Better Than Previous Wonderful Model!!!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a grouchy old man (72) but I am thrilled with this new model of the Touchless Trash Can. I have had two of the previous models over the years, and loved them both. They never failed! Never! This one is even better, with more interior volume, and it stays open as long as your hand is in the sensing area. Furthermore, it is even easier to install and remove the bag, and the charcoal filter is an added bonus that really does reduce oders, e.g. melon slices, leftover fish, etc. If only everything worked as well as this product!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective, great looking, timely delivery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology

So so . . .

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The can is lightweight, no liner, not as sturdy as my old Simple Human, and tucking the bag under the rim is a real pain, but the touchless feature works and I really like that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

spectacular!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I love this trashcan!! The lid opens every time without any effort and it even smells good!
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Packaging, Easy to Remove, Long-Lasting, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Addition to my Kitchen!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Product! I enjoy this Touchless Trash Can especially when I am cooking with meat and do not have to touch it to dispose of discarded pieces of raw meat! Yeah! Helps to cut down on the spread of contamination. Also, like the looks of this product in my kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from hampton, ga

Poor placement of the carbon filter technology...buy something else

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only thing that works about this garbage can is the carbon filter once it is in place...yes the odor from the trash can is minimized. I have had this trash can for slightly over one year. One day I decided to change the carbon filter, and I could not remember how or where the carbon filter compartment is located. I then looked at the instruction manual, and realized the filter compartment was knocked off, and obviously thrown away with the trash. That being said, the location of the carbon filter compartment is completely a ridiculous idea. I could go ahead and purchase another compartment, but with the kind of people that will be using this trash can, it will be knocked off and left in the trash bag to be thrown away again. Not to mention, the fastenings that are located on the trash can lid for the filter compartment are somewhat broken and loose. I may have to consider purchasing a new trash can with a better placement of the carbon filter technology.
Cons: ineffective, Inconvenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice CAN but the cost is a bit high

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The unit fit in our narrow opening with a bit of room to spare except for the height.
It is a bit tall for the space once the lid opens (not quite all the way but enough).
Another plus is the holes in the bottom to relieve the suction when removing the
full trash bag. These holes also let the bag 'fill' without the 'air dam' in the can.
The main issues we have is 'sensitivity' . If we get too close to the unit but not above it,
it opens. It should probably have a 'sensitivity' setting or control for such.
The only other issues was price. I thought it was a bit pricy for what you get. I found
similar units online, with an extra trash can for 3/4 of the price.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Packaging, compact unit
Cons: a bit too sensitive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Indianapolis, Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Kitchen Stainless Steel Trash Can

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased to replace a standard 13 gal trash can with push top. This one keeps has carbon filter, keeping trash free of odor and the design allows for one to push trash down if you don't mind using a paper plate or something to compact trash - allowing for more capacity by hand compacting a couple of times per bag. The size is small enough to reduce footprint on kitchen floor. One item to consider is the automatic/ manual lid. You need to have adequate space for the lid to open above the trash can, since it raises and lowers when one waves their hands in front of the can. It is also great since it keeps trash can clean. No more dropping food on the can trying to open it. It is battery operated or plug in. Plug does not come with unit. As of 9/2014 we have used it about one month.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from West Lafayette, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Kitchen purchase I could have made!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. It was easy to assemble, works as it is supposed to and makes putting trash in the container much easier when your hands are full. This container is just the perfect size for us to have to empty just once a week. I wish I had thought to purchase it much sooner. Another great product from Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to use hands free. Not only easier but safer.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Do away with oders. Our 18 month old granddaughter can use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, Fast Results, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Not 100% What I Wanted

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
What I like: Touchless, that its shape is smaller and taller than the one its replacing, the Price
What I dislike: The rim that you need to 'wrap' the garbage bag around to ensure the bag stays up...its flimsy and cumbersome...also not disclosed in description. I would not describe the opening as extra wide, but its workable for sure. That I had to spend additional money to get an ACDC adapter for this item separately. Lastly, that the odor filter compartment is attached to the back piece and hangs inside the container. It continually gets covered in garbage.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Packaging, touchless, size...its taller and more 'compact'
Cons: power purchased separately, filter compart attached to lid as it hangs down in, flimsy frame piece that bag gets hung over
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good quality arrived in perfect condition well packaged!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The electronic lid trash can was made of all quality materials looks great in my kitchen very little assembly required. The trash can was packaged carefully and arrived at my residents in perfect condition.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Packaging, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has been great for us! It's so practical, it doesn't get in the way in our kitchen, and there's no smell.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great; love the no-touch feature. No more having to pull a trash container out from under the sink every time!
Pros: Easy to Remove, Easy to Use, High Quality, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent. Perfect 13 gallon sz for bags. Works every time.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price & size. Works perfectly & is visually pleasing. I bought 1 for trash & 1 for cans & bottles. I might buy one for papers.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Pflugerville, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very convenient and practical!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The touchless trash can is a welcomed change and surprisingly dependable. Changing the bag requires more steps and time than more conventional trash cans, but worth the style and convenience!
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results
Cons: bag changing a bit more time than conventional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really pleased with the trash can. Using the a/c power cord and it works great.
Pros: Immediate Results, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Hicksville, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lovin' it!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just broke my stainless steal step on garbage can. I think we paid about $135.00 at BB&B. I went online and decided to do some homework before spending another hundred or so dollars. I found this one; saw it was half the price so I read all the reviews & bought it. I told my family about it & we were all excited to open it when it arrived. Right away we noticed the opening was wider than the last one. The standard 13 gallon trash bag fits perfectly and the slip on band keeps it in place 1-2-3. No fussing. I never thought I'd be excited about a garbage can, but I am. I love it. I press the open button to skin the vegetables and its so much better than keeping my foot on the pedal. Other than that I never have to touch the the garbage. It stays clean because of the square-wide opening and stays open long enough to get everything in. When its full, its easy to take off the top and pull out the garbage. My round can would be fussy and I would pull and squeeze to get the bag out. This is great! I just saw it on home shopping network and got so excited. I felt like I was ahead of the curve!I Highly recommended.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Ruther Glen, VA 22546, USA

Trash can works as advertised, carbon filter...not so much

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, my wife and I are satisfied with the functionality of the iTouchless feature. The additional feature that attracted us to this particular trash can is the carbon filter that is designed to reduce odors. Since we've had the trash can (end of Jan '14), there have been a couple of instances when we would open the trash can and the odor was overwhelming. Of course, we immediately took the trash out. Overall, we are satisfied with the product, but the carbon filter has been a bit of a disappointment. Typical usage: The trash is removed twice/week, at a minimum.
The good rating is given to the trash can itself. The average rating is given to the carbon filter odor reducing feature.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Easy to Use, Packaging
Cons: Aroma
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from centereach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product but not for high traffic

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
well made
good product
but i would say this is best for a small family -
not for high traffic -
it wasnt for us - and we are a family of four
it says 13 gallon size but felt it was a bit smaller
its a nice product though
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology
from Alton
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Overpriced, doesn't quite work as advertized

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the style and finish, and the odor filter is a nice feature but this trashcan is way overpriced. Aside from the price what I find aggravating is the lid doesn't stay open very long at all - if you haven't fed the trash into the can within about 5 seconds the lid quickly closes. Supposedly if your hand is within the sensor zone the lid should remain open, doesn't work that way at all.
Pros: Effective
Cons: overpriced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deodorizer 13 gal. Stainless Steel Automatic Touchless Trash Can with Carbon Filter Technology

Works as advertised.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works just as described. I used rechargeable batteries and works just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>