728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

Never rent a heavy machine again. Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.794 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(243 reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product175 of 230reviews
Rating Breakdown 243 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(116)
4
(57)
3
(15)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product175 of 230reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Gainesville Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Better than most carpet cleaners ive used. Wish it had bigger tanks lol but great for the price.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Really great machine, good quality, even better price. i recommend this product to anyone that has or is thinking of renting a carpet cleaner. it works just as good as any of the ones that you can rent and in the long run it will save you money. As long as you take your time and don't rush it'll work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

ideal unit

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this specifically for the spinning brush attachment for my stairs, as opposed to other products which the hose attachment does not have spinning brushes. (This has 2 hose attachments). My stairs look great. My whole carpet looks great. I had regular wear, plus stains which came clean easily. This performed much better than the last two times I hired a professional. It's paid for itself already! Also, it sucks most of the water back out and the floors dry very quickly.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

If you have carpet this is a must have

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You have no business having carpet in our house unless you own one of these. Essentially one of these units costs about the same as hiring a company to come clean your house once. But the results are so much better with this machine, and you can use it as often as you want at no extra charge. We purchased it when we started potty training my toddler. It has paid for itself many times over. Mine didn't come with the spin brush hand tool that I think would have been handy for doing the stairs. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy, if you forget to empty after use it will stink!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Nashville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Better than Rentals

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was easy to assemble and easy to use. Have only used one time since my recent purchase, but was extremely pleased with the performance and ease of use. I was amazed at how much cleaner my carpets look as opposed to the many times I have rented cleaners in the past. The tanks are easy to fill and empty, and the single piece structure is much, much easier to use than using a wand/vacuum and dragging a canister and hoses along.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Gulfport, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Pretty Satisfied With This Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used my Hoover Steam Scrub for the first time this past weekend and it did an admirable job in getting the dirt out of my area rugs. I do not use shampoo, rather just hot water with a cup of hydrogen peroxide. I have found in the past that it is very difficult to get all of the shampoo back out of the carpet, so that it then becomes a dirt magnet.
My only issue with this machine is that whenever I have to stop to empty the dirty water tank, I have to make several attempts to get it reattached with the proper seal so that the machine will have its ability for suction. Does a great job at pulling the water back out of the rugs so that dry time is minimal.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Fort Bragg, NC, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Cleans EXCELLENT

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product lived up to everything that was described. It is very easy use and is extremely easy to clean. Just dump out the dirty water and rinse. Also, the cleaner that it comes with is very effective. A little but of cleaner goes a long way, so the measuring cup on the cap of the cleaner solution is a great help. This product dries a whole lot better than I was expecting and is no hassle. The one thing that I thought was strange was that the plastic that is used to make the product looks and feels cheap, but it holds up just fine, as it is only to cover the inside parts of the steamvac.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Phoenix, AZ

Worth the price

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner does an excellent job. I looked at every other brand I could before purchasing this model. I also read many customer reviews for all of the products I was seriously considering. After all my research I bought an awesome carpet cleaner at a great price. It cleaned my heavily soiled living room carpet like a champ. With 4 dogs and kids running in and out all day long my carpet was dull. Now it's almost as beautiful as when I had it installed. I've used a Rug Doctor many times and it did no where near as nice a job as my new Hoover with Clean Surge. Great product!!! And, I don't have to rent another cleaner plus buy cleaning products. I will save money in the long run! I love the heated dry and the clean surge for those difficult spots!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Medford NJ

Happy Mom

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow!! is all I can say. I have 4 kids 1 dog 2 kitties and a husband that loves cars, so you know my floors take a beating. I have hardwood floors and carpeting. My down stairs has 3500sqft of hardwood and it only took me 3 hours to clean them (with a few breaks), and my area rugs, where the animals lay came out like new, and dried in about an hour.
I love that I can wash the bathroom floors and suck up the water instead of just swishing the germs around with a mop.
I even cleaned my cars carpet with the hand piece and they came out pretty good too, I would recommend that you use a spot cleaner (the best is resolve clothing spot prewash) and let it sit a while on the heavy spots, same with the living room furniture.
You will love this machine especially if you are OCD about cleaning like me! :0)
best wishes to all!
Laura
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

Good value for the money. Cleans well.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this to clean a wall-to-wall carpet and it did a great job. I just used hot water without the soap as I didn't want any soap residue, and it worked fine although all I had was dirt (no stains). It cleaned well along the edges too. I am not crazy about it being all plastic, but I guess that's the trade-off in price.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Missour
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

This machine was so easy to use.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Bissel steam cleaner and had it repaired twice in less than one year. So I thought I would try the Hoover and I was extremely pleased with ease of use. Clean up is a breeze compaired to the Bissel. I would recommend this carpet cleaner, my carpets were extremely bad, and it did a wonderful job cleaning them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

Better carpet cleaner than what I've found to rent

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice carpet cleaner. Provides a deep clean, and doesn't continuosly expel carpet cleaning solution while it's operated (solution activated by hand trigger). Vacuum power is great in helping dry the carpet too after the cleaning solution has been applied.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product has good qualities. Came with broken pieces that wasn't replace. Otherwise, good product.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good overall product. Came with broken pieces that were not under warranty. But, overall good carpet cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Repair Costs, Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

A professional job at a fraction of the cost!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble...easy to use...quick drying carpets...great customer support from Hoover...friends claim my carpets were cleaner than when I hired a professional company to clean!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, quick drying
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Does the job

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This cleaner was pretty easy to put together, but was missing a screw. After contacting mfr., I was sent wrong one, so I used one i had that fit enough to work. It removed alot of dirt, however it cleaned in streaks (maybe since rug was flat loop pile), so i just used the clean surge. Clean surge cleaned more thoroughly but used up solution very quickly. Also, could use a longer cord. Overall it did the job as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, streaky cleaning on flat pile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good cleaning for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Carpet cleaner's performance was great once the kinks were worked out on the lid closure of the dirty water tank. Instructions need to be clearer/rewritten on this closure to avoid the frustrations in getting it to close correctly (suction of dirty water will not work if not closed correctly). Sounds simple enough, but this did cause delay in getting started. Cord could have been longer, too.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Cord Length
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Alberta, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was doubtful when I first borrowed this from my mother. She told me it worked awesome and hers is about 6 years old. So I borrowed it and tried it. WOW it works awesome. I have 2 cats and didn't shampoo my carpets in 1 1/2 years, so needless to say, the waste water the machine picked up was like black sludge. Especially since I am a mechanic and car enthusiast and frequently walked into my place with my shoes on to find tools and whatnot. So I bought one for myself. However, at first, I thought it was broken because it wasn't sucking anything up. So I took the waste water tank out and repositioned it properly and suction was working properly. My only real setback with this machine is the upholstery hose. It's pretty cheap and it will break if you use it all the time. I had mine for 3 months, used it on my car 3 times and once in the house, when I went to do this month's cleaning of my car the upholstery attachment broke mid way through. But for cleaning the house carpets, couldn't ask for more. Top quality machine other than the attachment for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: cheap attachment
+21points
31out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Varysburg, NY 14167, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

easy to use--

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I finally opened the box, put this together, and used it this week! The only "problem" I had, was it too easy!! My old one was a pain to use, and I expected this one to be harder to use than it was. As long as it holds out, I will be VERY satisfied with this product. One piece of advice --you don't need soap--using just the hot water is enough to get out the every day dirt. You can use spot cleaners for stains, but just plain water on the rest. Soap is always hard to get out of a rug, and if it's not completely removed, the soap will actually attract dirt...
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: cord--it's easy to run over it when backing up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy to set up, use and clean up; cleans in tight spaces

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The machine was just what we needed: it is easy to set up, use and clean up. It is lighter and narrower than other models but that allows it to clean in many tight spaces without having to resort to using the hose utensil. Yet if the spot is too tight the hose utinsil works well too. The upholstery utensil also works well.
It is a bit noisier than others . You might want to get a set of ear protectors but that is a small concession.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually a Very good cleaner

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several years ago I had moved into an apartment that had really bad stained beige carpet. This was obviously from lack of proper / regular cleaning. My mother had asked me what I wanted for Christmas that year and I responde with "I'd really like a hoover steam cleaner"! I got exactly what I had asked for and couldn't have been happier with the performance of the machine. By the time I had moved out of the apartment the carpet in every room looked brand new.
For those who say that the machine is not extracting enough water. Lift the top off of the dirty water tank, then place it back on the tank ensuring that you place it with the front of the lid first, then snap down the back of the lid, otherwise you will have next to no suction for extracting the dirty water from the carpet.
For those who claim that the machine is not getting up enough stains, keep in mind it's not a commercial grade machine. This machine was clearly designed for residential use on a regular schedule.
But if you do happen to have a particularly difficult stain, here's a little tip I picked up from a wise woman, add one cup of peroxide to your cleaning solution and water mixture. (DO NOT use anything higher than the standard 10% peroxide) This really helps in getting up and neutralizing pet stains too without the higher cost of the pet solutions.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>