728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner

Never rent a heavy machine again. Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(234 reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product171 of 222reviews
Rating Breakdown 234 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(115)
4
(55)
3
(13)
2
(14)
1
(37)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product171 of 222reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Happy

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
jlkp
from fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

ideal unit

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this specifically for the spinning brush attachment for my stairs, as opposed to other products which the hose attachment does not have spinning brushes. (This has 2 hose attachments). My stairs look great. My whole carpet looks great. I had regular wear, plus stains which came clean easily. This performed much better than the last two times I hired a professional. It's paid for itself already! Also, it sucks most of the water back out and the floors dry very quickly.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
mamek
from Gulfport, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Pretty Satisfied With This Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used my Hoover Steam Scrub for the first time this past weekend and it did an admirable job in getting the dirt out of my area rugs. I do not use shampoo, rather just hot water with a cup of hydrogen peroxide. I have found in the past that it is very difficult to get all of the shampoo back out of the carpet, so that it then becomes a dirt magnet.
My only issue with this machine is that whenever I have to stop to empty the dirty water tank, I have to make several attempts to get it reattached with the proper seal so that the machine will have its ability for suction. Does a great job at pulling the water back out of the rugs so that dry time is minimal.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
johnp

Good value for the money. Cleans well.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this to clean a wall-to-wall carpet and it did a great job. I just used hot water without the soap as I didn't want any soap residue, and it worked fine although all I had was dirt (no stains). It cleaned well along the edges too. I am not crazy about it being all plastic, but I guess that's the trade-off in price.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product has good qualities. Came with broken pieces that wasn't replace. Otherwise, good product.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good overall product. Came with broken pieces that were not under warranty. But, overall good carpet cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Repair Costs, Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
twocents

A professional job at a fraction of the cost!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble...easy to use...quick drying carpets...great customer support from Hoover...friends claim my carpets were cleaner than when I hired a professional company to clean!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, quick drying
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
HeFu
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Does the job

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This cleaner was pretty easy to put together, but was missing a screw. After contacting mfr., I was sent wrong one, so I used one i had that fit enough to work. It removed alot of dirt, however it cleaned in streaks (maybe since rug was flat loop pile), so i just used the clean surge. Clean surge cleaned more thoroughly but used up solution very quickly. Also, could use a longer cord. Overall it did the job as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, streaky cleaning on flat pile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
HWright
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

If you have carpet this is a must have

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You have no business having carpet in our house unless you own one of these. Essentially one of these units costs about the same as hiring a company to come clean your house once. But the results are so much better with this machine, and you can use it as often as you want at no extra charge. We purchased it when we started potty training my toddler. It has paid for itself many times over. Mine didn't come with the spin brush hand tool that I think would have been handy for doing the stairs. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy, if you forget to empty after use it will stink!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
debbie
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Carpet gets dirty and this gets it clean.

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this machine for about a month. I used it and found it to be great for me and easy to handle and use. I let my daughter use it on a carpet she was fixing to replace. She does not need to replace it now. She was amazed.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Bennie
from Loggerhead marina Stuart, Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Product exceeded expectations

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Never had used a carpet scrubber. It was easy to use and by following the simple instructions, did an amazing job. I'm on a boat and for two years, mechanics had tracked outside dirt and grease on new carpet. In one day, all soil disappeared.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Charlie
from Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product has great features and is affordable.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service and shipping estimated the time for delivery and it was on point.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: it leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Pappaw
from Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy to set up, use and clean up; cleans in tight spaces

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The machine was just what we needed: it is easy to set up, use and clean up. It is lighter and narrower than other models but that allows it to clean in many tight spaces without having to resort to using the hose utensil. Yet if the spot is too tight the hose utinsil works well too. The upholstery utensil also works well.
It is a bit noisier than others . You might want to get a set of ear protectors but that is a small concession.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
AmyC
from Varysburg, NY 14167, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

easy to use--

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I finally opened the box, put this together, and used it this week! The only "problem" I had, was it too easy!! My old one was a pain to use, and I expected this one to be harder to use than it was. As long as it holds out, I will be VERY satisfied with this product. One piece of advice --you don't need soap--using just the hot water is enough to get out the every day dirt. You can use spot cleaners for stains, but just plain water on the rest. Soap is always hard to get out of a rug, and if it's not completely removed, the soap will actually attract dirt...
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: cord--it's easy to run over it when backing up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Chester

Better carpet cleaner than what I've found to rent

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice carpet cleaner. Provides a deep clean, and doesn't continuosly expel carpet cleaning solution while it's operated (solution activated by hand trigger). Vacuum power is great in helping dry the carpet too after the cleaning solution has been applied.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
MNViking
from Plymouth, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Yearly

A Good Carpet Cleaner

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 15 years we finally had to replace our old Hoover carpet cleaner with a new model. The new cleaner does a very good job cleaning both plush and berber carpet and the attachment works very well on stairs. The vacuum is powerful and as a result the carpets dry much quicker than what we experienced using our older cleaner -- clean in the morning and put furniture back around dinner time. It is easy to fill, empty and use on carpets, but it takes a little while to master connecting the attachment hose. Overall, a great machine for keeping your carpets clean and looking new.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
sk2014

Very Useful carpet cleaner

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very Happy with the this hoover machine. As a busy mother of two very active toddlers, there are always food accidents happening all over the carpet and sofas which are hard to clean but since the arrival of the hoover carpet cleaner my house is looking and feeling really clean.It has not only cleaned printer ink stains from the carpet but all was able to remove pens marks from the upholstery.
It does take a while to understand the mechanics of it.but the manual is helpful.
I have not use it on the tiles yet so cannot comment on that feature.
It is a bit heavy to maneuver around when filled with cleaning detergent but you can get a hang of it.
All in all very satisfied with the purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Cpth
from Ky
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great affordable carpet cleaner

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the dual water compartments but wish it heated the water up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Jacquie
from Columbus ohio

Great value

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't believe how well it cleaned. You pay that much for one cleaning from a professional service. Great great great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
VA2TX
from Del Rio, TX 78840, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

A much better product!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared to the Bissell power force, this thing is crazy good! You can feel the suction, and the dirty that came out of my floors was disgusting! It even removed stains that I thought were permanent and I didn't even pretreat. I even got to use on my car interior when my kid got sick... so much dirty water I want to use it on my entire car. So worth the money, and so easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner
Tidylady
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Good, but cheaply made

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine cleans very very well, but is not made to last.
Because it was assembled wrong in the factory, it did not spray out water using the trigger, so rather than return it, I took it slightly apart. There are two plastic rods that press on two buttons to make water spray from trigger and spot cleaner button. Only one of these was making contact. I was able to put those two plastic rods in the proper place and no more problems. But it was obvious that the machine is totally plastic and we'll see how long it lasts. Other than that, it is a great cleaner, great suction, really does the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>