728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Never rent a heavy machine again. The Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides in order to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.762 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(324 reviews) 320
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product233 of 308reviews
Rating Breakdown 324 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(151)
4
(78)
3
(18)
2
(21)
1
(56)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product233 of 308reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Akron,OH.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Steamvac Spinscub

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an improvement on the same model of this carpet cleaner I bought in 2001. That one lasted 9 years. I like the way they changed the hose attachment. It's not connected under the machine where it split all the time. When using GOOD carpet cleaner this machine does a great job. I like the spin brushes better than a belt driven model because you don't have to set the height, it does it for you. Also like the change they made so it cleans closer to the edges.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Homedepot, California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dead after 7 uses...

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moderately good suction, but i am going to review this junk based on steam/scrub. Bought this in June 2013 and I have only used it 7 times. Most people give good review based on one or two uses but mine is on seven uses. This is garbage now because brush indicator does not rotate which means the brush does not spin and scrub even when the ON/OFF button is selected to different settings. In addition, the heating system is not functioning which left my carpet mildly wet in spite of good suction. I will never buy hoover anymore.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance, poor heating/scrubbing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015
Hi VerifiedCustomer33,
We're glad you like the suction on the SteamVac. The heating is actually warm air that blows from the motor during use. It will not immediately dry your carpet, but should help. The best way to dry your carpet is by using slow deliberate strokes. And squeeze the trigger when going forward, release when pulling back. If you think the brushes are broken, you can contact John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Southern New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

The hoover steamvac is the best for the money.

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use it every week. This is not a miracle machine, but it will do a great job if it is used properly. I am a retired appliance mechanic with 4 dogs and a cat. It is great for animal stains and heavy traffic areas. The hoover steamvac is the best for the money.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Corvallis ORegon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Easy to use, great purchase!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, and although powerful, this machine is much easier to push around and empty than my old carpet shampooer. Great price and fast delivery
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Indian Mills, N.J.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Keeps on tickin

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought this item 12 years ago and still works great. when it goes, I will buy another one. cleans furniture great. I have two cats that make a mess once in a while and takes care of pet stains fabulous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value
Cons: Cord Length, a little bulky when trying to clean furniture
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Chesapeake, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Best Cleaner and So Easy to use for small and large rug cleaning!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This powerful yet lightweight rug cleaner was very easy to assemble. It is extremely convenient to use for spot cleanups, or larger carpet cleaning. I am amazed at how the Steamvac Clean Surge just lifts everything out of the carpet. It also comes with excellent cleaning instructions. This is my second Hoover rug cleaner, and I feel like it saves me very much money vs. professional cleaners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from PG County MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

I just brought one..finally

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have this brand..and talk about dirty carpets-the smells also changed..i tried cleaning the bristles under hot, warm running water-nothing...so this coming weekend I plan on cleaning the bottom of the machine-to remove the dirt, debris..and also the hose..but I tried registering my Protection Plan-the system asked for my state/store state..there was no option..
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

If you have carpet this is a must have

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You have no business having carpet in our house unless you own one of these. Essentially one of these units costs about the same as hiring a company to come clean your house once. But the results are so much better with this machine, and you can use it as often as you want at no extra charge. We purchased it when we started potty training my toddler. It has paid for itself many times over. Mine didn't come with the spin brush hand tool that I think would have been handy for doing the stairs. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy, if you forget to empty after use it will stink!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Central Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Affordable alternative to renting

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This cleaner worked well and I was happy with the results when I used it on my white carpeting.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Newark, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Finally got my own

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have frequently borrowed the Hoover cleaner from one or the other daughter. I now use this cleaner whenever the need arises. I have been very satisfied over the years.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Phoenix, AZ

Worth the price

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This carpet cleaner does an excellent job. I looked at every other brand I could before purchasing this model. I also read many customer reviews for all of the products I was seriously considering. After all my research I bought an awesome carpet cleaner at a great price. It cleaned my heavily soiled living room carpet like a champ. With 4 dogs and kids running in and out all day long my carpet was dull. Now it's almost as beautiful as when I had it installed. I've used a Rug Doctor many times and it did no where near as nice a job as my new Hoover with Clean Surge. Great product!!! And, I don't have to rent another cleaner plus buy cleaning products. I will save money in the long run! I love the heated dry and the clean surge for those difficult spots!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Medford NJ

Happy Mom

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow!! is all I can say. I have 4 kids 1 dog 2 kitties and a husband that loves cars, so you know my floors take a beating. I have hardwood floors and carpeting. My down stairs has 3500sqft of hardwood and it only took me 3 hours to clean them (with a few breaks), and my area rugs, where the animals lay came out like new, and dried in about an hour.
I love that I can wash the bathroom floors and suck up the water instead of just swishing the germs around with a mop.
I even cleaned my cars carpet with the hand piece and they came out pretty good too, I would recommend that you use a spot cleaner (the best is resolve clothing spot prewash) and let it sit a while on the heavy spots, same with the living room furniture.
You will love this machine especially if you are OCD about cleaning like me! :0)
best wishes to all!
Laura
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

No regret! atleast for now

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used it and I like it ,I just have to get used to use it.but the tank will fill so fast expecially if you are using soapy form of detergent ,make sure you use deterget that does not produce too much form coz the dirty water tank will fill fast with foam not water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Everson, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This carpet cleaner made the Deep South come out my mouth. Lordy lordy would you look how clean that is!! Oh my sweet Jesus was all that dirt in my carpet?? Mmmm mmm MMMM but that looks better!! Only drawback is that you do go have to refill the water tank often but that can't really be helped. Much bigger and it would make it too difficult to lift and manage. Attachment for cleaning stairs does not fit on machine itself, but it does come with a storage bag. Note - the slower you go, the better it cleans. So don't expect to whip through your bedroom in a half hour. Well, you can, but you won't see nearly as good of results. Very happy with this machine.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Wheelersburg OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, easy to clean up. It dried beautifully. I had always "spot" cleaned my carpet and I did not expect it to come as clean as it did. Very pleased. Can't wait to use the other attachments! Plus - Consumers Reports gave it a good rating which helped me decide on what cleaner to purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Missour
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

This machine was so easy to use.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Bissel steam cleaner and had it repaired twice in less than one year. So I thought I would try the Hoover and I was extremely pleased with ease of use. Clean up is a breeze compaired to the Bissel. I would recommend this carpet cleaner, my carpets were extremely bad, and it did a wonderful job cleaning them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually a Very good cleaner

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Several years ago I had moved into an apartment that had really bad stained beige carpet. This was obviously from lack of proper / regular cleaning. My mother had asked me what I wanted for Christmas that year and I responde with "I'd really like a hoover steam cleaner"! I got exactly what I had asked for and couldn't have been happier with the performance of the machine. By the time I had moved out of the apartment the carpet in every room looked brand new.
For those who say that the machine is not extracting enough water. Lift the top off of the dirty water tank, then place it back on the tank ensuring that you place it with the front of the lid first, then snap down the back of the lid, otherwise you will have next to no suction for extracting the dirty water from the carpet.
For those who claim that the machine is not getting up enough stains, keep in mind it's not a commercial grade machine. This machine was clearly designed for residential use on a regular schedule.
But if you do happen to have a particularly difficult stain, here's a little tip I picked up from a wise woman, add one cup of peroxide to your cleaning solution and water mixture. (DO NOT use anything higher than the standard 10% peroxide) This really helps in getting up and neutralizing pet stains too without the higher cost of the pet solutions.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

My new hoover

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have enjoyed it so far when ever I have time to use it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Alberta, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was doubtful when I first borrowed this from my mother. She told me it worked awesome and hers is about 6 years old. So I borrowed it and tried it. WOW it works awesome. I have 2 cats and didn't shampoo my carpets in 1 1/2 years, so needless to say, the waste water the machine picked up was like black sludge. Especially since I am a mechanic and car enthusiast and frequently walked into my place with my shoes on to find tools and whatnot. So I bought one for myself. However, at first, I thought it was broken because it wasn't sucking anything up. So I took the waste water tank out and repositioned it properly and suction was working properly. My only real setback with this machine is the upholstery hose. It's pretty cheap and it will break if you use it all the time. I had mine for 3 months, used it on my car 3 times and once in the house, when I went to do this month's cleaning of my car the upholstery attachment broke mid way through. But for cleaning the house carpets, couldn't ask for more. Top quality machine other than the attachment for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: cheap attachment
+21points
31out of 41found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>