728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Never rent a heavy machine again. Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.751 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(269 reviews) 265
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product193 of 256reviews
Rating Breakdown 269 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(67)
3
(15)
2
(17)
1
(47)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product193 of 256reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Everson, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This carpet cleaner made the Deep South come out my mouth. Lordy lordy would you look how clean that is!! Oh my sweet Jesus was all that dirt in my carpet?? Mmmm mmm MMMM but that looks better!! Only drawback is that you do go have to refill the water tank often but that can't really be helped. Much bigger and it would make it too difficult to lift and manage. Attachment for cleaning stairs does not fit on machine itself, but it does come with a storage bag. Note - the slower you go, the better it cleans. So don't expect to whip through your bedroom in a half hour. Well, you can, but you won't see nearly as good of results. Very happy with this machine.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Phila, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Ease of Carpet Shampoo

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The carpet shampooer came quicker than promised, which was wonderful. I have 2 dogs and I used it right away, and my carpet looks almost brand new. (It is 16 years old.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Great rug cleaner!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
for the price a great bargain cleans very well very very satisfied with my purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Love it!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item was just what I wanted. It did a great job cleaning and was pretty easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

If you have carpet this is a must have

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You have no business having carpet in our house unless you own one of these. Essentially one of these units costs about the same as hiring a company to come clean your house once. But the results are so much better with this machine, and you can use it as often as you want at no extra charge. We purchased it when we started potty training my toddler. It has paid for itself many times over. Mine didn't come with the spin brush hand tool that I think would have been handy for doing the stairs. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy, if you forget to empty after use it will stink!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Got that dirt good!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This machine did a great job on our carpets. We live in the desert and the dust really builds up. Pre-treated the stains and they all but vanished. Used Hoover brand Fresh Linen hypoallergenic shampoo for a nice smell. The unit isn't light to carry and the cord is a bit short. That being said it's a great unit that does exactly what it's supposed to do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

Love this machine

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had several SteamVac's over the years, decided to try something differant, more powerful. I have an older dog and needed to clean my carpet more often. I love this machine, does a great job I was surprised just how well it cleaned by carpets.It's like having a heavy duty machine without the weight.
I had one problem, the botton tank is held in place with a flap on each side, one of the flaps broke. Had only used the machine twice, call home depot order another and took the first machine back to the store.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Tank hold more water than other carpet cleaners

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used other models where the tank and bladder are together & you spend more time emptying the tank & refilling than cleaning the carpet. This model cleans well and you get it cleaned faster. Recommend using carpet cleaner they suggest but also adding 1/4 cup of Odo ban to each tank. It will remove pet odors and not stain the carpet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Steamvac carpet cleaner

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We researched several other cleaners and found this had all the bells & whistles we wanted. The local store did not carry, so we had to order-on-line. That was also very simple & fast. The product was in the store within 4 days from placing the order.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Lots of Features
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Yuma, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Hoover does the job!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received our Hoover Carpet cleaner and used it for the first time last week. It really did a wonderful job of cleaning our carpet. The brushes really helped getting out the stains, and the heat helped it our carpet dry. Really like this product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

ideal unit

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this specifically for the spinning brush attachment for my stairs, as opposed to other products which the hose attachment does not have spinning brushes. (This has 2 hose attachments). My stairs look great. My whole carpet looks great. I had regular wear, plus stains which came clean easily. This performed much better than the last two times I hired a professional. It's paid for itself already! Also, it sucks most of the water back out and the floors dry very quickly.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Phoenix, AZ

Worth the price

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner does an excellent job. I looked at every other brand I could before purchasing this model. I also read many customer reviews for all of the products I was seriously considering. After all my research I bought an awesome carpet cleaner at a great price. It cleaned my heavily soiled living room carpet like a champ. With 4 dogs and kids running in and out all day long my carpet was dull. Now it's almost as beautiful as when I had it installed. I've used a Rug Doctor many times and it did no where near as nice a job as my new Hoover with Clean Surge. Great product!!! And, I don't have to rent another cleaner plus buy cleaning products. I will save money in the long run! I love the heated dry and the clean surge for those difficult spots!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from new Mexico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

it's not the best already having problems

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
To loud hard to use hose the suction,very loud, the hose has good suction but sprays very little water
Pros: Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction, Noisy, Difficult to Use, Build Quality, Performance, Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Medford NJ

Happy Mom

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow!! is all I can say. I have 4 kids 1 dog 2 kitties and a husband that loves cars, so you know my floors take a beating. I have hardwood floors and carpeting. My down stairs has 3500sqft of hardwood and it only took me 3 hours to clean them (with a few breaks), and my area rugs, where the animals lay came out like new, and dried in about an hour.
I love that I can wash the bathroom floors and suck up the water instead of just swishing the germs around with a mop.
I even cleaned my cars carpet with the hand piece and they came out pretty good too, I would recommend that you use a spot cleaner (the best is resolve clothing spot prewash) and let it sit a while on the heavy spots, same with the living room furniture.
You will love this machine especially if you are OCD about cleaning like me! :0)
best wishes to all!
Laura
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Missour
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

This machine was so easy to use.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Bissel steam cleaner and had it repaired twice in less than one year. So I thought I would try the Hoover and I was extremely pleased with ease of use. Clean up is a breeze compaired to the Bissel. I would recommend this carpet cleaner, my carpets were extremely bad, and it did a wonderful job cleaning them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Gainesville Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Better than most carpet cleaners ive used. Wish it had bigger tanks lol but great for the price.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Really great machine, good quality, even better price. i recommend this product to anyone that has or is thinking of renting a carpet cleaner. it works just as good as any of the ones that you can rent and in the long run it will save you money. As long as you take your time and don't rush it'll work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Alberta, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was doubtful when I first borrowed this from my mother. She told me it worked awesome and hers is about 6 years old. So I borrowed it and tried it. WOW it works awesome. I have 2 cats and didn't shampoo my carpets in 1 1/2 years, so needless to say, the waste water the machine picked up was like black sludge. Especially since I am a mechanic and car enthusiast and frequently walked into my place with my shoes on to find tools and whatnot. So I bought one for myself. However, at first, I thought it was broken because it wasn't sucking anything up. So I took the waste water tank out and repositioned it properly and suction was working properly. My only real setback with this machine is the upholstery hose. It's pretty cheap and it will break if you use it all the time. I had mine for 3 months, used it on my car 3 times and once in the house, when I went to do this month's cleaning of my car the upholstery attachment broke mid way through. But for cleaning the house carpets, couldn't ask for more. Top quality machine other than the attachment for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: cheap attachment
+21points
31out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good cleaning for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Carpet cleaner's performance was great once the kinks were worked out on the lid closure of the dirty water tank. Instructions need to be clearer/rewritten on this closure to avoid the frustrations in getting it to close correctly (suction of dirty water will not work if not closed correctly). Sounds simple enough, but this did cause delay in getting started. Cord could have been longer, too.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Cord Length
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually a Very good cleaner

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several years ago I had moved into an apartment that had really bad stained beige carpet. This was obviously from lack of proper / regular cleaning. My mother had asked me what I wanted for Christmas that year and I responde with "I'd really like a hoover steam cleaner"! I got exactly what I had asked for and couldn't have been happier with the performance of the machine. By the time I had moved out of the apartment the carpet in every room looked brand new.
For those who say that the machine is not extracting enough water. Lift the top off of the dirty water tank, then place it back on the tank ensuring that you place it with the front of the lid first, then snap down the back of the lid, otherwise you will have next to no suction for extracting the dirty water from the carpet.
For those who claim that the machine is not getting up enough stains, keep in mind it's not a commercial grade machine. This machine was clearly designed for residential use on a regular schedule.
But if you do happen to have a particularly difficult stain, here's a little tip I picked up from a wise woman, add one cup of peroxide to your cleaning solution and water mixture. (DO NOT use anything higher than the standard 10% peroxide) This really helps in getting up and neutralizing pet stains too without the higher cost of the pet solutions.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>