728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Never rent a heavy machine again. The Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides in order to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.831 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(373 reviews) 369
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product276 of 357reviews
Rating Breakdown 373 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(183)
4
(89)
3
(18)
2
(21)
1
(62)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product276 of 357reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Akron,OH.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Steamvac Spinscub

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an improvement on the same model of this carpet cleaner I bought in 2001. That one lasted 9 years. I like the way they changed the hose attachment. It's not connected under the machine where it split all the time. When using GOOD carpet cleaner this machine does a great job. I like the spin brushes better than a belt driven model because you don't have to set the height, it does it for you. Also like the change they made so it cleans closer to the edges.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

Love it!!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this carpet cleaner. I used it to take some old stains out of a carpet and it removed them with ease. It is very easy to use, easy to put together, easy to empty the "dirty" water and easy to fill with clean water and the solution. I would highly recommend buying this.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Greater Chicago Land
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Big Problem - Water Leaking from Bottom

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had machine for approx 2 years and now it leaks water from the bottom somewhere. When you turn it on, water starts to dispense and it comes out the left side of the base where the lower housing and upper join, about 2 inch's off the floor. I have seen this issue on other reviews and some utube examples as well.
We have taken extremely good care of the unit, cleaning after every use, the unit is stored by itself so not cluttered in a closet or thrown in garage and moved around at all.
Any idea what is wrong? Is it fixable?
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Build Quality, durability over time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Homedepot, California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dead after 7 uses...

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moderately good suction, but i am going to review this junk based on steam/scrub. Bought this in June 2013 and I have only used it 7 times. Most people give good review based on one or two uses but mine is on seven uses. This is garbage now because brush indicator does not rotate which means the brush does not spin and scrub even when the ON/OFF button is selected to different settings. In addition, the heating system is not functioning which left my carpet mildly wet in spite of good suction. I will never buy hoover anymore.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance, poor heating/scrubbing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015
Hi VerifiedCustomer33,
We're glad you like the suction on the SteamVac. The heating is actually warm air that blows from the motor during use. It will not immediately dry your carpet, but should help. The best way to dry your carpet is by using slow deliberate strokes. And squeeze the trigger when going forward, release when pulling back. If you think the brushes are broken, you can contact John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Moorpark California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Haven't used it yet so these comments are only observations

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All I've done with this unit is put it together and place it in my closet. This was a replacement for a Bissell that stopped spraying and had already had over $100 in repairs. A couple of things that bother me right away while unpacking: 1-The cord on this unit is not as long as the Bissell. When I have a flight of stairs that already had taken an extension cord with the Bissell, it does not bode well. 2-Putting the hose attachment in storage mode was not very easy. It should not be hard. Time will tell how things will go with this purchase. The price was reasonable and HD online was great!
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Lehigh Acres
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior cleaning powe

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
4th home carpet cleaner we have owned, least expensive and without a doubt, the best! Cleaning was far superior to the professional cleaning 6 months ago. This thing rocks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Exeter, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Does what it said it would do.

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and works great ! Used ConsumerRep0orts.org to get ratings prior to purchase and this unit performs as they said it would.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Southern New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

The hoover steamvac is the best for the money.

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use it every week. This is not a miracle machine, but it will do a great job if it is used properly. I am a retired appliance mechanic with 4 dogs and a cat. It is great for animal stains and heavy traffic areas. The hoover steamvac is the best for the money.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

horrible machine

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased this machine used it once.. next time I pulled it out it would not spray water or suck it up... returned it -thinking it was a lemon and I just got a bad one - nope same thing.. this is junk don't buy it
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Cord Length, Suction, Repair Costs, Clogs, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Great for the money.....

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Previously owned a Bissell with all the bells & whistles, lasted 3 years and very few uses, this was recommended by a local vacuum store, as it has easily replaceable parts, no weird solenoids etc..
Anyway, so far so good, definitely cleans better, easy to use, and half the Bissell price, wife loves it, and you know what they say about that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Lebanon, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great Price for what you are Getting

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have light tan carpet throughout house and two dogs that rip up the grass in their fenced in yard, so mostly no grass but dirt and then mud when it rains. My wife uses this cleaner several times a week, much more than it is intended for. We just bought this one which is almost identical to the one we replaced with which the motor connections finally blew out. Took about two years of heavy use till the motor blew. I think we got our moneys worth out of it, and would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Houston

steamvac

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love it. The steam ac is easy to use. It is handy because I always have company over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Steamvac Spinscrub

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall I'm pleased with this purchase. It did make a big difference in the cleanliness of our carpets and I am very satisfied with this unit.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good cleaner

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does job, great rotating brush. Powerful suction, carpet feels dry in couple hours
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from DI Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Does great for the price

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the price you can't go wrong. We took it out of the package and did 2 rooms in no time. Easy set up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from slagle,la
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

trixies clean up

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
carpet cleaner works very well, light weight. yet heavy enough 2 do the job.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

great deal

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cleaner was easy to use and the carpet looked great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, quick drying
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Longmont Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

works good for price

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The spinning brushes work much better than a rotating brush.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from DENVER
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

WORKS GREAT!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use great price & it really does work!!!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>