728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Never rent a heavy machine again. Hoover SteamVac SpinScrub rotating brushes groom carpet fibers from all sides to lift away dirt and grime, so you can deep clean carpets and upholstery any time you need to. The Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner is a full-size extractor with SpinScrub technology to scrub carpet fibers on all sides to gently loosen dirt. It features heated cleaning, removable rotating brushes, a 2-tank system and a fingertip-clean surge function for both spot removal and heavy traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.759 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product223 of 296reviews
Rating Breakdown 311 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(144)
4
(76)
3
(17)
2
(20)
1
(54)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product223 of 296reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
Review 1 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

It works Great!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned. It was easy to use and sucked up all the water it expelled. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Homedepot, California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dead after 7 uses...

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moderately good suction, but i am going to review this junk based on steam/scrub. Bought this in June 2013 and I have only used it 7 times. Most people give good review based on one or two uses but mine is on seven uses. This is garbage now because brush indicator does not rotate which means the brush does not spin and scrub even when the ON/OFF button is selected to different settings. In addition, the heating system is not functioning which left my carpet mildly wet in spite of good suction. I will never buy hoover anymore.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance, poor heating/scrubbing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015By HooverUSAMarch 20, 2015
Hi VerifiedCustomer33,
We're glad you like the suction on the SteamVac. The heating is actually warm air that blows from the motor during use. It will not immediately dry your carpet, but should help. The best way to dry your carpet is by using slow deliberate strokes. And squeeze the trigger when going forward, release when pulling back. If you think the brushes are broken, you can contact John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 3 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Newark, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Finally got my own

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have frequently borrowed the Hoover cleaner from one or the other daughter. I now use this cleaner whenever the need arises. I have been very satisfied over the years.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

No regret! atleast for now

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used it and I like it ,I just have to get used to use it.but the tank will fill so fast expecially if you are using soapy form of detergent ,make sure you use deterget that does not produce too much form coz the dirty water tank will fill fast with foam not water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

If you have carpet this is a must have

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You have no business having carpet in our house unless you own one of these. Essentially one of these units costs about the same as hiring a company to come clean your house once. But the results are so much better with this machine, and you can use it as often as you want at no extra charge. We purchased it when we started potty training my toddler. It has paid for itself many times over. Mine didn't come with the spin brush hand tool that I think would have been handy for doing the stairs. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy, if you forget to empty after use it will stink!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

My new hoover

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have enjoyed it so far when ever I have time to use it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Wheelersburg OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, easy to clean up. It dried beautifully. I had always "spot" cleaned my carpet and I did not expect it to come as clean as it did. Very pleased. Can't wait to use the other attachments! Plus - Consumers Reports gave it a good rating which helped me decide on what cleaner to purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Well Worth The Money

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is by far very well worth the price. It cleaned my floors excellently.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Everson, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This carpet cleaner made the Deep South come out my mouth. Lordy lordy would you look how clean that is!! Oh my sweet Jesus was all that dirt in my carpet?? Mmmm mmm MMMM but that looks better!! Only drawback is that you do go have to refill the water tank often but that can't really be helped. Much bigger and it would make it too difficult to lift and manage. Attachment for cleaning stairs does not fit on machine itself, but it does come with a storage bag. Note - the slower you go, the better it cleans. So don't expect to whip through your bedroom in a half hour. Well, you can, but you won't see nearly as good of results. Very happy with this machine.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Phoenix, AZ

Worth the price

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This carpet cleaner does an excellent job. I looked at every other brand I could before purchasing this model. I also read many customer reviews for all of the products I was seriously considering. After all my research I bought an awesome carpet cleaner at a great price. It cleaned my heavily soiled living room carpet like a champ. With 4 dogs and kids running in and out all day long my carpet was dull. Now it's almost as beautiful as when I had it installed. I've used a Rug Doctor many times and it did no where near as nice a job as my new Hoover with Clean Surge. Great product!!! And, I don't have to rent another cleaner plus buy cleaning products. I will save money in the long run! I love the heated dry and the clean surge for those difficult spots!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Don't buy fix or repair daily

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this steam cleaner 3 months ago first time using it I had to call Hoover the machine wouldn't work was told I would have to take it 2 hours away to get it fixed I finally fixed it myself every time I used the steam cleaner I had to keep fixing it before I could use it well now it's broken beyond repair upset I am out 138.00 but happy the steam cleaner is no longer a headache
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAFebruary 12, 2015By HooverUSAFebruary 12, 2015
Hi! You're SteamVac should not be a headache but a convenience. This is not normal. You should not have to go through this with our products. We strive for quality and owner satisfaction is very important to us. We'd like to help. You will receive a private email shortly for better assistance.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 12 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Best Steam Vac that I ever owned...

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My Mother purchased this particular Steam Vac and raved about it, so we ordered one while visiting her in Florida. Always listen to your MOM.
Easy to set-up and simple to use. Does a fantastic job.
I did the four bedrooms in our house, than challenged it at a rental house that my son lives in.
He is NOT carpet friendly when it comes to carpet., but this Steam Vac made them look like new again.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Medford NJ

Happy Mom

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow!! is all I can say. I have 4 kids 1 dog 2 kitties and a husband that loves cars, so you know my floors take a beating. I have hardwood floors and carpeting. My down stairs has 3500sqft of hardwood and it only took me 3 hours to clean them (with a few breaks), and my area rugs, where the animals lay came out like new, and dried in about an hour.
I love that I can wash the bathroom floors and suck up the water instead of just swishing the germs around with a mop.
I even cleaned my cars carpet with the hand piece and they came out pretty good too, I would recommend that you use a spot cleaner (the best is resolve clothing spot prewash) and let it sit a while on the heavy spots, same with the living room furniture.
You will love this machine especially if you are OCD about cleaning like me! :0)
best wishes to all!
Laura
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

Great product.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this for my daughter. I already have the same one and it is fantastic. She borrowed it and loved it, so she received one as a Christmas present. This machine really cleans.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

some assembly required

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cleans great and easy to use, once we figured out how to put it together. The directions for assembling the handle unit were confusing and could be made much more clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Missour
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

This machine was so easy to use.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Bissel steam cleaner and had it repaired twice in less than one year. So I thought I would try the Hoover and I was extremely pleased with ease of use. Clean up is a breeze compaired to the Bissel. I would recommend this carpet cleaner, my carpets were extremely bad, and it did a wonderful job cleaning them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually a Very good cleaner

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Several years ago I had moved into an apartment that had really bad stained beige carpet. This was obviously from lack of proper / regular cleaning. My mother had asked me what I wanted for Christmas that year and I responde with "I'd really like a hoover steam cleaner"! I got exactly what I had asked for and couldn't have been happier with the performance of the machine. By the time I had moved out of the apartment the carpet in every room looked brand new.
For those who say that the machine is not extracting enough water. Lift the top off of the dirty water tank, then place it back on the tank ensuring that you place it with the front of the lid first, then snap down the back of the lid, otherwise you will have next to no suction for extracting the dirty water from the carpet.
For those who claim that the machine is not getting up enough stains, keep in mind it's not a commercial grade machine. This machine was clearly designed for residential use on a regular schedule.
But if you do happen to have a particularly difficult stain, here's a little tip I picked up from a wise woman, add one cup of peroxide to your cleaning solution and water mixture. (DO NOT use anything higher than the standard 10% peroxide) This really helps in getting up and neutralizing pet stains too without the higher cost of the pet solutions.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Alberta, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was doubtful when I first borrowed this from my mother. She told me it worked awesome and hers is about 6 years old. So I borrowed it and tried it. WOW it works awesome. I have 2 cats and didn't shampoo my carpets in 1 1/2 years, so needless to say, the waste water the machine picked up was like black sludge. Especially since I am a mechanic and car enthusiast and frequently walked into my place with my shoes on to find tools and whatnot. So I bought one for myself. However, at first, I thought it was broken because it wasn't sucking anything up. So I took the waste water tank out and repositioned it properly and suction was working properly. My only real setback with this machine is the upholstery hose. It's pretty cheap and it will break if you use it all the time. I had mine for 3 months, used it on my car 3 times and once in the house, when I went to do this month's cleaning of my car the upholstery attachment broke mid way through. But for cleaning the house carpets, couldn't ask for more. Top quality machine other than the attachment for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: cheap attachment
+21points
31out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge

works well

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent machine. We just got a second dog-a puppy-and our carpets are staying clean and fresh. So happy I don't have to rent a machine anymore!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SteamVac SpinScrub Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Met my expectations

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchaced this steam vac.. to clean my office carpets.
The carpets are wall to wall beige..(poor color choice for a commercial space..)
Proffesional carpet cleaners were costing $$$, So we picked up this Steam vac.. It took me a few tries to get the right technique as I had some set stains...
My office doesn't have hot water and the machine doesn't heat up the water..(I knew this pre-purchace) what it does, is have hot air blow on the carpet from underneath to help dry...
I use hot water from a coffee maker to fill up the tank...The cleaning solution offered by the manufacturer has a nice clean smell, it does an ok job....
I experimented with other products both offered by Home Depot.. Simple Green and Folex... Both are great products !!!
I used both (in separate cleaning sessions) I've added both(at different times/don't mix) to the water(instead of soap/cleaning solution) and as a spot cleaner...
Using the machine isn't that hard.. using the power shot on stains was a little hard knowing where to machine was to the stain...I see a lot of dirt get pulled out from deep under I didn't know was there... My co-workers and bosses also notice the difference...They even say the carpets are cleaner then when the "Pros" do it... I think they are, as I spend a more time then "outside" help would...
I've used the extra attachments to clean fabric chairs..nice to see what nasties come out of a seat cushon...
So that said, In a residential setting this vacume should shine(pun).. It isn't a light weight machine when loaded with water..but that helps hold it down to let the brushes and suction work....Clean up of the machine after, isn't that hard... I kind of cheat.... I pour clean hot water on a linoleum floor and suck it up...The tanks (fresh and dirty water) come out easy..
The only issue I have with using the machine isn't the machines fault...It's my access to hot water....
Great machine.... the 2x soap with linen... smells great does a good job...for tuff stains... Simple Green/Folex... all work great..
Good luck
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>