728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw

1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw

The BRUTUS 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw features a tough diamond cutting grit developed specifically for porcelain, marble, ceramic and other materials. It is ideal for faucet, pipe and showerhead installation.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
Review 1 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
from Sierra Vista, AZ

Look for the one that has the template.

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The same manufacturer has a very similar product that does not use a pilot bit, instead is has a template that uses double sided tape to hold it in place, you fill it with water and then drill your holes, I was drilling holes in 3/8 ceramic with a 3/8 drive single speed drill and cut 9 holes and the saw barely showed signs of wear, I was even able to use the same tape on 4 or so holes, for the money you could not find a better product, I will put this in my tool box and save it for the next project, I have tried others like this and was able to cut one hole, this is by far a better product. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
from Colorado

Porcelain Diamond Hole Saw

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
If your trying to do more than 3 holes forget about it. I needed it for exactly three holes through porcelain tile. It works! It does work! But after three holes the diamond bits wear down to the raw metal and you may be able to get one more hole out of it but not easily. So 20 bucks for three holes, not bad considering alternatives. But 20 bucks for a tool to keep and USE in your arsenal, forget about it. (yes I used water for each hole, without that probably would have been worse)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
from Gilroy Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An outstanding product

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using the one with the plastic template filled half way with water, I was able to drill through 1" granite in 3 minutes with little heat up of the bit. I was a little surprised at how quickly I was able to drill through the material. This is an excellent product, it did exactly what I needed it to do. Watch the kick when you get through the material if there is plywood underneath.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw

Good for a few holes

PostedMarch 27, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The centering bit should be removed, it's a waste of metal. Remove the set screw and the bit. Just cut the right size hole in a thin sheet of wood or heavy cardboard and clamp or tape it where you want the hole. It cut through 3/4 inch granite fairly quickly, but there were signs of wear on the cutting surface so it will probably not last for more than 10 or so holes.
Pros: It works, it's reasonably cheap
Cons: The centering bit should be removed, it won't last long
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
from Midwest

Good product for a home remodel

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I admit that I was skeptical about this product after reading the reviews; however, I was quite surprised when I actually used it. Before using, I removed the center bit and made a wooden template. I then clamped the template on top fo the porcelain tile and another piece of wood underneath it. I clamped it to my drill press, put water on it, and drilled. It drilled through the 3/8" tile within a few seconds without any difficulity. The lifespan of this product is probably not very long, but for the average home remodel, it does the job at half the cost of other core bits on the market.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw

Through Marble with ease

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i had to bore three holes for my soaker tub.I used my 18v Dewalt drill and It went right through my 1/2 Marble with no problems, and it still looks like it take some more punishment. The value is ok, but for a quick quality cut I would recommend this for any one doing a quick important job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw
from CT

Not worth the money...

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this saw to drill holes for tub and shower spouts in 3/8" thick tile. The bit didn't even break the surface of the tile dispite using the recommended water. I even chucked it in a hammerdrill to see if that would make a difference - nope!!! Needless to say it will be going back to the store with my severe disdain and a request for my money back...
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-3/8 in. Diamond Hole Saw

Worked VERY Well

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cut 5 holes thru 1/4" porcelain. Did a great job. Well worth the $20. Just wish they made larger sizes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.