728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Security Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Home Security System

Wireless Home Security System

A wireless home security system offers reliable home protection. Includes a main control unit with a 105 db alarm, one door/window sensor, one motion detector sensor and a remote control with panic button. The system can accommodate up to 14 additional wireless sensors. Notification sent to your personal cell phone when alarm is triggered. Instruction manual makes it easy to do it yourself!.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Home Security System
Review 1 for Wireless Home Security System
from Eugene, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great basic system

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This system is a great basic one. Probably by itself would work for an apartment dweller. But for us, even with a small home, we ended up buying 4 additional window/door sensors. Also, since police say noise is the best deterrant, we ended up ordering an outdoor alarm from the manufacturer since you can't really hear the indoor one outside if you are not right by the house/door/window. All these extras definately increase the cost. Basically easy to install, but you really have to read the instructions carefully before you start all the programming. Additional pieces are easier to program in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Home Security System
from Enfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This alarm has great features and is easy to install.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this alarm, easy to install, has a remote arm/disarm feature and calls your cell phone when you're not home. and you can add more sensors as you see fit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Home Security System
from Houston, Texas

Really Works Well!

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had been having multiple break-ins at the apartments we are renovating. After installing the Wireless Home Security System along with the Motion Detectors, our problems are gone. The day after we installed them (installation was easy, too) we caught our first thief. He'll be in jail soon. And anther was scared off a week later. We've had no problems since.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Home Security System
from Sacramento, CA, USA

Pro's and Con's

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this system as I already have a home alarm system. It was cheaper to install this unit in the garage rather than call the alarm company and pay 500 Plus dollars for an upgrade.
The system was super easy to install. The keypad is loud, and the siren built in is loud also. The motion sensors work great, as do the door and window sensors. The only complaint, is the fact that when the alarm is tripped, (Door opened, or motion sensor activated) their is a delay in the time that the alarm will sound. The alarm only sounds for 30 seconds, then shuts off for 30 seconds, then re sounds, then re-arms the system. The system does call your phone numbers. Also, for an experienced burglar, I'm sure it would not be hard for them to dis-arm the unit and not sound the alarm. Overall, it's cheaper than a traditional alarm system, and no monitoring fees. You can also add extra sensors, and door and window contacts as well.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Home Security System
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly as Advertised

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the other reviews on line prior to purchasing, I ordered this for my widowed mother-in-laws house and the installation was a snap. It has been installed for a couple of weeks now and I haven't had a single false alarm. The ability to have the alarm dial my cell phone (or any other phone number) is a huge advantage over monitored systems that have monthly charges. The addition of the remote makes it much easier for her to arm and disarm the alarm and the panic button on both the remote and the wall unit are also good features.
+35points
40out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Home Security System
from Arizona
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works & Easy Install

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system has everything we needed. It works well in our home and the installation was not hard. We are now going to get extra sensors to complete the security. The Motion Detector covers a large area living & dinning area and we are so pleased. Do note: it works with a land-line in your house for your phone to call your cell phone.
+44points
48out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Home Security System
from NJ

GREAT DIY Home Security

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
"This system from MACE was the answer for us. The entire set-up cost me $300.00 with shipping (I have 12 additional sensors hooked up to it). Installation requires some common sense and small tools. Cordless Drill, bits, screwdrivers, center punch, tape measure, stud finder, etc.
The system works exactly as advertised and it works well. The moment a trigger is set (window opens or motion is detected) the system sounds a piercing alarm and starts dialing phone numbers on your call list (up to 5).
PROS: Cost effective. Easy to install and operate. The wireless feature is great and programming additional sensor is easy enough. Remote feature. Each individual window sensor is shock sensitive so it can't be moved by intruders. Main unit has a back-up battery system. You monitor your own system. If the alarm calls your phone, you can broadcast your voice through the unit or just listen to the room.
CONS: No programmable Zoning feature. When the system is armed...every sensor is on. NO BACKLIT keypad either...this is most annoying. You need a phone jack near the system. PANIC button on the remote is touchy. Don't lose the remote and your house keys...that would be bad. No smoke/carbon monoxide detector sensor.
If the power goes out and you have a cable modem for phone use...you have no land line...no way the alarm can call your pre-programmed numbers. Get a back-up modem battery for this issue.
For the price the system is the bang for the buck."
+50points
54out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Home Security System
from Arkansas

PostedFebruary 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Execellent value, easy setup. I've had this system about three weeks now, no false alarms. The only problem is the display, which is not fully lit, making it a little hard to read.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Home Security System
from Dripping Springs, TX

Alarm system

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seems to be a good product, and everything works as stated, and easy to set up. As far as how long the batteries will last, it is yet to be seen, but for the money whats a few batteries every once in a while.
BKPYBOT
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Home Security System
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good product especially for the price

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The system is working very well except for the keychain
Remote Control which only works some of the time. I am currently waiting to hear from Mace Company about this problem. For the time being, I have to set and turn off the system at the main unit. This is Mace Wireless Home Security System part 80356 of which the memote is supplied with it.
They should have had the two wires coming out from the bottom so it could be wall mounted more attractively. They are currently coming from the top of the unit.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, it calls you if alarm goes off.
Cons: key chain remote only works some of the time
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Home Security System

Been Using for a year now...

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to Install. NO monthly monitoring charges. It calls my Cell-Phone when alarm is triggered. The only complaint I have is when the Battery is low on the wireless sensors it sets the alarm off and you can't disarm it over the phone like it says you can. It calls every 5 min. Fills up your voice mail until you get to the location and disarm/replace batteries. A low battery should give an error of Low Battery, not set the alarm off. Other than that it works great and it's worth the money. I've had expensive monitored alarms in the past. I am sticking with this one.
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Home Security System
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like it said it would.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good the product was easy to install, and the alarm sound can be heard throughout the house.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Home Security System
from Tampa, FL

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install and I love the key chain remote. Makes it so easy to arm/disarm when I've stepped out the door to run a quick errand. Highly recommend this product.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Home Security System
from Buford, GA

Great features and value for the price.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This system can be easily installed by anyone with some basic handyman skills. The two sensors got me started but I purchased additional motion sensors for the coverage I needed. Other systems will sound alarms - but this one will call your cell phone in addition to the alarm - a great feature. This system has restored my sense of security after a break in.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Home Security System

Very easy to install, and operate.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using this as a safeguard for a family member with dementia, it helps to have several layers of security. We had no problems installing or understanding the the operations of this device.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Home Security System
from Ellenton, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good,functional,and compact

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We keep this unit in our bedroom as we have a small home.It works perfectly. The only con is that it is sooo loud I wish it had a volume control - now I must find a way to muffle the alarm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Home Security System
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Had good features and easy to use.

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The control unit I have is defective. Zones 5-8 will not learn into the system.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: would not fully program.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Home Security System
from macungie pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice features and expandable

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it took a few minutes to figure out the instructions. For my use it was perfect compliment to an existing security system. Reasonably priced.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Installation
Cons: loud alarm
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Home Security System
from Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wireless security system

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was very easy to install and program very pleased and you don't need to be smarter than a fifth grader
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Home Security System
from los angeles, CA

Wireless Home Security System

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wireless Home Security System excellent system, easy to install.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 >>