728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Switches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch

Wireless Add On Switch

The BL-6133-LA Wireless Add on Switch provides the ability to add light switch control to any wired light without new wiring. Simply replace the existing wall switch that controls the light and mount the wireless wall switch in a new location. The wireless wall switch operates the wired wall switch within 100 ft. to turn lights ON and OFF. The wireless wall switch requires a 9 Volt battery, not included. Each wired wall switch controls 500 Watts incandescent lighting and fits inside standard wiring boxes.
Overall rating:
3.748 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product88 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(31)
3
(14)
2
(7)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product88 of 110reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch
Review 1 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does What I Need It To Do

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased two of these and installed them in two separate locations. My use case is about 30' from remote to switch. Works great at that distance. I tested it 50' away through drywall and it did not work reliably.
A word of caution: If you think they will automatically send you two units that operate on separate channels, you are mistaken. Both units I received are channel D, which means had I installed them in close proximity they would have interfered with one another. I would have liked to see separate part numbers for the two channel options so that I could order another for close proximity use.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: can't select channel
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Add On Switch

Easy to install nice switch

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great but can't use those stupid pig tail lights have to try to find real light bulbs to use as the pig tail lights flicker with the switch I like the real light bulbs anyway so is happy to change lightbulbs out Real easy switch to install works great in the kitchen
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Add On Switch

Happy customer

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed this for a long time. Great transaction. Fast and easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really made a difference

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Moderately easy to install. Biggest problem was location of transmitter switch being effective. We had a bird cage located about 12-15 inches away from the receiver switch, so line of sight was interfered with. So, the transmitter switch got moved about 15 inches from where I originally installed it, and it worked fine. It would be nice if there was some sort of double sided sticky tape to temporarily hold the transmitter to find proper location. It's a pain to drill the holes and mount the switch, only to find out it wasn't effective. So far, it has been a great addition to getting at a switch that's at the back of the house -- from the front door!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation, Effective
Cons: hit or miss with location of transmitter switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

practical answer to problem

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After previous owner of house enclosed porch, the outside light switch was 10ft from the door with no practical way to rewire. The only problem I ran into was that I did not realize that it would not work with florescent bulbs. I noticed one bulb flickering in the off position and discovered 87vac passing through switch. I fixed the problem by changing just one of the four bulbs with a 60watt incandescent to add the load needed and the pass-through 87v dropped to zero
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not for florescent bulbs
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Salida Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a SURPRISE.....!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Didn't know this product existed - and IT WORKED PERFECTLY. And SO EASY to install. For years our guests would have to walk over to the guest bathroom sink to turn on light - and now I installed this remote switch by the door and like magic it turns on the light. Has been fun to show it off to friends and family - and every one of them have a similar use for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Princeton, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old DIY man

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked as promised! Read the instruction to avoid any surprises. I think some of the people that are complaining did not read all of the instructions. I tried three kinds of light bulbs, compact florescent, incandescent & LED, I liked the LED best and the florescent hummed. The switch must be flipped slower than normal.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: switch must be flipped slower than normal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No CFL's

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The switch was easy to install and the range seems fine. I don't understand the complaints abut the lack of battery or switch cover. Have these people never bought any toys? The description clearly states battery required, not included. I can however attest to the fact that this switch hates ANY fluorescent lights, and that includes CFL's. The switch will buzz mercilessly and will not turn the lights completely off if you try to use it with CFL bulbs in the light fixtures. I am being forced to change to LED bulbs, because there is no way I am reverting to incandescent bulbs. I hope the LED's will not be a problem. If so, I will update this review.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Add On Switch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product didn't meet my needs

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very nice switch, easy to install, but only works in line of sight situations . Will not work through a wall, floor or ceiling and that is what I needed.?
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT FOR LED !

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall an easy install and decent product but when it says for incandecent lights it means ONLY incandecent lights. This switch goes bad when using all LED's. It will work fine for a while but then something in the switch burns out. First you may notice that the lights don't fully go out when switched off and then they simply won't turn on. At that point if you manually turn them on, whatever has gone bad in the switch prevents the lights from turning off. I am ordering a new switch and will only use incandecent lights on that circut. And yes, I did check the battery on the transmitter. This has all been confirmed by an electrician.
Cons: Burns Out, not led compatible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Ferndale, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like a hard-wired switch.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used at garage entry door in combination with switch at top of stairs. No performance difference from other wired three-way switches in the house.
Pros: Easy Installation, work just like wired
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Add On Switch
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ultimately it does the job

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works reasonably well. Sometime I have to flip the switch more than once to get it to work. But, it eventually works. My hang up is that it needs to come in more than two channels. I installed three switched with the impression from other reviews that these were range limited. Not at my house. I installed three of these, with two of the same channel on opposite ends of the house. Much of the time one activates the other. Not a huge deal, as these are only light switches
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: only two channels
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Independence, MO. USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not perform as advertised

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This wireless switch claims to have an operating distance of 100 feet. It was installed in a hallway to operate the hall light from both ends of the hall. The hallway is apx 20 feet long. The switch did not work unless the wire on the base unit is unwound and extended into the wall opening. The operation was still not 100% but acceptable.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: short distance only
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Eastsound WA

wireless add-on switch

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked like a charm; the only problem I had was that the face plate for the switch replaced by this signal-receiving switch did not fit the replacement, but the proper face plate can be had at a hardware store for 49 cents.
There is no obvious way to change the wireless channel used.
The website information about such switches is quite inadequate. E.g., it would have been helpful to have the installation instructions online.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Yuma Az.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does what the manufacturer claimes

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, I use it for our detatched garage out door sconces. The garage is about 50 ft from the house and this way we can turn on and off the lights from the house!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Would have been 5 star excellent but...

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is GREAT and works very well.
HOWEVER...it really does need to be stocked in at least 4 different radio frequency settings to work well. If you use them for more than one purpose, (For instance: 1 as a remote light for your pool and another for a remote light for your carport/garage) you need 2 different codes. If anyone else in the neighborhood is using a remote for an overhead fan and it is one of your 2 codes, then either you are turning on their fan or they are turning on your pool light. Not so good. Can we please get a choice of A, B, C, D codes instead of just D?
Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: too few code choices
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Add On Switch

Stood the test of time

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one of these over 25 years ago. With battery changes it worked great all that time. Now I'm buying a second one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Add On Switch

Great innovation I have 4 but don't use CF bulbs!

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 4 now and only had 1 that stopped working after 10 years- EXCEPT for when I tried to use 1 with the compact fluorescent bulbs. If yours works now with CFB-it will stop in about 6 months. I saw reviews that stated that the directions omit this fact-but on the last one I bought (Dec 2009) to replace the one I had CFB in-it clearly states incandescent bulbs only. This is a great product for homes the builder didn't put the switch in the right place or if you need an added security feature to turn on outside floods from your bedroom "in the middle of the night".
I have found these useful for: large rooms where there is only 1 switch for the lights; the garage light-that the builder put 1 only switch inside the house (that I had to unlock the door, turn the alarm off, turn the light off -then turn the alarm back on again)-because there wasn't a switch in the garage; the lower level outside light-that I am always forgetting to turn off before I come up; and the best one to turn on the outside flood on from the bedroom.
If you need more than one be sure to get different frequency fixtures-they come in A,B,C,D and E.
I give this 5 stars.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Add On Switch

Doesn't work well

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the product hooked up about 3 ft away from the wired outlet and the wireless switch works about 1/4 of the time on the first try. I usually have to work the wireless switch several times to get it to work. Nice idea, poorly executed.
Cons: flaky
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Add On Switch

18 Years of Good

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this product 18 years ago because the light switch for our master bathroom was outside the room. Turning on the light would shine it in my wife's face... not a nice thing early in the morning. The device saved me from running wire through the wall and attic. The wall mounted switch is a transmitter, so it does not have to be completely "flipped" to turn the light on or off.
It works with a 9 volt battery which needs to be replaced when you notice the remote switch is not very responsive.
The switch part has finally gotten somewhat stuck, so we have ordered another one. I hope after all these years, it's still as good as in 1993.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>