728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Switches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch

Wireless Add On Switch

The BL-6133-LA Wireless Add on Switch provides the ability to add light switch control to any wired light without new wiring. Simply replace the existing wall switch that controls the light and mount the wireless wall switch in a new location. The wireless wall switch operates the wired wall switch within 100 ft. to turn lights ON and OFF. The wireless wall switch requires a 9 Volt battery, not included. Each wired wall switch controls 500 Watts incandescent lighting and fits inside standard wiring boxes.
Overall rating:
3.78 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product77 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(25)
3
(13)
2
(5)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product77 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch
Review 1 for Wireless Add On Switch
Jack
from Ferndale, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like a hard-wired switch.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used at garage entry door in combination with switch at top of stairs. No performance difference from other wired three-way switches in the house.
Pros: Easy Installation, work just like wired
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Add On Switch
DaddyDave
from Sheridan, WY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work at any useful range

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was to be a switch for the garage light by the entrance to the garage. The main switch is on the front of the garage at the door into the house, too far from the exterior door to be useful. The distance is only 22'. The wireless switch works well at 15' within sight of the main switch, and works about 1/2 the time at 20', but as soon as I screw it to the wall at 22' it only works about 10% of the time. It has a new battery and I extended the antenna. I'm returning it. DO NOT BUY.
Cons: short range, dumb design, pitiful, does not work as advertised
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Add On Switch
j4mookie
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ultimately it does the job

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works reasonably well. Sometime I have to flip the switch more than once to get it to work. But, it eventually works. My hang up is that it needs to come in more than two channels. I installed three switched with the impression from other reviews that these were range limited. Not at my house. I installed three of these, with two of the same channel on opposite ends of the house. Much of the time one activates the other. Not a huge deal, as these are only light switches
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: only two channels
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Add On Switch
don271828

Stood the test of time

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one of these over 25 years ago. With battery changes it worked great all that time. Now I'm buying a second one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Add On Switch
Kara
from Baltimore, Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Work

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted to use this to move the light switch from one side of the closet to the otherside where we put in a new door. So 8 ft, within site of each other. The hard wired side only sporatically works. The wireless side works to turn on the light, but never off. Put the old switch back in and will be returning this product and searching for a different solution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Add On Switch
Redfish
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing works great as an extra switch. Easy to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Add On Switch
MrGoodwrench
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No CFL's

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The switch was easy to install and the range seems fine. I don't understand the complaints abut the lack of battery or switch cover. Have these people never bought any toys? The description clearly states battery required, not included. I can however attest to the fact that this switch hates ANY fluorescent lights, and that includes CFL's. The switch will buzz mercilessly and will not turn the lights completely off if you try to use it with CFL bulbs in the light fixtures. I am being forced to change to LED bulbs, because there is no way I am reverting to incandescent bulbs. I hope the LED's will not be a problem. If so, I will update this review.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Add On Switch
Sparks
from So Cal
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a three way in a hallway, in a modular, it is about the only way to install one without a major amount of work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Add On Switch
Dave
from Corvallis, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well for a year

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product has worked well for 1 year, used in garage. Switch did not have to be fully moved to actuate the on/off function. Within the last few days, however, it has started turning the lights "half-on" (more like quarter-on) all by itself. That is, you turn the light off, then wait a minute or so, and the lights are back on in a very dim state. Removing the battery did not solve the problem. Apparently the main switch is allowing a little current to the light fixture. Not sure how to fix this. Frustrating.
Cons: works for a year only?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Add On Switch
DaveR

Doesn't work well

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the product hooked up about 3 ft away from the wired outlet and the wireless switch works about 1/4 of the time on the first try. I usually have to work the wireless switch several times to get it to work. Nice idea, poorly executed.
Cons: flaky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Add On Switch
Alicia
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burned out

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great idea but poorly made. I bought two, one worked fine the other burned out in 2 days. I really like having a switch on both entrances to my rooms but the quick burn out was disappointing. Be sure and buy it from Home Depot because if you order it online from Smarthome, you have to return it in it's original packaging and if that's gone, you are out of luck. At least at home depot you can bring it back.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Add On Switch
96DRS
from Yuma,AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Has Worked Every Time

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two post lights in my back yard and wanted to do away with the necessity of having to walk out into my back yard to turn the lights on/off. I replaced the switch with this one, installed a battery in the supplied remote and it all is working perfectly
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Add On Switch
Keither
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Kind of

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this product for several years. The on off switch doesn't work like a regular switch. It turns off/ on with just a light touch, you have to get used to that. But, it is nice to be able turn the light on/ off in the room instead of going way down the hall.
The one complaint I do have- they didn't list the frequency on the order. These switches come in different frequencies- A, B, C and so on. If they had sent an A or B to me it would have interfered with other switches. The frequency should be a choice when you order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Add On Switch
riamar
from Scarsdale, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent idea!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to remove a light switch inside a closet, so this wireless switch allows me now to turn the light on-off without opening the closet. Some times by turning this switch on another wireless controlled light that I have in another closet nearby turns also on. I don't believe this is a problem compared to the convenience that the wireless switch offered me.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Add On Switch
kennyj
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Hard to find easy to use

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product saves many dollars in electrical rewiring costs and allows three way service
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Add On Switch
Hud46
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Workks like advertised

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed a switch for the basement stairs. There was a switch at the top of stairs but none at the bottom. This wireless switch solved the problem.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Add On Switch
96740
from Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Would have been 5 star excellent but...

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is GREAT and works very well.
HOWEVER...it really does need to be stocked in at least 4 different radio frequency settings to work well. If you use them for more than one purpose, (For instance: 1 as a remote light for your pool and another for a remote light for your carport/garage) you need 2 different codes. If anyone else in the neighborhood is using a remote for an overhead fan and it is one of your 2 codes, then either you are turning on their fan or they are turning on your pool light. Not so good. Can we please get a choice of A, B, C, D codes instead of just D?
Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: too few code choices
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Add On Switch
carlw
from Eastsound WA

wireless add-on switch

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked like a charm; the only problem I had was that the face plate for the switch replaced by this signal-receiving switch did not fit the replacement, but the proper face plate can be had at a hardware store for 49 cents.
There is no obvious way to change the wireless channel used.
The website information about such switches is quite inadequate. E.g., it would have been helpful to have the installation instructions online.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Add On Switch
Bones
from Bloomington, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and installs easily

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first one I ordered was defective and I was able to exchange it for a good one with no hassle. The second one works just as it is supposed to and I think the price is quite fair. We can now turn on the outside lights mounted on our detached garage to illuminate our back yard without leaving the house. A real convenience.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: first one ordered was defective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Add On Switch
connerja2
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great idea,but....

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is great, but the range is not nearly as strong as indicated on the description. If something is able to transmit for 100'+ line of site, it should have no problem transmitting through one sheetrock wall and 15' away. However, it is intermittent at best. Great concept, and works well in the same room.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: short range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>