728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Switches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch

Wireless Add On Switch

The BL-6133-LA Wireless Add on Switch provides the ability to add light switch control to any wired light without new wiring. Simply replace the existing wall switch that controls the light and mount the wireless wall switch in a new location. The wireless wall switch operates the wired wall switch within 100 ft. to turn lights ON and OFF. The wireless wall switch requires a 9 Volt battery, not included. Each wired wall switch controls 500 Watts incandescent lighting and fits inside standard wiring boxes.
Overall rating:
3.748 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product99 of 126reviews
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(55)
4
(34)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product99 of 126reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Add On Switch
Review 1 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Arlington, VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but installation was a problem

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The item comes with two wires sticking out of it, instead of the usual screws to attach the wires from the wall. The switch that goes into the wall is very deep, so if the hole in the wall has large wires in it or doesn't have room, the switch will stick out beyond the wall. I had to cut down the wires to make room, but the finishing plate is still 1/4 inch off the wall. Speaking of the finishing plate, the holes that the screws go into are plastic and not threaded, so the screw has to be forced in. Unfortunately, the screws are made of soft metal and one of them broke as I screwed it in. Now the face plate only has one screw on it and the other hole has a broken screw inside that cannot be removed. I used double sided tape to keep the top of the face plate on. It looks horrible, since it's already sticking out from the wall because of the size of the unit. The remote switch requires a 9V battery, which is not made clear on the package (one of the bullet points in the back); this should be highlighted since it's so important. For the price, they could include a battery. The remote switch is fine and didn't need anything special, other than the battery (installed by removing the face place, not the back).
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish
Cons: too large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does What I Need It To Do

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased two of these and installed them in two separate locations. My use case is about 30' from remote to switch. Works great at that distance. I tested it 50' away through drywall and it did not work reliably.
A word of caution: If you think they will automatically send you two units that operate on separate channels, you are mistaken. Both units I received are channel D, which means had I installed them in close proximity they would have interfered with one another. I would have liked to see separate part numbers for the two channel options so that I could order another for close proximity use.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: can't select channel
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Salida Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a SURPRISE.....!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Didn't know this product existed - and IT WORKED PERFECTLY. And SO EASY to install. For years our guests would have to walk over to the guest bathroom sink to turn on light - and now I installed this remote switch by the door and like magic it turns on the light. Has been fun to show it off to friends and family - and every one of them have a similar use for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

practical answer to problem

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After previous owner of house enclosed porch, the outside light switch was 10ft from the door with no practical way to rewire. The only problem I ran into was that I did not realize that it would not work with florescent bulbs. I noticed one bulb flickering in the off position and discovered 87vac passing through switch. I fixed the problem by changing just one of the four bulbs with a 60watt incandescent to add the load needed and the pass-through 87v dropped to zero
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not for florescent bulbs
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Schenectady, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was easy to installl. So nice to be able to turn the light off once I eas upstairs. Found out that new energy efficient lightbulbs interfere with the signal so you must use regular lightbulbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: can't use energy efficient lightbulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Add On Switch

Works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product does exactly what it is suppose to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No CFL's

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The switch was easy to install and the range seems fine. I don't understand the complaints abut the lack of battery or switch cover. Have these people never bought any toys? The description clearly states battery required, not included. I can however attest to the fact that this switch hates ANY fluorescent lights, and that includes CFL's. The switch will buzz mercilessly and will not turn the lights completely off if you try to use it with CFL bulbs in the light fixtures. I am being forced to change to LED bulbs, because there is no way I am reverting to incandescent bulbs. I hope the LED's will not be a problem. If so, I will update this review.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Add On Switch
from arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to install, remote mounts to existing box or can mount on wall anywhere. Main switch has a master shut off switch to make sure light isn't turned on when away from home. I had trouble getting the remote to activate the master switch at first, followed instructions on unwinding antenna and it has worked great ever since. I wish they stocked it in the store rather than having to buy online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: can only buy online
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Add On Switch
from middletown, ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not a good product

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First switch I received the toggle was defective. The 2nd switch I received the toggle doesn't operate very smoothly. Not impressed.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Add On Switch
from AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wireless add on switch

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the second switch I put in like this. Thanks
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Williston, VT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as designed

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wireless switch works as advertised.
Wished the white color was available, kept checking as after 3 weeks, white still was not in stock. I'll keep checking and if it comes in, I'll get the white one so it will finally match all of the other ones. I'll plan to use the current almond one in the next project.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: limited stock of white color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Add On Switch

Easy to install nice switch

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great but can't use those stupid pig tail lights have to try to find real light bulbs to use as the pig tail lights flicker with the switch I like the real light bulbs anyway so is happy to change lightbulbs out Real easy switch to install works great in the kitchen
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Add On Switch

Happy customer

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed this for a long time. Great transaction. Fast and easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really made a difference

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Moderately easy to install. Biggest problem was location of transmitter switch being effective. We had a bird cage located about 12-15 inches away from the receiver switch, so line of sight was interfered with. So, the transmitter switch got moved about 15 inches from where I originally installed it, and it worked fine. It would be nice if there was some sort of double sided sticky tape to temporarily hold the transmitter to find proper location. It's a pain to drill the holes and mount the switch, only to find out it wasn't effective. So far, it has been a great addition to getting at a switch that's at the back of the house -- from the front door!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation, Effective
Cons: hit or miss with location of transmitter switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Hamilton, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with an easy install.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used this product before in several different homes. Easy to install and works great. It took about 10 minutes to install. If I had to hard wire the lights it would have taken a couple of hours and would have cost a lot more than the remote switch did.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RIP OFF

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these. Installed them according to instructions and neither worked. RIP OFF!
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Add On Switch

Performance Not As Expected

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product didn't perform as expected. turns on/off to the touch of the button, works only with incandecent light bulbs. accepts interference from other wireless devices at the home, like wireless door bill.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Add On Switch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product didn't meet my needs

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very nice switch, easy to install, but only works in line of sight situations . Will not work through a wall, floor or ceiling and that is what I needed.?
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Altoona, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product. performs well

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easily installed, performs well, as expected. Customer service was good
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Add On Switch
from Princeton, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old DIY man

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It worked as promised! Read the instruction to avoid any surprises. I think some of the people that are complaining did not read all of the instructions. I tried three kinds of light bulbs, compact florescent, incandescent & LED, I liked the LED best and the florescent hummed. The switch must be flipped slower than normal.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: switch must be flipped slower than normal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>