728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Security Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

The Heath Zenith Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set combines the convenience of motion-activated lighting with the security of an audible alert. This motion alert set includes a motion detector with a 70 ft. range and a 180-degree detection angle and a plug-in that controls incandescent lights up to 300 watts. The motion sensor requires 2 AA batteries for operation (not included) and can be installed up to 100 ft. away from the plug-in device to maintain functionality.
Overall rating:
2.7 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
46%of customersrecommend this product13 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
46%of customersrecommend this product13 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
Review 1 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this little Alert!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just can't believe all the negative reviews on this. We've had ours for over 8 yrs, and just love it. We've used it in two different homes and no problems. I have ours mounted on a peak at roof level above our front porch around 20 ft. high. I had my son stay on the ladder while I walked all over my front yard everywhere I wanted the alarm to sound. I even got it to stop at the curb so the passing cars wouldn't set the alarm off, just by having my son keep adjusting it (just barely move it) until I had it alarming every bit of our front and driveway side of the yard. Its been in the weather all these years with no problems. You will have to change the two batteries on the motion sensor outside, but my son climbs on a ladder to do mine. If you have a tree in your yard, mount it to that facing the front of your house and it will cover the whole front of your home and go off as soon as someone passes that tree, then you don't have to worry about cars setting it off. Then tilt it up some about waist high to go off and you won't have dogs and cats setting it off either. My husband and son go working out of town alot and i'm left home alone, I can't tell you how much better I feel knowing this works so good. I have the alarm part plugged into an outlet in a spare middle bedroom and can hear it from all over my house. In the day I know when someone is about to ring my front doorbell before their even up to the porch. But, be advised a dog and cat, etc. will also set it off. I just wish everyone on here would've had the same results as we have had. Only saw the bad reviews because I was hoping Home Depot still had these. Buying one for my recenly divorced daughter whose afraid of being alone at night. You also have to set the little dip stick thingy's on the same frequency between both pieces. Maybe thats why these peoples didn't work. All i know is I just love it.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best bang for your buck!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is such a simple device yet I have not had a issue with things getting stolen from my front porch since I installed it. Light goes on, a sound lets me know something is going on and it definitely detours from mischief.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Grandview, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i use mine as a outside unit with the alarrm inside it has worked GREAT for me never a range problem or anything. I don't understand the bad reviews but i am very happy and going to buy another as a gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54

Awesome purchase

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product also works well as an unobtrusive sensor to let you know when someone is in your driveway. I have it set to "bing" in the house to let me know that someone or something is there. Previously, I had cars in my driveway that were "gently robbed." Last night, the sensor tripped and I surprised the wannabe thief by walking outside.Keep in mind the wannabe thief had managed *not* to set off the driveway light. I walked outside to see what was happening and the wannabe thief took off down the street running as hard as he could with his flashlight in hand. Pretty sure that a car picked him up. I'll see today what I might be missing, but thanks to this product as soon as this young man opened the door to my car, I was there. As a $40 preliminary alarm system, its value can't be beat.
Pros: Battery Length, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, works well as a security motion sensor, unobtrusive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

The range is not 70 feet

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product worked OK but the range (through walls) was only about 30 feet.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Houston

Indoor Alert Set

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is better than okay, but not perfect. It does turn on the lights, and has an audible short duration sound. the sound won't be heard very far away. Be nice if it was adjustable to an even higher volume, and longer duration, but, it's not bad. this company seems to make good motion detected items. I'd recommend the product and the company.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk-in-a-box

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't purchase, stopped working 8 hrs after installing indoors while using in kitchen to trigger under-cabinet lights when entering kitchen (10 ft radius). Returned and went with Lowe's (Utilitech Wireless Security Alert #0277396 - Works excellent)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When I first installed this item I was not impressed. But after reading more into the instructions. I must say that it's not bad. More often than not the alarm will sound and the light will come on and turn itself off. I would indeed recommend this product, but you will need to be patient with it...it is what is.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Complicated
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

Works great..... when it works!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its a great unit when it works.It's very unreliable, some days it works great and other days nothing works.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Beverly Hills, CA

Works Great as an Animal Alert!

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many months. I have the sensor mounted outside by the back glass sliding door about a foot off the ground and the plug-in alert is on the inside of the house. The reason I have the sensor mounted close to the ground is because I want to be alerted when an animal is at the back door. If it's "our" feral cat(s), I'll put some cat food out for them. If it's a raccoon(s) or opossum(s), then I don't put anything out.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Berwyn, IL...near Chicago

This produuct has been a great solution to problem

PostedJune 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a puppy intent on going under everyones dining rm tables. I set the detector up yesterday, and the issue is solved. This product has given me an inexpensive, non-intrusive way to train her. This will akso save me the embarassment when away from home, because it is portable.
The same technique could be used as a safety feature for children, in dangerous rooms such as bathrooms and stairwells.
I also plan to use it for my issue with sleep walking. With the advantage of an outlet activated by a motion detector I can plug in a ligt or alarm that will wake me before I open doors in my sleep, and be seriously hurt. Because this happens on vacations and away from home, the portability of this product is fantastic.
Last, I am disabled with a brain injury, having a room light up before my eyes and vistibular balance are effected by darkness wll avoid the falls I have come to accept as a way of life.
It has the options for volume control and timing control so it does not offend others. Someday, I will buy one for what it was originally intended for, right now it has been the solution to some really difficult problems.
PatB
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

Be careful what you plug into it!

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I plugged a radio into this the first time I used it and the alarm sounded but the radio ceased to work. Instructions say not to plug in power tools or appliances (duh) to this device, but it looks like it will fry even a radio. I've since plugged in a flourescent lamp and I notice even the light flickers (an unintended but useful side effect for my cause, because it looks like someones moving about in the vacant house I'm trying to keep from getting burglarized).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from alabama
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 1 already for years, ordered 3 more for gifts. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

Multipurpose motion detector

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these units to detect when my elderly mother is up and moving in one of her adjoining rooms where the detectors are strategically located. She's not supposed to motivate without using a walker or wheelchair but "forgets" so we have to keep close check to make sure she doesn't have another expensive fall. One receiver is plugged in the family room and another in our bedroom. The electrical outlet on the remote receiver will power on for a set period of 1 min. or 5 min. and the buzzer beeps 3 times when she gets out of bed or if she gets up and walks in her TV room. After the delay time is up it resets itself and watches for motion again. Works great - be sure to read the directions. The detector is a body heat sensor and will lose sensitivity when air temperature is near or above body temperature. Some experimentation may be required to achieve desired results, the maximum effective range to the receiver through walls was limited to about 35 feet in my application. Motion detectors and receivers can be tuned by dip switches to use the same channel or separate channels if more than one pair is used on a premises. I used them on the same channel.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The box says it has a wireless range of 100 ft. Not even close to reality.... it's more like 15 feet. Motion detection is very sporadic. Sometimes triggers, sometimes doesn't, even with gross movement and at the most sensitive setting. I'm returning this thing first chance I have.
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from Tampa, Fl USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great when new, not reliable after 18 months.

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had mine for about 18 months. Worked great when new but after 18 months is not reliable. There are times now when a car or person would drive up under the sensor but the alarm did not sound. New batteries did not help. The sensor is mounted about 10 ft outside above the garage door. The receiver is inside house about 20 ft from sensor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

this unit is broken I will be returning it

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is broken. It only lasted one day before it stopped working. I will be returning it and buying a different brand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set

Don't waste your time

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these to provide some simple motion activated alerts when someone is in the yard at night. The sensors seem to work outside halfway decent, but not out to the distances specified, even after careful aiming. However, the wireless transmition aspect of these is junk!!! With fresh batteries in the sensor, the receiver needs to be ridiculously close to sensor to work... even when I tried keeping the receiver outside on my front porch. I tried setting the combination of sensor and reciever to different frequencies/switch settings to be sure I didn't have interference problems with anything else in the area. Worthless!!! They will be getting returned tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product for a alert on visitors

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
hard to find the right place to place detector but once a good location was found works well as visitor alert (doorbell that does not need to be pushed)
Pros: Compact, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Motion Activated Alert Set
from OBX NC
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low Tone, short range

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The range is line of sight. ( if I could see through walls I wouldnt need it. Tone is very low can only hear it in a quiet room unless you do what I did. Instead of a light I hooked up a siren.. LOL ( not really but a thought )
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: low range and volume ( like me )
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>