728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Fry turkeys the safe and healthy way with the Char-Broil The Big Easy Propane Oil-Less Fryer. Since this fryer uses a 16,000 BTU burner, there is no oil to buy, pre-heat or dispose of, making your cooking preparation effortless. Cool-touch handles help protect your hands during operation, and a pull-out grease tray makes cleanup a snap. Cooks up to 16 lb. of turkey, 8 lb. roast, ribs and more.
Overall rating:
4.862 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product298 of 303reviews
Rating Breakdown 311 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(278)
4
(28)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product298 of 303reviews
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 223 Answers
Customer reviews for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Review 1 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
htgrimmi
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just cooked my best turkey ever! And it was a practice bird.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted a fryer but didn't want the cost, mess and risk of a tank of oil. I wouldn't really call this a true frier but it sure made one heck of a juicy and flavorful bird. I cooked a pre-Thanksgiving practice turkey as I didn't want to risk messing up dinner for everyone. My family said this was my best turkey ever and I even messed it up a bit.
Some tips:
Read the instructions completely and season it with oil as recommended.
Don't torque the heck out of the screws. They don't need it.
Loosen the burner bolt a little to make installation of each leg easier.
Like the instructions say, don't use the lid unless it is windy, cold or you want to darken it up a bit. I put the lid on for the last 15 min and got the temp up to 172. Was still moist but the rub, drumsticks and wingtips burnt a little. It was right on schedule to hit 165, I bet I only needed 5 min max with the lit to darken up the skin a little.
The drippings made some awesome gravy as well. Bring it to a boil as the instructions say.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
GarettPB
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Way to Fry A Turkey

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, easier to cook with, and even easier to clean. The name "Big Easy" speaks for itself. I would recommend this product to anyone who has ever had to deal with left over peanut oil, burns from splash backs, or wasted natural gas heating up gallons of oil. The money you will save yearly in peanut oil and gas makes this purchase a wise investment for any fried turkey lover. It also makes some pretty good bar-b-que as well!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Trish
from Fayetteville, NC, USA

Excellent! Worth the money, easy to use!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy this product because I didn't know anyone who owned it. I bought it and have no regrets! This was my first turkey and my first time hosting for Thanksgiving and I know this fryer made it much easier to keep track of the turkey. The skin was a little crispy and every bit of meat, including the breast, was tender and juicy!!! I plan on using this again for this Christmas and many other times. It was relatively easy to clean. It comes with its own thermometer as well. I cooked an 11.9 lb turkey and it took about 2 hours and 15 minutes to cook. We waited until internal temp was 165 (thermometer deep in leg). My next attempt is a duck, followed by a prime rib.
Great buy!!!! (also easy to assemble)
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Python
from Fairfax, virgina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Easy & brining

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the Big easy to cook a brined turkey. Everyone who ate the turkey , said it was the best turkey they had ever tasted. The big easy produced a moist inner nod crispy outer turkey.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Annie
from Fayetteville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Char-Broil's Big Easy oiless propane turkey fryer is amazing!!!!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far my daughter's cooked a Thanksgiving turkey, a duck & a prime rib! I am so glad that she decided to buy the Big Easy one year ago. I was skeptical at first but when that beautifully browned & moist 12 lb turkeycame out of that cooker, I was her #1 fan! I had prime rib with her as well & it was better than any restaurant could ever cook. She cooked it med. rare, the outside was deliciously crisped with garlic & herbs & the prime rib was tender & moist. Hoping we have another one this holiday! ;-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, oiless fryer
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Biggamike
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frying a turkey has never been easier

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have yet to meet one person that has not liked the end result of what is cooked in the Big Easy. I ended up dropping 4 turkeys in it during the Thanksgiving Holiday.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Shelley
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Easy...Just as it says!!! Big and Easy

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shipped very fast....easy to understand directions and set up in about 10 minutes....worked awesome...Turkey was nice and moist....recommend to all
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Clean, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Jeanie
from Houston, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Darn Cooker Ever

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has to be one of the best cookers we've bought yet! We first tried a chicken and it took about 1 hr 15 min to cook 5.15lb. I was a little scared at first since the outside got fairly dark but the inside was super moist and oh so tender. I accidently cooked it over the 165 degree mark for chicken cuz the temp shoots up pretty fast towards the end but it was still awesome! The meat thermometer that comes with the fryer worked really well to leave in while you cook your meat. Now we just need to get more gadgets to hold different meats!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
WoodUtail
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Big Easy cooks easier and taste better then a deep fried turkey.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Big Easy is a great value and does a great job.
I have not been disappointed cooking any type of meats or poultry.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
CHAM4
from New Orleans
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I can be the "Spokesperson: for this produce.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been having the Big Easy Turkey Fryer since it was first introduced about 3.5 years ago. Love it wouldn't trade it for anything. My husband and I use every excuse to use our Big Easy. Easy cleanup, no mess, food is juicy and delicious. The only thing I am afraid of is something happening to it and I can't purchase another one. The best product ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! KUDOS Big Easy.
LOVE IT - LOVE IT - LOVE IT. Contact me, I can sell millions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, no other product like it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
pigmansupreme
from s/w oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good cooker and very easy !

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
when I bought this cooker, I got it out, read the directions and assembled it.it was easy enough, a bit of ambiguity when it came to the little guard but I figured it out.by following the directions, I seasoned the cooker, prepped a six pound test chicken, put the thermometer in the breast and put it in the cooker, ( 15 minutes per pound ). I set my phone alarm for ninety minutes and the bird looked perfect when the alarm went off. the pointer on the thermometer lined up perfectly with the pre-set arrow marker, (165 degrees ).I rested it upright with the thermometer still in for twenty mins. still in the basket.i then laid it on a plate and carved it and it was perfect in every way.i plan on cooking a 16 pound turkey on thanks giving. it, in my opinion is a very good product and I couldn't be more pleased. thank you char-broil and home depot. !!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Marcia
from Bedias, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Easy Oiless Turkey Fryer

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for m husband. He had just tried fried turkey for the first time and loved it. I saw this model that does not use oil for frying. I was a bit apprehensive about it. We seasoned the turkey and followed the instructions. The ease of cooking was amazing. Very little attention was needed. We did not time the cooking, we went by the instructions using the thermometer. We cooked it to and internal temp of 165 degrees. It was absolutely perfect. We are totally pleased with the cooker and look forward to experimenting with other meats. I would recommend this fryer to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
bp4095
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent fryer

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fryer a week ago. I started off with an 8 1/2 lb chicken, and 2 hours later it was done. Very moist and crispy, but the wings were a bit burnt on the tips. After reading the instructions I attributed this to using the cover for the last hour of cooking. Next up was a 15 lb turkey. Cooked in 2 1/2 hours and was perfect. This time I used the cover during the last 30 minutes for extra crispy skin. Clean up was easy, and unlike my peanut oil fryer which goes into storage after Thanksgiving, I plan on using this fryer year round. Oh, as others mentioned a hinged cooking basket would be better for larger birds, I plan on ordering one. A great buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
sammy
from Dallas tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It should be called Big N' Tasty!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me forever to buy this frying since I couldn't understand or trust the concept of frying without oil (it won't be frying, right?) However, I am very blessed with the fryer. Cooked two 14 lbs turkeys on Thanksgiving and they came out as good as the oil fryer. One thing I missed is the sound of oil noise and splatter when I place the turkey in.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Raymond

Best cooker i've ever had

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Char-Broil The Big Easy Propane Oil-Less Fryer. I got my first one two years ago and used it so much I had to replace it. It's not only for turkeys but for about anything you can think to cook. Roast, ribs, chickens and the list goes on and on. The pic is of a Sirloin Rost done in the Big Easy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
NCFOOTES
from Hope Mills, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use and mouth watering results

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product delivered every thing it promises. It is easy to assemble and easy to use. the turkey was perfect, even my mother in-law went for seconds.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
Ranchero
from Munster, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has so many add on parts that it will make grilling so easy and fun

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to assemble we were ready to seasoned in about 30 mins.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
royce0869
from Jacksonville, florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am in love!!!!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical about this product until I read the other reviews. Just about everything said in them turned out to be true. The first thing I cooked in this unit was a turkey and it turned out fantastic!!! My relatives loved it so much that they bought on when they returned home. I have cooked Chicken legs, quarters, wings, country and spare ribs, a boston butt, and beef kabobs and all have turned out AWESOME!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
cajunjake
from Centerville, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OUTSTANDING Purchase So Far! No Oily Cleanup!

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having fried turkey's for the past 10 plus years, I was a bit skeptical of this concept, but, after only hearing good reviews by some friends down in New Orleans, I decided to make the plunge on the "Big Easy". I have only used it once so far (just bought it 10 days ago), but I was simply AMAZED by this Oil-less Fryer! The turkey came out delicious!
PRO'S:
- No more bulk purchase (and subsequent disposal) of peanut oil (this step alone saves close to $40 of oil purchase);
- Cleanup is much easier after cooking the turkey. The cooker is pretty much cold enough to move after about 15 to 20 minutes - now you can take one to tailgate parties! The cooking basket can be run thru the dish washer (the electric one, not the spouse version).
- Much safer operation - no worries over the hot grease during and immediately after frying a turkey;
- Less propane gas used. Though the Actual Cooking time is longer with this cooker than Frying, the overall Propane Gas usage is less because you don't have to preheat the cooking oil.
- Because its safer, I'm not restricted in where I must fry the bird (just be aware that Charbroil recommends you not cook under a low hanging roof because of the heat generated from the gas heat); you no longer have to worry about pets or kids tipping over a pot of 3 plus gallons of hot oil!
- Healthier food!
CON'S:
- The directions say you can cook up to a 16 lb turkey, however, I cooked a 13 lb turkey and it was somewhat of a challenge getting the cooked turkey out of the supplied "frying" basket - not sure I would want to stuff a 16 lb bird into the basket). I have since bought a basket that swings open in half from the Charbroil web site ($19.99). In my opionion, this breakaway basket should be the "supplied" basket.
- A very minor Con: Actual Cooking time is longer than frying in oil, but less than baking a turkey (cooking time is 10 minutes per pound).
Some cooking tips:
- Approximately half way into the cooking cycle, pull out the basket and wrap the wing tips with foil (only if you don't want burnt wing tips). Wing tips tend to hang out of the basket while cooking.
- If you don't own a pair, I would recommend you buy a pair of oven type "rubberized" mitts (similar to "Ove Gloves"). Fortunately, I already owned a pair of rubberized oven gloves - this helps during the removal of the turkey out of the basket.
- The Big Easy has a very good drip pan to catch all the drippings during the cooking cycle. Make sure you prep your spouse, "better half", whomever to know how to make gravy. The drippings makes excellent gravy! It also helped that my wife had "shot up" the bird with liquid Cajun Turkey Seasoning (Creole Butter and Creole Garlic Seasoning) the day before I fried the turkey. The quatity of the drippings will show you how much "grease" got cooked out of the turkey.
Strongly recommend the Big Easy!! You will simply be amazed how moist, tasty and greaseless your turkey comes out - in addition, your bird will come out nice and golden in color (with a nice crunchy skin) - your friends will be dumbfounded when you tell them it was cooked without oil!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean
Cons: cooking basket not hinged
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer
harleyman
from belleville illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unbelievable turkey everyone at thanksgiving and christmas loved it

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just inject with favorite marinade and coat with your favorite rub . The birds were incredible . Just put the mesh lid on with about 15 to 30 minutes to go in the cooking process and it comes out juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Cant wait to buy the accessories to cook the ribs , chicken and kabobs. anyone can cook with this thing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>