728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shower Walls & Surrounds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White

Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White

This ASB Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White features 6 large shelves for storing bathroom essentials. This poly-composite shower wall is up to 3x thicker than a standard surround for added strength. Because the surround goes directly to the stud, there is only minimal use of adhesive.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
Review 1 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
jessica
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features and pretty easy install.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
FIRENZE 34 IN. X 48 IN. X 73-1/2 IN. 3-PIECE DIRECT-TO-STUD SHOWER WALL SURROUND IN WHITE that we bought has great features. This shower is nice and roomy. The install was pretty easy as well. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: does not come with the adhesive needed to adhere.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
kjp29
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointing ... cracked after a few months

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this less than 6 months and there is already a large crack on the back panel. I'm hoping there is still some kind of warranty but I'm sure it won't cover the labor we spent having this installed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
anniemcu
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY-ers.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was pretty easy to install, looks great, drains well, and holds plenty of shower necessities such as shampoo and the like.
The only 'cons': the protective plastic wrap left some difficult to clean sticky residue, the shelves are a bit shallow, and the matching floor section is a bit noisy. Nothing serious.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design, ease of installation
Cons: sticky residue from protective wrap., shelves a bit shallow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
dolfin99
from Rancho Cordova CA

Firenze 48" Shower Wall Surround

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The walls are very thick and sturdy and look wonderful. I was a bit worried about taking on this project by myself but it was very easy to install. The hardest part of the whole project was removing the existing wall board and adjusting the size of two of the three walls. All I had to do in order to make the shower walls fit was to attach 1" X 3" X 8' pieces of wood to the existing studs on the back wall and side wall without the fixtures. Everything fit perfectly. In order to install this product you only need nails, adhesive and caulking. The wall board will then be placed over the edges where you nail the walls to the stud. You could install without removing the wall board if your measurements are correct, but you would need to place something over the edges that you nail to the studs. Once everything was ready for installation it only took a few hours to install since I also used the shower pan that goes with this product. It looks great and has plenty of shelving space.
The only complaint I have is two of the corners that would be nailed to the studs were cracked due to handling in the store from being on the shelves. This did not affect the installation since it was covered by the wall board.
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
Fred
from Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looked nicer and was sturdier than expected

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this insert for a customer that didn't want to spend the extra money for tile. I was surprised on how nice it looked when finished and for the price, it was a lot sturdier than expected. Just be sure and use lots of 2X4s, adhesive, and braces until it sets. The customer was thrilled with the finished product. The only thing I might criticized was the gap where the sides joined the back was wider in the middle than the top and bottom. The whole gap is calked so it isn't noticed but I thought the gap in the middle was a little wide for calk.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
drew32
from hopewell, pa

easy

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good strong walls, easy to read instructions and install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
little

good product for space

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had to return my first choice shower stall which was too wide for my hallway. However, this 4-pc design delivered like surf-boards around corners and into my 4x8 room. I'm impressed with the style and quality. It will work fine if you have it installed properly, give caulk an extra day to cure before getting it wet, and keep it clean.
I told my contractor "It makes me sing EVEN better".
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
mcdebbie
from Okeechobee, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Economical shower

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We install these in migrant houses as the bathtubs go bad. They are economical replacements that go up fairly easy with modifications to the space.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Build Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
Cburrows
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very streight forward installatio. Took only a couple of hours and I was done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
kenworth0403
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Emergency bathroom repair

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought my unit in Feb to replace a bathtub. Had no trouble installing it, other than having to cut the concrete floor had to do the remodel in 2 days. No problems at all with the unit. I'm planning to buy another one for the new bathroom i'm adding. Just read the directions first. I recommend using VERSABOND THINSET to glue the back down it worked great for me.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
Anonymous
from 3558 Cedar Street, Riverside, CA 92501, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and Easy!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clear directions made installation a snap. We really like all the storage shelves.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
BOBinVA
from Forest, Va

Fantastic and beautiful shower

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
First, I am a technical writer for a pharmaceutical company, not a plumber. In spite of my lack of experience, this project resulted in a fantastic shower. All sections fit together very well with no gaps or bulges. The shelves are conveniently positioned in the back corners providing ample storage for soap, shampoo, and etc without being bumped over. The key to having a beautiful installation lies mainly in the preparation. Be certain the wall studs are no further than 1/8” away from the shower walls and the floor is smooth and level. The directions state to glue the bottom of the base to the floor – don’t do it! The base is filled with Styrofoam and it will separate from the glue and cause popping sounds when you step off it (found this out the hard way). Also, be sure to brace the back wall (if not all walls) over night to allow the glue to set and hold – even if you use the quick grab glue. Don’t let the drain rough-in be too high or it will push the floor drain up and a small amount of water will pool in the floor pan (caught that in time to fix). One final note, use good silicone caulk (don’t scrimp here with the cheap stuff) and apply it to the contact surface of the sections as you assemble them; then run a neat bead along the seams. I repeat: this is a beautiful, affordable, and functional shower that even an amateur like me can install. Enjoy!
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
neboite

Good looking unit with ease of installation.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
The total unit including the base exceeded our expectations.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
lasaap1
from Arlington, TX

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
This was unbelievably easy to install. It went up with little to no problems. Do not stand in the base with black shoes, it will rub off (if they are polished shoes). But cleaned up easily.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
JayBuilder
from Boxborough, MA

Great looking and easy to fix shower wall

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
I bought this from the store, and transported it home on top of my minivan. However, I did not check the base of the package which was torn - so one edge was cracked. So I had to make one more trip back to get a new one.
Fixing it up was reasonably easy and not too difficult.
Some tips:
I did not glue it to the studs, and so that is easier. Also make sure you have really clean hands while doing, and take your time to caulk the seams with silicone caulk.
I also put in the base shower, and a hand rail. And finished off with a glass shower door.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
CathyS

We love our new shower

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
This shower looks great in our new bathroom! Easy installation - ? Only if you are very handy with demo, leveling, and plumbing. Oh, and a truck to take the old stuff to the dump!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
tdats
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Firenze 34 in. x 60 in. x 73-1/2 in. Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Kit in White
I was very impressed with how easy this kit is to install. How the corners are designed gives some leeway on how perfect the framing needs to be. It looks great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Firenze 34 in. x 48 in. x 73-1/2 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall Surround in White
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product