728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ponds & Pond Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

The Ultimate Pond Products Pond and Waterfall in a Box Free Form Waterfall Kit features natural flagstone, small boulders, cobbles, pebbles and a tough rubber liner. This kit also includes an instructional DVD and booklet.
Overall rating:
4.867 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Washington State

Build your own

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The wife and I had been shopping around and gathering information on creating a new water feature. We are good DIYers, but.... this one scared me. A friend had bought one and said 'hey it's easy'... so we purchased one. We made ours quite large, so we had to buy a larger liner and more rocks, total investment was 2k. It turned out beautiful. It took more like 2 weeks to fully put it together due to curing time of the rocks etc. I would do it again, although this time I would I buy the items seperate, hand pick my rocks. Concept is great! Built our confidence and knowledge to really do it ourself next time..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from California

Beautiful Pond and Waterfall Complete Kit

PostedDecember 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this product and am very pleased to say that it was more than I expected. It had everything needed, even down to the little waterfall foam for those little leak spots. It took myself and my teenage son a day to build. The next moring we added water and have enjoyed it sense. The all natural stones are beautiful, the equipment is durable and complete. We did not have to go purchase anything from our local Home Depot Store to complete the project. I was a little unsure of the outcome since I have never built something like this before. However, the installation video that came in the box with the kit eased my mind. It was thorough and gave me confidence to proceed with excitement. I had a great day with my son doing a project that added a lot to my back yard. I would definitely reccomend this product to anyone who enjoys a nice water feature. Not to mention, when it is all done and you are sitting there looking at it. It sure shows like it should cost a lot more than it does.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Expectations......

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I read "Pond and Waterfall in a Box" I had low expectations of what to expect. How could they ship something, with the example photo of what is in that box, as beautiful as that to your door. WELL THEY DID.
I searched and searched for water features that were dramatic yet affordable. Anything I found that was even close to the quality and bling as this were three to four times the price and many of them were man-made materials. This item is all natural stone. The box arrived on the day it was promised. The driver fork lifted this extremely heavy box to the place I asked him. He was most cordial and willing to assist.
We began opening the box and everything on the list was in the box. The box was mostly of different sized rocks and stone and it is somewhat up to your creativity of how you wish your waterfall to look. The video and step by step instructions were easy and even someone like me that has a recessive gene in creativity can pull this one off. Theoretically you could build this yourself in one day but we took our time and moved rock around until it was placed where we thought it looked best for us. We took a total of three days from the moment it arrived to having it run 24/7. I read where one customer spend quite a bit more on extra materials. I needed to buy another bag of concrete and a couple bags of rock and plants for around it. Not including the plants I spent approximately $50 over the price of the waterfall. Building up the higher end of the waterfall I did use some items I had laying around such as brick and stone. With the provided liner anything you might put to raise up the back of the waterfall is covered. At some point I may even go ahead and get more rock and dirt and raise it even higher. The option is there to do so. The pump that comes with this waterfall is very powerful and works exceptionally well and you are given the option of how fast you wish the water to recycle. I keep the setting at 25% for a nice relaxing stream of water.
I guess it's hard to tell how pleased I am with this product and when my friends say "where did you get that?" I can honestly say "I built it." And once they say that the next comment is how beautiful it is.
If you get this waterfall be sure you have the truck driver put the box as close to the work area as you can get it (if he will that is) as it is extremely heavy. DO watch the video several times and then watch it again. (It's not long at all). Don't rush the project. Take your time and make it what you want with your personal touches. We moved the stone around for two days to get it where we loved the way it looked. Then...enjoy the waterfall you built with pride.
Jack
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Ozarks scenic riverways, southern Missouri.

The size and amount of flagstone, pebbles etc.

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After carefully reviewing the video and reading the instruction booklet, i began by joining the ends of the string provided. It turned out to much to large for the liner, the amount of stone , pebbles and pea stone provided. I had to go to a somewhat local lumber store and purchase a pallet of large stone pieces, plus 2 bags of pebbles and stones just to cover the bottom of the pond. We also had to come up with some creative ideas to make the water create a cascade rather than just run out from the end of the hose. After purchasing the kit, the extra rock and the landscaping, it ended up costing me 1,500. 00+ dollars, and thats with using things around the house to. I have to say, with a little ingenuity, it turned out pretty darn nice., But I wouldn't want to do it again!!!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Frederick MD

5 stars!!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great kit, plenty of stone, still have some leftover. As for the little leaks, well, still have a couple, foam didn't work as well as it should have, but that could have been user error. Don't let that stop you from ordering. Excellent product!!! Very happy!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from PA resident

pond in a box-good product

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased and installed the pond in a box kit. It is beautiful. The stones that they use are so pretty. It is my favorite part of the yard. It is a slightly challenging project. It helps to have two people to help dig and move dirt/rocks. It will take longer than the day that they claim you need to install and you must figure out how to secure the mound of dirt in the back so it does not crumble. we used a retaining brick system and back filled with more dirt-it turned out great!!! I am glad that the pond is installed and am enjoying it. Well worth the effort!!!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Kenner, LA

Terrific Product

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Video and instruction booklet enclosed made following the directions easy. Great technical support for questions. Just must make sure that help is available for delivery. Highly recommended. It is beautiful!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

Great waterfall! Great quality!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The most difficult thing for us to do was build the mound for the waterfall. We needed more dirt than what we dug out for the pond and the extra dirt we got was not very good quality. After we got the mound built the rest was a breeze! I would highly recommend getting quality dirt because the mound is the foundation for the waterfall. Also, make sure you don't go bigger than what the enclosed string allows when measuring out your waterfall & pond. When we got more dirt we covered the outline of the waterfall and ended up building it too big. We had to make the waterfall shorter and bring it closer to the pond and reduce the depth of the pond in order for the liner to fit. It took us about a week a couple hours a day to finish.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO

great product

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this self contained waterfall/pond is everything they said it would be. If you are designer challenged when it comes to figuring out exactly what you need to have this beautiful water feature in your yard, this is the product for you!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

Beautiful Pond

PostedFebruary 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pond kit comes with everything you would need to build a beautiful pond. I'm just having a few problems making it look like the picture. The stones and flat rock are very pretty and you get plenty of them.
Thanks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Herndon, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product is outstanding

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to install and looks great. Also a great conversation piece. I just sit on my deck and listen to the water.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Au Gres, Mich.

Beautiful

PostedJuly 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was fun to put together and to enjoy was
fantastic. It's just beautiful!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

Everything it said it was!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The waterfall arrived all in the box just like it said it would. We were impressed on the quality and beauty of the stone. Unfortunatly, we did not understand the instructions on the size, so we ended up buying a larger liner and more flagstone. But it all worked out. We get many complements on the waterfeature. It would also be helpful if they could give advice on how to keep the algea at bay.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED
from Lafayette, Colorado

Great Starter Kit

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit was delivered in a timly manner and when promised. The instruction video was pretty common sense. We spent a week building the pond and waterfall a few hours at a time. It's a bit like piecing a puzzle together. We built it a little bigger than it's suppose to be so used some flagstone we had and bought a few more river rock. The rock that came in the kit was a nice variety with patterns and colors that give it character.
The bottom line is we love our pond and waterfall as it turned out even bettter than we anticipated.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pond Kit with Free Form Waterfall-DISCONTINUED

Great Product

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After some shipping issues, i was delivered my Pond Waterfall Kit... It's hard to believe that they can ship something like this in a box... but it's true...The stones were very nice and all products in the box were of excellent quality. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to build and waterfall and doesn't know where to start... This is the whole kit and when your done it's beautiful....
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.