728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Beneficial Nematodes (Steinernema Feltiae) are microscopic warriors that kill soil borne pests such as flea larvae, spidermites, fungus gnat, weevils, grubs, rootworms, cutworms, and many more. These Nematodes search, find, and kill pests living in the soil. They are extremely effective, and will reproduce and spread to provide you with long lasting organic pest control.
Overall rating:
4.086 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
Review 1 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

The Nematodes worked beautifully for our fungus gnat problem!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had quite a large colony of fungus gnats in our houseplants. They were EVERYWHERE! They were landing in our food and drinks and flying around our faces. I researched what they were because I had never had a problem like this before. During my research I discovered that something called Nematodes can be used as organic pest control for the fungus gnats. I also found that Home Depot has them available for purchase from their website. We decided to order them because we were at our wits' end. Guess what? The Nematodes worked their magic and we began to see less and less fungus gnats hanging out on our plants and flying around the house. Within a week, they were all gone!! The best part, the Nematodes will reproduce and continue to live for around 18 months in the plant soil to continue to protect our houseplants from a fungus gnat reinfestation. The prep and application is a little messy, but SO VERY worth it! Don't even think twice...if you have a fungus gnat problem, order the Beneficial Nematodes ASAP! Thanks, Home Depot!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from SOUTH TEXAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NO MORE FLEAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this to get rid of fleas. Works great to get rid of these pests. It will take a while but it works. I have cats and they eat a certain type of grass and did not want to use chemicals. So far so good. It works great in the south Texas area. I have to buy more for front of yard. Wish it cost less.
Pros: Great Quality, safe for pets
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Best stuff in the world for ticks

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have never had a tick or flea problem in the years we've lived here until this past summer. Not sure if it was new dogs in the neighborhood or firewood we got last winter, but this summer we had ticks everywhere. some were so big I thought I squished a paintball when I accidentally stepped on one in the sunroom. It was SO disgusting when I realized what it actually was. We tried everything on the dogs and in the yard, NOTHING worked 100%. At first we saw a decrease but they were back again within a week. I got the nematodes, applied them to 3 locations in the yard and within days, yard and 5 dogs totally tick free going on 4 months now.
AMAZING little critters. Best Tick killers ever.
Not sure if this is b/c of them too, but we also have had less fireant beds this summer than usual.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from North Hollywood, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't see them!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
But they must be working because my dogs aren't scratching. The fleas must be gone.
Pros: Functionality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rid that organic garden of pesky ants & termites

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After losing some vegetables in my raised garden box, I did a little research and discovered these little guys. Much to my surprise, the (small) container arrived very quickly. And an even greater surprise came when the termites and ants disappeared. It is a great product, but i was expecting a bigger container for the price. I may consider buying two more to protect my other boxes.
Pros: Functionality, controls ants & termites in organic gardens
Cons: small container, requires mixing before application
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Aubrey, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Green to use

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the Ladies in Red Nematodes for two springs this will be my third. I have found that I no longer have:
ants, grub worms, fleas, June bugs, and beetles. Using this green method has also showed a reduction in: wasps, dirt dobbers, mosquitoes, leaf eating insects, and has greatly reduced the amount of grasshoppers that feed on my plants.
I highly recommend them for insect protection without the chemicals. I do use weed killer and fertilizers, but no insecticides.
Great things come in small containers
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape, all green
+45points
46out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Good, I guess?

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only complaint is that these arrived on a very hot day, in a very hot package, with zero cooling devices (eg, cold packs, etc). Documentation in the package assures one that this is OK, but I've read statements to the contrary online, so I'm not sure what to believe about the viability of these things after exposure to heat. Nonetheless, refrigerated and applied a few days later to help with my rhody root weevil problem and have to say it TOTALLY WORKED. No more weevils feasting on my giant rhodies. I am so happy. If only I could buy these locally, I'd be even more pleased, but glad I can get them on homedepot.com at least.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from florida

the best for outdoor flea control

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have tried all types of outdoor pest control.since it rains just about everyday (i live in florida)here,the chemicals must wash away because the fleas come back (or never go away).i know all these chemicals have to be bad for the environment,so i did some research and found about these.i was at first very skeptical about appling worms in my yard.so far (about 1 month later)the fleas have dropped drastically.my dogs can go outside without being attacked by evil fleas.for indoor flea control i use diatoms food grade also very effective and interesting stuff.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Bio-organic pest assasins for your yard/garden

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My garden soil (mainly composted manure) was infested with dung beetle larvae and they were doing severe damage to my garden plants. I started seeing improvement as soon as 3-4 days and in about 2 weeks there was no sign of beetles or their wicked spawn.
No need to use chemicals to get rid of pest insects in your lawn or garden. These beneficial nematodes attack grubs, slugs, fleas, and more. But they do not harm bees and other beneficial insects.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Nematodes

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The raccoons had been digging huge holes in my lawn several times a week. I put down garden netting to keep them out, but they would just find new places or rip it up and dig away. I thought of trapping them, but then read the article on grub control. Sounded like the same symptoms and results that I was experiencing. The nematodes were not cheap, but I thought I'd give them a try as a last resort. I followed the instructions and sprayed them on my lawn. Wow. The raccoons have been back once for an exploratory excursion, and dug one small hole, but then gave up. These things really do work.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great natural alternative

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our problem was whiteflies in the grass. It took a while to understand that what looked like moths were actually flies and it was their larvae under the grass that was killing the turf. Found the nematode solution by online research. Important to note that this product is not available in stores - it must be shipped to you. Also, it needs to be combined with peat moss or some sort of medium for spreading. Each container only covers so much, so multiple containers may be needed. It has to soak for 30 minutes, be applied at dusk and then watered, so you kind of have to plan it out. The results have been great. The grass is coming back. No worries about putting harsh chemicals onto the lawn and harming the dogs. In hindsight, it would be better to apply in the spring to prevent lawn damage.
Pros: natural 'green' solution
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Sugar Land, TX

Work!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never used nematodes in my garden before, but they actually worked on my fire ant problem (at least so far). I'd read they were good to drive out fire ants so I ordered them. Then, I read somewhere else that they didn't actually work so I was skeptical. But 3 weeks later, the fire ants don't seem to be around in the raised beds where I applied them. I haven't dug down deep in the soil because I have vegetables growing now(my raised beds are 6 inches deep and one is 18 inches deep) so there could still be some down in there, but I highly doubt it. Before they had actually built mounds and those disappeared and there is no evidence of them out foraging during the day anywhere near the gardens. So, I'm a believer now.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Austin, TX

Great for fleas!

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work so incredibly well against fleas! The only drawback is they do not do well if your yard is extremely sunny or the environment is really dry. You can correct the dry part by watering but they just don't tolerate full sun - at least not as hot as the sun is here in Texas, maybe elsewhere they would do fine.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Mascoutah, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go Figure - Bugs to Kill Bugs!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a review of LADIES IN RED Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control. I was very skeptical, but the things seem to be working. Every year I have to fight cut worms and grubs in the garden, having to replace the tomato and pepper plants several times unless I smother the garden with 7 dust. This year I tried these beneficial nematodes and have yet to see any evidence of cut worms at all - my plants have been in the ground 3 weeks. Last year the 2nd set of tomato plants were stripped bare by now. Try this - you'll be surprised!
Pros: Easy to Install, works as advertised!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Northern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Rid of Grubs (and Moles)

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a mole infestation and wanted to try to get rid of them without killing the little monsters, with the theory being that the moles were eating grubs in my lawn. I had a few patches of grass that in hind-sight looked like grub damage, but it wasn't very bad at the time. After applying the nematodes (but before the nematodes could have done anything), my lawn began showing significant signs of grub damage. The moles went away after ~3 weeks, and my lawn started to come back ~2 weeks after that.
Application was pretty easy. I only have ~2,000 sq. ft. of lawn, so I soaked two containers of nematodes in a bucket of water and then used a cheap hand sprayer (~$10). There's probably a faster way to do it, but I don't anticipate doing this again for a while.
Also, the labeling was a little funky. There was nothing specifically saying nematodes, and I was afraid they may have sent me ladybugs since the brand was Ladies in Red (or something like that). It ended up the right product, and my lawn appears to have recovered from moles and grubs.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control

Shocked and Amazed!!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't needed flea medicine for my dogs in 6 months. We had a huge problem with fleas from all the dirt and now it is gone. Best money I have ever spent. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Also you dont need a sprayer, I used the sprayer and it was broken. I let the nematodes soak in water then scattered the chunks from the bottom of the container all over my yard and the remaining liquid. Watered it for a few days and problem solved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from tampa, fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to install, cost effective, HIGHLY recommended

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I treat my dog with the strongest, most effective flea treatment on the market... and he still had fleas. He was scratching and biting constantly, keeping me up all night. My vet said I needed to treat my lawn, where he goes to the bathroom. But, when I inquired to my pest control company, they quoted me $100... every 30 days! Couldn't believe it. So, I began my search for a more cost effective way of lawn pest control. I found the Ladies in Red nematodes and decided to give it a shot. And, much to my delight, I have not seen a flea on my dog since I treated the area. The value is second to none. I was looking at $1,200 a year with my pest control company. With the nematodes, I'm spending less than $50 a year. And, no chemicals, either. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking to control pests in their yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No viable nematodes were received

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I placed an order for 2 containers of Ladies In Red Beneficial Nematodes. As a parent with two small children who are constantly playing in the yard, I wanted the least toxic "pesticide" to eliminate the grubs that have infested our lawn.
Since the nematodes are LIVE and the company, Ladies In Red, suggests keeping your nematodes refrigerated, I anticipated that they would have shipped the nematodes to me in a container that would protect them from high temperatures. Instead, my nematodes arrived on an afternoon when our temperatures were over 90 degrees. The box they came in had ventilation holes the size of quarters and the only protective packaging was a grass-like substance. As soon as the box arrived via UPS, I put the nematode containers in our fridge. Later that evening, I checked for nematode viability, but after multiple attempts of trying to find movement under our 10x magnifier I gave up. I gave Ladies In Red the benefit of the doubt and figured that they were the experts when it came to selling and shipping their LIVE nematodes so I applied the nematodes per the instructions provided.
Here we are 5 weeks later after receiving and applying the nematodes and our lawn is still rampant with grubs. The grub damage is even more significant and not only am I out the money and time that I spent on waiting for these "LIVE" nematodes to work... I am also out the time and money that it is going to take me to either purchase new sod or the time, money, and effort that it will take to reseed the area.
Purchase at your own risk if you are in a warm climate area. The nematodes MAY have been LIVE when leaving their facility, but there is no guarantee that you will receive them ALIVE... and thus, no guarantee that they will be BENEFICIAL to you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Riverside County
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO MORE BROWN SPOTS IN LAWN

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an update from my first review after receiving the nematodes. It has been about 2 months now since I put them out on the lawn, using the method of mixing the nematodes with potting soil. I must say there are no more brown spots in the lawn. I still have ants running around in some areas which I hope eventually they will disappear due to the nematodes. I am disappointed though because I wanted to order some more and they are out of stock on line. Only bought enough for back yard to try. Now I want more for the front yard because I think they really do work!! I was skeptical at first, but not anymore.
Pros: eats grubs, Easy to Use
Cons: shipped w/no dry ice or anything
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Beneficial Nematodes for Organic Pest Control
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good stuff

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To Zabrien, a reviewer who had Fungus Gnats. If you'll stop overwatering your plants you'll have a lot less fungus gnats. Honestly, the ONLY thing required to control them is to allow your soil to dry a little between waterings (should be dry to at least one knuckle deep) because fungus gnats feed on FUNGUS which grows in moist, decaying organic matter. No pesticides are required to get rid of the gnats.
I am an Integrated Pest Management Coordinator and have solved many, many cases of this problem through education of customers as to watering techniques. Only water when the top 1" of soil is dry, not "every Friday" or a pattern. Your plants will grow deeper roots if you do this and will be stronger and healthier, plus you'll be rid of the gnats without the use of poisons.
The nemotodes DO work on many pests and are pretty safe to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+24points
34out of 44found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>