728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trash Cans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

The Rubbermaid Roughneck 32-Gal. trash can has a bag cinch that holds the can liner bag in place. A lid tether hole allows you to attach the lid to the base of the can to reduce the likelihood of losing the lid. The improved durability of the base allows you to drag the can further.
Overall rating:
4.258 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(395 reviews) 372
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product332 of 378reviews
Rating Breakdown 395 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(234)
4
(98)
3
(21)
2
(15)
1
(27)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product332 of 378reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
Review 1 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Witter, AR 72776, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Meets expectation

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical the 1st time I ordered these trash cans, thinking they would be cheap since the cost was so low. I was way off base & have since ordered three more for our shop & one for our daughter. They are heavy made & with the sale price I paid you can not beat them if you are just looking for a "normal" trash can. We live in the country, have a cabinet business & we use them for a lot of things. I have pig feed in one, wood shavings in a couple & day to day trash in the other.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rated these a five due to how they felt overall, the weight also was a factor since the wife normally sets out rubbish. The size is just right also and the flexibility of units in cold weather holds up very well. Already recommended this item to others. Thanks home depot for carrying quality items for such a good value price.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from North Plains
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaply Made

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have owned Rubbermaid Roughneck Trash Cans for many years. Finally, one wore out and so, naturally, I replaced it with the same. Sad to say; however, Rubbermaid has been doing so much cost reduction, the can is very thin-walled - so much so - that when you pick it up the lid pops off. While the price is low, I'd rather pay more for the sturdier material they used to use. If this one lasts a year I'll be surprised.
The better choice is a contractor type, however, it has a lid that loves to collect rainwater and grow mosquitoes and moss.
Pros: Cost Effective
Cons: flimsy material
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Sioux Falls
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for the purpose I needed it for. Love the handles and the light weight!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

Good barrel, poor lid, can't recommend this trash can

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main barrel of the trash can seems to be sturdy and pretty good quality.
The lid is thin and flimsy, and doesn't close well most of the time. The lid pops off easily when the can is being carried by one handle, potentially spilling the contents.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Yale, MI 48097, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for me!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight but well constructed. Lid fits tight so no critters can get in if you live in the country like I do.
Pros: Cost Effective
Cons: lid a litte hard to get off once on
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Central Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor quality.....

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased these thinking that being made by Rubbermaid they would be of good quality. Within 24 months all 6 have cracked and split from our Ohio weather. The plastic just gets brittle and breaks in you hands. Cans, lids, and handles have all cracked and split.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

good deal

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
they are a good product and i got great price
i would recomend them to anyone
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Cans at low,low price

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Much heavier and stronger then I had expected for the price.
Couldn't be happier with them
Pros: High Quality
Cons: none at all great product at a great price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

Good product to a degree

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good product, but the snap on lids do not fit well and are hard to snap on. Also the packaging of the item warped the lids slightly making then harder to put on
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Morristown NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lid broken on first trash collection

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lid is too brittle. I found it broken the first time it was used for trash collection. My previous trash cans are over 10 years old. Without a lid, the can now has little use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

If you're fighting squirrels...

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Then pick a more durable can. The squirrels chewed through the base, lid and handle area to get into the trash. I'm sure the cans would have survived for a lot longer than 1 year if the squirrels didn't eat through it like it was made of cardboard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

crack on the botton

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't bought this item for long time and found it cracked on the bottom. The outdoor temperature is above freezing, I am wondering how come the trash can can be cracked at the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It holds trash

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought two of these to hold extra trash for parties, etc. Not as heavy duty as my Rubbermaid Brutes but they're holding up pretty well. I can't comment on the lids because I rarely use them. My main concern was the handles and they seem to be able to withstand a good amount of weight.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

It meets my needs.

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an inexpensive trash can that I purchased to store Pro-Mix (a potting soil) till next season. It is not a sturdy/durable can for continual battery (i.e. garbage collection) but that was not a requirement for me. Calling it Roughneck is a stretch for me. It doesn't come close to my Rubbermaid Roughneck trash cans that I have used for many, many years. This one is much thinner. However it meets my needs and that is all I needed. If all you need is a simple storage container that doesn't require continual abusing then this is quite sufficient. Purchase accordingly.
Pros: Cost Effective
Cons: not durale construction but you get what you pay 4
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

Roughneck 32-Gallon Trash Can

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the sale price they seem to be working out fine enough, the pre punched holes for keeping the lid attached to the can (via cord/rope) are useful given the light weight of the lid and its ability to be blown away with very windy conditions..
Will they last the 10+ years that my older 32-Gal Roughnecks have so far remains to be seen. Again these are lighter and contrain less material than the earlier ones I have but given the sale price this seems to be a fair trade so far..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

great quality, great price

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The trash can is very sturdy and the lids snap shut tight! Live near the woods and have lots of animals that want to get in the trash. These work great!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good product

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Would be a 5 star if the lid was made better and would lock down.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Value

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought these for $9.95 each. Really great deal. They are thinner plastic than i expected though when i went to pick them up. You just have to be careful not to bend them, they can get kinked/dented fairly easily. But I only use these to hold trash in my garage, i dont have street pick-up so they work perfectly!!! Very happy with the purchase, i feel like they are a good deal.
Note: If you purchase two of these and they are stacked together, make sure you can separate them before you bring them home. There are no grooves on the sides so the suction means you need HeeMan to get them apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Roughneck 32 Gal. Black Round Trash Can with Lid

good guy for your money

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i would recommend this product to my friend and family
this product is strong and rugged but also very steardy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>