728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trash & Recycling or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

The Rubbermaid Roughneck 32-gal. trash can has a bag cinch that holds the can liner bag in place. A lid tether hole allows you to attach the lid to the base of the can to reduce the likelihood of losing the lid. The improved durability of the base allows you to drag the can further.
Overall rating:
4.246 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(354 reviews) 331
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product296 of 338reviews
Rating Breakdown 354 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(209)
4
(87)
3
(19)
2
(14)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product296 of 338reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
Review 1 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Aberdeen, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tough water collection and storage

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this for water collection and storage in my backyard. I replaced the top with a few layers of black landscaping cloth, which admits water, but not algae supporting light.
Might not be food grade, but this is for the plants. At any rate, it'll still be much safer to drink and bathe with than water tainted by a recent chemical spill near Charleston, WV.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Witter, AR 72776, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Meets expectation

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical the 1st time I ordered these trash cans, thinking they would be cheap since the cost was so low. I was way off base & have since ordered three more for our shop & one for our daughter. They are heavy made & with the sale price I paid you can not beat them if you are just looking for a "normal" trash can. We live in the country, have a cabinet business & we use them for a lot of things. I have pig feed in one, wood shavings in a couple & day to day trash in the other.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rated these a five due to how they felt overall, the weight also was a factor since the wife normally sets out rubbish. The size is just right also and the flexibility of units in cold weather holds up very well. Already recommended this item to others. Thanks home depot for carrying quality items for such a good value price.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

Good barrel, poor lid, can't recommend this trash can

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main barrel of the trash can seems to be sturdy and pretty good quality.
The lid is thin and flimsy, and doesn't close well most of the time. The lid pops off easily when the can is being carried by one handle, potentially spilling the contents.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Sioux Falls
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for the purpose I needed it for. Love the handles and the light weight!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Yale, MI 48097, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for me!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight but well constructed. Lid fits tight so no critters can get in if you live in the country like I do.
Pros: Cost Effective
Cons: lid a litte hard to get off once on
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

Good product to a degree

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good product, but the snap on lids do not fit well and are hard to snap on. Also the packaging of the item warped the lids slightly making then harder to put on
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

good deal

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
they are a good product and i got great price
i would recomend them to anyone
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

If you're fighting squirrels...

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Then pick a more durable can. The squirrels chewed through the base, lid and handle area to get into the trash. I'm sure the cans would have survived for a lot longer than 1 year if the squirrels didn't eat through it like it was made of cardboard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It holds trash

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two of these to hold extra trash for parties, etc. Not as heavy duty as my Rubbermaid Brutes but they're holding up pretty well. I can't comment on the lids because I rarely use them. My main concern was the handles and they seem to be able to withstand a good amount of weight.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Cans at low,low price

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much heavier and stronger then I had expected for the price.
Couldn't be happier with them
Pros: High Quality
Cons: none at all great product at a great price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Morristown NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lid broken on first trash collection

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lid is too brittle. I found it broken the first time it was used for trash collection. My previous trash cans are over 10 years old. Without a lid, the can now has little use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

crack on the botton

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't bought this item for long time and found it cracked on the bottom. The outdoor temperature is above freezing, I am wondering how come the trash can can be cracked at the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Value

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these for $9.95 each. Really great deal. They are thinner plastic than i expected though when i went to pick them up. You just have to be careful not to bend them, they can get kinked/dented fairly easily. But I only use these to hold trash in my garage, i dont have street pick-up so they work perfectly!!! Very happy with the purchase, i feel like they are a good deal.
Note: If you purchase two of these and they are stacked together, make sure you can separate them before you bring them home. There are no grooves on the sides so the suction means you need HeeMan to get them apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

great quality, great price

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trash can is very sturdy and the lids snap shut tight! Live near the woods and have lots of animals that want to get in the trash. These work great!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can

Great for Windy Nebraska

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Decent can for the price. Was better at when it cost $5 less a couple years ago.....brings value down a notch. When you have trash cans blow down the street frequently, u don't want to spend a lot of money on them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Los Angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal for the size!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price for a big sturdy 32 gallon trash can. Great find!
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Mesquite
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

The product was a great price

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trash can was on sale for a great price. The only drawback is that it is smaller than my old one. But nonetheless, it is will serve its purpose.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good product

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would be a 5 star if the lid was made better and would lock down.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Roughneck 32 gal. Black Trash Can
from Houston
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design! Great price!

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I's been so happy with the purchase. The cover fits well, and the design allows taking the bag out easily without damaging the bag. The neck fits perfectly with my Husky 39-gallon bags. Recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>