728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Screen Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

The ODL 36 in. x 80 in. Bronze Retractable Screen features housing constructed from aluminum and a fiberglass screen for durability. This reliable retractable screen features rugged weather stripping that keeps unwanted dirt and insects outside and is designed to resist damage from hands or pets. The screen retracts into housing when not in use for an unobstructed view and is designed for easy installation for convenience.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
Review 1 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Overall I like it

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Always wanted one, thus far I'm enjoying it....the two negatives is when opening you need to hang on to handle, otherwise it opens fast and slams....the other is you can't tell it's there....soooo I'm going to put small stencil to make sure I or someone else doesn't walk through....I'm just hoping it will last due to those two things....
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Santa Rosa, CA

If you have animals or kids...

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation wasn't too bad, had to make some modifications to our house. The same day, the latch pulled out of the screen so that I had to modify it, too. Then,within 1 week, my cat figured out that all she has to do to get out is to push at the bottom, since the screen is actually loose in the track. Now I need to go back to a standard type screen door. Oh, well...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Great Falls, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for permanent screen door

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received quickly, about 3 days, and in excellent condition. Good replacement for permanent screen door destroyed by dog. Took me about 3-4 hours to install it. I consider myself moderately handy. Looks good open or closed. It is fairly study...it survived a 85lb dog run into it from the inside.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Great once installed

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm loving this screen door now that the installation is just a distant memory of two weeks ago. A couple of things that I learned when installing this door: 1) it doesn't matter if you cut the upper and lower tracks a little too long, but it's a fatal mistake to cut them too short, so err on the long side. 2) The plastic tabs attached to the screen housing that you slide the upper and lower tracks on are stupid. They can cause the tracks to be too close together and the screen binds up and doesn't roll smoothly. We ended up cutting the upper tab off and mounting the upper track independent of the screen housing. That way we could get it nice and square and exactly in the right place for the screen to roll smoothly. I would recommend cutting off the upper tab before you even put up the screen housing.
Five minutes after we finished the installation, the dumber of our two dogs ran right through the closed door and ripped the screen out of the housing (the smarter one now hesitates to go through the doorway even when the screen is retracted). But it was easy to pull the remaining screen out all the way and stick the detached portion back onto the roller thingy.
All in all for the price this is a fantastic screen door. We have great cross ventilation now where we didn't before.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Navarre, FL

Easy Install and Attractive

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have some beautiful wood doors on my home that I didn't want to cover up with a screen door. However, I love allowing the outside air in during the Spring and Fall. Therefore, I wanted a screen, but I didn't want to see it all the time. In addition, I didn't want it covering up our beautiful wood doors. This retractable screen was just the thing. We purcahsed it in bronze so that it wouldn't stand out against the stained wood doors. We love it. It is strong enough so that when our dog forgets it is there and runs into the screen it gives a little and thus doesn't tear. It is see through enough so that when I stand at the door and look out at our pond I can clearly see outside. It provides entire coverage of the open door area so that no bugs get in. We thoroughly enjoy the door and it didn't take very long to install (roughly 1 hour for the back door and 30 min for the front door). Once my husband installed the back door screen, the front door was a snap. No problems. We love it. It is functional and still looks fabulous. The only negative about the screen is we couldn't purchase it at the store and get our 10% off military discount. We had to purchase it on line where the discount isn't excepted. However, even at full price it is a great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Wichita, KS

Retractable Screen

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although the instructions were general, the screen went in as predicted. The parts had sharp edges and care should be taken to avoid injury. Everyone raves about the appearance and it is almost invisible when in use. Compared to other models that I tried and investigated, this one is the best. The installation does take someone with a little skill in construction as you may have to adjust the installation to accomidate your specific door. For the price, function and appearance I highly recommend this retractable screen.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from United States

Quality seems good

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, this seems like a quality product. It came with all parts, no scratches and seems to be well made. Installation instructions were well written and informative. However, installing this on my 1954 door frame required me to add pieces of moulding to the sill and frame. Be prepared to cut pieces with a hack saw to fit (as per instructions). It has opened on its own a few times, so I'll need to made some adjustments to the magnetic catch. When the screen is closed, I almost can't see the screen.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but very hard to install. It requires cutting and drilling metal parts.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product is well designed but I am not sure how long it will last due to difficulty in installing. The instructions were confusing at times and the product has only limited attachment options so if one attachment is not secure there is no"back-up" attachment point. I would guess Home Depot gets many of these back as individuals cannot get them installed correctly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Moorpark, CA

Great Product & Value!

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing the other brand of retractable screen available at Home Depot for a friend, I was not impressed with it's design or operation (in fact, the clothesline sliding mechanisms broke after 2 days!). I went into the store and inspected the two displays and even though this brand didn't come in the color I wanted, I felt it was much sturdier and worth it.
I've had this screen in operation now for a month and it's great. We like that the magnetic latch is reversible and can be set to an even stronger grip and that"s what we've done so our old chocolate lab can't push it open. It has worked flawlessly and is such a convenience. I would buy the same one all over again. I've already recommended it to my parents as well. Seeing as how I was able to compare the two off-the-shelf brands of retractable screens HD sells in store, I'm glad I got to pick the better for my own home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Frederick, MD

Very pleased with product

PostedApril 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found this product very easy to install. Operation is even easier. Very pleased with the results.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from United States

Great looking & functional. Good value for the price.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really liked the construction quality and functionality of this product. The screen for the out-swing door was a bit too short for our door and was available in white only. So I ordered the one for the in-swing door in bronze, after carefully reading the installation manual. Installing wasn't that hard except for the screen cartridge bottom screw which was so close to the floor and to the edge of the molding that it split. I used a long enough screw to reach all the way back to the rough opening stud. Wish there was an adjustable mounting bracket. But once it was installed we were really happy the way it operates and looks neat too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be Patient

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions and expectations of actions are vague. Use mfgr. video help, and You Tube sites on how to install the door. My door installation and door trim were not conducive for this product, but I got it installed after three hours (much of the time looking at video's, reading instructions and trying to imagine what I was being told to do). Be sure to leave enough room between door exterior trim and screen housing to get hold of the door screen handle when placing housing on hing trim side of door (more than an inch will be necessary). My installation looks really good from inside and outside and screen is invisible. My wife and I have bet on who will be first to walk into the screen.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: installation challenging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Manhattan, KS

Amazing door!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These retractable screens are the best thing for anyone looking to get maximum ventilation with virtually no obstruction from the view!! I love that we don't have to look at only half of the view like our old door. And since the handle is integrated, it hides itself. We've not had a problem with the cat or dog breaking or stretching the screens. They just learned not to run into it. As for installation, it was pretty easy. I surprised my husband with this by the time he came home from work! We love it and since we painted our door/ window trim dark brown, it completely dissapears into the trim!! Beautiful door, easy project. Instant boost to our home :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Screen

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We really enjoy the screen. Installation wasn't that difficult. I did have to put an extra board in the top of the door because it was too tall for the screen (It says for 80 inches tall and it means it). Otherwise things went smoothly. I am slightly disappointed that it is not as smooth as I would expect. It takes some force to open and close and has since I installed it. I am not sure if somehow things were not straight as they should be or if something else caused the problem. This is a minor issue and overall I am happy with the screen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Doesn't work for me

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I didn't see anywhere in the literature that this would not work for sliding glass door - the only one that works for that is white and I need bronze. I returned it to my local Home Depot.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Syracuse, NY

Great idea - some flaws

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great option for the price! I love the fact you can show off your beautiful door without it being hidden behind a storm/screen door. The screen is almost invisible... kids and the dog have accidentally run through it. When that happens you have to take the whole screen door down and re-position it.... a bit of a drawback. As long as it can be put back in place we will keep it. Otherwise, the next option for us will the a storm/screen door. The overall idea is wonderful. Hope the technology gets better. I would definitely recommend this and would purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Retractable Screen Door

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second retractable screen, the first was in need of replacement because after 6 years and 3 dogs and a few people it had been run/walked through too many times. The retractable feature allows for cross ventilation in the summer and practically invisibility in the cool months, allowing our etched glass door to be viewed without a screen in front of it. The price allows for replacement with a clear conscions.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Quality, color, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Alhambra,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy to install

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
for the screen doors to open and retract smoothly the installation of the rails has to be precise and it takes hours to do it correctly. All the needed parts are included so you don't have to go back to the home depot for screws, etc. The doors look good, but it all depends on the installation. As for quality, it remains to be seen, I did have to return two doors that were defective out of the carton.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door

Very attractive and functional

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great idea. Too bad it did not fit and I had to return it.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Standard Height 36 in. x 80 in. Retractable Screen in Bronze for Single Inswing Door
from Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect screen door

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted a screen door that did not hide our front door. The retractable screen door fit the bill. Almost invisible when closed. Our dogs have run through it twice but no damage to the screen. Had to make a few minor modifications to fit the door opening, but really no big problem. Our friends plan on installing one also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>