728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

The ODL BWM256601 is an enclosed blind 25 in. X 66 in. designed to fit on wood, fiberglass, steel and vinyl patio doors with a flat/flush frame around the door glass. Fits on most doors with glass 22 in. -25 1/2 in. x 63 in. - 66 in. Frame is stainable and paintable. No exposed cords and glass is tempered safety glass. For double doors 2 units must be ordered.
Overall rating:
4.806 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product70 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product70 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
Review 1 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Arlington, VA

Good Value, Great Privacy

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These enclosed add-on blinds are a great option for patio doors. The blinds are enclosed so they do not flap around when the door opens and closes. They are easy to install. Unfortunately, I ordered the 27" doors the first time, and it was quickly apparent that they were too wide -- I thought I followed the measuring instructions correctly. With that said, Home Depot handled the return and exchange perfectly. I would give the product 5 stars, but one of the 2 add-on blinds I bought is a half inch higher on one side when the blind is fully extended.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Moscow, PA

Add on Blinds for French Doors

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the add on blinds for our french doors because we wanted the benefit of the between the glass blinds that we couldn't get as an option with our french doors. They were easy to install and look great on our doors. They look like they belong. We are well pleased and I have already recommended them to a friend who just ordered french doors for her house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Garland, Texas

White Add-on Blind for Flush Frame Doors

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This purchase arrived on the date scheduled. Although our door was not a true flush frame glass door, this blind fit very well and we are enjoying it very much. The frame bows just a little in the middle but my husband says he can attach it to the door frame to stablize it. Otherwise it is very satisfactory and looks good on the door.
The only negative is the blind tends to ride up from the bottom just a little with daily use of the door, but is easily adjusted back to the bottom.
We would purchase this blind again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Helena, MT

The great feature about this product is the blind is confined between two panes of glass minimizing problems and blends in with the door well.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Since I just installed this product I can't speak to its quality and how well it will hold up. But, that said, the installation was fairly easy. The only problem I ran into was with my door knob handle - it's a straight handle version that makes a right angle back toward the door itself. I had to cut cut it off about inch since the window treatment protrudes out from the door and would prevent the handle from working. One of my concerns is how long the adhesive points at the bottom of the window treatment will last after repeatedly opening and closing the door. These points hold the window treatment to the bottom of the door. Time will tell.
If the window treatment ever has to be removed to fix the blind or re-clean the glass surfaces you will have to break that adhesive seal and somehow re-glue it. Not a great feature in my mind.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

Quite good

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The blind mechanism is very smooth and easy to use. Fairly attractive, seems to reduce heat as well. Great for small kids.
My only minor quibbles are 1) the blinds don't seem to make it all the way to the bottom, and 2) the glass frame doesn't quite make it all the way to the bottom of the patio glass. You have to mount the blinds about an inch above the top of the patio glass to avoid hitting the glass as you screw in. As a result, there was a tiny 1/4 inch gap at the bottom where the glass blinds don't overlap with the patio glass. Not noticeable unless you get on your knees and check, so a minor quibble. My patio glass measured 79" in height, btw.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Portal, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaply made movement mechanism/flimsy.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Too tight under door handle and movement mechanism can flex.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

They fit perfect!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Blinds were easy to install... Look great but the little stickers don't stay stuck?! But still won't stop me from buying 2 more for my other French doors!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

good temporary solution

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was somewhat easy to install but tool over an hour for one person to do. This product is mainly for doors without any framing around the glass panels. I would like the adhesive to work better but otherwise it is still a good value for a non-permanent solution to adding privacy on a french door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

Love the blind but needs better bottom anchors

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The blind looks great and works well except that it should not have the lock-tight tape at the bottom -- it should have screws. I installed it on a wooden door; the installation was easy, HOWEVER, even though I cleaned as instructed the spots where the tape should stick, it did not last long. As the door was slammed a few times, the whole blind jumped off the top brackets and fell off (luckily it did not break when it hit the floor). We drilled holes in the bottom now and screwed it down so it is tight. Bad idea for a really nice product otherwise. Hello, doors do slam sometimes! It is also really heavy.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: Too Heavy, needs to be more secure on bottom
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows

Great solution for blinds

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed blinds for a single glass hurricane rated door that did not bang around every time I opened the door. This was a great solution for my need. Everything installed perfectly and looks great. The only thing that reduced a star for quality was that the frame around the glass is plastic, it looks good but when you touch it is seems kind of cheap for the price of this item.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Duck, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Front door window blind

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Great idea to cover front doors with large window. It had easy instructions for installation and was easy to install. One sides did not hold so we had to use super glue to get it to hold. This is a concern to me. Love the idea and appearance. Blind goes up and down nicely and opens and closes. It offers nice privacy. I am somewhat concerned if we have to remove it because of the super glue we had to use. If the door closes too hard I'm concerned it may fall off but it hasn't at this time.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed!

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For years the afternoon sun would glare into our living room making it nearly impossible to watch the TV. No longer a problem....thanks to Home Depot for having the display which led us to buy this product. And it was so easy to install...would highly recommend this wonderful product! This is the first time we ordered on-line and used the store pickup. Certainly would do that again!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Los Altos
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got two for a pair of french doors. The installation was pretty easy. (It takes a little effort to put the enclosure onto the bracket but as long as you follow these steps it should work: 1. tilt the enclosure like the manual; 2. put the enclosure on top of the bracket; 3. slowly push the enclosure against your glass door and pull down). The enclosure is thinner ~1.5" than what's in spec so it fits nicely behind door handles and looks elegant (I worried they might look bulky on my glass doors when I ordered them)
I gave it 4 star for the value. I found a similar product in homedept with slightly smaller size but half price. Not sure why this model is twice as expensive.
Pros: Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Longmont, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The instructions provided with the blinds were clear and complete. Installation went without a hitch. The blinds look great, and have functioned perfectly for the month that they've been installed. They are lightweight, but do not seem flimsy and overall the construction seems sound. My only complaint, reflected also in some other reviews of this product I looked at, was the packaging. When the blinds arrived, the packaging was in pretty good shape, but they had apparently shifted around inside the box. The strings connected to the handles that raise and lower the blinds had become detached, and were in a tangled mess. It took longer to fix that and put them back in the right condition than it did to install the blinds.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: poor packaging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
from Albuquerque NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So glad I found this product!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for a covering for a glass inset bedroom door. This was exactly what I had in mind but thought I'd end up with just the blind. I love the way the blind is enclosed and can be raised/lowered or tilted up/down with a small control on either side of the frame. It was pretty easy to install- my daughter helped me actually hang it on the bracket. Looks Great!!! Very Happy with end result!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for White Cordless Add On Enclosed Aluminum Blinds with 1/2 in. Slats, for 25 in. Wide x 66 in. Length Door Windows
Based on the average of (57) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
56 out of 56 recommend this product