728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

The Champion 4 1-piece Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features and EverClean surface that helps inhibit the growth of stain- and odor-causing bacteria, mold and mildew. The 4 in. piston-action accelerator pushes water into the bowl faster than standard 2 in. valves for great performance, and the extra-large 2-3/8 in. fully glazed opening can accommodate large masses.
Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product79 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product79 of 85reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
Review 1 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from San Jose
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great American Standard toilet

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great toilet, does the job. Although I think my wife viewed the American Standard video of this toilet on the net because I cant find a dozen of my golf balls.
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

Great height for shorter kids

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy installation. I did have to replace the flush valve seal. Water dripped from the top of the valve non stop. After replacing the seal all work as it should. The wife did complain about the water level being low in the bowl. However, the water level is likely just right for guys when in the thinking position.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Depth, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Grain Valley, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this toilet because I wanted a one piece toilet to eliminate the step of having to place the tank on during assembly. This was a fine choice. This toilet flushes without clogging up. It is awesome! We no longer have a nasty plunger hanging out by the toilet. One reviewer mentioned having poo stick to the bowl and not flushing cleanly. We have not had that issue. The only drawback I could see is if you are not a very strong lady or are a slighter build man you may have trouble setting this toilet as it is very heavy, over 100lbs. It is likely much heavier than the toilet you are taking out so do not misjudge thinking that since you can wrestle the old one out you can put this one in.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Wilmington, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I did my research!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm thrilled I did a ton of research prior to making the decision to go with this American Standard Champion 4 as I had considered Toto as well. It is not a terribly big toilet and it probably best used by those of average weight. I say this because the elongated seat seems a bit smaller than the one we just got rid of. The toilet has a nice, sleek look to it but again, it is not an oversized toilet. The water saving feature is a big plus! It's a comfort height, and in my opinion, slightly higher than the low-rise one we just removed. I urge you to look at the video on HD for this toilet because it will impress-and it does perform just like it says. There is a nice long warranty on this toilet, too. The reason I put only "average" for the ease of installation: the thing is a bear-it's very heavy, in fact considerably heavier than the average toilet. There must be a reason for this-maybe denser, higher quality porcelain, who knows, but setting it down on the bolts is a two man job. I am a woman in my 60s and it was not fun helping my handyman lifting it over the bolts. The bolts are only sitting kind of 'wedged' into the notch around the wax seal and they would of course tip over immed. when he went to line the holes in the base up over the bolts. Plus, you can't see where to set down the toilet because it's so heavy, you can't set it straight down and can't see the holes in the bottom! You are working in a tight spot as it is, so this was the greatest hitch in the entire procedure. I suggest you do what we did-steady the bolts on either side with some wrenches holding the bolts at the base. After placing the toilet, we tilted it up enough to take away and untighten the wrenches. Other than that, it was no problem. The value is placed at "excellent" because it was not a cheap toilet, but definitely a good value for the quality it is. Got the soft close seat for it, which is so great, I'll never get any other kind. I am thrilled with this new toilet! I is replacing one that had a date in the lid of 1949! Hope I have the same luck with this one.
Pros: Sleek, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Cons: slightly higher than a low rise toilet., size of seat could be a bit longer., definitely a two man job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3rd one we bought

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally replaced the last of our 50 year old toilets. I liked the first American Standard Champion 4 that we put in, and that is the toilet we have in all the baths now. Easy to clean, never had a stop-up, quick good flush, fast quiet refill... no issues.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male

Sleek design and does the job!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the two AS Champion 4 toilets I recently purchased. Sleek European design and they work great! They came with highest recommendation from Internet research I did so I'm not surprised. I had Home Depot handle the installation and they did a great job as well. Came on time and left on time but took care to show me what was done. Cleaned up and took the old toilets away as part of the low cost. Good value across the board!
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Great Value, High Quality, used hd installer great value!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Phoenix, Arizona

American Standard Chanpion 4 Toilet

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered the American Standard Champion 4 toilet because of its rating in Consumers Report. The rating was for a two piece toilet. I ordered the one piece for its cleaning and appearance. It costs a more and is heavier (117 lbs), than the two piece toilet.
The toilet had seepage through the ceramic wall of the tank due to porosity. I called the American Standard product support and was asked to send information about the condition. I sent pictures of the seepage and of the carton label. In about a week I received a call on my answering machine that the porosity was due a manufacturing defect and a new replacement toilet was sent.
I installed the replacement toilet and there was no lseepage through the ceramic wall this time. The Fluidmaster valve did not fully turn off. I repaired the valve with the top section from the valve in the defective toilet.
Other than manufacturing problems with the ceramic and the Fluidmaster valve, the toilet performs as Consumer Report said with clog free flushing, low water use and good bowl cleaning. American Standard warrantee support is excellent.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Oro Valley, AZ

Great Design, Manufacturing Issues

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased toilet based on previous reviews. Home depot contractor installed, but found toilet leaking through flush mechanism. Customer service sent a flush seal kit which didn't fix the problem. Second try, they sent a full flush system replacement. It also leaked, but the cause was a couple of ceramic defects notches that prevented the seal from working. Caullked the notches and whole thing works well. Disappointed that their quality control did not pickup the defects and that the assembly line installer for the flush mechanism installed the mechanics probably knowing it would leak with those ceramic defects. Company has a good product, it needs to work on quality control.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Ohio

This is the ultimate toilet

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay....so I was tired of plunging toilets. My kids nicknamed the youngest in the family as "the plugger". Not a day went by that the plunger was not needed. So I researched the options and found this toilet. Its been over two years and not once have I needed to pull out the plunger. Its time to replace all the rest of the toilets in the house. Seriously, this toilet is great, and looks great. I had an issue with the flapper, and American Standard sent replacement parts ASAP at no charge. They stand behind the unit. You will not be disappointed. One other point, this is not a "power flush" toilet. As such, simple inside and should last a long time. The secret is the size of the "hole". It works!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Baltimore, MD

Its all that

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
II was so excited when the delivery truck dropped off our new toilet. Our old toilet was constantly clogging and you'd have to flush it 4-5 times for everything to go down.
The driver was very professional and even carried the box inside. I was hesitant to order a toilet online because I was afraid of having it shipped, but everything arrived in one piece. Installation went pretty smoothly. This toilet is heavy so it took two tries to get it seated properly. Once bolted down, I installed the water line and toilet seat. Turned on the water and everything worked. Did not need to adjust anything. To really put the toilet to the test, my five year old aka "lil poooper" would have to give it a try. He can clog a toilet with the best of them. After he gets finished, you ask "how can something so big come out of such a little body". I am pleased to report that the everything went down on the first flush. This toilet is a great value for the money and I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs to flush a high volume of waste. Its great for a main bathroom toilet. When it comes time to replacing the other toilets in my house, this will be my first choice.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Plano, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This toilet seems to assure complete elimination of waste with very little water.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This toilet produces a high-intensity, low-duration flush that assures complete elimination of waste with very little water and provides a very quiet refill. The flume (p-trap) fits much closer to the wall than the previous toilet and required relocation of the wall valve. The porcelain surface seems to hold matter, but is still easy to clean.
Pros: Sleek, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Sacramento, CA, USA

Really nice!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This toilet looks beautiful and functions well. Fits into a small space very well.
I can't really comment about the installation - we had it installed. It is very heavy though - it took two guys to lift and move it into place.
Does not come with a toilet seat (per previous comments) so be prepared to buy one. Also does not come with a wax ring for installation.
Free shipping was okay - took 11 days. There is no way to get a delivery time - so be sure you have time to wait or upgrade your shipping.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from San Diego

Sticky Flush Lever

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Honestly, I would rate this toilet a 5 out of 5 if it weren't for the cheap flush lever. That's my only criticism. The toilet is beautiful and the flushing mechanism is flawless. I mean, you can't get any better than a Champion 4. Such a great value for what you're paying. My only issue was that the flush lever stuck to the point of me having to manually flip the lever up so the toilet would stop running. I ended up having to use the lever off my old toilet until I could replace it with a new one. I probabIy would have bought a customized flush lever anyway. I still highly recommend this toilet to anyone.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

Good waste clearance

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low seat for kids with good waste clearance. Now free of the weekly enounter with the plumber's helper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

As happy one can be with a toilet

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very pleased. I've had several other toilets that got plugged easily but not this one. It flushes everything the first time w/o double or triple flushing. And no plunging!!! Yippy!
So eat whatever and how much you wish because in 6 to 8 hours that sucker is going down on the first flush.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from Pleasant Hill.Ca
Gender:Female

Nice toilet as toilets go with good flush power!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice looking toilet, but some are nicer looking. But I went with this one for all the good reviews about it. It does flush well but water level in toilet itself is a bit low but I guess new toilets are that way.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

Appears to be well made, tank top should be designed better.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks good, but is noisy and the water level in bowl seems insufficient to work well.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
from West of St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY sturdy

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My installer said it was heavier and sturdier than most of the two piece units he puts in. It seems to handle all materials well (though I have not yet tested it with an exceptionally large <ahem> load). It is really quiet when it flushes and fills and in less than a minute.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Even For Us Girls.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Receipt of quality merchandise in a timely fashion. Directions for installation were to-the-point and not confusing, even for us girls. Who would think a woman would be installing a toilet in just about half-an-hour...thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 4 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White - No Seat

*****

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Flushes like a champ
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>