728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

The GE Profile 30 in. Ceramic Downdraft Electric Cooktop has 4 burner providing versatile heating options and upfront controls for convenience and ease of use. This sealed cooktop helps contain spills and boil-over liquids allowing for easier cleanup. The powerful 3-speed downdraft exhaust system pulls smoke and vapors out of the kitchen to enhance indoor air quality. An ideal choice for your kitchen, this versatile cooktop includes a child lock and hot-surface indicator lights for added safety.
Overall rating:
3.968 / 5
4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product73 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(31)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product73 of 90reviews
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Review 1 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Cincinnati,Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in Durability

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this cooktop as I needed an electric one with a downdraft. The selection is few and this appliance had the best rating. My husband and I installed this cooktop ourselves. It was cubersome but not impossible. As other reviewers have noted, not all necessary parts come with the unit as part of the package. We did have to buy parts to connect the electrical. Luckily, Home Depot does not carry the GE package that the manual suggested since it was over $100. We put together our own kit from assorted parts and it cost us about $20. The cooktop looks beautiful. It heats quickly and evenly and the exhaust fan works very well. BUT, the glass top is a nightmare to clean and protect. The first time cooking pancakes, some batter dropped on the surface and hardened. I followed the instructions on the cleaning cream to remove the batter using the plastic scrubber. The batter came off but also left a scratch mark on the glass from using the plastic scrubber. After each use, I must wipe down the cooktop and then spend a few minutes vigorously polishing the glass to be free of streaks. I then purchased a new set of cookware (nonstick from T-Fal, NOT FOR GLASS) and the bottom of the frying pan left permanent scratches on the burner after one use. This cooktop is like i-phone glass screens. Easily damaged, hard to keep clean and seem bound for replacement every 5 years. Why can't they make a cooktop out of a durable material that can stand up to a little wear? Very disappointed that my beautiful cooktop turned into an ugly ducking after only one week.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking product, but not the best for the money

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The elements all heat up very quickly.
And while it does have a downdraft, there are drawbacks to its design: spills can drip into the downdraft quite easily (there is no lip) and the downdraft fan is huge and is a pain to fit into an existing counter installation.
The plastic control knobs feel cheap and do not turn very well.
Fine cooktop, but for its price-point, I would expect a more polished product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, looks cheap, questionable features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Mixed opinions

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cooktop works very well, in general, except the part the bridge knob connects to broke down inside the cooktop. I was told this part was VERY expensive relative to how much I use the bridge, so I am living without. The downdraft mechanism is powerful enough to do the job, so I'm happy with that. My major complaint is keeping it clean - even if you pop the knobs off, the posts are still in the way, and it's virtually impossible to clean around them properly. I would recommend getting a knobless cooktop instead. Also, it is very difficult to get the cover to the downdraft clean, even though it's removable. The black painted surface attracts grease which is difficult to get to between the louvers.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Conway

Good Cook top

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a ceramic cooktop. I am happy with the features that it has such as the fan having 3 setting, and the heat indicator lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Cumming, GA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and Productive!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was worried about switching from gas to electric in my house because the gas cooktop looked so pretty but now that we have our new GE glass top, I am thrilled. Not only does it look fantastic, it is easy to operate and clean. Very pleased with this purchase from HomeDepo
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Hill City, MN 55748, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and functional.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good functional cooktop. However, it does not come with mounting clamps or the exhaust duct adapter. The mounting clamps are an expensive special order from GE. The exhaust duct adapter, a 10" x 3 1/2" retangle to in my case 6" round was very hard to find and expensive. I highly recommend professional installation.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Texas

30" GE electric downdraft cooktop

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The cooktop works well, it heats fast for quick boiling of water. It cleans well. The downdraft installation was very tedious and required alot of ductwork
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Top but pricey

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The top installed easy, once you have all the parts, and has so far worked well. The controls are a bit confusing as two of the four knobs control two burner sections. For the money I did expect all the pieces for the installation. Not included were the adapter for the downdraft fan, power cord, any type of mounting brackets beyond two sided tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not all install parts come with the unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Humble, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is nice looking and so far is working as adverticed

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was very simple, the down draft duct is kind of big so I had to make minor modifications to make room for the extra space required. No big deal, a small cutting tool did the job. The ducting is a bit of a pain since the blower hole is not round, but I went to a hardware store and got an adapter, I used some duct tape (the silver one) to seal any leaks and done. simple installation (this is my first time installing one of this cooktops). Cleaning challenges are to be expected but is no too bad. the knobs makes it hard to clean under them but you can take them off to do it, the extractor is nice, I does not have a lip to prevent spills from dropping into the down draft, so is kind of an inconvenience. I bought the 5 year warranty just for a piece of mind, so far is a very nice appliance and the wife is happy, so... the entire household is happy. I have no problems with it so I recommend it. Good Luck!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: requires more cleaning to make it look nice
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Good, GE Not

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased and installed this unit. Looks very nice and works good. However, GE customer service and what they pack with the product is horrible. The clamps that attach the unit to the countertop are optional and need to be ordered. Another $27 on something that should be included. Even thou the unit is nice this will be my last GE product ever.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes too long to heat

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It takes a full 30 minutes for 4 quarts of water to boil on the front right burner, which is labeled "Power Boil." Perhaps I got a lemon, but I can't agree with the reviews that say this cooktop is fast heating.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't heat quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice cooktop

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This cooktop heats well, and the controls are easy to figure out. I am very pleased with the overall performance of this product. My exhaust vent is located in the wall, and the cooktop's downdraft was built for a foundation vent. The result is a significant loss of cabinet space.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality; would not purchase again.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am very disturbed that my cooktop, which was installed in 2006, now has an element that is not working. My purchase price was $1400, and I thought that the GE Profile was a reliable brand. In order to replace the element, I must pay $70 for the part and $200 for the labor, as the cooktop has to be removed from my kitchen island for repair. Warranty expired July, 2011; isn't that a shame! I will never again purchase a GE product.
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Anniston, Alabama

GE Profile downdraft cooktop

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is a beautiful piece . I was pleasantly surprised that it is surrounded by stainless. I am rating it a 5 as excellent even though I was unable to make the 5 star rating come up on screen
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Crestwood, KY

GE Profile is a great value

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best cooktop I've ever owned. Great looks and performance!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

heats up fast it heats up easy to clean.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how fast it heats up and is easy to clean. Looks great in the place of our old downdraft cook top.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful cooktop

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, so good. Heats up quickly, downdraft works great. Like a black car, it's beautiful when clean, but you will see every speck of dirt/grease/whatever if you don't clean it immediately. Used to have electric coils, so it's been hard getting used to the pots and pans sliding around when I stir, but I'm still glad I got this cooktop.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

So far we have been very happy with this product.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product but didn't have the option for installation.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Grafton, MA

Great purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
Purchased this product few days before thanksgiving and arrived a day after thanksgiving. I was impressed how quickly HD was able to deliver the product. The installation was easy as I was only replacing an older model with the new model. The last model was about 10yrs. Old, and only 3 out of 4 burners were working. Anyway, it was time for replacement. The new stove is thinner than old unit is and do not believe to be any changes in terms of energy efficiency. In the new stove, they combined the knobs for warmer and small/large burner but everything else is same. Oh yes, it has child lock, which is good. If this last for 10yrs then it is worth the price!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Belton, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great cooktop

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
We have had two Jen Air cook tops in our home and both of them burned out as soon as the warranty ran out, this one has a better warranty than Jenn Air and works very well, we are very satisfied with our purchase
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>