728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

The GE Profile 30 in. Ceramic Downdraft Electric Cooktop has 4 burner providing versatile heating options and upfront controls for convenience and ease of use. This sealed cooktop helps contain spills and boil-over liquids allowing for easier cleanup. The powerful 3-speed downdraft exhaust system pulls smoke and vapors out of the kitchen to enhance indoor air quality. An ideal choice for your kitchen, this versatile cooktop includes a child lock and hot-surface indicator lights for added safety.
Overall rating:
3.906 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(18)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Review 1 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
TOPS
from Cumming, GA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and Productive!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was worried about switching from gas to electric in my house because the gas cooktop looked so pretty but now that we have our new GE glass top, I am thrilled. Not only does it look fantastic, it is easy to operate and clean. Very pleased with this purchase from HomeDepo
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Nick124
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking product, but not the best for the money

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The elements all heat up very quickly.
And while it does have a downdraft, there are drawbacks to its design: spills can drip into the downdraft quite easily (there is no lip) and the downdraft fan is huge and is a pain to fit into an existing counter installation.
The plastic control knobs feel cheap and do not turn very well.
Fine cooktop, but for its price-point, I would expect a more polished product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, looks cheap, questionable features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Tod123

Mixed opinions

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cooktop works very well, in general, except the part the bridge knob connects to broke down inside the cooktop. I was told this part was VERY expensive relative to how much I use the bridge, so I am living without. The downdraft mechanism is powerful enough to do the job, so I'm happy with that. My major complaint is keeping it clean - even if you pop the knobs off, the posts are still in the way, and it's virtually impossible to clean around them properly. I would recommend getting a knobless cooktop instead. Also, it is very difficult to get the cover to the downdraft clean, even though it's removable. The black painted surface attracts grease which is difficult to get to between the louvers.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Chuy
from Humble, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is nice looking and so far is working as adverticed

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was very simple, the down draft duct is kind of big so I had to make minor modifications to make room for the extra space required. No big deal, a small cutting tool did the job. The ducting is a bit of a pain since the blower hole is not round, but I went to a hardware store and got an adapter, I used some duct tape (the silver one) to seal any leaks and done. simple installation (this is my first time installing one of this cooktops). Cleaning challenges are to be expected but is no too bad. the knobs makes it hard to clean under them but you can take them off to do it, the extractor is nice, I does not have a lip to prevent spills from dropping into the down draft, so is kind of an inconvenience. I bought the 5 year warranty just for a piece of mind, so far is a very nice appliance and the wife is happy, so... the entire household is happy. I have no problems with it so I recommend it. Good Luck!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: requires more cleaning to make it look nice
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Gene
from Hill City, MN 55748, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and functional.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good functional cooktop. However, it does not come with mounting clamps or the exhaust duct adapter. The mounting clamps are an expensive special order from GE. The exhaust duct adapter, a 10" x 3 1/2" retangle to in my case 6" round was very hard to find and expensive. I highly recommend professional installation.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
msstewart
from Texas

30" GE electric downdraft cooktop

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The cooktop works well, it heats fast for quick boiling of water. It cleans well. The downdraft installation was very tedious and required alot of ductwork
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Grandma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes too long to heat

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It takes a full 30 minutes for 4 quarts of water to boil on the front right burner, which is labeled "Power Boil." Perhaps I got a lemon, but I can't agree with the reviews that say this cooktop is fast heating.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't heat quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
JPS1
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Good, GE Not

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased and installed this unit. Looks very nice and works good. However, GE customer service and what they pack with the product is horrible. The clamps that attach the unit to the countertop are optional and need to be ordered. Another $27 on something that should be included. Even thou the unit is nice this will be my last GE product ever.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Anonymous
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice cooktop

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This cooktop heats well, and the controls are easy to figure out. I am very pleased with the overall performance of this product. My exhaust vent is located in the wall, and the cooktop's downdraft was built for a foundation vent. The result is a significant loss of cabinet space.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
jocer
from Anniston, Alabama

GE Profile downdraft cooktop

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is a beautiful piece . I was pleasantly surprised that it is surrounded by stainless. I am rating it a 5 as excellent even though I was unable to make the 5 star rating come up on screen
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
cmf1953
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality; would not purchase again.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am very disturbed that my cooktop, which was installed in 2006, now has an element that is not working. My purchase price was $1400, and I thought that the GE Profile was a reliable brand. In order to replace the element, I must pay $70 for the part and $200 for the labor, as the cooktop has to be removed from my kitchen island for repair. Warranty expired July, 2011; isn't that a shame! I will never again purchase a GE product.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
SteveA1
from Crestwood, KY

GE Profile is a great value

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best cooktop I've ever owned. Great looks and performance!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Christine
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful cooktop

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, so good. Heats up quickly, downdraft works great. Like a black car, it's beautiful when clean, but you will see every speck of dirt/grease/whatever if you don't clean it immediately. Used to have electric coils, so it's been hard getting used to the pots and pans sliding around when I stir, but I'm still glad I got this cooktop.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Rene

heats up fast it heats up easy to clean.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how fast it heats up and is easy to clean. Looks great in the place of our old downdraft cook top.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Steve

So far we have been very happy with this product.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product but didn't have the option for installation.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
petpeople
from Clifton Park, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product has some nice features

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This replaced an electric 25+yrs old downdraft Jenn Air when Jenn Air was a quality product. There is little in this field to choose from today so I looked at reviews from several online sites and decided this unit was the best. I selected the stainless steel unit because I felt it would protect the edges of the unit from damage. What I like is the bridge element, the element that can adjust to 2 different pan sizes, the 3 speed downdraft that does an excellent job. We have a small peninsula and the downdraft unit takes up a fair amount of room in the cabinet where I store my pots & pans. I had to move some to another cabinet. Maintaining the cooktop's mirror finish is near impossible and cleaning around the knobs horrible. I use Cerama Brite and no matter what I use to buff it clean this cooktop will never be streak free or dust free.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to maintain mirror finish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
hpaul29
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A little overpriced but overall excellent.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
Arrived on time, excellent service and excellemnt all over rating.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Steve
from Buffalo, NY, USA

Heats up quickly

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This cooktop heats up quickly compared to my previous 20yr old cooktop. Also has a light on it even when it's off if a burner is still hot which I really like. the downdraft blower is larger than my previous one so it takes up more space below.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
AZThinker
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful range - but needs to be kept clean

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This is a beautiful range - looks great in the kitchen. Nice features. But, the black surface begs to be kept perfectly clean - as any splatter or stains show up clearly. It's easy to clean and works great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Flower

It really does have great features

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Smooth Surface Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in White with 5 Elements
It looks so nice in my kitchen with all the other white Appliances. So easy to use and love the one dual burner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: a little difficult to keep clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>