728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

The GE Profile 30 in. Ceramic Downdraft Electric Cooktop has 4 burner providing versatile heating options and upfront controls for convenience and ease of use. This sealed cooktop helps contain spills and boil-over liquids allowing for easier cleanup. The powerful 3-speed downdraft exhaust system pulls smoke and vapors out of the kitchen to enhance indoor air quality. An ideal choice for your kitchen, this versatile cooktop includes a child lock and hot-surface indicator lights for added safety.
Overall rating:
3.967 / 5
4
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product69 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(29)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product69 of 85reviews
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Review 1 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Humble, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is nice looking and so far is working as adverticed

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was very simple, the down draft duct is kind of big so I had to make minor modifications to make room for the extra space required. No big deal, a small cutting tool did the job. The ducting is a bit of a pain since the blower hole is not round, but I went to a hardware store and got an adapter, I used some duct tape (the silver one) to seal any leaks and done. simple installation (this is my first time installing one of this cooktops). Cleaning challenges are to be expected but is no too bad. the knobs makes it hard to clean under them but you can take them off to do it, the extractor is nice, I does not have a lip to prevent spills from dropping into the down draft, so is kind of an inconvenience. I bought the 5 year warranty just for a piece of mind, so far is a very nice appliance and the wife is happy, so... the entire household is happy. I have no problems with it so I recommend it. Good Luck!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: requires more cleaning to make it look nice
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Clifton Park, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product has some nice features

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This replaced an electric 25+yrs old downdraft Jenn Air when Jenn Air was a quality product. There is little in this field to choose from today so I looked at reviews from several online sites and decided this unit was the best. I selected the stainless steel unit because I felt it would protect the edges of the unit from damage. What I like is the bridge element, the element that can adjust to 2 different pan sizes, the 3 speed downdraft that does an excellent job. We have a small peninsula and the downdraft unit takes up a fair amount of room in the cabinet where I store my pots & pans. I had to move some to another cabinet. Maintaining the cooktop's mirror finish is near impossible and cleaning around the knobs horrible. I use Cerama Brite and no matter what I use to buff it clean this cooktop will never be streak free or dust free.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to maintain mirror finish
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Mixed opinions

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cooktop works very well, in general, except the part the bridge knob connects to broke down inside the cooktop. I was told this part was VERY expensive relative to how much I use the bridge, so I am living without. The downdraft mechanism is powerful enough to do the job, so I'm happy with that. My major complaint is keeping it clean - even if you pop the knobs off, the posts are still in the way, and it's virtually impossible to clean around them properly. I would recommend getting a knobless cooktop instead. Also, it is very difficult to get the cover to the downdraft clean, even though it's removable. The black painted surface attracts grease which is difficult to get to between the louvers.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Austin

At least 4 issues so far...

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
I got the delivery a last week.
- The delivery man overshot the 4 hour delivery window by 2 hours. It was a total waste of a half day off.
- The downdraft grill was missing in the package
- The cleaning solution gets between the glass and the stainless steel trim and is hard to clean.
- Most important: After about 10 min. of use, the right side burners started smoking from under the glass. It smells like an electric wire burn. I checked the main wiring and it is fine. I'm calling support, but i'm sure there will be some repair/replacement.
We are pretty disappointed with our experience so far.
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Have not used this as we are undergoing remodel

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
It is still in the box. However, we opened the boxes yesterday for the installment of the cabinets we bought through HD and found one marked with the right color but it was wrong. So needless to say the installer notified all the right people and it should be coming to replace this before we are underway with all the finishing of the installation. Appliances arrived early and we assume that they are what it is supposed to be, but will not know this for a few weeks. Keep posted to see about this.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality; would not purchase again.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am very disturbed that my cooktop, which was installed in 2006, now has an element that is not working. My purchase price was $1400, and I thought that the GE Profile was a reliable brand. In order to replace the element, I must pay $70 for the part and $200 for the labor, as the cooktop has to be removed from my kitchen island for repair. Warranty expired July, 2011; isn't that a shame! I will never again purchase a GE product.
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking product, but not the best for the money

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The elements all heat up very quickly.
And while it does have a downdraft, there are drawbacks to its design: spills can drip into the downdraft quite easily (there is no lip) and the downdraft fan is huge and is a pain to fit into an existing counter installation.
The plastic control knobs feel cheap and do not turn very well.
Fine cooktop, but for its price-point, I would expect a more polished product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, looks cheap, questionable features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Top but pricey

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The top installed easy, once you have all the parts, and has so far worked well. The controls are a bit confusing as two of the four knobs control two burner sections. For the money I did expect all the pieces for the installation. Not included were the adapter for the downdraft fan, power cord, any type of mounting brackets beyond two sided tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not all install parts come with the unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Good, GE Not

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased and installed this unit. Looks very nice and works good. However, GE customer service and what they pack with the product is horrible. The clamps that attach the unit to the countertop are optional and need to be ordered. Another $27 on something that should be included. Even thou the unit is nice this will be my last GE product ever.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful cooktop

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, so good. Heats up quickly, downdraft works great. Like a black car, it's beautiful when clean, but you will see every speck of dirt/grease/whatever if you don't clean it immediately. Used to have electric coils, so it's been hard getting used to the pots and pans sliding around when I stir, but I'm still glad I got this cooktop.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Hill City, MN 55748, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and functional.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good functional cooktop. However, it does not come with mounting clamps or the exhaust duct adapter. The mounting clamps are an expensive special order from GE. The exhaust duct adapter, a 10" x 3 1/2" retangle to in my case 6" round was very hard to find and expensive. I highly recommend professional installation.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Port Orchard, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two thumbs up

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Smooth Surface Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in White with 5 Elements
I needed to exchange this for a black unit as the white did not go with the new granite tops that we had installed. Your staff in both the Gig Harbor, WA and Silverdale, WA store could not have been more helpful and courtious. I wish all my purchases and exchanges could be handled this well. Thank you.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice cooktop

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This cooktop heats well, and the controls are easy to figure out. I am very pleased with the overall performance of this product. My exhaust vent is located in the wall, and the cooktop's downdraft was built for a foundation vent. The result is a significant loss of cabinet space.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Cooktop

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Smooth Surface Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in White with 5 Elements
We really like the cooktop, it is very easy to keep clean. Everything is very good, including the ability to use one burner for different size pots. The only downside we have, is that we do not like the vent cover, I think it looks cheap compared to the GE cooktop we had before.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: cheap looking vent cover
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Cumming, GA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful and Productive!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was worried about switching from gas to electric in my house because the gas cooktop looked so pretty but now that we have our new GE glass top, I am thrilled. Not only does it look fantastic, it is easy to operate and clean. Very pleased with this purchase from HomeDepo
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from castle rock, wa

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
I am still waiting for a part for my new stovetop so it can be installed, it was missing a wiring componet that has prevented it from being correctly installed, it looks very nice but doesnt work yet. I think when it actually has power to it i will like it.
-3points
8out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Buffalo, NY, USA

Heats up quickly

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This cooktop heats up quickly compared to my previous 20yr old cooktop. Also has a light on it even when it's off if a burner is still hot which I really like. the downdraft blower is larger than my previous one so it takes up more space below.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements

Happy with the purchase.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
Got free one day delivery which was great since our kitchen remodeling had already started and we needed it ASAP. It is a nice looking cooktop. Used it a few times..heats up fast and nice. Just seems a little hard to clean it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes too long to heat

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It takes a full 30 minutes for 4 quarts of water to boil on the front right burner, which is labeled "Power Boil." Perhaps I got a lemon, but I can't agree with the reviews that say this cooktop is fast heating.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't heat quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful range - but needs to be kept clean

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Profile 30 in. Glass Ceramic Downdraft Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
This is a beautiful range - looks great in the kitchen. Nice features. But, the black surface begs to be kept perfectly clean - as any splatter or stains show up clearly. It's easy to clean and works great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>