728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Security Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime

Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime

Create an invisible zone of protection when you mount the Doberman Security Motion Detector Alarm on a wall or ceiling in any area of your home where security is a priority. Utilizing Passive Infrared (PIR) technology, this alarm's sensor protects any area up to 15 ft. within a 90-degree sweep of the device. When the area becomes breached, a loud alarm is triggered to notify you of an unauthorized entry.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product18 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product18 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
Review 1 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from minneapolis,slush capital of America
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no chance to disarm when you return

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This alarm is painfully, piercingly loud and shrill, which you will experience every time you come home - because there is NO DELAY and therefore no way to disarm it before it triggers. You'll have to walk right up to the screaming alarm, fingers in ears, to shut it off. A pleasant experience after your evening out. And if it's near a window your neighbors will hear it every time too, so they'll ignore it if a burglar ever actually gets in.
Cons: no delay
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the motion sensor / alarm to establish a "no fly zone" for the cat in my house. Great way to train pets to stay out of a room. I like it better than the cat, but who cares what the cat thinks? Really good product that does just what it advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value alarm

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this alarm to use outside in California (not much rain). I have had trouble with raccoons digging up my recently laid sod and wanted something to alert me when the little rotters are out there doing their damage. The alarm has two sound options - a door chime and an ear piercing many decibel alarm. I tested the latter inside the house and boy does it sound loud. So much so I decided to use the chime first, so as not to disturb the neighbors. I can just about hear the chime inside the house when the alarm is about 15 feet away from the window. As for the ear splitting option, I would recommend using that in situations where you can't install a full alarm system, such as in a rented apartment. If the alarm was placed in a location where it isn't easily seen and where you can get to it without setting it off yourself, it will at least stress out the casual burglar. Professional thieves would probably laugh at it, but it is better than nothing and a low cost option. Be aware however, shadows,dappled sunlight, and even sprinklers (remember - I use mine outside) can set it off. I'm going to bring it with me when I take out our RV - it will be a useful thing to set inside an unattended RV - but only if you can disable it without setting it off yourself! I highly recommend it - oh, and the raccoons have been unsettled by the chime and my lawn is eventually recovering!
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, Portable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Chase MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what you pay for well.

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great deal for low cost.- I bought two and it covers a room well but not beyond so it doesn't over deliver. the alarm is deafening and it is sensitive - will trigger off of a mouse which is maybe a slight drawback if you have pets. Battery life is excellent but I wish I could run it off an adapter which you could Gerry rig but it doesn't provide for that. For the money, cant be beat!
Pros: Battery Length, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: battery only
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Beaverton, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Value

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This item works well and as advertised. Excellent battery life. I only wish it had a volume control.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Battery Length, Clear Instructions
Cons: too loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime

works!!!!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The alarm which is loud kept a home invader away after its' first use.....
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from California

Doberman Security

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I went and bought two types of security from this vendor. The Motion Detector is the best alarm that a person can buy to protect their home. The alarm is a LOUD piercing sound that would startle any intruder! The chimes, not as loud...I turn it on every night and its position to protect ALL of downstairs. The other security is the window dectector. I stick onto the windows and at night I turn them on and they too have a loud piercing noise when the windows are tampered. YES! We tested BOTH alarms over and over again and they do what they are suppose to do!!
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motion Detector???

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Motion Detector--I placed it in a location where temperatures were constant and nothing would move. It sounded the alarm. I wrapped it in a sock where the would be no temperature change but it still sounded. Perhaps it is sensing the earth's rotation???
Pros: Compact
Cons: too sensitive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Philadelphia, Pa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loud & Effective

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before purchasing this product I had checked a DB scale to determine what would be loud enough to my liking. This product hit the mark! Having an audible alarm device that sounds like a child's toy is a waste of time and money. If you are going to buy an alarm device, check a DB scale, (Decimal Loudness) first so you can buy more wisely. This is a very good product that I would buy again if needed.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Emmaus, Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, works great, good price...
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some people said the product was loud, while others said it was quiet. Well, anyone who cannot hear this has to be deaf, because it is unbelievably loud.
I bought this to keep my cat out of a room, and I have no doubt it will work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Melbourne, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

exactly what I was searching for

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This alarm was exactly what I was looking for to alert me to a child leaving a specific area. I use the chimes mode. I used the screech mode once and traumatized the child. The screech mode would be perfect to alarm a person who was in the wrong place.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Jacksonville, FL 32210, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for keeping pets off furniture!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having trouble keeping pets off furniture? These things work like a charm and they are inexpensive...just turn it on and lay it on arm of couch or, as also in my case, bed in third bedroom where Buca's dog bed is as well, and if he jumps on bed or couch, it goes off! It will stop the alarm sound by itself after about 30 seconds, but is re-armed...Buca is afraid of The sound and it really only took one time for them to go off on couch and bed and he stays away now! Just an FYI if you have animals that like to get on furniture and shed hair!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Installation
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from san antonio tx.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great, easy to install, reliable, add a remote to improve.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
sorry not much more to say. perfect device to warn and alert against surprise attack or surprise . at night you can sleep like a baby with no fear of surprise. thanks
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Extremely Good.

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely loud just as it should be. Keeps unwanting people away. Thanks Doberman.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Lake Tahoe, CA

Bear Deterent

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the success of this alarm deterring bears from breaking in. The Alarm is loud and piercing to the ear. I enjoy watching the bears run away instead of trying to break into my house. I have also mounted them on my gates. At $20 each they are cheaper than the barking dog system. Only wish they had remote controls for turning them off and on. I have recommended them to my neighbors too. We have a severe problem with bears in Tahoe.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Denver, CO, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for counter surfers!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The people who say they can barely hear the siren must have bad units or weak batteries (the directions do mention when the siren gets week, it’s time to replace the battery)… this thing is startlingly loud in siren mode!
We got our unit for less nefarious things like keeping the cats off our new counter top, and boy does it work well for that! Like I said before , the siren is far too loud so we set the unit to chime mode (still a good solid sound in the middle of the night), and the first time the cats heard it they both shot off the counter and were reluctant to get back up there the rest of the night. Took a few days, but now they don’t go up there anymore. For the price, it beats the squirt bottle or Nerf gun for training the sweet little counter surfers in your house. The best part is they think it’s coming from the environment and not you, so it’s win-win in my book.
I was a little reluctant to give it 5 stars; it would be nice if the siren mode had a selectable duration switch (i.e. 5sec, 20sec, etc.) rather than running it’s full length (I think 30 seconds or so). But it did accomplish it’s only goal for us which was keeping the cats off the countertop. The build quality is what you would expect and it’s a nice compact unit that you could place in various locations to accomplish various things around your house once the cats no longer patrol the counters.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from NY

Works as stated

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The chime is decent but the alarm is ridiculous, measured with a meter mine went above 115 dB.
I only gave it four stars since the detection area of the sensor is just okay and it should be weatherproof. I have purchased three of these and two other products from Doberman and have had no problem with sound.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from olympia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Alarm

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this to keep our cats off the kitchen counters the chime setting works great for this. The louder setting is very piercing and I can imagine it would deter a burglar, unless he was deaf. My only complaints are that it does not differentiate between people and cats, or turn itself on when I forget. LOL.
I like that it has a flat bottom so can be placed anywhere and does not need to be mounted
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Motion Detector Alarm/Chime
from Stockbridge, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this product!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to put on my sons room so I would know if he is getting up in the middle of the night going to the kitchen or whatever. Works like a charm. He knows now his sneaking days are over! Very inexpensive fix
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Motion-Activated
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>