728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.

1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.

The Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in. is an easily assembled, premium quality commercial/residential kit for installing a pocket door into a wall. Pocket doors do not need "swing" room, saving valuable floor space while still assuring the full privacy of a standard door. Manufactured and designed in the USA, the frame is structurally strong and perfect for the builder or do-it-yourselfer. The kit components are all of the highest quality and durability which is why we can offer a lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.658 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product37 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product37 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Review 1 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Engineer
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easiest way to install a pocket door!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading reviews of several pocket door kits I selected the Johnson 1500 Pocket door frame kit. Ordered from Home Depot and got quick FREE delivery to my home. One picture in the instructions could lead you to reverse the header channel during installation but otherwise the directions were very precise. Pocket door replaced inswinging regular door going into washroom. Existing 32" door really took up floor space in the small washroom and was a pain blocking area behind open door. Now it is like a much larger room. Heavy duty ball bearing rollers are slick!
Main reason to like this kit beside ease of installation, my wife LOVES it!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
69canam
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy way to install a pocket door.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sturdy hardware and framing. Only complaint would be that the instructions can be difficult to sort out, due to the fact that there are multiple languages all on the same sheet.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Greg168
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This pocket door is of the highest quality

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I began my project of expanding a bath/laundry room the swinging door was the first obstacle I had to cross. I found the Johnson pocket door and ordered it with ball bearing rollers. This product installed in about 3 hours inlcluding the rough framing. It was easy, and when finished the quality of the rollers impressed me and my wife. We are very happy with the overall quality.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Dave
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ecellent product

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't understand why they don't cary this product in the store but decide to carry only a cheap off-brand version. Rollers handle the door like they were on ice. Very quiet operation. I have 13 pocket doors in my house (This makes 14). I added this to my home when closing in a room to make it a bedroom and I can tell you that all the others are harder to open and close and noisy when you roll the door. I shimmed out all the studs to customize the wall depth I needed in my project. Don't cut cost here when budgeting your project.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Tony
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality product. Solid installed component. Very smooth operation.
Pros: Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Brian
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install quality parts looks good when finished
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Tundro
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over-all, a very good product.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A very good product for the price. My only issue was the stiffness of the split studs. They are made from mild steel, and subject to flexing. It would be better if they were made from either "high-strength steel" of hardened aluminum. The positioning of the header, and the leveling of it was super easy. Directions were okay, though a bit unclear about how to install the finish trim. Not an issue for me, as I am a finish carpenter.
Pros: Functional
Cons: could be stiffer in the split studs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Gregg

Worked Great!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Watch the online video on Johnson Hardware website it makes installation much easier. Door works great!
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
okie

Well made

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better quality than the pocket door kits that are stocked at the Home Depot stores. Worth the extra money.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Doorspace
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Easy install, good value

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install and came with all necessary hardware. However, it did not come with markings for cutting, as was indicates by the directions. This added some installation time. Overall, it is a quality product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no marks for cutting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Steve
from Virginia, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product. Fairly easy to install.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was received on time and delivered as advertised. As others had cited in previous reviews some hardware (screws) were missing.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
Cons: qc needs to check package contents before shipping
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Brad
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best Pocket door on the Market

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy product to install
Great Value
This is the only pocket door that i would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Munderwo
from Davis, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product- new house and second installation

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and once installed, there are no issues with the door slide mechanism.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Sambijo
from North Woodmere, South Valley Stream, NY 11581, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product, surprisingly easy to assemble.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product meets all the advertised expectations. It's perfectly sized for 2X4 frames, can be easily cut down to smaller sizes. The directions are clear and accurate. It's the perfect solution for space saving and tight spaces where swinging space for a door is not practical. Anyone who can follow directions can assemble it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, reasonably priced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Joe132
from Houghton Lake, MI

32 inch 1500 Series Johnson Pocket Door

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very well built. Just put up one wall then check the rail itself as I only checked the wood casing which was level but after I finished both sides of wall and found that the rail was not level. My fault, The product was good and had a knot or two in the framing.
Maybe this checking the level of the rail itself might be added to installation instructions.
Very good product and I would buy again from Home Depot, delivery was fast.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Pitbull54

Easy install

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty. Able to operate solid core door. Easy to install.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
sanctuary41
from Clarks Summit, PA 18411, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy install, open to some customization as needed

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
an easy way to add charm and maximize space. very simple to achieve, from new construction to a retrofit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Kalen
from Ridgway, PA 15853, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Sturdy, this pocket door package is great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pocket door set was awesome. Of course I could have built my own, but I probably could not have done it as cheaply as buying this package. The product is sturdy, super easy to install, and Johnson Hardware is the Gold standard for pocket door hardware.
I thought the instructions could have been a little clearer, especially the diagrams. That being said, it was all pretty obvious after I got it out of the package and in the framing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Nick
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was recommended by our contractor, Great Quality

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It great contraction, sturdy, hight quality. This was recommended by our contractor. It looks like it's made to last forever.
Pros: Sturdy, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 32 in. x 80 in.
Idiot
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy as Pie

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reviewing several Pocket Doors - i went with this one. Took 1 day since I did not disturb an existing wall. Very pleased with the results. I give it an A+ for construction and ease of installation. I am a do-it your-selfer. A local company wanted 1k to install it - get real I say
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>