728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

The Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in. is an easily assembled, premium quality commercial/residential kit for installing a pocket door into a wall. Pocket doors do not need "swing" room, saving valuable floor space while still assuring the full privacy of a standard door. Manufactured and designed in the USA, the frame is structurally strong and perfect for the builder or do-it-yourselfer. The kit components are all of the highest quality and durability which is why we can offer a lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product57 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product57 of 59reviews
Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Review 1 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well-built, not so well documented or retail supported

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The manufacturer could make this a *lot* easier to install for diy-ers like me by including one more page of instructions detailing with pictures steps that are treated with one sentence and assume someone who as already installed pocket doors. The store could make it a lot easier to finish the installation by keeping the complementary JH 1510 jamb kit in stock. As finished, it works great because I used a spiral saw to cut a channel in the door bottom and installed a guide inside the pocket that keeps the door centered in the pocket without scratching on the JH supplied door guides.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
Cons: weak instructions for diy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Design, Easy to Install

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the 30" frame for a 30" door,so no trimming was needed and I can not comment on trimming the frame. Once you frame out your opening, the installation is very strait forward. The video on Johnson website is excellent and makes installallation easy. I purchased the HD model and the rollers are very smooth and high quality. I would have no hesistation on purchasing this product again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality and easy to install

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a pocket door to maximize space in my master bedroom. I ordered the Johnson 1500 series pocket door frame from Home Depot on-line, it was delivered on time and the delivery was free. I thought it would be difficult to install since I never installed one before. The installation was a snap, the instructions were easy to understand and well written. Make sure you follow them and level your work. I can't wait to drywall and hang the door and apply the trim!
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from San Jose CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Design

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this from Home Depot online. UPS delivered 3 of them before I got one intact. I installed it according to the manufacturer's instructions. The length came out fine, but the height was too much, leaving a 2 inch over gap at the top of the unit which I had to compensate for with my own finish frame work. I bought the Johnson pocket door finishing kit and had to return it as the finish slats are 1/2 inch thick, so there is no room for forgiveness if the door frame finishes too high again installed according to instructions. The two metal slats which hold the sheet rock in place make for a rather flimsy finished product. I installed six 1 x 4 slats on each vertical row, so 4 in all to make it more sturdy. This was not an easy job but the wall is fairly sturdy now. Construction adhesive did not hold the extra slats in place on the metal, so I had to screw them into the metal slats. The door slide is hefty and slides very nice although I hunted for a door that was straight (not warped) to accommodate the tight space. I was surprised that the door glides for the bottom of the door, which attach to the metal slats were designed such that the door at rest in the wall did not engage them with the trim installed per the instructions. I installed the slides directly on the metal slats with some difficulty and back cut the trim to fit. Now the door is always engaged on the slides even when recessed completely into the wall.
I can't recommend this product. I would never use it again and instead opt for a finished frame work pocket door or build it custom myself. The frame work provided needs some serious redesign for this price point to be a sturdy installation that will last through the years. The plus on this unit is the slide which is easy to install and heavy duty. The slides and runners are well designed, but the header is designed with soft wood which I did not like at all.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst instructions ever! Otherwise, product is not bad...

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am giving 1 (maybe 2) star(s) because this product has so many good reviews, it was misleading for me. I expected a quality product, start to finish. It is well made, but the installation instructions are hideous! I'm an engineer and homebuilder of 10 years, not incapable or lacking in technical know-how. the instruction drawings are terrible, there are no references or mappings, not parts list, etc. After spending way too much time on it, I was able to puzzle out a plausible installation. I hope the manufacturer will get light of this review and spend a very small amount of money to redesign and print installation instructions. It would then make for a perfect product. Until then, buyer beware.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Needs better instructions

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good product, but plan on spending a little extra time with the instructions before installation.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
Cons: instructions could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from New york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product installed easy and works very . order on line will fast shipping. Nice job home depot.
Pros: Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Portland, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

HD store version is preassembled

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The assembled door in the store cost about $40 less. This online product appears to be made by the same company that sells the assembled version in the store. The in-store pocket door is basically put together and although it requires some assembly at least you would not be starting from scratch. This reviewer has no knowledge appearance or quality but we did see "Johnson" on a sticker in the frame. Also the shipping time was horrible. Waited over a week and finally called. Magically turned up the very next day! lol Got the impression it was being made.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJanuary 22, 2014
Hi Reviewer9999,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this issue and below is their response to you.

I am writing to follow up on an unfavorable review you posted on homedepot.com for the LE Johnson 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame. The Home Depot is focused on ensuring complete customer satisfaction. As the manufacture, we are very interested in supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance.

In your review you compare our pocket frame with the built up model sold in the store
The 1500 series frame from LE Johnson is a Commercial Grade Pocket Frame rated for doors up to 200 pounds. The tract on the Johnson Frame is aluminum with convex rails for a lifetime of smooth and quite operation. The wood rails on the Johnson Frame are wrapped in rust resistant steel. The final part is the jump proof three wheel hanger which assure an effortless operating door. Because of the quality of the parts we expect that you will receive a lifetime of service from our frames and as such offer a lifetime warranty on all the products we sell. Thank you for your purchase.

Thank you
Review 9 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is better than the standard pocket door frames sold in store because of the steel reinforced frame

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
only issue is that the instructions are vague if this is your first time to install a pocket door frame
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Geneseo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Pocket Door, but????

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The frame is a good idea and the layout is good, but the directions could use a little work. There is some trial and error when installing this frame. The top of the frame where the door shuts was cracked, should not make a difference so I put it in anyway. The main purpose for choosing Johnson was because they are made in the USA.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Cons: cracked board
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, Better than the horizontal wood slats

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A very easy install. I would recommend using 5/8 drywall to stiffen the wall. I used some spare plywood and steel L brackets to stiffen the vertical supports. The supports are wood wrapped in steel, a plus. I had installed mine on a bathroom and had shaped out an access panel for the spa pump. PREDRILL ALL HOLES. Our else out well split. However the vertical studs had a bow to them. The manufacturer said they were supposed to. It doesn't make any sense. u Straightened them by bending then carefully. A suggestion the manufacturer had for me on the pair that was straight.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: vertical steel studs were bowed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

High Quality Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality product. Directions could be a little cleared in some places for those who have never installed a pocket door, so pay close attention to both the diagrams provided and the text.
Pros: Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product easy install!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. Made out of outstanding materials, strong and easy to install after prepping my wall for this it only took minutes to actually install. Instructions easy to understand couldn't be better.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Easy to install, great documents online

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Look at installation video and instructions online and it goes in very straightforward.
Solid construction, very happy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Excellent product

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and made a double door enterance for a game room. Using the connection piece that they sell seperate for this situation worked perfectly. The only thing i would recommend is for you to make sure you order the correct model number for door space you need. They dont always ask.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Only issue was missing pocket end plate which was a problem as I was installing converging doors. Really easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy install only issue was missing pocket side end plate which was an issue for installing converging doors. Just make sure rough opening is good and your good to go
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product could be better

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The photo on website is very misleading - it makes the unit appear to be very heavy duty (header, vertical rails, etc.) when in actuality they are nominal. Description refers to top portion as "header" but don't think you can get away without building a real header above this unit. The vertical rails were narrow but at least solid and the metal encasement keeps the drywall screws out of the door bay. The roller system is very well done - very smooth and much better than any I have purchased in- store anywhere. Was not that difficult to install - instructions seemed fine to me but might be confusing if you never installed one before. I am a DIYer so most can manage this without hiring a contractor. Price was OK - certainly not bargain priced. Shipment was extremely fast
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: vertical rails could be bigger
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. I saw a few reviews remark about the difficulty in installing it. But if you watch the video, it does a nice job of demonstrating how to install it.
Pros: Well Made, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Broward, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good design, Wood quality meh

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed easily using included instructions. Rollers on this model are bearing type and super smooth. So smooth that I can see this door moving on its own somewhat if not perfectly level..I don't care for the cheap wood however. Improving on that wouldn't add much to cost to manufacturing. They basically use the same cheap wood on this model as they do on models 1/2 the price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wood grade could be better
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install, just have accurate framing

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've installed pocket doors before. Usuly
They are flimsy wood frames and always slightly out of plumb. The Johnson pocket door was incredibly easy to install. Make sure you pick the correct size and pay close attention to your rough framing. It's ask fly sturdy and I love the steel connections. Quick, easy and sturdy. That's a win in my book.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>