728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

The Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in. is an easily assembled, premium quality commercial/residential kit for installing a pocket door into a wall. Pocket doors do not need "swing" room, saving valuable floor space while still assuring the full privacy of a standard door. Manufactured and designed in the USA, the frame is structurally strong and perfect for the builder or do-it-yourselfer. The kit components are all of the highest quality and durability which is why we can offer a lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product69 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product69 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Review 1 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Reading, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this door frame during a master bath remodel. The quality of the product is excellent. Installation was easy and straight forward. Good detailed instructions were included in the shipment. Total installation time was less than 3 hours. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Frame and Rollers

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The ONLY reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because one of the wheels that came on one of the rollers included has some ridges on it which cause some added noise when rolling back and forth. I managed to sand it down with some fine sand paper to eliminate most of it. All of the other wheels seem fine. The bearings are smooth. Overall, this door frame feels much more stout and sturdy than the standard pre-built garbage. I would definitely recommend this one over the lower cost models due to the quality of the rollers, track, and materials used. I ordered it from HD.com and it came within a couple of days, very fast. Box was undamaged and everything inside was there. I do recommend watching the video on the Johnson website. It's a lot more thorough than the directions. Overall a quality product. And I would also recommend the locking door handle shown in my photo. It is a Kwikset Model # 335 15 RND PCKT DR LCK Internet # 100044911 Store SO SKU # 586414. Defintely a good lock if that's what you are looking for.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Design, Easy to Install

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed the 30" frame for a 30" door,so no trimming was needed and I can not comment on trimming the frame. Once you frame out your opening, the installation is very strait forward. The video on Johnson website is excellent and makes installallation easy. I purchased the HD model and the rollers are very smooth and high quality. I would have no hesistation on purchasing this product again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well-built, not so well documented or retail supported

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The manufacturer could make this a *lot* easier to install for diy-ers like me by including one more page of instructions detailing with pictures steps that are treated with one sentence and assume someone who as already installed pocket doors. The store could make it a lot easier to finish the installation by keeping the complementary JH 1510 jamb kit in stock. As finished, it works great because I used a spiral saw to cut a channel in the door bottom and installed a guide inside the pocket that keeps the door centered in the pocket without scratching on the JH supplied door guides.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
Cons: weak instructions for diy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Oregon city, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. Operates very smooth and quiet. A much better feel then your standard pocket door.
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

space saver / long term major headache.

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This may be an fast easy DIY kit but that means its not even close to being professional grade. Plastic wheels, aluminum track, the flimsiest split jambs you could possibly make and really hard to service. As a contractor I have seen this hardware wear out in 2 years! of steady use... Save your money, if possible 2x6 frame the opening, buy different track hardware, I promise you will get 30 years plus out of it. DONT BUY THIS GARBAGE, there are other options. I have installed at least a hundred of these units so trust me when I tell you they suck. Just because lots of people use them does not mean there are any good.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJune 30, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,
We are writing to follow up on the review that you posted for the LE Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in. which you purchased.

Frankly, we are surprised by your comments, and don’t get this type of rating. Our hardware is constantly tested to ANSI commercial standards; the wheels are ball-bearing (not simply plastic), the aluminum track is a heavier gauge than other steel options on the market, and the split-jambs are reinforced with steel to help make them as sturdy as possible. Also, the track comes with key-hole slots to aid in removal after it's been dry-walled, and the wheels have an easy release for taking the door down after dry-walling, as well.

If you have Johnson frames that have failed after 2 years, please contact us at 800-837-5664 and we will be happy to send replacement hangers. We feel confident that you should get steady, solid use out of our frames and hardware for decades.
Review 7 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality and easy to install

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a pocket door to maximize space in my master bedroom. I ordered the Johnson 1500 series pocket door frame from Home Depot on-line, it was delivered on time and the delivery was free. I thought it would be difficult to install since I never installed one before. The installation was a snap, the instructions were easy to understand and well written. Make sure you follow them and level your work. I can't wait to drywall and hang the door and apply the trim!
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Works And Installed Just As Described

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The included instructions were spot on, but the frame can easily be installed without them, using some common sense. I was able to install this pocket door frame by removing only one side of the wall it was being installed to - a great timesaver, as I then only had to fully refinish one side of the wall. It was easy to install it using very close tolerances and the door operates smoothly and quietly. I installed a 2x10 header above the door (standard 8' ceiling) which left plenty of room for the pocket door frame install and removal during the final fitting adjustments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Riverview, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pocket door

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This door frame was easy to assemble and it came with clear instructions. I was able to retro fit this door into an existing wall and didn't even have to remove the drywall on one side of the door. I used a stock hollow core door and it worked great. The rollers operate smoothly and quietly. It was a bit tricky to add trim to the door frame, but I suspect that is the nature of adding trim to any pocket door. I would use this product again and I would recommend it to friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Traverse City, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Pretty Good

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had a few minutes of consternation when the package arrived as the box said it was for a door opening larger than the one I ordered but, I knew that it could be cut down, if necessary. It turns out they must use a generic box showing the door opening size and then put a sticker on the top end of the box for the actual size inside the box.
The hardware is sturdy and the rollers seem strong enough to last for many years. The instructions are clear and complete. My only complaint is that two of the four split studs had a fair amount of warp to them. These days it seems harder and harder to find wood that isn't warped to some degree but especially being encased in metal I didn't think these items would have that much warp. That is the reason for knocking the rating from 5 to 4.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: strut warp
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from San Jose CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Design

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this from Home Depot online. UPS delivered 3 of them before I got one intact. I installed it according to the manufacturer's instructions. The length came out fine, but the height was too much, leaving a 2 inch over gap at the top of the unit which I had to compensate for with my own finish frame work. I bought the Johnson pocket door finishing kit and had to return it as the finish slats are 1/2 inch thick, so there is no room for forgiveness if the door frame finishes too high again installed according to instructions. The two metal slats which hold the sheet rock in place make for a rather flimsy finished product. I installed six 1 x 4 slats on each vertical row, so 4 in all to make it more sturdy. This was not an easy job but the wall is fairly sturdy now. Construction adhesive did not hold the extra slats in place on the metal, so I had to screw them into the metal slats. The door slide is hefty and slides very nice although I hunted for a door that was straight (not warped) to accommodate the tight space. I was surprised that the door glides for the bottom of the door, which attach to the metal slats were designed such that the door at rest in the wall did not engage them with the trim installed per the instructions. I installed the slides directly on the metal slats with some difficulty and back cut the trim to fit. Now the door is always engaged on the slides even when recessed completely into the wall.
I can't recommend this product. I would never use it again and instead opt for a finished frame work pocket door or build it custom myself. The frame work provided needs some serious redesign for this price point to be a sturdy installation that will last through the years. The plus on this unit is the slide which is easy to install and heavy duty. The slides and runners are well designed, but the header is designed with soft wood which I did not like at all.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst instructions ever! Otherwise, product is not bad...

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am giving 1 (maybe 2) star(s) because this product has so many good reviews, it was misleading for me. I expected a quality product, start to finish. It is well made, but the installation instructions are hideous! I'm an engineer and homebuilder of 10 years, not incapable or lacking in technical know-how. the instruction drawings are terrible, there are no references or mappings, not parts list, etc. After spending way too much time on it, I was able to puzzle out a plausible installation. I hope the manufacturer will get light of this review and spend a very small amount of money to redesign and print installation instructions. It would then make for a perfect product. Until then, buyer beware.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Arroyo Grande, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fsliding door frame

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't buy the cheaper frame at the store. This is worth paying slightly more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Excellent product

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and made a double door enterance for a game room. Using the connection piece that they sell seperate for this situation worked perfectly. The only thing i would recommend is for you to make sure you order the correct model number for door space you need. They dont always ask.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Little Rock

Gold standard for pocket door frames

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the sweet spot of cost and quality. I've used this kit for four separate doorways. Each time, the build quality has been excellent. The split jambs are a better design than the stuff that is in stock at my local store.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Needs better instructions

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good product, but plan on spending a little extra time with the instructions before installation.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
Cons: instructions could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.

Excellent pocket door system

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a well designed product that was straightforward to install for someone moderately handy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product could be better

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The photo on website is very misleading - it makes the unit appear to be very heavy duty (header, vertical rails, etc.) when in actuality they are nominal. Description refers to top portion as "header" but don't think you can get away without building a real header above this unit. The vertical rails were narrow but at least solid and the metal encasement keeps the drywall screws out of the door bay. The roller system is very well done - very smooth and much better than any I have purchased in- store anywhere. Was not that difficult to install - instructions seemed fine to me but might be confusing if you never installed one before. I am a DIYer so most can manage this without hiring a contractor. Price was OK - certainly not bargain priced. Shipment was extremely fast
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: vertical rails could be bigger
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product easy install!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this product. Made out of outstanding materials, strong and easy to install after prepping my wall for this it only took minutes to actually install. Instructions easy to understand couldn't be better.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 30 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good quality product. Easy install.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product was delivered in crushed, tapped box. Pleasantly surprised that all parts were present. Clear and concise directions led to easy install for this first timer.
Would highly recommend this manufacturer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>