728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.

1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.

The Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in. is an easily assembled, premium quality commercial/residential kit for installing a pocket door into a wall. Pocket doors do not need "swing" room, saving valuable floor space while still assuring the full privacy of a standard door. Manufactured and designed in the USA, the frame is structurally strong and perfect for the builder or do-it-yourselfer. The kit components are all of the highest quality and durability which is why we can offer a lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.744 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product40 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product40 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Review 1 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a reasonable price

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased and installed this item about a year ago and it has worked great. The door slides very smoothly and the installation was very straight forward.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Northern VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I special ordered six, six panel door blanks for a custom closet project and they all arrived in great shape. The product quality and packaging were all top notch. Also between the time I ordered the doors and the time they arrived, Home Depot ran a 15% discount on the items, so I got an even better deal.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this kit with ease. I do have some construction experience so I'm sure that helped a bit. Easy install and the kit is very good quality. My door slides perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Ellsworth, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The pocket door kit is very solid and far superior to others on the market. The initial price seemed high, but is a very solid pocket door kit. I contacted the Johnson Company directly with some questions prior to purchasing and they offered excellent tech support. I went with Home Depot home delivery and was very happy with the fast service. The rollers are high quality ball bearings(same as you could purchase at an automotive/commercial parts store) instead of cheap plastic rollers.
I first purchased a complete unit from another supplier only to return it because of the warped lumber.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: the split studs are a bit flimsy at 18"o.c. spacin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT as expected

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I was excited when I purchased the 1500 door kit, but not so much when I opened the box. One of the end brackets was bent and needed to be straightened, the header had numerous knot holes up to 3/4" in diameter, some orangutan had stripped out both end bracket mounting plate screws, and the provided screws were accompanied by directions that cleverly concealed their intended use.
This could have been a very good product and I probably could have sent it back, but I didn't have the time. This is NOT what I expected and NOT worth the money I paid for it. Johnson hardware could do much better!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Holiday FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

1500 Series Pocket Door

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
In my particular installation I used two 1500 Series Pocket doors to make a 6 ft. wide opening with two pocket doors that met in the middle. Although the rollers and track are excellent they were not set up for this application. Lots of additional labor to make everything work out properly.
In reflection no-one made anything for this application.
Anyway project worked out perfectly and I guess the end result is all that really matters.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality
Cons: not designed for my application
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not as complicated as it looks

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We installed two Johnson Pocket Door systems both with the converging doors option. The first went a little slow with referring back to the video a few times, but the second one went in within a couple of hours with no hesitation. I suggest one watch the video a couple of times and take notes before ever beginning the install. Two people working together at times on this is almost a must. They work and look beautiful.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Verona Va

Very detailed and helpful instuctions

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly and installation was a breeze thanks to the detailed instructions that came with the product. Johnson Hardware's website also has an excellent video to help you.
The rollers and track are top quality on this door. Structurally it seems quite adequate although nailing the trim must be done carefully so as to not nail into the metal split studs. I used 6" x 1" trim screws instead of nails in the casing instead of nailing.
All-in-all, a very good purchase.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A definite buy for an upgraded bedroom

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and good material so I feel good it'll last a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Montana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built product

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not like pocket doors as they fall off track and jam. I looked at this on line and liked what I saw so order it. I have installed it and am extremely happy with the quality and believe that I won't have an issue with the door falling off the track. I like the two way ball bearing rollers and the extruded track.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Northern Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built product. Would definitely purchase again.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great time-saver for a DIYer. I know this sounds silly but... double check yourself when hanging the top track. Make sure opening will be on the side you expect. Installation instructions could be better. Tip: I used lath screws (not drywall screws) to secure components instead of nails. Drill pilot holes in framing because alignment needs to be pretty precise. Worked well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made, great time saver for a diy-er
Cons: a little pricy
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble, came with upgraded ball bearing sliders.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Talladega, Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only way to do a custom pocket door.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Surprised HD doesnt stock these in their stores. Ships in a couple of days and is 500% better than their "lightweight" store model! Put 4 of these in a hall in a recent remodel. Wish EVERY door in house was a pocket. Saves an amazing amount of space
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Gillett, Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A quality product, very pleased!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It had easy to follow directions, pieces/parts fit well together, very easy to assemble, and the glides slid smoothly. Very pleased with overall performance.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: had no cons
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Upstate SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pocket door frame

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Frame arrived before scheduled date...that was a plus. Easy to install per instructions. Need appropriate size screws to attach drywall, I used 1 inch drywall screws (1/2 drywall, side supports are 3/4 inch). Over all a good buy.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't buy the cheaper kits as they are poorly constructed. The Johnson kit has been a well built pocket frame for years. The ones I installed 30 yrs ago work just as well as the one I installed last week. Same quality and great design.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my pocket door!

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Watched the video on YouTube and it was a piece of cake. Smooth glide. Put solid oak door in this frame and you'd think it was weightless. Perfect!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best pocket door kit ever!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a Real Estate Broker I've seen every type of pocket door hanging kit/frame and this by far is the best and most cost effective I've ever seen. Building a new office and bought 3 Johnson Pocket Door Kits, amazing!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.

Nice pocket door

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Strong simple flexible design. Be sure to consider upgrading to ball bearing rollers, and remember jambs which go well with the door. End bracket was bent in shipment but reorder was onlt 1.55 and shipped promptly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior Pocket Door

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super happy with this product. Installation is not super easier but the quality is far superior than other cheaper alternatives. To get the wooden section of the frame to line up with the header i did have to secure the frame slightly off-center on one of the jack studs. The bearings and sliding mechanisms that come with this door are amazing!!
Pros: Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>