728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.

1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.

The Johnson Hardware 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in. is an easily assembled, premium quality commercial/residential kit for installing a pocket door into a wall. Pocket doors do not need "swing" room, saving valuable floor space while still assuring the full privacy of a standard door. Manufactured and designed in the USA, the frame is structurally strong and perfect for the builder or do-it-yourselfer. The kit components are all of the highest quality and durability which is why we can offer a lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.806 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product29 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product29 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Review 1 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Dennisst
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a reasonable price

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased and installed this item about a year ago and it has worked great. The door slides very smoothly and the installation was very straight forward.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
irasng
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this kit with ease. I do have some construction experience so I'm sure that helped a bit. Easy install and the kit is very good quality. My door slides perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
dmdj
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not as complicated as it looks

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed two Johnson Pocket Door systems both with the converging doors option. The first went a little slow with referring back to the video a few times, but the second one went in within a couple of hours with no hesitation. I suggest one watch the video a couple of times and take notes before ever beginning the install. Two people working together at times on this is almost a must. They work and look beautiful.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
tony
from Daly City, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time ,in the USA.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the first time I put in a pocket door.once i understood how to install all went well. I downloaded instructions first , before i got it. was in 3 different languages.
after blacked out the other 2 ,it was easy to read. my ruff in was shorter than min. and it was easy to fix to fit.SMOOTH,ITS JUST LIKE GLASS.Easy to adjust door after hung
Pros: Well Made, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: instructions to much info thats not needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
dljones
from Montana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built product

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do not like pocket doors as they fall off track and jam. I looked at this on line and liked what I saw so order it. I have installed it and am extremely happy with the quality and believe that I won't have an issue with the door falling off the track. I like the two way ball bearing rollers and the extruded track.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Shark
from Northern Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built product. Would definitely purchase again.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great time-saver for a DIYer. I know this sounds silly but... double check yourself when hanging the top track. Make sure opening will be on the side you expect. Installation instructions could be better. Tip: I used lath screws (not drywall screws) to secure components instead of nails. Drill pilot holes in framing because alignment needs to be pretty precise. Worked well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made, great time saver for a diy-er
Cons: a little pricy
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
John
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Old or new construction these are the easiest and best to install. Does not matter if you are a novice or a pro.
Pros: Well Made, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
tablerockmom
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for us

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Simple enough to install even with having to make some adjustments. We don't have the door installed yet, so it isn't getting any use......ergo the 4 stars. Will give update later.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
spiral
from Verona Va

Very detailed and helpful instuctions

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly and installation was a breeze thanks to the detailed instructions that came with the product. Johnson Hardware's website also has an excellent video to help you.
The rollers and track are top quality on this door. Structurally it seems quite adequate although nailing the trim must be done carefully so as to not nail into the metal split studs. I used 6" x 1" trim screws instead of nails in the casing instead of nailing.
All-in-all, a very good purchase.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
coji

My contractor said it was the nicest one he ever installed.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered my new pocket door online along with the frame. We had put another pocket in some years ago and the frame work was cheap and didn't hold up, so I thought if I paid more I hopefully would get something sturdier and at this point (only been installed for about 2 weeks), we feel we did. Especially after the contractor said it was the nicest one he ever installed.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Exwxman

Good Stuff

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've installed three of these without issue. They all fit the ticket
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
SRRobinson
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

End flap was open when delivered

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When we received the package one end flap was torn open. Was not sure if any of the hardware was missing. The instructions were difficult to figure out. We ended up returning it to the store and installing a prehung door instead.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Atomicnate
from Kentucky

Good Quailty

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is well made and was easy to install. It comes with detailed instructions and if that's not enough the manufactures website has a video to help you install it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
SchaibleTheRealtor
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best pocket door kit ever!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a Real Estate Broker I've seen every type of pocket door hanging kit/frame and this by far is the best and most cost effective I've ever seen. Building a new office and bought 3 Johnson Pocket Door Kits, amazing!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
macgyver
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior Pocket Door

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super happy with this product. Installation is not super easier but the quality is far superior than other cheaper alternatives. To get the wooden section of the frame to line up with the header i did have to secure the frame slightly off-center on one of the jack studs. The bearings and sliding mechanisms that come with this door are amazing!!
Pros: Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
gloryman
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product easy to install

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great instructions and extremely easy to install. Much higher quality than I expected. I did comparison shopping for this product and found that this product was the best.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
Vicki
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my pocket door!

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Watched the video on YouTube and it was a piece of cake. Smooth glide. Put solid oak door in this frame and you'd think it was weightless. Perfect!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
BHDH
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well manufactured, good quality

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation at first seemed a little challenging but after watching the u-tube video it went up rather easy.They work very nice and smooth, and made a great improvement to the remodeling project. Glad i bought them.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
twoflat
from Hawaii

Lived up to my expectations

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a quiet easy to install door. This door was exactly that. The rollers are quite and smooth and to kit was easy to use. I was able to easily cut the studs and the overhead track to fit my particular situation. I hav eno complaints. Also, home depot shipped for free and the installation instructions can be downloaded online prior to purchasing the product in order to plan ahead.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500 Series Pocket Door Frame for Doors up to 36 in. x 80 in.
JohnB69
from Bradenton, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

surprisingly easy install`

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am no carpenter, just a do-it-yourself homeowner. The instructions were clear and the frame was easy to install. It's better to have a helper to hold things in place while securing but I installed it alone with no issues.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>