728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles

Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles

Professional installers have long preferred the rugged, dependable performance that only a timberline roof can offer. That's why timberline shingles with Advanced Protection Technology are the #1-selling shingles in all of North America. But performance is only half the story. Since your roof can represent 40% or more of your home's curb appeal, you can improve its resale value with timberline natural shadow shingles from gaf. They'll give you the upscale, architectural look you want, at a price you can afford.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
Review 1 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Strongsville, ohio

GAF first class roofing material

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just retired and decided to re-roof my own home, decided on architectural style shingles instead of the traditional 3-tab shingle. Architectural style is more forgiving if a minor mistake is made in cutting offsets, with 3-tab shingles a slight error will show up easily. Really liked the markings on the architectural shingle for nail placement and the alignment of the next row of shingles. Really a quality product for a good price + made the house look much better than with the "old style" 3-tab shingles ...
Neighbor liked it so much he is re-roofing his home, he said "if the old guy can do it so can he" ...
+77points
78out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Illinoi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best, Great price and easy to work with !!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found these online and decided to visit homedepot to see the quality. price was $28,50 but with purchase of 35 or more we got them at $22,50, Great price for these kind of shingles, you can also save a lot of time on roofing because if you go out of line, it wont show like on the cheap ones, and they look great :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time consuming and not for the do it yourself-er.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst experience I have ever had installing shingles. You have to sort these based on the pattern...
What the "expert" at home depot didn't say is... to created the desired effect you have to take extra time (that has nearly doubled the overall time to install) to sort these during installation so that the shingles that end in a partial "shake" are matched to a likewise shingle. It is seriously ridiculous for the do-it-yourself-er!!!
I wish I had just stuck with the usual 3 tab shingle!
I am now trapped installing shingles over any extra available time to finish the project!
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, No Instructions, time consuming, professional only
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I do not recommend these shingles to anyone.

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these shingles 3 and a half years ago and had them installed. They were fine and I was happy until this summer. Twice we have had monsoon type wind in the last three months and both times large chunks of my shingles blew off. The strip that seals the shingles failed and does not stick together. When we went up to repair the roof we were able to pull the individual shingles apart intact and re-install them with no damage to the shingles. The sealant failed completely so we had to use tar when we put them back. I will be contacting Timberline to demand a refund. In the meantime I have to worry that the next monsoon with take even more shingles off my roof.
Cons: does not seal
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles

excellent

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality and inexpensive. I will recommend this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Ogden, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good product

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a good product, they look beautiful on my shed, these a a lot easier to hide any imperfections unlike the 3 tab shingles, which i have used and will not ever again. i hope this review helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Thomaston, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Awesome Shingles

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed using these shingles one thing about this is the job didn't last long enough, needless to say the shingles look really well on the roof I'll buy these again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from New Albany, MS

Architectural Shingles

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put these shingles on my home last year. They are an excellent quality of shingle and are a good value for your dollar. They also improve the apperance of your home. I have recommended this type of shingle to several friends since my purchase. I, personally, will not use three tab shingles again. In this economy, if you want the greatest value for your dollar I would recommend architectural shingles for your roofing project.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spend the extra couple bucks

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our project called for three tab shingles, but after looking at the reviews and the product itself, for the small price difference, these were far superior. Because of the material thickness difference, they weren't fun to cut by hand, but again, worth it. The natural variation of the product makes it forgiving to work with for someone who hadn't ever done a roof before.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
Cons: tough to cut straight
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Lehi, Utaah

Timberline® shingles

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 3rd generation roofer and have used architectural shingles since they were available in this area. They are the preferred shingle for most homes in our area and have gained a positive reputation.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Port Angeles, WA

30 year Shingles

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used these shingles for years and compared them with several other brands. They are the best looking as far as color and "depth". The only problem I have noticed is they will grow moss faster than the competition unless you buy the algea block. If moss is not a factor then these are great shingles. I especially like the natural color. They are very good looking and easy to install. The "depth and shadow" affect stands out more on the 40/50 year because the shingles get thicker.
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

GAF in stock shingles are ugly

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Today I found out that Home Depot sells much more than GAF shingles in store/online at the PRO desk. They have Owens Corning, Malarkey, Tamko etc. GAF in stock shingles are terrible looking but their special order shingles look much better. HD prices were better than our local "wholesaler" for Owens Corning shingles and I get them delivered right to my roof!
Pros: Performs Well
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
from Mobile, AL, USA
Gender:Female

GAF stinks would not recommend

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a home built in 2002 and selected the 30 yr GAF Timberline roof. After only 10 years the roof is worn out with almost all the granules gone. We have had no severe weather and the roof was installed correctly by a licensed roofer with plenty of air ventilation. This stinks when GAF wants to give me $1,000 towards a new roof and I have to pay the balance of the $12,000 roofers will charge.
-6points
23out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles

works great. looks nice

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished roofing a barn style chicken coop. This product works great. Cuts nicely with a sharp box knife and lays down perfectly. Once heated up in the sun it comformed nicely to the gambrel style roof I used.
Used the orange button style nails to secure it down.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Lifetime Timberline Natural Shadow Charcoal Shingles
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product