728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED

Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED

The Roberts Carpet Groomer is the ideal tool for quick and easy carpet maintenance. Using the carpet groomer in a raking motion loosens and lifts embedded soil and pet hair before vacuuming. The design-engineered head also revives crushed and matted carpets for a new-rug look.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product128 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(28)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product128 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great for Pet Hair

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a shephard/chow mix and higher pile carpet...bad combination. Just as we were considering a $300 vacuum cleaner for pet hair, we stumbled across this as an option. We rake the carpet before vacuuming and even after if you want your carpet to have a just-cleaned look for guests. Does not require a great deal of elbow grease. As easy as sweeping. Hope the pics are good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

The vacuum bag is not full anymore!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is Chewbacca (named after the hairy one on Star Wars) who sheds constantly. Chewy makes a hairy mess on the carpet. This carpet rake pulls up the hairy shedding in the carpet which can be put in a grocery bag and disposed of. After picture is only after using the carpet rake and before the vacuum.
It also lifts the nap of the carpet making it easier to vacuum up the ground in dirt.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED

Carpet groomer falls apart.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The carpet groomer worked just fine on my high pile carpet, and I was pleased with that. However, the brush soon came loose from the head and all the individual plastic brush hairs fell out. If the manufacturer would just attach the brush and pieces into the head by drilling holes and putting in screws, it would improve the quality greatly. If you buy this, you should firmly attach the brush into the head first, before you attempt to use the groomer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: Not Durable, poor design with failing to secure brush into head
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Small investment to extend the life of a big investment!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a low-pile shag carpet in 5 rooms & master closet. At least three of the rooms have had active traffic for almost three years, and the wear is starting to show in places, particularly entry ways. This rug rake does a wonderful job of bringing the life back to the appearance. It's also a great assist in prepping the carpets for vacuuming, loosening up the trapped dirt and pet hair to maximize the vacuum's performance. I will never be without one of these as long as we have carpets with any pile to them. Carpet is a big investment, why not use something easy to keep it looking new?
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the performance of this carpet rake. It does the job well and it is amazing to me how much dog hair it raked the first time and subsequent times I used it. The box arrived pretty banged up but the two pieces of the rake were intact. The rake was very light weight and I thought that I might have problems with keeping the head of the rake on or problems with it twisting. But, that was not the case. It is lightweight but well made. I consider this purchase a good value for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Carpet rake

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE my carpet rake! No more worries about ruining my vacuum cleaner by constantly cutting the dog hair off the rollers! Now I rake all the carpets in the house before I use my vacuum cleaner. The product was exactly as described and super fast shipping!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Does exactly what its supposed to do

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok so think of this product as a push broom with more rigid plastic/nylon bristles. The head is the main part of the product, it can be screwed on to any of those broom handles with a screw on end. It would be nice if you could just buy the head without having to buy the handle as well (leads to bigger shipping box than necessary).
As a single guy, vacuuming was and often forgotten and very neglected task. I refuse to say for how long it was neglected out of fear my fiance shall come upon this review.. Needless to say, my carpet was looking more like furry tile than it was short pile carpet. I had resorted to the decision that Id have to install new carpet before I sold my house until through various experiments (getting on my hands and knees with a kitchen fork, seeing if I could unmatte the carpet), I came upon this product while searching for an easier/faster way. Its does exactly what it says it does. It will fluff your carpet from matted state back to a new looking state. This does not make your carpet new again, as in after some traffic, the fibers do eventually lack back flat (in my case, this is most likely due to cheap carpet that was neglected for the longest time). But this is a definite short term life saver if you plan on selling your house and want to make your carpet look new, or you wish to rake your carpet before/after vacuuming to give it a new look. I would also recommend this for highly matted carpet that you plan on using a rental steam/wet vac on as it will allow the vacuum to reach all the way down to the backing where ground in dirt stays.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a high quality vacuum and this carpet rake still brought up a lot of embedded dirt that the vacuum couldn't. It does make the carpet look newer when it is used before and after vacuuming.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Howell, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I needed to bring my carpet back to life. Easy to use. Amazed at the results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Wisconsin

didn't do what I bought it to do

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it to use to lift the pile back up on carpet where furniture was sitting. Didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Richland, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Three dogs - lots of hair - helpful to use before vacuuming!

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great! I have three dogs and lots of hair. This works great when you run it across the carpet and LOTS of hair is collected. This hair usually clogs up the brush on the vacuum. It's perfect!
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plastic rake part doesn't look like it will do the job, but it is GREAT and exactly what I needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This rake seems to be light and easy to handle, but durable.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rake does a great job of getting my daughters hair out of the carpet. Before the rake, the beater bar in her vacuum would get jammed and cause the belt to burn through, but now she uses the rake to get the hair up before she vacuums.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The carpet rake does an excellent job of removing lines/small dents in the carpet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED

Never leaves a mark

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the carpet for my light colored carpet. After vaccuming or clean the carpet the are tracks in the carpet. This brings the nap up and no more lines! Great for paths in your hallways,too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Revives Carpet Nap!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This carpet rake works really well to revive the nap on my carpets in the high traffic areas in my home, and helped to remove the pet hair that gets matted in the carpet that the vacuum doesn't quite pick up. I use it before I vacuum, and use it afterwards to smooth the carpets out, and make them look nice. I also use it to revive the nap on my area rugs and give them new life. Great American-made product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

Works great

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had carpet rakes before but this one is the best. The long tines do a great job evening out the pile. It is light and easily gets around table & chair legs & up against baseboard molding. A word of caution though- Make sure yours has small pins through the head. You will see 2 small holes along the back edge of the rake. The first one shipped me did not have these and it fell apart in 15 minutes scattering little tines all over the floor. If yours comes without the pins simply pry the sides away from the tine holder and put in a little good quality glue for plastic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am VERY happy with this groomer. We purchased a lower end carpet last year and knew that to keep it nice it would require a good deal of effort on our part. We have two (outside) dogs, a (indoor) cat, and three (indoor/outdoor) children all under age 7. I did some research on how to un-mat the fibers and found that a groomer could do the trick. We found a reasonably priced one at a Home Depot in a town not far from ours. The first use it pushed a LARGE amount of sand, dirt, and crumbs from the carpet onto the adjoining laminate flooring. I swept that up and vacuumed the carpet and was please to see that though it doesn't' look brand new, it looks SIGNIFICANTLY better. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone with a shag style carpet.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED

Made of cheap plastic, fell apart

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fell apart after only one use. Second time I tried to use it, the long plastic piece fell out of the head and all of the little PLASTIC prongs went everywhere. I cannot believe Home Depot sells this item. A complete waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head-DISCONTINUED
from Ripon, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has all the features I want in a carpet goomer, excellent

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a carpet groomer for sometime. I was ecstatic that HD had one I could order. When I received it, I was, and still am, so pleased it has the features I want in a carpet rake. Only thing negative was why this couldn't have been shipped to the store to save me the shipping to my house. And, that one thing wouldn't keep me from ordering this item again, or keep me from encouraging someone else to order this item. I am happy, happy, happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>