728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head

Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head

The Roberts Carpet Groomer is the ideal tool for quick and easy carpet maintenance. Using the carpet groomer in a raking motion loosens and lifts embedded soil and pet hair before vacuuming. The design-engineered head also revives crushed and matted carpets for a new-rug look.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product127 of 142reviews
Rating Breakdown 154 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(102)
4
(28)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product127 of 142reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
Review 1 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
sweetgabrown
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great for Pet Hair

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a shephard/chow mix and higher pile carpet...bad combination. Just as we were considering a $300 vacuum cleaner for pet hair, we stumbled across this as an option. We rake the carpet before vacuuming and even after if you want your carpet to have a just-cleaned look for guests. Does not require a great deal of elbow grease. As easy as sweeping. Hope the pics are good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
farmgirl95602
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

The vacuum bag is not full anymore!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is Chewbacca (named after the hairy one on Star Wars) who sheds constantly. Chewy makes a hairy mess on the carpet. This carpet rake pulls up the hairy shedding in the carpet which can be put in a grocery bag and disposed of. After picture is only after using the carpet rake and before the vacuum.
It also lifts the nap of the carpet making it easier to vacuum up the ground in dirt.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
persistent

Carpet groomer falls apart.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The carpet groomer worked just fine on my high pile carpet, and I was pleased with that. However, the brush soon came loose from the head and all the individual plastic brush hairs fell out. If the manufacturer would just attach the brush and pieces into the head by drilling holes and putting in screws, it would improve the quality greatly. If you buy this, you should firmly attach the brush into the head first, before you attempt to use the groomer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: Not Durable, poor design with failing to secure brush into head
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
MaureenK
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Small investment to extend the life of a big investment!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a low-pile shag carpet in 5 rooms & master closet. At least three of the rooms have had active traffic for almost three years, and the wear is starting to show in places, particularly entry ways. This rug rake does a wonderful job of bringing the life back to the appearance. It's also a great assist in prepping the carpets for vacuuming, loosening up the trapped dirt and pet hair to maximize the vacuum's performance. I will never be without one of these as long as we have carpets with any pile to them. Carpet is a big investment, why not use something easy to keep it looking new?
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
Dogmom
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the performance of this carpet rake. It does the job well and it is amazing to me how much dog hair it raked the first time and subsequent times I used it. The box arrived pretty banged up but the two pieces of the rake were intact. The rake was very light weight and I thought that I might have problems with keeping the head of the rake on or problems with it twisting. But, that was not the case. It is lightweight but well made. I consider this purchase a good value for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
momof3intexas
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plastic rake part doesn't look like it will do the job, but it is GREAT and exactly what I needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
MaryEllenConnecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Carpet rake

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE my carpet rake! No more worries about ruining my vacuum cleaner by constantly cutting the dog hair off the rollers! Now I rake all the carpets in the house before I use my vacuum cleaner. The product was exactly as described and super fast shipping!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
ol8464
from idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This rake seems to be light and easy to handle, but durable.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rake does a great job of getting my daughters hair out of the carpet. Before the rake, the beater bar in her vacuum would get jammed and cause the belt to burn through, but now she uses the rake to get the hair up before she vacuums.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
prkgc
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The carpet rake does an excellent job of removing lines/small dents in the carpet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
NampaMaMa
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am VERY happy with this groomer. We purchased a lower end carpet last year and knew that to keep it nice it would require a good deal of effort on our part. We have two (outside) dogs, a (indoor) cat, and three (indoor/outdoor) children all under age 7. I did some research on how to un-mat the fibers and found that a groomer could do the trick. We found a reasonably priced one at a Home Depot in a town not far from ours. The first use it pushed a LARGE amount of sand, dirt, and crumbs from the carpet onto the adjoining laminate flooring. I swept that up and vacuumed the carpet and was please to see that though it doesn't' look brand new, it looks SIGNIFICANTLY better. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone with a shag style carpet.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
KwGeek
from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design, Falls apart with uses

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have a cat and I also for a period had quite long hair and I needed a way to work out the excess hair that was caught in the carpet, cause vacuuming was not doing the job.
Now I thought a carpet rake would be just what I needed to work out all the hair, lint and dust bunnies.
So I looked around trying to find a place that sold them. sadly I could only find one place, an to make matter worse, they only sold then online and not threw any of their many locations.
An I'm a reluctant online buyer. but the price seem fair. so I order one.
three week later the order came to me door,
I look it over, the plastic bristles seem firm enough to work up the debris, but flexible as to not rip the fabric of my carpet.
So I use it, and less then 5 minutes of raking the head fell apart and the plastic bristles exploded all on my floor. ever thing is held together by a interference fit, there is no glue that hold any thing together. an I tried to repair mine, but because it's interference fit design and how the plastic bristles are held in place, repair was not an option for me and I doubt it maybe an option for you either.
I do not recommend this item, poor design, can not handle the any sort of vigorous use, an the lack of options make this a poor quality item and not worth the high rating that it is getting. which I am now suspicious of.
Cons: Not Durable, not sold in stores only online, poor design with failing to secure brush into hea
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
sob1
from Tipp City, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple&effective

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Freeze carpet mashes and looks unkempt wether just vacuumed or not. This little rake makes it look new again. A must for freeze carpet owners....
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
SingleGuy
from Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Does exactly what its supposed to do

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok so think of this product as a push broom with more rigid plastic/nylon bristles. The head is the main part of the product, it can be screwed on to any of those broom handles with a screw on end. It would be nice if you could just buy the head without having to buy the handle as well (leads to bigger shipping box than necessary).
As a single guy, vacuuming was and often forgotten and very neglected task. I refuse to say for how long it was neglected out of fear my fiance shall come upon this review.. Needless to say, my carpet was looking more like furry tile than it was short pile carpet. I had resorted to the decision that Id have to install new carpet before I sold my house until through various experiments (getting on my hands and knees with a kitchen fork, seeing if I could unmatte the carpet), I came upon this product while searching for an easier/faster way. Its does exactly what it says it does. It will fluff your carpet from matted state back to a new looking state. This does not make your carpet new again, as in after some traffic, the fibers do eventually lack back flat (in my case, this is most likely due to cheap carpet that was neglected for the longest time). But this is a definite short term life saver if you plan on selling your house and want to make your carpet look new, or you wish to rake your carpet before/after vacuuming to give it a new look. I would also recommend this for highly matted carpet that you plan on using a rental steam/wet vac on as it will allow the vacuum to reach all the way down to the backing where ground in dirt stays.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
PetraW

Good purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have two large dogs that shed a lot. Every time we would vacuum we would have to cut the dog hair off the vacuum roller. Using the rake picks up most of the dog fur before we vacuum. We no longer have to cut fur off of the roller.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
frank
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent product.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I've been looking for. Works great. Especially after shampooing my carpets I use it to fluff up my carpet before it dries. Comes out like new.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
LizzyG

Never leaves a mark

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the carpet for my light colored carpet. After vaccuming or clean the carpet the are tracks in the carpet. This brings the nap up and no more lines! Great for paths in your hallways,too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
V204

This product does an excellent job.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It lifts the carpet nape in areas that have been beat down by traffic. It makes vacuuming more efficent.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
ATLGA

Made of cheap plastic, fell apart

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fell apart after only one use. Second time I tried to use it, the long plastic piece fell out of the head and all of the little PLASTIC prongs went everywhere. I cannot believe Home Depot sells this item. A complete waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
JimmyDIY
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a high quality vacuum and this carpet rake still brought up a lot of embedded dirt that the vacuum couldn't. It does make the carpet look newer when it is used before and after vacuuming.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carpet Groomer and Rug Rake with 12 in. Wide Head
Golden
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Love the rake, hate UPS shipping!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works great, just as described. UPS tore open the box and bent the handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>