728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Hand Crank Apple Peeler

Hand Crank Apple Peeler

Save time in the kitchen with this New Buffalo Corp Hand Crank Apple Peeler. The peeler allows you to quickly and easily remove the skin from apples and potatoes. The peeler attaches to 1-1/2 in. tables or countertops and features an adjustable flat blade and 3-prong fork for easy paring. The peeler operates with the simple turn of the hand crank.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
Review 1 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Whittemore, MI 48770, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ease of use and diversity

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using the Hand Crank Apple Peeler I was amazed at the results. I peeled,cored,sliced and bagged,15, gallon sized,freezer bags,in less than a half-hour. I also use it to peel potato's,and,after peeling, you can make curly fries too. So far, I give this device a 100% satisfaction award,and will recommend it to anyone I know that uses any other device. Thank you, New Buffalo for this device. J.Stewart,Michigan
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Memory making Peeler

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was as I remember being in my Mother's kitchen.Mom would attach the peeler to the kitchen table and set me to work while she made the crust of the pie. I would get done when she was rolling out the dough and measuring it to her pie pan. I have looked all over for this peeler and have tried the ones with the suction cups only to have them fail in holding down the peeler while I cranked.
Pros: Easy to Use, saves energy
Cons: Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disappointed

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used a friend's peeler and was impressed so an online search revealed the peeler I got which looked just like hers. Mine seems flimsy and is not as easy to use as hers. It does not easily grip the counter top. The three prongs are duller. The guide that allows the prongs to progress has to be re-adjusted after each peeling. Mine is a cheap "me too."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Ohio,USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing tool

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had an inordinate apple crop this year. I peeled and sliced 5 bushels of apples. Made loads of applesauce and apple pie filling. What a tremendous time saver. Peeling, slicing while I watched my favorite programs on TV. A+ from me. Also the ordering on line and picking up at store was very convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Portable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, time saving
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I LOVE this thing!!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best apple peeler ever! Sturdy, cuts, cores and slices in one swoop! Our family are big apple fans, and with apple season here we use it several times a day...makes a healthy snack sooooooo easy! Built with quality construction, and I can see using this tool for years.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Apple peeler and de-corer.

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was as advertised. It worked great. It peeled, de-cored, and sliced the apple in one operation. We used it on 50lbs of apples for the dehydrator. Yum. :) It's excellent for the part timers that we are.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Classic and always works!

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is even the same color as the one my grandmother would get out to make applesauce and pie. A little bit tricky to figure out if you've never used one before, but the time it saves is worth the investment!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This apple peeler does what it says, however...

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If I want to peel-only, I must remove the slicer/corer blade, peel the apple, then use a hand-coring tool to core it.
A bit unhandy, but can be done.
This is still a jJm-Dandy tool for the home and beyond.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, can remove slicer blade for peel-only
Cons: if you peel-only you lose the coring feature
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Sandston, VA

apple peeler

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I tried this out on a single apple and it seems to work well. Will try out on my peaches and pears later in the Summer.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Del Mar CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to return the apple corer, slicer and peeler.

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No the same quality as the item from William Sonoma. It kept goughing the apple (vs just peeling). Frustrating.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hand Crank Apple Peeler
from Electric City, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to use.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The apple peeler is easy to assemble and can be used anywhere in the kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.