728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Igniter Kit

Igniter Kit

Foolproof grill start-ups are a breeze with this Weber replacement igniter kit for gas grills. This surefire mechanism sparks the firebox on Genesis 1000-5500, Spirit 700/500/300, Genesis Gold/Silver (2001 and earlier), Genesis Platinum and Platinum I/II models. Keep your original Weber in prime operating condition with this ignition system.
Overall rating:
4.439 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Igniter Kit
Review 1 for Igniter Kit
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Fine - Make Sure You Get the Right Model

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Weber Igniter Model 7509 was easy to install on my Weber Genesis Silver B Grill. NOTE: It is designed to fit Pre-2002 year Weber Genesis Silver B Grills. If your grill was manufactured in or after year 2002, then you need the Model 7510 Igniter Kit. These two models are very similar. The main difference is that the 7509 requires a screw-on nut to hold the igniter button in place whereas the 7510 simply uses a push-on clip arrangement.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: don't confuse with other model
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Igniter Kit

Hope it last as long as the first one

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this after the original one went bad. I bought my grill in 1999 so it lasted for 16 years, pretty impressive. The installation instructions were excellent and it worked just like new when I start it up. One click and it is lit. In the last year I have replaced the burner tubes, flavorizer bars and now this igniter kit. The grill works like new and I am very pleased with its performance and the fact that I can still buy all the replacement parts that I need.
I hope this new one lasts as long as the old one did!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Igniter Kit
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You can buy these online from other sources but the price a Home Depot beats most others. The important part is that Home Depot sells a "REAL" Weber part and the other online igniter kits are knock offs and don't last very long - trust me I have been there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Igniter Kit
from Kennebunk, ME
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great igniter kit

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Found igniter kit here which is cheaper than grill's manufacturer kit, even though they are the same product. Installs easily and works great so far. I would give this product a higher value rating if the manufacturer provided kits with and without the push button. The actual igniter needed replacing, not the push button, which is the norm.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Igniter Kit
from Rio Rico, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time to replace the old one.

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this one to replace my 16 year old original unit. It fit right in and wiring was exactly the same. No problems.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Igniter Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works every time

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As with most any Weber product, this one did not disappoint. My grill is 14 years old and I completed a major overhaul after needing the replace the burners. I figured I would also include the ignitor since the box had burned through, even though the original was still working. Home Depot didn't have the replacement in stock but I got it in just a few days through an online order and purchase. Installation took only a couple minutes and it fired up the first time out! The entire process was a breeze and nice to know that HD had my replacement available. Kudos to the entire deal, I am an affirmed HD and Weber enthusiast and will continue to be....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Igniter Kit
from Beaumont, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber igniter replacement for old grill.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality, fair price. Replaced rusted out igniter on 20 year old Weber grill while replacing stainless steel flavorizer bars. Grill now working like new for under $100 compared to $600+ for a new grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Igniter Kit

Extended life of barbeque

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Had to make adaptations. Wish instructions were better, but it came out okay.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Igniter Kit
from Glendale Heights, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This igniter kit was the exact replacement that I needed for my 1989 Weber Genesis 1 gas grill. This is the second igniter kit that I have installed in my grill and the first since a major overhaul of the grill about 15 years ago. The price at Home Depot Online was better than the price if ordered directly from Weber as I had done previously!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Igniter Kit
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watch for exact match.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not the igniter kit for my Weber Spirit. There are many Weber electronic igniter kits, so research what your bbq needs. I did not find mine at Home Depot.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Igniter Kit

The product met all expectations.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The igniter kit met all expectations. As a Weber product, it was easy to install because of the directions provided. Worked first time like a champ. I appreciate Home Depot making the product more affordable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Igniter Kit
from Portland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value for money

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item was for a Weber grill of 15 years -- who has served me well. This part became worn out, and had to be replaced. The price was unbelievably cheap and very easy to install. It has been working ever since like expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Igniter Kit
from Oregon
Gender:Female

Works Perfectly-Like New Again!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This new starter brought my over ten year old Weber back to life! It was super-easy and fast to install, and works like it did when my BBQ was new. Starts with the first press of the button! Directions are included, but I viewed a YouTube installation video first, and didn't even need to read the directions.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Igniter Kit
from Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beats Using a lighter under $10.00

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great, but I ordered the wrong one, the base is different for diff. models. I was still able to use new igniter with my old button and everything works great. Ordered on a sunday nite and UPS deliverd to my house on Wed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Igniter Kit
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect fit inside grill

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have old Weber Spirit. Switches were different shape but I only needed part inside grill. 5 minutes, fit perfect.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: switch shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Igniter Kit

wrong part

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
you list the igniter as the one for the Spirit when in fact it is not the right one for that grill. I am not going to waste my time and gas returning it for the correct igniter. It's just a shame to spend that kind of money on a grill and have an igniterloose and not fitting very well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Igniter Kit

Not exact fit for Spirit 2 Knob grill circa 2010

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not exactly for Spirit 2 Knob grill circa 2010. It works but does not fit in original igniter hole. If you can't find an exact replacement for your spirit this will do....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Igniter Kit
from Marin County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes grill work like new

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was an exact replacement. Installment took about 15 minutes. It is important that you get the right igniter for your grill. I have an older unit that takes the Black push button replacement. Newer models take the red button. I was able to order this older version on-line at HD as the store only stocked the newer (red button) model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Igniter Kit
from Pembroke Pines, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new version a little challenging to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a new ignitor at the same time as I was replacing the regulator vavlve and hose since I noticed thatthe gas catcher was pretty well worn. Like all Weber replacement parts, the ignitor is fairly easy to install if you just follow the printed directions. One challenge I noted with the new style ignitor button on my older model Genesis Silver grill was the addition of threads to the shaft of the ignitor. My older model ingitor slid into the hole in the frame and lined up with two tabs on the shaft. The new version has a threaded shaft that should slide into the hole in the frame and be secured with a nut (included). However, the threads make the shaft too wide for the older model Genesis. I ultimately was able to "thread" the shaft into the grill frame but of course this destroyed the threads and made the nut impossible to screw on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: does not match old style grills exactly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Igniter Kit
from Boonton,NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took me 5 minutes or less to install and worked on the first try. Very happy with this replacemt part
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>