728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Igniter Kit

Igniter Kit

Foolproof grill start-ups are a breeze with this Weber replacement igniter kit for gas grills. This surefire mechanism sparks the firebox on Genesis 1000-5500, Spirit 700/500/300, Genesis Gold/Silver (2001 and earlier), Genesis Platinum and Platinum I/II models. Keep your original Weber in prime operating condition with this ignition system.
Overall rating:
4.404 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Igniter Kit
Review 1 for Igniter Kit
from Beaumont, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber igniter replacement for old grill.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality, fair price. Replaced rusted out igniter on 20 year old Weber grill while replacing stainless steel flavorizer bars. Grill now working like new for under $100 compared to $600+ for a new grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Igniter Kit

Extended life of barbeque

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Had to make adaptations. Wish instructions were better, but it came out okay.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Igniter Kit
from Glendale Heights, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This igniter kit was the exact replacement that I needed for my 1989 Weber Genesis 1 gas grill. This is the second igniter kit that I have installed in my grill and the first since a major overhaul of the grill about 15 years ago. The price at Home Depot Online was better than the price if ordered directly from Weber as I had done previously!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Igniter Kit
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watch for exact match.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not the igniter kit for my Weber Spirit. There are many Weber electronic igniter kits, so research what your bbq needs. I did not find mine at Home Depot.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Igniter Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works every time

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As with most any Weber product, this one did not disappoint. My grill is 14 years old and I completed a major overhaul after needing the replace the burners. I figured I would also include the ignitor since the box had burned through, even though the original was still working. Home Depot didn't have the replacement in stock but I got it in just a few days through an online order and purchase. Installation took only a couple minutes and it fired up the first time out! The entire process was a breeze and nice to know that HD had my replacement available. Kudos to the entire deal, I am an affirmed HD and Weber enthusiast and will continue to be....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Igniter Kit
from Portland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value for money

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item was for a Weber grill of 15 years -- who has served me well. This part became worn out, and had to be replaced. The price was unbelievably cheap and very easy to install. It has been working ever since like expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Igniter Kit

The product met all expectations.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The igniter kit met all expectations. As a Weber product, it was easy to install because of the directions provided. Worked first time like a champ. I appreciate Home Depot making the product more affordable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Igniter Kit

Not exact fit for Spirit 2 Knob grill circa 2010

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not exactly for Spirit 2 Knob grill circa 2010. It works but does not fit in original igniter hole. If you can't find an exact replacement for your spirit this will do....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Igniter Kit
from Oregon
Gender:Female

Works Perfectly-Like New Again!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This new starter brought my over ten year old Weber back to life! It was super-easy and fast to install, and works like it did when my BBQ was new. Starts with the first press of the button! Directions are included, but I viewed a YouTube installation video first, and didn't even need to read the directions.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Igniter Kit
from Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beats Using a lighter under $10.00

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great, but I ordered the wrong one, the base is different for diff. models. I was still able to use new igniter with my old button and everything works great. Ordered on a sunday nite and UPS deliverd to my house on Wed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Igniter Kit
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect fit inside grill

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have old Weber Spirit. Switches were different shape but I only needed part inside grill. 5 minutes, fit perfect.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: switch shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Igniter Kit

wrong part

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
you list the igniter as the one for the Spirit when in fact it is not the right one for that grill. I am not going to waste my time and gas returning it for the correct igniter. It's just a shame to spend that kind of money on a grill and have an igniterloose and not fitting very well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Igniter Kit
from Marin County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes grill work like new

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was an exact replacement. Installment took about 15 minutes. It is important that you get the right igniter for your grill. I have an older unit that takes the Black push button replacement. Newer models take the red button. I was able to order this older version on-line at HD as the store only stocked the newer (red button) model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Igniter Kit
from NH

Easy install! Same OEM parts as from Weber, but at overall lower cost! GREAT DEAL!!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy install! Same OEM parts as from Weber, but at overall lower cost! GREAT DEAL!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Igniter Kit
from Boonton,NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took me 5 minutes or less to install and worked on the first try. Very happy with this replacemt part
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Igniter Kit
from Pembroke Pines, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new version a little challenging to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a new ignitor at the same time as I was replacing the regulator vavlve and hose since I noticed thatthe gas catcher was pretty well worn. Like all Weber replacement parts, the ignitor is fairly easy to install if you just follow the printed directions. One challenge I noted with the new style ignitor button on my older model Genesis Silver grill was the addition of threads to the shaft of the ignitor. My older model ingitor slid into the hole in the frame and lined up with two tabs on the shaft. The new version has a threaded shaft that should slide into the hole in the frame and be secured with a nut (included). However, the threads make the shaft too wide for the older model Genesis. I ultimately was able to "thread" the shaft into the grill frame but of course this destroyed the threads and made the nut impossible to screw on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: does not match old style grills exactly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Igniter Kit
from Bloomfield, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber Igniter Kit

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Make sure you buy the correct igniter kit for your Weber model. If you are unsure, a call to Weber customer service should clarify things. Free shipping to the nearest Home Depot makes this purchase a no-brainer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Igniter Kit

My wife can start the grill again

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was long past time to replace this starter, and was an easy fix
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Igniter Kit
from Zephyrhills, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrong igniter for my Spirit

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Site says this fits Spirit models - maybe some but not mine (circa 2007). Do yourself a favor, take 5 minutes and pull the burner nobs, undo 2 Phillips screws in the side and pop the plate to see which one you need.
I ordered new burners, igniter, flavorizer bars and grates. Easy to follow instructions to remove and install with a screwdriver and a wrench. Only issue was having to run to the store to swap this igniter for the other one.
5 stars for the Weber parts, not so many for the website :-)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Igniter Kit
from florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works well, but took some effort to install

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well. Had to enlarge the receiving hole in the grill cover to accept the igniter.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>