728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Igniter Kit

Igniter Kit

The Weber Igniter Kit fits Spirit, Platinum I/II series and pre-2002 Genesis model grills. The igniter helps provide a long life for your grill.
Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Igniter Kit
Review 1 for Igniter Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works every time

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As with most any Weber product, this one did not disappoint. My grill is 14 years old and I completed a major overhaul after needing the replace the burners. I figured I would also include the ignitor since the box had burned through, even though the original was still working. Home Depot didn't have the replacement in stock but I got it in just a few days through an online order and purchase. Installation took only a couple minutes and it fired up the first time out! The entire process was a breeze and nice to know that HD had my replacement available. Kudos to the entire deal, I am an affirmed HD and Weber enthusiast and will continue to be....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Igniter Kit
from Oregon
Gender:Female

Works Perfectly-Like New Again!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This new starter brought my over ten year old Weber back to life! It was super-easy and fast to install, and works like it did when my BBQ was new. Starts with the first press of the button! Directions are included, but I viewed a YouTube installation video first, and didn't even need to read the directions.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Igniter Kit
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect fit inside grill

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have old Weber Spirit. Switches were different shape but I only needed part inside grill. 5 minutes, fit perfect.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: switch shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Igniter Kit
from Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beats Using a lighter under $10.00

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great, but I ordered the wrong one, the base is different for diff. models. I was still able to use new igniter with my old button and everything works great. Ordered on a sunday nite and UPS deliverd to my house on Wed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Igniter Kit
from Boonton,NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me 5 minutes or less to install and worked on the first try. Very happy with this replacemt part
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Igniter Kit
from Bloomfield, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber Igniter Kit

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure you buy the correct igniter kit for your Weber model. If you are unsure, a call to Weber customer service should clarify things. Free shipping to the nearest Home Depot makes this purchase a no-brainer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Igniter Kit

The product met all expectations.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The igniter kit met all expectations. As a Weber product, it was easy to install because of the directions provided. Worked first time like a champ. I appreciate Home Depot making the product more affordable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Igniter Kit

My wife can start the grill again

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was long past time to replace this starter, and was an easy fix
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Igniter Kit
from Callaway, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

starter

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Thought I was getting an electric starter but this one will probably last longer
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Igniter Kit
from Zephyrhills, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrong igniter for my Spirit

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Site says this fits Spirit models - maybe some but not mine (circa 2007). Do yourself a favor, take 5 minutes and pull the burner nobs, undo 2 Phillips screws in the side and pop the plate to see which one you need.
I ordered new burners, igniter, flavorizer bars and grates. Easy to follow instructions to remove and install with a screwdriver and a wrench. Only issue was having to run to the store to swap this igniter for the other one.
5 stars for the Weber parts, not so many for the website :-)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Igniter Kit
from Marin County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes grill work like new

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was an exact replacement. Installment took about 15 minutes. It is important that you get the right igniter for your grill. I have an older unit that takes the Black push button replacement. Newer models take the red button. I was able to order this older version on-line at HD as the store only stocked the newer (red button) model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Igniter Kit
from Chesapeake, Va.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After searching WEB, this was the best price available--plus no shipping. Ordered then picked up at local store in 6 days. A little slow, but I could still use the grill. Side note: Years ago, I bought stainless steel grates--best thing I ever did!! Easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Igniter Kit
from Franklin Square, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EASY TO INSTALL

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Perfect Weber product. Free ship to store. Had to special order it online because I have an older model grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Igniter Kit
from McCORMICK, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

IGNITER KIT

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WE HAVE REPLACE IT BEFORE SINCE THE GRILL IS 15 YEARS OLD. NO PROBLEM DOING IT.
Pros: it's a grill
Cons: it's a grill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Igniter Kit
from florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works well, but took some effort to install

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well. Had to enlarge the receiving hole in the grill cover to accept the igniter.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Igniter Kit
from Reno, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As expected

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bad packaging (crushed) but came as expected. Does what it was suppose to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Igniter Kit

wrong part

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
you list the igniter as the one for the Spirit when in fact it is not the right one for that grill. I am not going to waste my time and gas returning it for the correct igniter. It's just a shame to spend that kind of money on a grill and have an igniterloose and not fitting very well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Igniter Kit
from Pembroke Pines, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new version a little challenging to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new ignitor at the same time as I was replacing the regulator vavlve and hose since I noticed thatthe gas catcher was pretty well worn. Like all Weber replacement parts, the ignitor is fairly easy to install if you just follow the printed directions. One challenge I noted with the new style ignitor button on my older model Genesis Silver grill was the addition of threads to the shaft of the ignitor. My older model ingitor slid into the hole in the frame and lined up with two tabs on the shaft. The new version has a threaded shaft that should slide into the hole in the frame and be secured with a nut (included). However, the threads make the shaft too wide for the older model Genesis. I ultimately was able to "thread" the shaft into the grill frame but of course this destroyed the threads and made the nut impossible to screw on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: does not match old style grills exactly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Igniter Kit
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well built product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
rocker switch hard to get out without breaking. product can be used without rocker, works very well. shipping to store worked very well for me.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: should sell with rocker switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Igniter Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Excellent

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy install, works great, exact fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>