728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Igniter Kit

Igniter Kit

The Weber Igniter Kit fits Spirit, Platinum I/II series and pre-2002 Genesis model grills. The igniter helps provide a long life for your grill.
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Igniter Kit
Review 1 for Igniter Kit
GrillMaster
from Marin County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes grill work like new

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was an exact replacement. Installment took about 15 minutes. It is important that you get the right igniter for your grill. I have an older unit that takes the Black push button replacement. Newer models take the red button. I was able to order this older version on-line at HD as the store only stocked the newer (red button) model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Igniter Kit
Kilo

The product met all expectations.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The igniter kit met all expectations. As a Weber product, it was easy to install because of the directions provided. Worked first time like a champ. I appreciate Home Depot making the product more affordable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Igniter Kit
Bill
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Excellent

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy install, works great, exact fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Igniter Kit
Notarealhandyman
from Pembroke Pines, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new version a little challenging to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new ignitor at the same time as I was replacing the regulator vavlve and hose since I noticed thatthe gas catcher was pretty well worn. Like all Weber replacement parts, the ignitor is fairly easy to install if you just follow the printed directions. One challenge I noted with the new style ignitor button on my older model Genesis Silver grill was the addition of threads to the shaft of the ignitor. My older model ingitor slid into the hole in the frame and lined up with two tabs on the shaft. The new version has a threaded shaft that should slide into the hole in the frame and be secured with a nut (included). However, the threads make the shaft too wide for the older model Genesis. I ultimately was able to "thread" the shaft into the grill frame but of course this destroyed the threads and made the nut impossible to screw on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: does not match old style grills exactly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Igniter Kit
rich

wrong part

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
you list the igniter as the one for the Spirit when in fact it is not the right one for that grill. I am not going to waste my time and gas returning it for the correct igniter. It's just a shame to spend that kind of money on a grill and have an igniterloose and not fitting very well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Igniter Kit
Jiffypop

Fit like a glove!!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very personal service. Ordered online and picked up in store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Igniter Kit
Joel

Did not work on my grill

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Not the right ignition for my Weber Genesis. Used before on another model and worked fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Igniter Kit
Steve
from Portsmouth, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber Igniter is easy to install and last a long time

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Weber grill is about 13 years old and the metal around the old igniter wasted away, causing the igniter to become loose. The cost of a new igniter was a bargain and installation took less than 5 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Igniter Kit
Mstang508
from Bellingham, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheaper here than Weber

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Direct replacement for my grill. Fit perfect. Took the grill apart and replaced it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Igniter Kit
grillmaster
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

it really works

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
gas grill starts first push of starter.
very easy to install
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Igniter Kit
JJinRVA
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exact Replacement. Easy to Replace.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an exact replacement for the original part. It took a couple of minutes to exchange it out and it worked immediately. I was grilling in minutes. Cost was very reasonable, as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Igniter Kit
Fairway04
from Iowa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy replacement

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The new igniter was inexpensive and simple to replace
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Igniter Kit
CB357
from Mathews, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 15 years, I finally had to replace my igniter on my Weber grill. This replacement was easy to replace and works perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Igniter Kit
JacDew
from Dewey, Arizona

Weber ignitor kit

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband installed this ignitor kit in our old Weber Spirit BBQ with no problems and it works like new.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Igniter Kit
LikeNew
from Erie, CO

Just like New!

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grill starts like new again! Well worth the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Igniter Kit
TC1948
from Meriden, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EASY TO INSTALL

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased my Weber Genesis Silver Grill at Home Depot in 2001. The igniter finally stopped working after 11 years of use. I had to replace my old igniter because the shield box & spark point were severely corroded. The instruction manual had very straight forward & easy to follow instructions for replacing these parts. As recommended by some previous reviews that I read, I kept the old igniter button & just replaced the spark box & wires. Now the grill works like it did when I first bought it !!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Igniter Kit
Anonymous
from San Rafael, CA

Just What I Needed

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit replaces the igniter on my circa 1994 Weber Genesis Grill. The old sparker still worked, but the propane trap (the rectangle in the picture) had almost completely eroded, so it was very hard to light. The new part from Target is an original Weber part. It is easy to install despite the old part being in place for 17 years. Kudos to Weber for their original design that is not impacted by heat and corrosion as far as replacement goes. The detailed instructions are easy to follow, and in fact, one could do it with no instructions. No tools were required, as there was only one nut to undo and it turned by hand (again - this was in place for 17 years of use).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Igniter Kit
Mwils80
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just a replacement & Pretty much plug -n-play .

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just replacement Parts. Pretty much just install and good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Igniter Kit
stonyman
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this piece replaces my original igniter that was purchased in 1998. SO 14 years for the same igniter is great!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Igniter Kit
MaxS

switch is sticking

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace my old igniter because the shield and spark point were corroded. Unfortunately the new switch sticks in the down position. If it does not fix itself soon, I will put my old switch back in but keep the new wires and shield.
The lesson here is to keep all the old stuff until you know the new parts are working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>