728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack-Stix contains 125 ft. of 1/2 in., diameter Permanent Asphalt/Concrete Crack Filler. This is a permanent solution to cracks on the marketplace. It is the same product seen on highways and roads but the only difference is you can apply it and don't need a 200-gal. melter to do it.
Overall rating:
4.644 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product95 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(72)
4
(26)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product95 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Review 1 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Oakton, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product that performs well when installed correctly.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I see several comments about the installation process being difficult. The key I found to make this product work will is to apply it with a torch like you are melting a candle.
Start by cleaning the cracks out with a broom or compressed air to give you a good surface for adhesion. Then start on one end and if the crack is wide enough press the stix into it then heat with a torch to begin the melting process. The material does not have to become liquid just soft with surface melting so it will flow into the crack and begin to stick. Now with the rope of material continue down the full length of the crack. In some areas where the crack is too narrow then melt the product so it flows in and fills the crack but just keep moving. Very much like melting a candle.
I've repair not only my driveway but helped two of my neighbors repair theirs also and the product holds up nicely for a couple years. We have had some hard winters with snow removal machines working the surface often. The temperature has gone from 103f to -10f with this product holding up.
The pictures are of the small torch used to apply Crack Stix and of my driveway 2 years later. You can see the product is still in good form but needing to be refreshed. I just ordered another 125' to freshen up the driveway for another couple years. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great !!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a large gap between my concrete and black top. I filled it with the crack filler and used my small propane torch to melt it. Then I went over it with trowel patch, turned out great and held up over the brutal Michigan winter.
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Medium Black Crack-Stix

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had a rather large crack cross my asphalt driveway. It was too big for the bottle of filler material. The crack-stix did the trick. It was easy to use as you could break off a piece or cut it with a knife to fit the section I was working on. As the material warmed by the sun it got easier to break. I used mine with a cane style burner. It melted easily into the crack but you have to monitor how much you're using as the instructions cautioned about over-filling. The catch phase was "crack-stix go into the crack, not on the crack". My situation was complicated by an irregular surface which I overcame by making several passes over the crack, and breaking off material to fit as I reheated previous material.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from brentwood, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the flexibility of this product where you can stretch it to fill the crack, and you can layer the product and fill up the crack. It is very easy to work with. I would suggest you wait for a day that is over 80 degrees as it makes it easier. and use the long handle propane torch that is sold by the mfg of the crack filler.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Blountville Tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Does the Job right

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this product is packaged well and is easy to use. it takes a little while to get it melted in but it does the best job i have ever seem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The crack filler was exactly what I need to repair my driveway before sealing it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack Stix Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product worked well for cracks just the right size. If too big or deep the crack stix would flow to the bottom leaving the crack exposed. Too small and it was hard to fill the crack. In one picture you can see on the left the crack was too big and the right it was the right size. I melted the crack stix in and dumped rocks in to fill it up. It could use some more tar on top. The other picture shows a crack that was too big that I filled with rocks after putting in the crack stix. In retrospect, I should have filled the cracks and put down tar tape on top.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from North Andover, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Gets the job done

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A can of this and a weed/garden torch and you're in business. Try not to over-melt it as it will just seep out the bottom of the crack. Takes a bit of practice to get it perfectly melted to fill the gap and not completely liquify. But done right, this plugs the crack well and lasts for years. On my second spool of this stuff and it really works.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Cons: some learning curve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Redmond, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really a nice products that works

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Crack filler worked just like it says. Filled the cracks in no time and didn't leave a mess. Can't be stretched like it says because it shrinks back to it's original length. Cut it in pieces, twist it then stretch it. Works alittle better. I really recommend this product if you need to fill cracks. Works better then plain sealer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Crack-stix User Techniques

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product, compared to other crack fillers, but is not fast nor easy to use. Here's some suggestions on use.
1) For smaller cracks, cut in half. Do this with large sissors but do so when the product is cool otherwise it will stick to your tools.
2) Clean/prep the crack. Use a screw driver and, seldom, a grinder with a stone cutting wheel, if necessary, but avoid widening the crack too much. Brush out thorougly or use a shop vac (vac is best).
3) Follow the crack. Hand push the rope into the crack as much as possible. Use a hammer to semi-flatten the rope into the crack. This will help with both positioning and more uniform melting.
4) In wide areas of the crack, cut off additional small pieces of the rope to add to the original piece in order to increase the melt volume.
5) On slopping areas, cut a piece, extending above the crack, to use as a dam. Partially melt to stick, then melt the rope behind it. Allow the material above the dam to cool then melt the dam to a uniform level.
6) Use a medium flame and don't try to melt more than 6" at a time - take your time. Overflows should be feathered at the edges using the torch.
7) If previously filled with a liquid crack patching material, the old material can start to burn/bubble. Wait until coolish and then flatten/readhear with a hammer.
8) Fill remaining low pools by melting additional small pieces into them. Hammer flattened rope will work better here.
9) You have to then seal small cracks with drive sealer in order to prevent water from getting under the now-sealed major cracks. The minor cracks will lead under the crack repair and frost-heaving will undo your efforts.
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Albuquerque
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wish I had known about this product years ago

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Better than water-based crack fillers, and easy to apply, the hardest part is prepping the crack by grinding and canting the edges and getting the width consistent throughout the length. Really wish this product was available at the home center b/c if you under estimate the amount you need, you'll have to put the project on hold while you wait for another order to arrive on your door step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Truckee, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works well

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product work well to fill the cracks in my driveway. It works best if it is warm outside and it is stretched out in the sun to soften a bit. I've also used it by holding it over the smaller cracks and melting it so that it drips into the cracks.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Middle Park CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Asphalt Crack filler that Stix!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have tried many fillers and this is the only one that works and holds! Now I am going to get another bucket to finish the job on a 20+ year asphalt driveway at 9,000 feet in the Rocky Mountains.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Ringgold, GA 30736, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well but forget the directions

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have a very long asphalt driveway that needed some cracks filled. The directions say to cut the "rope" of sealer to length and then slice it down to fit the cracks. They say to press the resulting piece into the crack and heat it with a torch. I found this to be very difficult if not impossible since the rope is very sticky and hard to slice, even with a good utility knife. What I ended up doing was this: cut off an easy to handle length, maybe 8 or 10 inches. You do not need to remove the clear plastic wrap, it will melt into the product. Fire up the torch and hold the rope of sealant near the crack and heat the tip of it until it melts and then run this along the crack. It is kind of like melting solder onto metal. Once you get the hang of it it is not too tough, just keep the torch on the tip of the rope and move along the length of the crack. It sets almost immediately and once it cools it is tack-free.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Really sticks to crack sidewalls; Time consuming but worth it.

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am trying four different crack sealing methods, this being one. Latex-ite Crack Stix: Cheapest place to buy is Home Depot online. I used a propane torch (Mapp gas might work faster - hotter flame) and melted the Stix into the cracks. This stuff really sticks to surfaces (must dry the crack throoughly before applying) when it dries (very fast to drying). For areas with too many cracks (alligatoring) Stix would not be practical (too time consuming). There I used Latex-ite's Trowelable Crack Filler (worked well, dried just slightly more brown than that of the competitor (Sakrete metal gallon can). Other products I am/will be trying: Rust-oleum Epoxy Shield (10#, I'm told it's not actually epoxy, but is a powder to be mixed with water). Nice thing is that you can mix it thinner for crack filler or thicker for use as sealer. Me dealer claims it will outlast everything on the market as a sealer; Sakrete (metal gal. cans) crack filler: works well - similar to Latex-ite crack filler, but Sakrete is black when dry while Latex-ite dries a shade more brown. Sakrete dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter. Latex-ite is in larger buckets (nice) so its easier than lots of smaller cans (Sakrete). Latex-ite Towelable Filler also dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter; Sakrete Crack Filler: dries black, easy to apply (must be shaken), some jugs are light weight adn more fluid while others have more solids - select carefully; Latex-ite Cold Patch in bucket: Basically it's traffic bond gravel in tar coating in a bucket. You must use a tamper. Would ahve worked better if gravel was smaller size. I will be using US Cold Patch Patch next/instead. Either of these products could be use to fill large crack, then after a few weeks, cover the surface with a trowelable product (which I did - worked well).
Any way you do it, ti's a project - sorry knees, trashed clothes, etc. You MUST clean out the crack first (which also helps dry them). I use 150# @ 60CFM air from a portable twin tank electric compressor. For $30 I ordered Milton's three foot long aluminum extension wand which was a "life-saver"! I did my entire 250' drive usign these prducts over about (100) hours. It was is very bad shape,but now is acceptable. Replacement will be about $15 - 20K. After that project, I am cutting trees which shade the blacktop. Moisture on blacktop destroys it - it must dry out, especially in Wisconsin. This is the very first eval I've ever written online, and hope you find it helpful.
+61points
64out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Northern VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

An Excellent Product -- But Time Consuming

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product on a badly worn, cracked driveway and it's the only product I've seen that provides a semi-permanent repair. I have tried numerous other options from Ace Hardware, other hardware stores and they simply didn't last.
I initially used a propane torch, but switched over to Mapp/Map - Gas to increase temp and speed up install time--- it still takes quite some time to fix 1/8" or wider cracks so be prepared to invest some time.
The product has held up very well and I top dressed it with a driveway sealer which had no problems adhering to the Crack-Stix repaired areas.
By and large, it's a very decent product that should increase the life of your driveway
Pros: Seals Well, integrates well with asphalt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow and hard to use as directed, but the rubber seems high quality

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
At first I followed the directions but it was very slow to heat it up and most of my cracks where ether too big or too small. So instead I bought a tea kettle at a thrift store an put pieces of the rubber into it. I then heated up the kettle until the rubber mostly melted and then just poured it into the cracks. This worked much better as i could put more or less rubber in as needed and it went much faster. If you follow the directions I give it a 3 out of 5 stars, but with my modifications I give it a 5 out of 5.
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Marana, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works but not as advertised.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As many other reviewers have stated, this product works but not as advertised. I tried following the directions by pushing the rope of crack filler down into the cracks in my driveway and then melting it with a torch. When I applied heat with the torch the rope would roll right up out of the crack. Once the rope is heated it is almost impossible to work with, so I ended up having to devise a way to melt the rope and pour it into the cracks. In my case, I melted the rope in an old coffee can and then lifted the can with vise grips to pour it into the cracks. This was I little awkward but worked well and sealed the cracks.
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMay 14, 2013
Hi Sgenes,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on your issue and below is their response to you.

Thank you for your comments. Since your post we have introduced a ¼” size that will fit into smaller cracks much easier. It is no longer necessary to cut the material. The smaller material fits in the cracks easier, eliminating the ‘curling’ effect when heating. When even heat is applied the product liquefies and seals the crack properly. Dalton Enterprises welcomes customer feedback, and urges all customers to contact us directly.

Hope this helps.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Portage, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Good Product, but I hope you have the time to install it!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would recommend this product to fill small to medium cracks. But if you have a large crack, better pre fill it with something that can take the heat. Good product to seal up cracks in the driveway. I just hope you have A lot of time. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to fill a medium crack about 7 feet long. AND you BETTER have a Flame thrower! Don't try it with a little hand torch. Better have one that works with a big (Grill) propane tank, otherwise you'll be there for a month. Otherwise a very nice product.
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality
Cons: takes a lot of time to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from PA

Good product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am hoping that this will product will increase the life of my driveway for a few more years. So far it looks like the product will deliver but I will have to see how it does after another winter.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>