728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Asphalt Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack-Stix contains 125 ft. of 1/2 in., diameter Permanent Asphalt/Concrete Crack Filler. This is a permanent solution to cracks on the marketplace. It is the same product seen on highways and roads but the only difference is you can apply it and don't need a 200 gallon melter to do it.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product60 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product60 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Review 1 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
JHoffpauir
from Oakton, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product that performs well when installed correctly.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I see several comments about the installation process being difficult. The key I found to make this product work will is to apply it with a torch like you are melting a candle.
Start by cleaning the cracks out with a broom or compressed air to give you a good surface for adhesion. Then start on one end and if the crack is wide enough press the stix into it then heat with a torch to begin the melting process. The material does not have to become liquid just soft with surface melting so it will flow into the crack and begin to stick. Now with the rope of material continue down the full length of the crack. In some areas where the crack is too narrow then melt the product so it flows in and fills the crack but just keep moving. Very much like melting a candle.
I've repair not only my driveway but helped two of my neighbors repair theirs also and the product holds up nicely for a couple years. We have had some hard winters with snow removal machines working the surface often. The temperature has gone from 103f to -10f with this product holding up.
The pictures are of the small torch used to apply Crack Stix and of my driveway 2 years later. You can see the product is still in good form but needing to be refreshed. I just ordered another 125' to freshen up the driveway for another couple years. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Sgenes
from Marana, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works but not as advertised.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As many other reviewers have stated, this product works but not as advertised. I tried following the directions by pushing the rope of crack filler down into the cracks in my driveway and then melting it with a torch. When I applied heat with the torch the rope would roll right up out of the crack. Once the rope is heated it is almost impossible to work with, so I ended up having to devise a way to melt the rope and pour it into the cracks. In my case, I melted the rope in an old coffee can and then lifted the can with vise grips to pour it into the cracks. This was I little awkward but worked well and sealed the cracks.
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMay 14, 2013
Hi Sgenes,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on your issue and below is their response to you.

Thank you for your comments. Since your post we have introduced a ¼” size that will fit into smaller cracks much easier. It is no longer necessary to cut the material. The smaller material fits in the cracks easier, eliminating the ‘curling’ effect when heating. When even heat is applied the product liquefies and seals the crack properly. Dalton Enterprises welcomes customer feedback, and urges all customers to contact us directly.

Hope this helps.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Pudsdad
from Albuquerque, NM, USA

This is the best yet for home use!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with, molds to cracks/crevasses nicely....now time will tell for it to hold up; tried other products - horrible results after the hot summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
FamousDave
from Ringgold, GA 30736, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well but forget the directions

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a very long asphalt driveway that needed some cracks filled. The directions say to cut the "rope" of sealer to length and then slice it down to fit the cracks. They say to press the resulting piece into the crack and heat it with a torch. I found this to be very difficult if not impossible since the rope is very sticky and hard to slice, even with a good utility knife. What I ended up doing was this: cut off an easy to handle length, maybe 8 or 10 inches. You do not need to remove the clear plastic wrap, it will melt into the product. Fire up the torch and hold the rope of sealant near the crack and heat the tip of it until it melts and then run this along the crack. It is kind of like melting solder onto metal. Once you get the hang of it it is not too tough, just keep the torch on the tip of the rope and move along the length of the crack. It sets almost immediately and once it cools it is tack-free.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
David
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Crack-stix User Techniques

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, compared to other crack fillers, but is not fast nor easy to use. Here's some suggestions on use.
1) For smaller cracks, cut in half. Do this with large sissors but do so when the product is cool otherwise it will stick to your tools.
2) Clean/prep the crack. Use a screw driver and, seldom, a grinder with a stone cutting wheel, if necessary, but avoid widening the crack too much. Brush out thorougly or use a shop vac (vac is best).
3) Follow the crack. Hand push the rope into the crack as much as possible. Use a hammer to semi-flatten the rope into the crack. This will help with both positioning and more uniform melting.
4) In wide areas of the crack, cut off additional small pieces of the rope to add to the original piece in order to increase the melt volume.
5) On slopping areas, cut a piece, extending above the crack, to use as a dam. Partially melt to stick, then melt the rope behind it. Allow the material above the dam to cool then melt the dam to a uniform level.
6) Use a medium flame and don't try to melt more than 6" at a time - take your time. Overflows should be feathered at the edges using the torch.
7) If previously filled with a liquid crack patching material, the old material can start to burn/bubble. Wait until coolish and then flatten/readhear with a hammer.
8) Fill remaining low pools by melting additional small pieces into them. Hammer flattened rope will work better here.
9) You have to then seal small cracks with drive sealer in order to prevent water from getting under the now-sealed major cracks. The minor cracks will lead under the crack repair and frost-heaving will undo your efforts.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
John

Really sticks to crack sidewalls; Time consuming but worth it.

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am trying four different crack sealing methods, this being one. Latex-ite Crack Stix: Cheapest place to buy is Home Depot online. I used a propane torch (Mapp gas might work faster - hotter flame) and melted the Stix into the cracks. This stuff really sticks to surfaces (must dry the crack throoughly before applying) when it dries (very fast to drying). For areas with too many cracks (alligatoring) Stix would not be practical (too time consuming). There I used Latex-ite's Trowelable Crack Filler (worked well, dried just slightly more brown than that of the competitor (Sakrete metal gallon can). Other products I am/will be trying: Rust-oleum Epoxy Shield (10#, I'm told it's not actually epoxy, but is a powder to be mixed with water). Nice thing is that you can mix it thinner for crack filler or thicker for use as sealer. Me dealer claims it will outlast everything on the market as a sealer; Sakrete (metal gal. cans) crack filler: works well - similar to Latex-ite crack filler, but Sakrete is black when dry while Latex-ite dries a shade more brown. Sakrete dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter. Latex-ite is in larger buckets (nice) so its easier than lots of smaller cans (Sakrete). Latex-ite Towelable Filler also dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter; Sakrete Crack Filler: dries black, easy to apply (must be shaken), some jugs are light weight adn more fluid while others have more solids - select carefully; Latex-ite Cold Patch in bucket: Basically it's traffic bond gravel in tar coating in a bucket. You must use a tamper. Would ahve worked better if gravel was smaller size. I will be using US Cold Patch Patch next/instead. Either of these products could be use to fill large crack, then after a few weeks, cover the surface with a trowelable product (which I did - worked well).
Any way you do it, ti's a project - sorry knees, trashed clothes, etc. You MUST clean out the crack first (which also helps dry them). I use 150# @ 60CFM air from a portable twin tank electric compressor. For $30 I ordered Milton's three foot long aluminum extension wand which was a "life-saver"! I did my entire 250' drive usign these prducts over about (100) hours. It was is very bad shape,but now is acceptable. Replacement will be about $15 - 20K. After that project, I am cutting trees which shade the blacktop. Moisture on blacktop destroys it - it must dry out, especially in Wisconsin. This is the very first eval I've ever written online, and hope you find it helpful.
+51points
54out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Flash9
from Raleigh, NC

This stuff works great.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This crack filler worked great for sealing between concrete expansion joints. The fiber board that was placed between some existing concrete and some newly installed concrete deteriorated after a few years. I filled the gap with sand, then heated this crack filler. It has lasted over two years and has expanded and contracted without cracking.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: must have a propane torch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
jeff
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow and hard to use as directed, but the rubber seems high quality

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I followed the directions but it was very slow to heat it up and most of my cracks where ether too big or too small. So instead I bought a tea kettle at a thrift store an put pieces of the rubber into it. I then heated up the kettle until the rubber mostly melted and then just poured it into the cracks. This worked much better as i could put more or less rubber in as needed and it went much faster. If you follow the directions I give it a 3 out of 5 stars, but with my modifications I give it a 5 out of 5.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
MikeA
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it but installation needs some tweaking

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rope is really an ingenious idea but the installation is not as easy as the directions state. This rope is about 1/4" thick, and if you have smaller cracks the directions say to cut the rope and fit it to the crack. It's not easy to cut a rope of stretchy tar/rubber.
A previous commenter stated he melted this stuff in a kettle and poured it into the cracks which is exactly what I neded up doing. Found a cheap tea kettle at a garage sale and using my camping stove I was able to quickly melt this rope into a liquid as thin as water and pour it into the cracks and then smoothed them out with a putty knife. If it cools and clumps before you can get it all spread out thinly, then take a blow torch to it and it will easily melt again.
Note, Home Depot and others have products designed to be used just like this, a can where you heat up the contents and comes with an easy pour applicator.
You won't be able to seal over the patch on day one, the sealer just beads up on this filler. However, if you wait 2-3 weeks, this filler loses it's sheen become a flat finish to which sealers do adhere to.
All in all, I think this material is ideal for filling cracks and I've used cold pours and they just don't last. So this stuff, in addition to some high quality 8-10 year sealer and I'm confident my driveway is good to go for years to come.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Cons: Difficult to Use
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
WoodsyHouse
from Mayfield Vllage Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great stuff! I wish it came in 250' buckets.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best wide/deep and permanent crack filler I’ve used. I neglected my large L-shaped driveway the past two years and had many deep, wide cracks. I’ve used 280’ of this rope and one tank of propane. You can use it in almost any temperature. You will definitely need a large propane torch to melt the rope. Even with the blazing fire it takes over a minute to melt it into the crack until it flows. It quickly hardens like rock and bonds the asphalt to it. It will burn and flake your top coating, but will look like new once top coating is applied.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
ROYALONE666
from Ashland, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

THERES OK, AND THEN THERES "GREAT" !

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AFTER SEALING DRIVEWAYS AND CRACKS FOR OVER 30 YEARS, I WAS READY TO GIVE UP ON CRACK REPAIR FLUIDS AS THEY ALL " DO NOT" WORK. THIS HOWEVER IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT. I HAVE HEAVY TRUCK TRAFFIC ON MY DRIVEWAYS, AND ALTHOUGH THIS PRODUCT REQUIRES MORE ATTENTION AND DETAIL TO APPLY, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH EVERY DIME AND HOUR YOU PUT INTO IT. IT IS FABULOUS. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT THE CRACKS STAYED SEALED AND UNIFORM THROUGH THE HARSH WINTER AND TRUCK TRAFFIC. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY LOOKING AT OR BUYING OTHER PRODUCTS, THIS STUFF IS THE "REAL DEAL". IT ROCKS !
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Pigman
from Virginia

Crack-Stix 125 ft.2-Gal. Crack-Stix Permanent Crack Filler

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised.I filled several cracks in my driveway. It flows nicely once heated with a torch. Once crack is filled slightly below surrounding surface I sprinkled it with sand to rough up the finish. I sprayed sealer and cracks practically dissapeared.I will order again in the future.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Tinkmehandy
from Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It's the only product for filling cracks worth using.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using Crack-Stix for about 6 years at two different homes. It's is so great in the rope-like form for manageability and precision of placement. The sidewalks and drive way looks so neat without weeds coming up. It's lightweight, can be cut to any length. Love that it comes in the bucket size. It is much more economical . I use it with a heat gun and I really enjoy the process.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Maintenance, not permanent but what is?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Ramblinman
from Sioux Falls SD

Very nice product

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to fill a seperation crack between two slabs of concrete that was 1" down to 1/2" wide. Filled the crack in with play sand and packed it up to a 1/4 inch below top of concrete and used crack sealer. Had to put crack sealer side by side, but it worked great. Wish Home Depot carried Crack Sealer in their stores and didn't have to order it on line.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Cull
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product great; Installation labor intensive

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I tried the QuikCrete filler. Not good. Ordered this online. Too bad stores don't stock this.
I was using this to fill cracks in my concrete driveway. Some of them go all the way through to the clay below.
First step is to clean out the crack. I used a shop vac with a flat head screwdriver to get the sand, leaves, seeds, and dirt out of the crack. Did this one or two feet at a time.
Most of my concrete cracks are very narrow which forced me to cut the Crack Stix in half. I'd cut off three inches of the Crack Stix and use tin snips to cut that lengthwise. Tried using a utility knife but that was extremely difficult. Sometimes, I'd have to cut the halves in half. Push the Crack Stix slivers down into the crack using the edge of a flat head screwdriver.
Tried using a small propane torch but it's not designed to be used pointing downward. Had to borrow a full propane torch from a friend. It's amazing what using the right tool for the job will do!
Don't expect the Crack Stix to 'flow' when melted. It will slowly be melted but never really 'flows' to fill a crack. You've got to cover the crack and then melt it ... inch ... by ... inch.
Another tip is not to let the Crack Stix boil. The boiling action makes it flow up and over the edge of your crack. This makes a mess. Slowly go over the length of the crack but avoid letting the Crack Stix boil. Takes longer but the end result is so much better aesthetically.
I've filled cracks about 12 feet so far and have probably used 6 feet of the Crack Stix because I've cut the majority of them in half. I sure wish they would sell this product in BB format. Then I could sweep the BBs into the crack and melt them. The Crack Stix tube is too large for most of my concrete cracks, thus the 4/5 star score.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
BirchAdvisors
from Parkville MD

Crack Stick

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good product to work with, a screw driver, broom and some type of tourch and you are ready to go.
I did fing a right angle grinder with a masonary cutting wheel made the crcaks easier to fill. save so of the sand for the area and add to the top of the repair and it blend right in. They should sell this in the store.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Kevin
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Crack Stix is a good product, but a bit hard to use.

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased Crack Stix in September and have used approximately half of it. I think it is a great product, but found it a bit difficult and time consuming to stuff in cracks as advertised. The cracks rarely were as deep or wide as needed, and the product did not stretch as easily as I had hoped, but I think this was due to the cool fall temperatures. I plan to use more in the spring when it is warmer, and believe that it will stretch better when warm.
After trying a couple of approaches, the best I came up with was to hold it like a string over the crack, then blow the torch down the side of it(near it not on it), toward the ground. This melted the stick and also warmed the pavement so the crack stik adheres better in the crack. It took a little practice to make the crack stix melt without creating a smoky flame, but I found that it worked quite well, particularly on fairly narrow cracks.
I will have a better idea of it's performance after a cold winter (in other words - does it crack). One thing I like about this stuff is that even if it does crack, I can re-heat it and it will re-seal the crack. I am fairly optimistic. It is fairly time comsuming to do this, but if it works well it will have been worth it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
windermere
from Danville PA

super product

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried everything over the years to repair the cracks in my 1000ft driveway. This is absolutely the only things that works? Believe me. All the others wash away. This dries to a taffy rubber consistency in a few hours then eventually becomes hardened to the crack sidewalls creating an absolute permanent bond. If the earth shifts over the winter just get out your torch and heat up the old material to rejoin all the surfaces again. Takes a bit longer than some of the other methods, but this is the only one that works. Extra note: if the crack is less than half inch just cut this stuff in half longituidinally. If the crack is larger than 1/2" just build it up in layers by doing one strip then add a second strip on top or next to the first before it cools down.
I am now ready to order another 600 feet of the material .
Extra note: do yourself a second favor and buy an extension for your blow torch as the melt time is about 1 to 2 minutes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Dave
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works for some applications

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have wide cracks this works fine. You have to push the product down into the cracks and then heat it with a torch. If the cracks are small it is very difficult to get it into the crack.
Large cracks -great. Small cracks - limited use.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well
Cons: Inconsistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Bill

Works great!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to fill small to medium cracks in my driveway. On the smaller cracks, I just applied a little extra heat and it smoothed out nicely. I was very impressed with the results.
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>