728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Driveway Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack-Stix contains 125 ft. of 1/2 in., diameter Permanent Asphalt/Concrete Crack Filler. This is a permanent solution to cracks on the marketplace. It is the same product seen on highways and roads but the only difference is you can apply it and don't need a 200 gallon melter to do it.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product77 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(22)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product77 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Review 1 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Oakton, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product that performs well when installed correctly.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I see several comments about the installation process being difficult. The key I found to make this product work will is to apply it with a torch like you are melting a candle.
Start by cleaning the cracks out with a broom or compressed air to give you a good surface for adhesion. Then start on one end and if the crack is wide enough press the stix into it then heat with a torch to begin the melting process. The material does not have to become liquid just soft with surface melting so it will flow into the crack and begin to stick. Now with the rope of material continue down the full length of the crack. In some areas where the crack is too narrow then melt the product so it flows in and fills the crack but just keep moving. Very much like melting a candle.
I've repair not only my driveway but helped two of my neighbors repair theirs also and the product holds up nicely for a couple years. We have had some hard winters with snow removal machines working the surface often. The temperature has gone from 103f to -10f with this product holding up.
The pictures are of the small torch used to apply Crack Stix and of my driveway 2 years later. You can see the product is still in good form but needing to be refreshed. I just ordered another 125' to freshen up the driveway for another couple years. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack Stix Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product worked well for cracks just the right size. If too big or deep the crack stix would flow to the bottom leaving the crack exposed. Too small and it was hard to fill the crack. In one picture you can see on the left the crack was too big and the right it was the right size. I melted the crack stix in and dumped rocks in to fill it up. It could use some more tar on top. The other picture shows a crack that was too big that I filled with rocks after putting in the crack stix. In retrospect, I should have filled the cracks and put down tar tape on top.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Murphy, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Fills crack good

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
To start I should have got 1/4" my cracks which I thought was big, was too small for 1/2". I cut it and/or stretched and it would stick to my fingers or screw driver and come right out. So I started to heat the stix and let it flow into the crack and this worked good. I held the torch parallel to the pavement and it would heat the pavement and the stix to flow into the crack. I recommend having a bucket of water near so when you get some on your hand you can put into the water . Time will tell on how long it will last. So one also mentioned that they should make it like BB's and pour into hole and melt that is actually what I was thinking of too.
Pros: Seals Well, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Friendsville, TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product, very time consuming though to prepare cracks and pack with product. Not useable at all for smaller cracks (less than 1/4 inch). Not very easy to cut to smaller size though it can be done. I used the 1/4" and 1/2" product. I don't understand though why HD doesn't stock it in their stores, had to order it and have it shipped to my house. Since HD is the sole supplier why can't they at least keep the Plasti-stix in their stores. Latex-ite liquid crack filler and driveway sealer are great and have used them for over 8 years.
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: time consuming prep work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Great Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 450 ft asphalt driveway. We r always filling cracks with one year filler.
Neighbors recommended. Lasts 2-3 yrs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Holden, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

best crack filler Iv'e ever used

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have some large cracks in my driveway, I put the crack-stix,in the crack and it worked great. It takes a little trial and error to get the right amount in the crack, but it seals them good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Crack-stix User Techniques

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, compared to other crack fillers, but is not fast nor easy to use. Here's some suggestions on use.
1) For smaller cracks, cut in half. Do this with large sissors but do so when the product is cool otherwise it will stick to your tools.
2) Clean/prep the crack. Use a screw driver and, seldom, a grinder with a stone cutting wheel, if necessary, but avoid widening the crack too much. Brush out thorougly or use a shop vac (vac is best).
3) Follow the crack. Hand push the rope into the crack as much as possible. Use a hammer to semi-flatten the rope into the crack. This will help with both positioning and more uniform melting.
4) In wide areas of the crack, cut off additional small pieces of the rope to add to the original piece in order to increase the melt volume.
5) On slopping areas, cut a piece, extending above the crack, to use as a dam. Partially melt to stick, then melt the rope behind it. Allow the material above the dam to cool then melt the dam to a uniform level.
6) Use a medium flame and don't try to melt more than 6" at a time - take your time. Overflows should be feathered at the edges using the torch.
7) If previously filled with a liquid crack patching material, the old material can start to burn/bubble. Wait until coolish and then flatten/readhear with a hammer.
8) Fill remaining low pools by melting additional small pieces into them. Hammer flattened rope will work better here.
9) You have to then seal small cracks with drive sealer in order to prevent water from getting under the now-sealed major cracks. The minor cracks will lead under the crack repair and frost-heaving will undo your efforts.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product but difficult to fill small cracks following their directions

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works well using the directions for cracks about the width of the tubing. For smaller cracks it says to cut the tubing lengthwise into smaller strips, but it is very hard to cut it with either a scissors, razor blade or knife and if you stretch it it just keeps shrinking back to the original size. Plus the cut strips stuck to my hands and ripped the vinyl gloves I was wearing.What I found worked very well was to use a full size strip and put it on top of the crack, start to heat with the torch and then use a long knife with a wooden handle (so the handle doesn't heat up from the blade) to make multiple cuts sideways into the strip.The whole strip immediately melts and then I used the knife blade to push the melted material down into the crack while still applying the torch heat. Finally, use the knife blade to scrape any excess away into even smaller adjacent cracks. All the patches I made this way seemed to work out fine. It will of course take the winter season of freezing and thawing to see how well the product holds up, but for now it accomplished my goal of filling in the cracks before I had the driveway sealcoated.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: smaller cracks need better instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Crack-Stix

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great for my needs, I felt like a professional being able to fix my own driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Stuff

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hard to work with but the end result is worth the effort.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Ringgold, GA 30736, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well but forget the directions

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a very long asphalt driveway that needed some cracks filled. The directions say to cut the "rope" of sealer to length and then slice it down to fit the cracks. They say to press the resulting piece into the crack and heat it with a torch. I found this to be very difficult if not impossible since the rope is very sticky and hard to slice, even with a good utility knife. What I ended up doing was this: cut off an easy to handle length, maybe 8 or 10 inches. You do not need to remove the clear plastic wrap, it will melt into the product. Fire up the torch and hold the rope of sealant near the crack and heat the tip of it until it melts and then run this along the crack. It is kind of like melting solder onto metal. Once you get the hang of it it is not too tough, just keep the torch on the tip of the rope and move along the length of the crack. It sets almost immediately and once it cools it is tack-free.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Works as Advertised

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was easy. Just be careful that the crack is not too wide or you may have to install many layers. The filler seemed to harden up quite well. I will have to see how the crack filler survives a New England winter. I didn't give a five because I'm waiting to see how it survives very cold weather. But so far so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Phila, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works as described

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Easy to use. Worked as described. I'm interested to see how it holds up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Chesterfield, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Really good product. Works perfect.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had lots of crack on the drive way and with this product, fix them all with any problem, just took some time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Marana, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works but not as advertised.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As many other reviewers have stated, this product works but not as advertised. I tried following the directions by pushing the rope of crack filler down into the cracks in my driveway and then melting it with a torch. When I applied heat with the torch the rope would roll right up out of the crack. Once the rope is heated it is almost impossible to work with, so I ended up having to devise a way to melt the rope and pour it into the cracks. In my case, I melted the rope in an old coffee can and then lifted the can with vise grips to pour it into the cracks. This was I little awkward but worked well and sealed the cracks.
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMay 14, 2013
Hi Sgenes,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on your issue and below is their response to you.

Thank you for your comments. Since your post we have introduced a ¼” size that will fit into smaller cracks much easier. It is no longer necessary to cut the material. The smaller material fits in the cracks easier, eliminating the ‘curling’ effect when heating. When even heat is applied the product liquefies and seals the crack properly. Dalton Enterprises welcomes customer feedback, and urges all customers to contact us directly.

Hope this helps.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Really sticks to crack sidewalls; Time consuming but worth it.

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am trying four different crack sealing methods, this being one. Latex-ite Crack Stix: Cheapest place to buy is Home Depot online. I used a propane torch (Mapp gas might work faster - hotter flame) and melted the Stix into the cracks. This stuff really sticks to surfaces (must dry the crack throoughly before applying) when it dries (very fast to drying). For areas with too many cracks (alligatoring) Stix would not be practical (too time consuming). There I used Latex-ite's Trowelable Crack Filler (worked well, dried just slightly more brown than that of the competitor (Sakrete metal gallon can). Other products I am/will be trying: Rust-oleum Epoxy Shield (10#, I'm told it's not actually epoxy, but is a powder to be mixed with water). Nice thing is that you can mix it thinner for crack filler or thicker for use as sealer. Me dealer claims it will outlast everything on the market as a sealer; Sakrete (metal gal. cans) crack filler: works well - similar to Latex-ite crack filler, but Sakrete is black when dry while Latex-ite dries a shade more brown. Sakrete dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter. Latex-ite is in larger buckets (nice) so its easier than lots of smaller cans (Sakrete). Latex-ite Towelable Filler also dries to a nice non-glossy surface which I like for the slope on my drive in winter; Sakrete Crack Filler: dries black, easy to apply (must be shaken), some jugs are light weight adn more fluid while others have more solids - select carefully; Latex-ite Cold Patch in bucket: Basically it's traffic bond gravel in tar coating in a bucket. You must use a tamper. Would ahve worked better if gravel was smaller size. I will be using US Cold Patch Patch next/instead. Either of these products could be use to fill large crack, then after a few weeks, cover the surface with a trowelable product (which I did - worked well).
Any way you do it, ti's a project - sorry knees, trashed clothes, etc. You MUST clean out the crack first (which also helps dry them). I use 150# @ 60CFM air from a portable twin tank electric compressor. For $30 I ordered Milton's three foot long aluminum extension wand which was a "life-saver"! I did my entire 250' drive usign these prducts over about (100) hours. It was is very bad shape,but now is acceptable. Replacement will be about $15 - 20K. After that project, I am cutting trees which shade the blacktop. Moisture on blacktop destroys it - it must dry out, especially in Wisconsin. This is the very first eval I've ever written online, and hope you find it helpful.
+56points
59out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler

Easy asphalt repair...

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is easy to use and fills larger cracks well. Be prepared with plenty of propane.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow and hard to use as directed, but the rubber seems high quality

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I followed the directions but it was very slow to heat it up and most of my cracks where ether too big or too small. So instead I bought a tea kettle at a thrift store an put pieces of the rubber into it. I then heated up the kettle until the rubber mostly melted and then just poured it into the cracks. This worked much better as i could put more or less rubber in as needed and it went much faster. If you follow the directions I give it a 3 out of 5 stars, but with my modifications I give it a 5 out of 5.
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Asphalt Crack Sealer

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use. We found that large cracks could be filled in with pea gravel, then the sealer melted, holding the gravel in place. We also spread a thin layer of pea gravel, pressed into the melted sealer. We tried a small propane torch, but it did not provide enough heat. Perhaps Mapp gas. We ended up using a propane weed burner, and it worked fine. Make sure and wear gloves, it can be messy. So we have installed this product, but the acid test will come this winter to see if sealed areas stay sealed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Medium Black Permanent Blacktop Crack Filler
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good only for larger cracks

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good only for cracks 1/4" to 3/8" wide and not deeper than 1/2". Not easy to form and burn. Very expensive for the poor results achieved. Other less expensive caulks are better.
Pros: Seals Well
Cons: Dirty, Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Difficult to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>