728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tool Box Kit

Tool Box Kit

This pre-cut wooden kit helps to develop fine motor and do-it-yourself skills, creativity, and a sense of accomplishment for any child. While following step-by-step instructions, children will learn to sand, nail and glue while building their own toolbox in just about an hour. Great for an activity to do at a children's birthday party as party-goers take the toolbox home as the party favor. The unfinished wooden toolbox can be used as is or finished using paint, stickers or stamps. Glue, hammer, and finishing paint/stickers/stamps are not included.
Overall rating:
4.194 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for Tool Box Kit
Review 1 for Tool Box Kit
from Coral Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great idea for a kids project but very poorly executed. It's really heartbreaking to sit down with your son to build this project and find the pieces do not fit together very well. The dowel rod was too short for the span. The kerfs on the end panels were cut at an angle and did not match with those of the side panels. Since its sold only online, a simple emergency trip to HD to exchange is out of the question. Its expensive firewood. You can imagine my son's disappointment..
Cons: defective parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tool Box Kit

Great toolbox for Cub Scouts!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A little smaller than they will probably build as Boy Scouts, but perfect for Bears-Webelo Cub Scouts.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tool Box Kit
from Pasadena, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast & Efficient

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was exactly as listed and great for many activities and even my sons event.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tool Box Kit
from Northeast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was of expected quality for the price. One of the sides did split when nailed, but wasn't noticeable after it was painted with chalk paint. Some sections require some sanding since it was too rough for my project. The length of the box was perfect; however, the height was not, my mistake. The only recommendation I would make to perspective buyers - be sure you measure the height of the inside measurements. I didn't; therefore, I was unable to use the dowel handle. My mason jars could not be removed, filled and reinserted for my intended project. I used nylon rope and covered it with ribbon to match the color of my project. Overall I would buy this product again and remember what I learned from my first project.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tool Box Kit
from Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect project for kids! Item is exactly as described and good quality for what you're paying. We bought a whole bunch, spray painted them black, and used them as accents for our wedding. Perfect substitute for the typical wicker basket. See two photo examples
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape, easy to build, inexpensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tool Box Kit

Cheap

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This toolbox is small and cheaply made. I guess it's what to be expected for the price however I wouldn't buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tool Box Kit

Perfect Scout Project

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was great for a scout project. I only wish the holes were tapped better and the nails werent cheap finishing nails.
Cons: wrong nails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tool Box Kit

not so good

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nails missing from kit. nail holes need to be predrilled so that they go in straight. out of the 5 kits I bought for 8 & 9 year old cub scouts I believe only one kit came out. nails are too hard to drive straight. quality very poor the the cost of the kit. could of done better starting from scratch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tool Box Kit

Holes Drilled on the Wrong Side

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Price was right but the holes were drilled on the wrong side of the wood. It was a lot of work to sort out so it would work for our cub scout project. Couldn't return or purchase at the store, online only.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tool Box Kit
from Cleburne, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun for our son

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A simple wooden tool box for children to build and paint.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tool Box Kit
from Fullerton, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool box kits provided the perfect activity and end results for my Easter Box project with the grand-kids!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a substitute for the traditional Easter basket that would be practical and a fun activity for my two grandchildren, ages 3 1/2 and 22 months. I shopped online, knowing Home Depot had a great children's program in stores and would likely have a great selection. The tool box was the perfect size and proved to be just the right level of difficulty for young ones who would have adult help. Kits arrived on time. Instructions were clear and easy.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, inexpensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
Paint Plus 12-oz. 2x Spray Gloss Clear Primer
 
 
 
Multisand 9 in. x 11 in. 80 Grit All-Purpose Sanding Sheet (QTY 50)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tool Box Kit

Not what I expected

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I teach cub scouts and one thing they love to do is put together these tool kits! I bought them last year and they were great! So, naturally I ordered what I thought was the same kit (same price, and it was the only build it yourself tool kit they have) but this kit was quite a bit smaller and the quality was not even close to what the kit was last year. The nails bent easily, the wood split when you tried to nail into it. They just weren't very good. Granted, they were only $10, but I got a much better quality and much bigger kit last year for the same price. NOT IMPRESSED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tool Box Kit
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A $5 treasure

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for a staining project. Very easy to put together, sand and stain. I used this little tool box for decoration to display some of my grandfathers old tools.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tool Box Kit
from Spokane, WA.

Cub Scout Approved

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thanks to our Den Leader for this excellent idea!!
Our Wolf Den just built these tool boxes. It was utter amazement to see this group of boys so attentive. OK, so some of Wolf Cubs took a couple of minutes to goof off, but for the most part ten, 8 year olds gave this project their undivided attention.
The Tool Box kit provided enough difficulty to get the kids to use logic and coordination, but not too tricky at all. All of the boys completed the project in a timely manner.
The Wolf Cubs enjoyed the task and raved about it. I look forward to the next Build, Learn and Create project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tool Box Kit
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect gift for a little builder!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this for Christmas for my 6-year-old nephew. It shipped so quickly even though it was ordered during the busiest shipping week of the year, which I really appreciated!
My nephew loved it. He needed a little help getting the nails started but after that, he was able to finish on his own.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tool Box Kit

Tool Box Kit

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We ordered these tool box kits for our Cub Scout Bear den to complete for one of their Achievements. We were very happy with the kits, and the extra assistance we received from Home Depot. The kits were better quality than the ones we had found at a Scout Store.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tool Box Kit
from milwaukee, wi

tool box kit

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have built this kit with kids and the boys like it. It is a little hard to have the nails go in stright on the sides but overal a good project to do with the kids.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tool Box Kit
from rockville, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My grandson loved his Home Depot projects!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the tool box, bird house, and helicopter projects for children for my 9-year-old grandson's birthday. He has really enjoyed working on them with his dad -- so nice to find an "unplugged" activity that he can share with his parents!!
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tool Box Kit

Not sure if quite worth the cost

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
We got this for our 2 1/2 year old for Christmas. Thought it would be a fun project him and Dad could do together (or he could watch Dad do!). It doesn't hold much at all and is quite small for the price. But it is cute to see him carry it around with some of his tools in it and I am happy to have him use the wood product than a plastic product. We haven't gotten to painting it or decorating it yet, but that is the plan.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tool Box Kit
from Longview, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble, great value

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, great value. This is a great project to do with a young child. I have a 5 yr old boy who loved building this and a bird house. He painted both and is very proud of his accomplishments.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>