728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tool Box Kit

Tool Box Kit

Simple enough for an 8-year-old, this pre-cut wooden kit encourages creativity and a sense of accomplishment. Your child will learn to sand, nail and create real cool stuff in just about an hour. Parents of younger children will have fun working with them on this big kid project. Parts are made of wood. Can be used as is or finished with your own paint, sticker or stamps. Glue, hammer and/or screwdriver not included.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product47 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(14)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product47 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for Tool Box Kit
Review 1 for Tool Box Kit
from Coral Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great idea for a kids project but very poorly executed. It's really heartbreaking to sit down with your son to build this project and find the pieces do not fit together very well. The dowel rod was too short for the span. The kerfs on the end panels were cut at an angle and did not match with those of the side panels. Since its sold only online, a simple emergency trip to HD to exchange is out of the question. Its expensive firewood. You can imagine my son's disappointment..
Cons: defective parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tool Box Kit

Great toolbox for Cub Scouts!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little smaller than they will probably build as Boy Scouts, but perfect for Bears-Webelo Cub Scouts.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tool Box Kit
from Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect project for kids! Item is exactly as described and good quality for what you're paying. We bought a whole bunch, spray painted them black, and used them as accents for our wedding. Perfect substitute for the typical wicker basket. See two photo examples
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape, easy to build, inexpensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tool Box Kit
from Humble, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The toolbox is much smaller than I had expected.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The toolbox is much smaller than I expected and the nails that were provided were very fragile- very easily bent if both it directly on the head at a perfectly straight angle.
Pros: Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tool Box Kit
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Time With Grandson!

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 4 y/o grandson had a blast learning to put this simple toolbox together. There were no pieces missing. We chose to secure the dowel handle on each end with a brad nail in addition to the glue. He has since painted it and added a layer of polyacrylic. He proudly shows it to anyone and everyone and uses his small tools to help around the house.
Pros: awesome for young children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tool Box Kit

Smaller than I thought

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was for a Cub Scout project. It worked well in that respect, but the boxes themselves are very small. It barely fits a few screwdrivers. I was expecting it to be a bit larger to fit say a hammer. I guess I should have looked more closely at the dimensions of the product before ordering. Also since this is for beginners, a few more extra nails would be nice. Boys bent several trying to hammer it in. The kit had two extra nails.
I probably will not select this kit for a project in the future because of its small size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tool Box Kit

My 7 year old nephew loved putting this together.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cut pieces were appropriate. Supplies for nailing available. All we needed was hammer and time.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tool Box Kit
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A $5 treasure

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for a staining project. Very easy to put together, sand and stain. I used this little tool box for decoration to display some of my grandfathers old tools.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tool Box Kit
from Fullerton, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool box kits provided the perfect activity and end results for my Easter Box project with the grand-kids!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a substitute for the traditional Easter basket that would be practical and a fun activity for my two grandchildren, ages 3 1/2 and 22 months. I shopped online, knowing Home Depot had a great children's program in stores and would likely have a great selection. The tool box was the perfect size and proved to be just the right level of difficulty for young ones who would have adult help. Kits arrived on time. Instructions were clear and easy.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, inexpensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tool Box Kit
from North Port, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not as big as appeared but will still be fun for grandson

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Customer service was wonderful, though I really didn't need the huge box it was in.
Much smaller than appeared and yes we did measurements before ordering. Not quite as sturdy as we hoped.
Pros: good size, easy ship to store pickup
Cons: not well built, cheaper quality than we get from you usually
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tool Box Kit
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fun for the cub scouts

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These kits were just the ticket for a Cub Scout project. The boys were able to assemble the tool boxes in the time allotted for the den meeting. Each kit includes a few extra nails which was helpful as the kids tended to drop or bend the nails quite frequently. If you nail and glue the joints, the tool boxes are very sturdy. On the negative side, The kit is a little pricy for what you get and the packaging was quite flimsy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tool Box Kit
from Knoxville
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to complete when you have all the parts....

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was an easy project for my son to complete as a Christmas gift. However it was missing the handle which forced me to head to the local hardware store and pick up a dowel to complete the toolbox. It was not very sturdy and extra nails where needed to keep all the pieces secure.
Pros: simple projext
Cons: missing parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tool Box Kit
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect gift for a little builder!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this for Christmas for my 6-year-old nephew. It shipped so quickly even though it was ordered during the busiest shipping week of the year, which I really appreciated!
My nephew loved it. He needed a little help getting the nails started but after that, he was able to finish on his own.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tool Box Kit
from Spokane, WA.

Cub Scout Approved

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thanks to our Den Leader for this excellent idea!!
Our Wolf Den just built these tool boxes. It was utter amazement to see this group of boys so attentive. OK, so some of Wolf Cubs took a couple of minutes to goof off, but for the most part ten, 8 year olds gave this project their undivided attention.
The Tool Box kit provided enough difficulty to get the kids to use logic and coordination, but not too tricky at all. All of the boys completed the project in a timely manner.
The Wolf Cubs enjoyed the task and raved about it. I look forward to the next Build, Learn and Create project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tool Box Kit

Perfect for cub scouts

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 7 of these for my son's cub scout project (8-9 year olds). They were very easy to put together. The boys had a great time assembling...though the parents had to help a bit with the hammering. They loved the stickers that came with it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tool Box Kit

A great gist for that 5year old

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great way for dad and the wee one to have fun on Saturday Morning building this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tool Box Kit

Tool Box Kit

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered these tool box kits for our Cub Scout Bear den to complete for one of their Achievements. We were very happy with the kits, and the extra assistance we received from Home Depot. The kits were better quality than the ones we had found at a Scout Store.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tool Box Kit
from milwaukee, wi

tool box kit

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have built this kit with kids and the boys like it. It is a little hard to have the nails go in stright on the sides but overal a good project to do with the kids.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tool Box Kit
from Longview, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble, great value

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, great value. This is a great project to do with a young child. I have a 5 yr old boy who loved building this and a bird house. He painted both and is very proud of his accomplishments.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tool Box Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used as incentive with young kids. Easy and fun for them to build.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>