728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Multi-Position Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

The MT-17 Telescoping 17 ft. MultiLadder is versatile and easy to transport. The telescoping design allows the ladder to be used in 4 different positions -- twin stepladder, stairway stepladder, extension ladder and as 2 scaffold bases. In the stepladder mode, the multiladder can be used for one or two person jobs with a duty rating of 300 lb. per side. The ft. are slip resistant and the ends of the ladder are flared for firm support. Smooth curved rails allow for comfortable climbing. With its many uses, this ladder may fit all your climbing needs.
Overall rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1101 reviews) 1100
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product995 of 1,040reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,101 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(763)
4
(260)
3
(50)
2
(17)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product995 of 1,040reviews
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 261 Answers
Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 1 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Minneapolis MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

a part broke off before first-use

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought a Werner MT-17 telescoping ladder. When I tried to use it for the first time, the "soft touch knob (blue)" broke off right away.
I had to go online and order the "36-31 - MT-00 SOFT TOUCH KNOB REPL KIT" for it. It should be here sometime this week. I will replace the knob, and then try to open/use the ladder again.
I'm sure that it will work well - but it's pretty bad when a part breaks off right away, from a brand-new item.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
25out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Better than warehouse store Little Giant

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my go to ladder. I have 17 ft Werner and Little Giants, (the warehouse store version of LG, which I understand is lighter weight than the one sold elsewhere), and a regular 24' extension ladder. I find this to be the most stable of the three. Although it weighs a few pounds more than my LG and for a 60+ y.o. woman can be a bit heavy to move around, this inconvenience is more than offset by its stability. I also love that I can do without an 8' step ladder as this is close enough in height, and by using in step or extension positions, gets me most of where I need to go. Highly recommend.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Southern IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good ladder so far

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use for its size. It is a little shaky when used fully extended, but i've not used an extension ladder before to compare this multi-position ladder to it. It arrived in a less time than expected (about 3-4 days from ordering).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Quality Ladder

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Werner ladder is light weight but incredibly sturdy. Fully extended it did not flex or wobble like other extension ladders I've used. Takes the fear out of the climb. Plus it's easy to adjust for every project. This quickly turned into one of my favorite tools. Extension ladder, short step ladder, tall step ladder, flex ladder for steps, scaffold ladder. And rated for 300lbs. Love this ladder..
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As a professional, I Like it:)

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Up to 7' tall as a 4 leg ladder, works for most residential repairs I do. Replaced two ladders with this one and can now do ceilings above stairs with ease. A bit heavy but sturdy, and expect many years of daily use and abuse... The most compact extension ladder ever and replaced my old 6' four leg too:) Better and cheaper than little giant and no plastic parts on this one except the feet....
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no plastic on rung ends, cheaper than giant
Cons: a little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Blue Bell, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Versatile Ladder

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Warner has a great name in ladders and this one is well made with multiple configurations. Almost identical to the Little Giant brand at almost half the price. Home Depot had the best price that I could find. delivery to my home was fast and free.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from los angeles

sturdy work platform

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it shipped slightly bent and was replaced promptly
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from La, USA

Solid-Stable-$$$ Value

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Multi-Use Ladder that is made very well. It is a ROCK Solid climbing platform that offers many great features for the homeowner. The adjustable Dual-Step ladder and extension will be my most common uses inside and out. Each side can handle the Class 1A 300# OSHA\ANSI rating, perfect for high projects that need 4 hands to complete.
It weighs in at 37lbs, less than its more expensive LG competition. Although I'm a light frame kind-of-guy, I find the portability and set up easy and intuitive! Its adjust-ability and versatility has allowed me to replaced a 4ft & 8ft A-frame ladder set for less $$$, and takes up far less storage space!
I've found Werner is a ladder manufacture trusted and respected well in the industry. In all, the MT-17 is a Solid Investment to secure our personal safety while working in and around our home. Highly Recommended!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from North Carolina, USA

Seems to Work as Advertised

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spent a lot of time researching and trying to make a decission on this manufacturer's product or its main competitor's. In fact, I probably spent more time researching the product than I will using it over the next 2-3 years! I finally decided to go with this brand because: 1) I could find little evidence of difference in the quality or functionality; 2) this one is a fair bit less expensive; 3) I really don't need a ladder all that much.
The ladder has been pretty easy to use - just as demonstrated in the videos I found in my research. It seems plenty sturdy for my needs and I think I picked the right size (the next size up - 22ft I think - was on sale for less than this one but it would have been larger than I need and would have been heavier). Even this one at about 40 pounds is heavy enough that it wears me out dragging it around the outside of my home to clear the gutters. (I already have a wood step ladder that was just a little too short but it only weighs around half as much as this one.)
The first time I used it I found my hands got totally filthy - maybe from residual dirt/grime from the factory? - but after that I've used gloves. I intend to try to clean it but I'm not sure what to use.
My bottom line is that I'm fairly satisfied that I got a product that lives up to what's written about it with my personal negatives being that 40 pounds is more than I thought when it comes to the effort to move around my home and, for the little use I expect to have for the ladder it was more expensive than I would have preferred to spend.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Story, WY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It is the perfect size for: reaching roofs, working on upper floor windows, and closes to a compact size to easily fit into a vehicle.

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked great when replacing upper floor windows. Whether the ladder is used on the ground or on stairs, it ably changed to fit the usage. It even worked great as scaffold when paired with another multi-ladder and a plank.
It is easily transported in either a trunk or the back of a pickup.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Mankato, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great multipurpose ladder for the average guy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like to do things myself when I cAn. I M not by any means a skilled construction worker or a carpenter but will do DIY projects. This ladder is a perfect one stop shop. It's a straight ladder for me to get up to my gutters. It's a step ladder. And it's a ladder with multi joints to be used in stairs for chandelier maintenance. And (although I have not used it yet) it can be separated to be used as a scaffolding. The joints lock secure and confidently to ensure no slips or accidents. Plus it is compact for storage! Love this ladder. It is a little heavy as some have mentioned; but absolutely no problem for me and I am happy fur the sturdy construction.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Chicago

Excellent Ladder to have around the house

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this ladder in order to paint the walls and ceiling in my upper staircase/hallway in my home. It fit the bill ALMOST perfectly. ALMOST, went away after adding the Multi Ladder Platform. Now I was able to work comfortably to either my left or right side to pull loose drywall nails and hammer in new ones/and patch. It's a strong and secure ladder. Never had a worry while working over the stairs. Remember, if used as an extension ladder, make sure you know that it has a minimum height. I think for the MT-17 I purchased, it has a minimum height of 9'. So, take that into account for your situation. Don't hesitate to buy. It's a wonderful ladder. And the price was right.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Great ladder for interior works

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a great ladder, my husband use it all the time, it is sturdy and space saving
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Carlsborg WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

telescoping step ladder

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ladder seems to be sturdy, slightly awkward to telescope. Heavy to move around.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Toms River, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Ladder

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had done a lot of research on multi ladders before making this purchase and two things lead me to buy the Werner. First was that I got it on sale for the same price as that tool store that sells all the cheap tools from China sells their no-name brand on sale for. I first considered the Little Giant as I had an old one that was made in the USA, but found they (like ALL the other brands) are now made in China and felt their price way too high as compared to the other imports. So it was this second thing that really helped me decide on the Werner. Werner's rungs are riveted to the rails and the others are welded. I'm figuring if a rung got damaged and need to be replaced that I may be able to buy a replacement.
As far as the ladder itself goes, it does the same things as the other brands so its nothing special. I just deducted a point in each category because Werner is an American company selling these "off shore made" ladders and it took some digging to find out they were not US made.
Pros: got it on sale for $119.00
Cons: imported
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

versatility, ease of use, durable, and very well manufactured

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ladder performs as described, easy to set from step to extension and all in between, extension very secure and stable when extended to reach roof
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Now I can reach those high celiengs.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this ladder because I needed a 7 foot stepladder and also wanted to replace a 20 foot extension ladder which was a bit of a pain to store. The ladder itself is very robust. I weigh 200 lbs and haven't detected any instabilty in the different configurations> So far I've used it to clean my gutters, get up on the roof, and also fix up a 10 foot celeing. Storing the ladder only takes up 5 ft of space.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good ladder

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I"m pretty fair sized needy a good sturdy ladder this work well
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Paron, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Would not recommend

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To hard to operate by yourself....heavy and hard to manage in the house
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from NY

Great versatile ladder

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this ladder because I needed to replace a ceiling fan in the entryway of a split level home. I opted for the standard shipping, and it showed up about 3 days after I ordered it. I used the ladder on the stairs and it worked perfectly. Even on carpet stairs, it didn't budge at all. Some reviews have said that this ladder is very heavy, it really isn't. It weighs about 35 lbs, and is easy for one person to set up, move, and hang on a wall for storage. The only con about this ladder is that the rungs are somewhat small, however it doesn't make it unsafe, just fatigues your feet after a while, but any ladder with rungs and not steps will do that. Overall, I was very pleased with this ladder and would recommend it to anyone. My brother in law was out for the weekend and now he wants one too!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 56 >>