728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Multi-Position Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

The MT-17 Telescoping 17 ft. MultiLadder is versatile and easy to transport. The telescoping design allows the ladder to be used in 4 different positions -- twin stepladder, stairway stepladder, extension ladder and as 2 scaffold bases. In the stepladder mode, the multiladder can be used for one or two person jobs with a duty rating of 300 lb. per side. The ft. are slip resistant and the ends of the ladder are flared for firm support. Smooth curved rails allow for comfortable climbing. With its many uses, this ladder may fit all your climbing needs.
Overall rating:
4.597 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1269 reviews) 1268
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product1,153 of 1,207reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,269 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(894)
4
(289)
3
(52)
2
(18)
1
(16)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product1,153 of 1,207reviews
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 311 Answers
Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 1 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Casa Grande AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Folding Ladder

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a ladder to reach the top of my motorhome to wax it. This ladder fit the bill, and it's sturdy and easy to store!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from New Mexico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Extremely versatile (multi-positions--twin stepladder, stairway stepladder, extension ladder, 2-scaffold bases). Stores compactly. Pretty light weight so I can move it without any assistance. It also folds out with ease. Extremely well made.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Minneapolis MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

a part broke off before first-use

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I bought a Werner MT-17 telescoping ladder. When I tried to use it for the first time, the "soft touch knob (blue)" broke off right away.
I had to go online and order the "36-31 - MT-00 SOFT TOUCH KNOB REPL KIT" for it. It should be here sometime this week. I will replace the knob, and then try to open/use the ladder again.
I'm sure that it will work well - but it's pretty bad when a part breaks off right away, from a brand-new item.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
30out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Better than warehouse store Little Giant

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my go to ladder. I have 17 ft Werner and Little Giants, (the warehouse store version of LG, which I understand is lighter weight than the one sold elsewhere), and a regular 24' extension ladder. I find this to be the most stable of the three. Although it weighs a few pounds more than my LG and for a 60+ y.o. woman can be a bit heavy to move around, this inconvenience is more than offset by its stability. I also love that I can do without an 8' step ladder as this is close enough in height, and by using in step or extension positions, gets me most of where I need to go. Highly recommend.
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Leesburg, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

a little heavy but heavy duty and very sturdy

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After you get by confusing directions and do hands on this product is the best I have had in 40 years
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: instruction could a little less wordy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Magnolia

Many ladders in one!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The variations of this ladder make it extremely functional. With that capacity comes weight and the weight of this ladder makes it sometimes difficult to maneuver especially in tight spaces. Love the ability to use it in so many heights.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from North Carolina, USA

Seems to Work as Advertised

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I spent a lot of time researching and trying to make a decission on this manufacturer's product or its main competitor's. In fact, I probably spent more time researching the product than I will using it over the next 2-3 years! I finally decided to go with this brand because: 1) I could find little evidence of difference in the quality or functionality; 2) this one is a fair bit less expensive; 3) I really don't need a ladder all that much.
The ladder has been pretty easy to use - just as demonstrated in the videos I found in my research. It seems plenty sturdy for my needs and I think I picked the right size (the next size up - 22ft I think - was on sale for less than this one but it would have been larger than I need and would have been heavier). Even this one at about 40 pounds is heavy enough that it wears me out dragging it around the outside of my home to clear the gutters. (I already have a wood step ladder that was just a little too short but it only weighs around half as much as this one.)
The first time I used it I found my hands got totally filthy - maybe from residual dirt/grime from the factory? - but after that I've used gloves. I intend to try to clean it but I'm not sure what to use.
My bottom line is that I'm fairly satisfied that I got a product that lives up to what's written about it with my personal negatives being that 40 pounds is more than I thought when it comes to the effort to move around my home and, for the little use I expect to have for the ladder it was more expensive than I would have preferred to spend.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from La, USA

Solid-Stable-$$$ Value

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent Multi-Use Ladder that is made very well. It is a ROCK Solid climbing platform that offers many great features for the homeowner. The adjustable Dual-Step ladder and extension will be my most common uses inside and out. Each side can handle the Class 1A 300# OSHA\ANSI rating, perfect for high projects that need 4 hands to complete.
It weighs in at 37lbs, less than its more expensive LG competition. Although I'm a light frame kind-of-guy, I find the portability and set up easy and intuitive! Its adjust-ability and versatility has allowed me to replaced a 4ft & 8ft A-frame ladder set for less $$$, and takes up far less storage space!
I've found Werner is a ladder manufacture trusted and respected well in the industry. In all, the MT-17 is a Solid Investment to secure our personal safety while working in and around our home. Highly Recommended!
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Chicago

Excellent Ladder to have around the house

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this ladder in order to paint the walls and ceiling in my upper staircase/hallway in my home. It fit the bill ALMOST perfectly. ALMOST, went away after adding the Multi Ladder Platform. Now I was able to work comfortably to either my left or right side to pull loose drywall nails and hammer in new ones/and patch. It's a strong and secure ladder. Never had a worry while working over the stairs. Remember, if used as an extension ladder, make sure you know that it has a minimum height. I think for the MT-17 I purchased, it has a minimum height of 9'. So, take that into account for your situation. Don't hesitate to buy. It's a wonderful ladder. And the price was right.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from East Troy WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Ladder for stairs

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the ladder mainly for hanging a wall hanging on a wall with a stairway and cathedral ceiling. It worked perfectly and balanced very well on the stairs. I felt very safe using it.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Mulberry, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

very good ladder

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The ladder is very easy to move around and set up. It is a very stable ladder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

versatility, ease of use, durable, and very well manufactured

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ladder performs as described, easy to set from step to extension and all in between, extension very secure and stable when extended to reach roof
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Blue Bell, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Versatile Ladder

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Warner has a great name in ladders and this one is well made with multiple configurations. Almost identical to the Little Giant brand at almost half the price. Home Depot had the best price that I could find. delivery to my home was fast and free.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from NY

Great versatile ladder

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered this ladder because I needed to replace a ceiling fan in the entryway of a split level home. I opted for the standard shipping, and it showed up about 3 days after I ordered it. I used the ladder on the stairs and it worked perfectly. Even on carpet stairs, it didn't budge at all. Some reviews have said that this ladder is very heavy, it really isn't. It weighs about 35 lbs, and is easy for one person to set up, move, and hang on a wall for storage. The only con about this ladder is that the rungs are somewhat small, however it doesn't make it unsafe, just fatigues your feet after a while, but any ladder with rungs and not steps will do that. Overall, I was very pleased with this ladder and would recommend it to anyone. My brother in law was out for the weekend and now he wants one too!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from dayton,ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

versatile is the word!!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
that is the only word to describe this ladder,it will make (any)job around the house that much easier and 17' foot is perfect for the home!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Quality Ladder

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Werner ladder is light weight but incredibly sturdy. Fully extended it did not flex or wobble like other extension ladders I've used. Takes the fear out of the climb. Plus it's easy to adjust for every project. This quickly turned into one of my favorite tools. Extension ladder, short step ladder, tall step ladder, flex ladder for steps, scaffold ladder. And rated for 300lbs. Love this ladder..
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Now I can reach those high celiengs.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this ladder because I needed a 7 foot stepladder and also wanted to replace a 20 foot extension ladder which was a bit of a pain to store. The ladder itself is very robust. I weigh 200 lbs and haven't detected any instabilty in the different configurations> So far I've used it to clean my gutters, get up on the roof, and also fix up a 10 foot celeing. Storing the ladder only takes up 5 ft of space.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Madison, WI

Versatile and strong

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice, versatile mid-height ladder that works well in a lot of situations. It's easy to change heights, although it's a little heavy for carrying around, and it's tricky to manuever safely at it's fully-extended height. Strong and sturdy. Note that despite being called a 17-ft. ladder, it doesn't actually measure that tall at its full height. Probably more like 16 ft.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the occassional/multi-purpose user

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For someone who only needs a ladder occasionally, but for a wide variety of applications, this is the perfect solution. The ladder is very sturdy and nicely built. Everything locks securely and feels perfectly sturdy. It's a bit heavy and bulky, really requiring at least an average sized male to move, set up, and maneuver. To me, the biggest upside is that you only need ONE ladder. To do all the jobs that I've already used this ladder for, I would need at least a step/painters ladder and an extension ladder... and I still don't know how I would have gotten to the light in my stair well. Yes, it's a little pricey, but I definitely think that you're getting what you pay for. This is the perfect all around the home ladder.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Pella, IA

great for us!

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great all-around use ladder for our church! We needed a ladder for inside jobs at the church (changing light bulbs, getting into the attic storage, etc.) that required various heights. The ability of this ladder to be used as either a step ladder or an extension ladder is perfect for our needs. As a woman, I appreciated the lighter weight of this ladder. It makes it possible for me to move and use the ladder. The ability to use the ladder safely on steps, makes changing lights above the stairs much easier and there is not a safety concern. I highly recommend this ladder for multi-purpose usage.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 64 >>