728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Multi-Position Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

The Werner 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder is a sturdy and versatile ladder. The aluminum-constructed ladder has 4 different positions to help you do a variety of tasks. The easy-to-use, soft push touch knobs assist in transforming the ladder into a new position.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product104 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(27)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product104 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 1 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Quality Ladder

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Werner ladder is light weight but incredibly sturdy. Fully extended it did not flex or wobble like other extension ladders I've used. Takes the fear out of the climb. Plus it's easy to adjust for every project. This quickly turned into one of my favorite tools. Extension ladder, short step ladder, tall step ladder, flex ladder for steps, scaffold ladder. And rated for 300lbs. Love this ladder..
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Mankato, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great multipurpose ladder for the average guy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like to do things myself when I cAn. I M not by any means a skilled construction worker or a carpenter but will do DIY projects. This ladder is a perfect one stop shop. It's a straight ladder for me to get up to my gutters. It's a step ladder. And it's a ladder with multi joints to be used in stairs for chandelier maintenance. And (although I have not used it yet) it can be separated to be used as a scaffolding. The joints lock secure and confidently to ensure no slips or accidents. Plus it is compact for storage! Love this ladder. It is a little heavy as some have mentioned; but absolutely no problem for me and I am happy fur the sturdy construction.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Minneapolis MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

a part broke off before first-use

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought a Werner MT-17 telescoping ladder. When I tried to use it for the first time, the "soft touch knob (blue)" broke off right away.
I had to go online and order the "36-31 - MT-00 SOFT TOUCH KNOB REPL KIT" for it. It should be here sometime this week. I will replace the knob, and then try to open/use the ladder again.
I'm sure that it will work well - but it's pretty bad when a part breaks off right away, from a brand-new item.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
24out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Blue Bell, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Versatile Ladder

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Warner has a great name in ladders and this one is well made with multiple configurations. Almost identical to the Little Giant brand at almost half the price. Home Depot had the best price that I could find. delivery to my home was fast and free.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Better than warehouse store Little Giant

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my go to ladder. I have 17 ft Werner and Little Giants, (the warehouse store version of LG, which I understand is lighter weight than the one sold elsewhere), and a regular 24' extension ladder. I find this to be the most stable of the three. Although it weighs a few pounds more than my LG and for a 60+ y.o. woman can be a bit heavy to move around, this inconvenience is more than offset by its stability. I also love that I can do without an 8' step ladder as this is close enough in height, and by using in step or extension positions, gets me most of where I need to go. Highly recommend.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Madison, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Ladder

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great ladder, it works great and is very sturdy. It could be a bit lighter but it's not bad. Only complaint is that I had to go home and order it online since it wasn't stocked in the store. It arrived only 3 days later though.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Long Valley NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very versatile - sturdy in all positions used - a little heavy to move around but solid construction more advantageous.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from North Carolina, USA

Seems to Work as Advertised

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spent a lot of time researching and trying to make a decission on this manufacturer's product or its main competitor's. In fact, I probably spent more time researching the product than I will using it over the next 2-3 years! I finally decided to go with this brand because: 1) I could find little evidence of difference in the quality or functionality; 2) this one is a fair bit less expensive; 3) I really don't need a ladder all that much.
The ladder has been pretty easy to use - just as demonstrated in the videos I found in my research. It seems plenty sturdy for my needs and I think I picked the right size (the next size up - 22ft I think - was on sale for less than this one but it would have been larger than I need and would have been heavier). Even this one at about 40 pounds is heavy enough that it wears me out dragging it around the outside of my home to clear the gutters. (I already have a wood step ladder that was just a little too short but it only weighs around half as much as this one.)
The first time I used it I found my hands got totally filthy - maybe from residual dirt/grime from the factory? - but after that I've used gloves. I intend to try to clean it but I'm not sure what to use.
My bottom line is that I'm fairly satisfied that I got a product that lives up to what's written about it with my personal negatives being that 40 pounds is more than I thought when it comes to the effort to move around my home and, for the little use I expect to have for the ladder it was more expensive than I would have preferred to spend.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from La, USA

Solid-Stable-$$$ Value

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Multi-Use Ladder that is made very well. It is a ROCK Solid climbing platform that offers many great features for the homeowner. The adjustable Dual-Step ladder and extension will be my most common uses inside and out. Each side can handle the Class 1A 300# OSHA\ANSI rating, perfect for high projects that need 4 hands to complete.
It weighs in at 37lbs, less than its more expensive LG competition. Although I'm a light frame kind-of-guy, I find the portability and set up easy and intuitive! Its adjust-ability and versatility has allowed me to replaced a 4ft & 8ft A-frame ladder set for less $$$, and takes up far less storage space!
I've found Werner is a ladder manufacture trusted and respected well in the industry. In all, the MT-17 is a Solid Investment to secure our personal safety while working in and around our home. Highly Recommended!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Chicago

Excellent Ladder to have around the house

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this ladder in order to paint the walls and ceiling in my upper staircase/hallway in my home. It fit the bill ALMOST perfectly. ALMOST, went away after adding the Multi Ladder Platform. Now I was able to work comfortably to either my left or right side to pull loose drywall nails and hammer in new ones/and patch. It's a strong and secure ladder. Never had a worry while working over the stairs. Remember, if used as an extension ladder, make sure you know that it has a minimum height. I think for the MT-17 I purchased, it has a minimum height of 9'. So, take that into account for your situation. Don't hesitate to buy. It's a wonderful ladder. And the price was right.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Great Features!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Awesome ladder. Really great features! Easy to use and as always just a great product!
Wish the price would come down to be more competitive like the standard ladders but then again for all the things this ladder can do its definitely well worth the price!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Now I can reach those high celiengs.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this ladder because I needed a 7 foot stepladder and also wanted to replace a 20 foot extension ladder which was a bit of a pain to store. The ladder itself is very robust. I weigh 200 lbs and haven't detected any instabilty in the different configurations> So far I've used it to clean my gutters, get up on the roof, and also fix up a 10 foot celeing. Storing the ladder only takes up 5 ft of space.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Phenix City, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

A very sturdy and safe ladder

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the different adjustments for heights on this ladder. Easy to do for a single lady. Also it is very sturdy and definitely safe. For the price a great value!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, safe
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We like it

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're very pleased in every way. The construction is very sturdy, and both configurations I've used worked great. Very portable as well for a 17' ladder.
Please keep in mind that in ladder jargon, a 17' ladder is actually a 14' ladder. Odd but true.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

versatility, ease of use, durable, and very well manufactured

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ladder performs as described, easy to set from step to extension and all in between, extension very secure and stable when extended to reach roof
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Solid ladder but heavy

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a sturdy safe ladder and there are plenty of reviews confirming this. What might not be evident is that it's heavy. For jobs such as gutter cleaning that require constantly moving the ladder this can involve a lot of effort. I note that strangely they don't provide the weight of the ladder in the specs, so buying this online expecting it will be lightweight just because it's aluminum could be a mistake. Smaller stature people will struggle with it. Fiberglass ladders might be a better, albeit less stable, alternative for some.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from NY

Great versatile ladder

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this ladder because I needed to replace a ceiling fan in the entryway of a split level home. I opted for the standard shipping, and it showed up about 3 days after I ordered it. I used the ladder on the stairs and it worked perfectly. Even on carpet stairs, it didn't budge at all. Some reviews have said that this ladder is very heavy, it really isn't. It weighs about 35 lbs, and is easy for one person to set up, move, and hang on a wall for storage. The only con about this ladder is that the rungs are somewhat small, however it doesn't make it unsafe, just fatigues your feet after a while, but any ladder with rungs and not steps will do that. Overall, I was very pleased with this ladder and would recommend it to anyone. My brother in law was out for the weekend and now he wants one too!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Aston, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Ladder

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Ladder for the price! Has multiple positions, very easy and practically self-explanatory to use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the occassional/multi-purpose user

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For someone who only needs a ladder occasionally, but for a wide variety of applications, this is the perfect solution. The ladder is very sturdy and nicely built. Everything locks securely and feels perfectly sturdy. It's a bit heavy and bulky, really requiring at least an average sized male to move, set up, and maneuver. To me, the biggest upside is that you only need ONE ladder. To do all the jobs that I've already used this ladder for, I would need at least a step/painters ladder and an extension ladder... and I still don't know how I would have gotten to the light in my stair well. Yes, it's a little pricey, but I definitely think that you're getting what you pay for. This is the perfect all around the home ladder.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Madison, WI

Versatile and strong

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice, versatile mid-height ladder that works well in a lot of situations. It's easy to change heights, although it's a little heavy for carrying around, and it's tricky to manuever safely at it's fully-extended height. Strong and sturdy. Note that despite being called a 17-ft. ladder, it doesn't actually measure that tall at its full height. Probably more like 16 ft.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>