728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Multi-Position Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

The MT-22 Telescoping 22 ft. MultiLadder is versatile and easy to transport. The telescoping design allows the ladder to be used in 4 different positions -- twin stepladder, stairway stepladder, extension ladder and as 2 scaffold bases. In the stepladder mode, the multiladder can be used for one or two person jobs with a duty rating of 300 lb. per side. The ft. are slip resistant and the ends of the ladder are flared for firm support. Smooth curved rails allow for comfortable climbing. With its many uses, this ladder may fit all your climbing needs.
Overall rating:
4.586 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1404 reviews) 1403
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product1,277 of 1,338reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,404 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(978)
4
(329)
3
(57)
2
(22)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product1,277 of 1,338reviews
Customer questions and answers:
76 Questions | 348 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 1 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Deluxe! I keep finding uses for it.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not a contactor, just an owner of an old home, and this ladder far exceeds my expectations. I have used it as an A-frame ladder several times and look forward to spring so I can use it as an extension ladder to paint parts of my house that were inaccessible with my old A-frame ladder. It is easy to use, a little heavy, but sturdy and strong. I also was able to use it on a staircase, with the legs at different lengths, in order to reach a long-neglected light that had a bulb out and was filthy...I could never reach it before! My neighbor is a contractor and said that this is top-notch; he was even a little jealous, I think:-) I am 6' tall and 250 lbs. and I feel very confident on this ladder. Do you want to know the best part??? The absolute best part of this ladder is how it folds up into a neat little package when not in use. The fact that a ladder that can extend to 22 feet, and offer so much versatility, can still fold down to 5.5 feet is fantastic! I can store it in a small space near a door, completely out of the way; my wife doesn't even give me a hard time about it, since it is out of the way. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: a little heavy but expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't believe I didn't own one before...

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 40 years home ownership, I finally bought a multi-position ladder. It's awesome! Very stable, very versatile. In one week, I've used it for high-ceiling rooms, front entry ways, painting, gutter repairs on a single story home. A bit heavy to carry, but I felt safer on this ladder than any step ladder I've owned. Changing positions is quick and easy.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great ladder, poor Home Depot service

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent ladder. Heavy, but very stable. Flexibilty to use it as a step or straight ladder makes it an excellent value. Locking mechanisms are sturdy and oversized making them easy to operate. Would like to see some kind of ratcheting mechanism added so that it can be raised more easily when up against a wall. Currently, when you unlock the mechanisms, the sections slide completely free in both directions making it difficult for one person to raise it without it sliding back. Very annoyed with Home Depot for delivering a fully used unit (apparently used for several months then returned), but that says nothing about the overall quality of the ladder. Would buy again, but probably not from HD.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to extend when up against wall
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Baton Rouge , Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Strong ladder , feels secure

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only issue I've found is that the ' rubber protectors ' at the ends are not durable and that they mark up the painted surfaces with black rubbings of the first home we used this ladder for . Also , they started to expose the aluminum ends right away . That part is not well made .
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: rubber ends not great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Weekly

A good ladder but a bit bulky to use

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This telescopic ladder is added advantage to any home and extremely flexible. The four different positions that the ladder can be adjusted creates a positive user experience.
The only difficulty I found using this ladder is that its bulky and difficult to move around. Also, like some of the the ladders it doesn't have a place to keep tools when you are on the top.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Heavy, no place to hold tools
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Midlothian, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Compact, sturdy, but not for the weak.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ladder is everything the 2-story home owner could want/need. With one ladder, you can access any area of your house (inside and out), create a platform for painting a wall without the need to move a ladder, then store it in a small closet when you're done. Very sturdy construction. Bowed structure provides a stable base and ladder has never given me a scare.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, grippy steps
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
54out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for Townhouse

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased our home because we loved the open floor plan and the high ceilings. I purchased this ladder because of the open floor plan and high ceilings. I own a three story townhouse which does not allow me to store a regular 22 foot extension ladder with ease. I also was not thrilled with the idea of wrestling a 22 foot extension ladder every time a light bulb went out. I have seen the little giant ladder commercials airing for years and I was happy to find out that there were other brands out there which did not charge and arm and a leg for a ladder with similar features.
I store this ladder in my garage in two separate pieces. This way I have a regular, easy to manage, ladder ready to go whenever I need it. When I need the full 22 feet of ladder, I simply carry each piece on its own to deploy where needed. The ladder is by no means as easy to set up as a 22 foot extension ladder, however, I am able to make due. This drawback is far outweighed by the advantages of its compact size while it is sitting in my garage most days of the year.
Would certainly buy again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design, Compact
Cons: can be difficult to handle
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+61points
71out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Kerrville, Texas
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not a 22 footer at all

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Despite the large print on Werner's label and the information in Home Depot's description insisting that it is 22 feet ong, this ladder is only 18 feet long when extended. If you need a 22 foot ladder, you must get the 26 foot model. Go figure. This is not the only review pointing out this anomaly, so evidently neither the manufacturer nor the vendor care about reality.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: false description
+43points
53out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this in April. After 3 uses the locking mechanism on one side broke. I am a homeowner not contractor, that has just used this to clean gutters a few times. Werner refuses to honor warranty on this. They stated I would have to purchase replacement parts.
Cons: Not Durable
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good price for average product

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Price is substantially lower than the Little Giant ladders, so that is a pro. I had used my bro-in-laws Little Giant 22 ft multi-use ladder and was very handy. So much so, that I figured I needed to invest in one for myself. I read reviews and shopped around and i thought i would take a chance on the lower rated product for a lower price. it is not as smooth. the locking mechanism sometimes gets stuck. Not as smooth and easy to manuever as the other brand. But I probably use a ladder about 15 times per year, so Im willing to take the tradeoff. However, if I was using it on a daily basis, I would probably opt for the lighter but more expensive one.
Cons: sticking adjustment
+62points
62out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Fort Worth
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very versatile; Very heavy

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Make no doubt about it, this ladder is very flexible to use in many applications - it is a Houdini of ladders. However, and this is important, it is very heavy and awkward to set up and carry. I'm 61, weigh 185 lbs with average strength. I've just recently added a 22' fiberglass extension ladder to use instead for when I need to get up high. I will only use this ladder for those unique settings for uneven step ladder situations where one side is lower than the other, on stairs for example. Still, it's a good addition to one's ladder collection.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: very heavy, awkward handling
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Winder, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product beat all expectations!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is by far, the best ladder I've ever purchased. I needed a ladder to reach the walls above the stairs in my 13 ft split level entry and this ladder worked like a charm. I loved that you can climb up on either side. I found it very easy to set and use. I am petite so I did need my son's muscles to help me move it around in the entry way, It will be perfect to reach my outside shutters.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

NOT VERY STURDY

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This ladder is very very loose, when extended just partially it wobbles alot, then when fully extended going halfway up this does not give confidence of safety. I've not had it long and very very tempted to return it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Great ladder!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this ladder. It is very strong, easy to use, and the quality of the material feels like it will last forever. Used it for hanging Christmas lights, cutting tree limbs on a hill, etc.
The only downside is that when fully extended, it becomes very unwieldy. With a regular extension ladder, you put the feet in place and use the rope and pulley to extend it to the desired height. With this ladder, you need to set the height and then put the ladder in place, and when it's over 20 feet long (and fairly heavy), this is tough to do.
Other than that, the price is right, the quality is top notch, and it stores in half the space of my old extension ladder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design, affordable
Cons: difficult to position when extended
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Mount Juliet, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Ladder, Sturdy, compact

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I felt like I got a great value for this ladder compared to other similar sized ladders. To top it off this ladder is telescopic so it has many more uses than what I had originally planned for. I was looking for a ladder to be able to put up Christmas lights and clean my gutters with which it did perfectly and I felt very safe on it.
The ladder feels extremely durable and sturdy, it is not too heavy but when it is fully extended it is tough to move around so you may need help. After spending an entire Saturday moving the ladder around and climbing up it to put Christmas lights up I felt like I worked out all day and was sore for 3 days after.
The devices that lock the ladder in position(when you want to change it from a straight ladder to one bent so it can stand on its own) are very nice and stay in place when you push them in until they reach the next position and they snap into place. After several days of use it seems like these are getting harder to push in, I may just need to add some WD40. The locks that lock the ladder extensions in place seem to be wearing down a little too, but it may just be me. They will definitely need some WD40 soon though.
The ladder never slipped when it was on my grass, in the mulch, or on my driveway. It stayed in position very well and never budged. Even when it was wet it wasn't very slippery. I had mud on a couple rungs at one point and my toe did slip but for the most part I felt safe even at the top of the ladder when it was fully extended.
Make sure to get the proper size ladder for your job. As you can see in my picture the ladder does not allow me to reach the very top of my two story house. I ended up just laying the lights on the point of my roof that you see in the picture with a long stick.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, many uses, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Heavier than it looks, but sturdy.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros: Compact storage and transport. Wide foot spacing for stability. Solid feel when extended.
Cons: Folks who haven't used one before are often deceived by its weight. It's not overly heavy, it just looks lighter than it is -- be sure to warn people who may want to borrow it. It's also awkward for people the first couple of times they try to use it without any help.
Other: Remember that "22 ft" is a marketing term based upon the extended length of the ladder plus the reach of an average height male. This type of misleading spec is common to all ladder manufacturers I know. If you take this into consideration, then you'll end up with the ladder you need.
+62points
66out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Versatile, but quite bulky.

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The ladder is handy and is nicely designed. However, it is quite heavy and very bulky. If you are a strong and healthy man, or have 2 people to move and adjust it, it will be fine. If your a woman or old, and working alone, this ladder will be too bulky and heavy for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Little Elm, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product Specifications Inaccurate by 3 feet

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good product, but the online specifications are wrong. Everywhere the specs are available, this is listed as a 22' length ladder.The maximum ladder length is 18'3" and the 22' is based on someone who is 5'7 with a 12" reach standing on the highest 'safe' step. It is a ridiculous way to calculate height on something like a ladder. It's like saying my pencil is 3' long because I hold it at the end of my 2'6" arm.
Just keep in mind, this ladder will not get you safely onto a roof that is higher than 15' up.
Pros: multi-position, multi-use
Cons: not 22'
+102points
113out of 124found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from winchester va
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

love this ladder

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best ladder I have ever used. First use was using a friend's to top a tree and after that I had to go buy my own. I don't like to use ladders for any reason due to not feeling secure. This ladder changed my mind. I feel completely safe on this and use mine a lot more than I ever thought I would. This was a great purchase.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 ft. Aluminum Telescoping Multi-position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
from Omaha Nebraska
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great ladder

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the ladder is fantastic - easy to use, and reaches those high places on a story and a half home.
the biggest downfall is this ladder is HEAVY and when fully extended extremely awkward to move around. I eventually got it up by myself, but two people would work better when trying to put it up at it's full height. I really like the various types of ladders this one ladder can become. I see lots of uses for it around the house.
It is sturdy, and I did not feel unsafe when I was up cleaning out my gutters 20 feet above the ground!
I ordered this online, and picked it up from Home Depot without a problem. The ladder will fit into a Dodge Caliber without a problem when folded down.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 70 >>