728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 in. Tile Saw

7 in. Tile Saw

Ryobi introduces the most affordable overhead 7 in. tile saw. Floors, kitchens, bathrooms, even patios can have expert quality results, thanks to its innovative, professional features. Best-in-class cutting capacity allows you to handle a wide range of tile sizes as you engage in various home improvement projects. The Easy Glide tables roller guide assembly allows you to feed the tile through the cutting wheel with minimal effort. You will achieve precise, accurate cuts thanks to the dual function, fully adjustable rip guide and bevel block. HydroArc curved water channels help prevent tile edges from catching on the table, for smooth and easy cut set-up. With the end-of-cut reminder and unique corner support tile breakage is virtually eliminated. The pumpless flow system keeps clear, fresh water on the blade resulting in trouble-free, clean, straight cuts. The Ryobi tile saw is loaded with easy to use features, so you will get professional results every time.
Overall rating:
3.819 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product66 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(30)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product66 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 7 in. Tile Saw
Review 1 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value Value Value

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is obliviously not a saw for a contractor. It's a saw for the weekender who will be doing more than just one job. I've tiled at least 5 rooms and an entire basement with this saw and my neighbor has done a large kitchen with it. It's as good as the day I bought it.
Like I said, it's not commercial grade but the value for the price cannot be beat.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Rockville, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A *CUT* ABOVE THE OTHER ENTRY LEVEL SAWS (PUN INTENDED)

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little background as to why I bought this saw: My friend wanted a glass tile back splash in his condo. He came over to my house and saw the work I did on mine (using my neighbors' AMAZING Felker).
I volunteered to do his, but did not want to keep borrowing the neighbors' Felker (which weighs a zillion pounds and would not be fun to use in a high-rise condo) so I made a bargain with my friend: We'd need to rent a tile saw anyway, so why not buy me this saw (after reading reviews and being comfortable with the purchase) in exchange for putting up his backsplash?!
Cutting the glass was okay with the included blade, but for the more precise cuts I decided I'd need a glass blade (the QEP blade) which made a huge favorable difference. If setting glass tiles, do yourself a favor and just immediately buy the glass blade.
It's definitely not a Felker, but I am VERY pleased with this saw and look forward to using it soon on my own bathroom project.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Longwood, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A Diamond In The Rough

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quite frankly, I've used a lot of inexpensive wet saws over the years as a flooring contractor. My expertise is in the art and installation of wood floors, however I also dabble in tile (the occasional kitchen, bathroom or foyer).
This saw has a powerful motor mounted on top, not a grinder motor, not a cheap motor like the table top saws of similar price. If you lube the left side rail with heavy oil, it will perform like an industrial professional saw. An upgraded blade would probably even do bigger and faster cuts, but the stock blade is just fine, especially if you're cutting natural stone or pool tiles as was the case for me today.
I have to congratulate the manufacturer big time, as this saw outperformed any other in it's class I have ever owned. The fact that it has a sliding tray for it's price is the best feature. True, a table top saw will allow a full pass on a huge tile, however it's rare that you have to make full length cuts where a snap cutter will work anyway. I found myself using grinders and snap cutters for the cuts this saw won't handle, but the majority of the cuts in an average kitchen or bath can be made with this saw perfectly.
The water system on this saw is fantastic too, you have your choice of purchasing a separate traditional pump, or you can simply attach a garden hose to the inlet on the back, and there are two trustworthy valves to accommodate the water output.
I highly suggest these tools over orange's chief competitor in blue, in most categories. To date I have yet to purchase a competitive model from any other home improvement center that beats the power and cost of Orange and White's flagship line of homeowner tools.
Yes this saw is categorized as for a DIY, but these days, contractors on a budget can use these things comfortably and their affordable enough to buy a second, third or fourth, etc, as necessary. BACK SAVER too as this is one of the lightest wet saws I have ever picked up.
Long live the home improvement kings....
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective, great blade performance, great cutting speed, lightweight!
Cons: none other than there was only one left to buy...
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Saw

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used my saw on pavers but it did a great job. The motor has plenty of power and cut through the pavers like butter. I don't know how other people are using their saw but I couldn't ask for more accurate cuts. I set up and cut numerous pavers diagonally and they all cut dead on corner to corner. The table did stick when rolling at first but a couple shots of wd40 fixed that. I took advise from some friends as to my first use and that is run plenty of water. Everyone says plenty of water is key to long blade life, so far I think they are right. My blade seemed to be cutting great from start to finish and usually blades that come with saws are cheaper blades.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Scottsdale, AZ

Ryobi 7 In. Tile Saw

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
for 99.00 dollars you can't beat it. However, it does have it drawbacks. I bought this saw to do a kitchen backsplash of tumbled travertine.
The Cons:
1. The rollers on the slide table are terribly difficult to adust, too tight and they don't roll, too loose and there is too much play in the slide table. Cuts can be off as much as 1/8 of an inch when there is play in the table.
2. I chose to buy the optional pump to operate this in my garage and it is difficult to find a place for the pump so the table doesn't snag on the water feed tube as it slides by.
3. The water jets on the saw need to be placed better, on small 4 x4 tiles the water just sprays onto the very front of the tile, I had to attach rubber tubes to extend the water jets so they actually spray on the tile.
4. the saw motor is loud and in a garage you'll need hearing protection.
The Pros:
1. you can't beat the price for an overhead saw and it is so much more versatile than a similiar priced table model.
2. Good power, cuts travertine with no effort.
3. Once you get the table adjusted and locked in, the cuts are right on every time.
4. the option of a pump or using a hose is fantastic.
5. The included blade seems to cut fine for me, no issues, but I'm also cutting tumbled natrual stone so I wouldn't notice any chiping.
Overall it's a good saw for a DIY'er and it's small enough to stow away for the next job. The only major con is the rollers on the table.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Modesto ca

great price

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a tile saw for a paver project, and found this saw at homedepot.com for only $66. At that price I couldn't pass it up, and now I have a tile saw for when I'm ready to start my indoor projects. Excellent saw for that price.Worked perfect for my pavers. I thought the pavers where to thick for the saw, but they just made it. Very happy with this purchase
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Concord, Ohio

Well made and durable.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great on line price. I could not pass it up.
Cannot say one bad thing about this tile saw. I have made probably 150 cuts, both angled and beveled, and have not had a single problem with it. I have had to purchase another blade, but that is understandable. For a home do-it-yourself person, I have found it to be a great value and a saved me a ton of money verses a saw rental. I would highly recommend this saw to a friend, and when it wears out, I'll purchase another one. Also, the stand is a must have.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 in. Tile Saw

Good saw for its price

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I pickup this item while it was on sale for a low of $70 so I can't complain much.
I like it in general, as it does what it supposed to do and I did my kitchen backsplash using this saw. It was my first tile project w/ natural stones and the outcome was good. The few things that bothered me a bit were:
1) the table was not always gliding smoothly and i couldn't figure out to adjust the wheel to have a good glide. It's on and off.
2) the table is not 100% perpendicular to the blade and I couldn't figure out ow to adjust the rails
3) the water flow is somewhat irregular
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Kelso, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the money the 7 inch tile saw I purchased, is the best value I have found. And along with all the other Ryobi tools I have, I could not be happier.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from San Jose, CA

great saw except

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The saw works great, rips through tile. Perfect cuts with no tear-out at the end. However, the directions for assembly are awful, you can figure it out without them but none of the pictures are very clear and the order of the steps does not make sense. The part that attaches to the hose does not seal and water sprays out while you are working. In order to prevent wasting water and getting it all over the driveway I had to turn on and off the water from the house every time I made a cut.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from RSM, CA

Good value for a job or two

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Spend the money on a good blade, the one that comes with is not so good. I bought a MK Hot Dog blade for my second bathroom, much better.
My complaint about this saw is the flimsy plastic guide and the tray. The guide is not accurate and the tray moves. I never get exactly straight cuts, especially when I just have to shave off a little bit. The tray is not steady, you have to eyeball it allot. But for the money it will do. I've just about completed two bathrooms with it. Also, a Makita 4" angle grinder with a tile blade is a must!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Western NY

Nice Saw

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice little saw for the price. Just used this on a backsplash that required quite a lot of cuts and the saw did the job nicely. The cut is smooth and the guide was perfect to do mitered cuts on bullnose pieces.
Had one small piece on the saw break while assembling but Ryobi was great with getting a new part out asap.
Overall you can't beat this thing for the price. If you're going to be cutting a lot though,do yourself a favor and get a better blade to go along with it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It cost more 2 years ago

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this saw over 2 years ago..I have found the purchase of the 20 dollar optional water pump is used by me over 95% of the time while using the saw.The hose connection is great if you have a place to drain dirty water out the exit port..If you change the water as it becomes real murky and the pump,refill and back to cutting in 5 minutes.Also keep the tracks clean that the little table slides on..All in all for the $139.00 I paid years ago, well worth it.I have done over a dozen back splash jobs and 20+ 12" floor tile jobs. About ready to switch blades for the first time..PS, clean the saw constantly, have a steady flow of water and NEVER loan to a friend...........
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Use
Cons: optinal pump doesn't always stay put
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Lincoln, CA

Good saw, lousy fence

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the saw works great for small jobs. It isn't large enough to cut larger tiles diagonally, but great for square cuts. The diamond blade that was included worked very well as did the saw. The only complaint is the table cannot be accurately squared to the blade and the track is sloppy making precision cuts tough to accomplish. You're better off drawing guidlines and following them instead of using the fence. I modified the way the rollers were mounted and it works better, but it isn't something most people would want to try. For the money, it was a great deal on sale at $99.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Alamogordo, New Mexico

This saw works like it is supposed to.

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I have used this saw to make hundreds of cuts without any problem. It will even cut a 12" tile on a diagonal (16"). The 16" limitation may be the only drawback to this saw, but most of the tile I work with will fit in the saw. Instead of keeping the water tray full, the problem is solved by a fresh water connection to a regular water faucet that is turned on and off right next to the saw switch each time you make a cut. The waste water also has a hose connection for continuous operation without having to dump the water. One hose in and one hose out and the water for the saw is taken care of for the entire job...a real time saver.
For the handyman or do it yourselfer, this is the saw to get. The price vs. expectations will impress.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Painted Post, NY

Good for the money but with flaws

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it while it's on sale, to finish a backsplash. It gets the job done easily. Assembly was easy, although some diagram would be nice. The saw mount ("arm") is a bit flimsy and does not align well with the track, that means the back edge of your saw blade could cut on your tile again, which is not good. The flimsiness only makes it worse.
However it does cut thick pavers. I used it to cut 2-3/8 concrete pavers without much problem. You just have to be patient and let the blade do its job.
The glide can get dirty and become not so smooth,m so keep it clean.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Romeoville, IL 60446, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value good quallity for this price point

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw, like most ryobi tools, is more than adequate for most homeowner diy projects. Other than adding a 2nd washer to the water input line to fix a leak, the saw required nothing to start cutting tile. The rip fence isn't great but for smaller tile I just went without. Overall, I am pleased with the quality and performance of this tool.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 in. Tile Saw
from Miami Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw for a bathroom project (floor and shower). At first it seemed great, but it didn't last the length of my project. I made mostly rip cuts in porcelain tiles, with a few cross cuts.
After a while, the saw began hammering & smashing the tiles. I'd have 1 tile cut properly, then the next tile would get cracked as if hit by a hammer. I ended up having to rent another saw (an awesome MK-660) to finish the job.
I had thought the blade was getting dull, but even after I got a new blade it still smashed my tiles. I suspect something inside the motor got warped.
I wouldn't waste my money on this again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: doesn't hold up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 in. Tile Saw

Affordable and adjustable

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great price, but with it comes the need to always adjust to keep the cuts straight. I think the price is worth it, you'd have to adjust a saw costing 3 times as much. I used it for 120 sq ft of 3" x 6" ceramic bathroom tile and it worked great. I checked the blade alignment often and adjusted accordingly. I'll be using it for slate flooring in a couple weeks. I know the blade won't survive, we'll see how the motor holds up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 in. Tile Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for limited DIY use

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love Ryobi products because of their great value. They are well thought out but not especially well made--Ryobi seems to have a genius for cutting corners in almost all the right places. I will use this saw for three bathrooms and two kitchens in my house and expect that by then it will fall apart, having done its job. Recommended for limited DIY, not for pro use.
Pros: Effective, Great Value
Cons: limited durability
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>