728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Bird House Kit

Bird House Kit

Simple enough for an 8-year-old, this pre-cut wooden kit encourages creativity and a sense of accomplishment. Your child will learn to sand, nail and create real cool stuff in just about an hour. Parents of younger children will have fun working with them on this big kid project. Parts are made of wood. Can be used as is or finished with your own paint, sticker or stamps. Glue, hammer and/or screwdriver not included.
Overall rating:
4.165 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(24)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Customer reviews for Bird House Kit
Review 1 for Bird House Kit
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

birdhouse and birthday party

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 12 pack of birdhouses for my sons 5th birthday party and had the Mann and Jessica from home depot come out and do a kids workshop for the party.. It was a huge hit.. Mann and Jessica did a awesome job and the kids really enjoyed themselves. They went above and beyond to help make the party a success.. I cant thank them enough.. You guys are the best!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bird House Kit
from The Woodlands, Texas

Perfect for Wolf Requirement

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am the den leader for a Cub Scout Wolf den of thirteen boys (age 7). I ordered 13 of these birdhouses and brought them to our fall campout this weekend. The boys brought their own hammers and built this birdhouse. It was perfect for them! The wood was easy to work with. It wasn't too hard so the nails went in pretty easy. The kit also includes two Philips head screws so the boys were also able to use a Phillips head screwdriver, too. (which is part of the the requirment). The price is reasonable. In the past, we have tried other birdhouses. We have bought the wood and cut the pieces ourselves in the past, but the wood was WAY too hard for the boys to use (and it usually ended up costing the same anyway). We've also tried cheaper, smaller birdhouses in the past, but these were aggravating for the boys and sometimes would leave them in tears. This was the best experience. I would definitely recommend this for other Wolf Cub Scouts. PS--I will definitely be purchasing Home Depot's tool box for next year's 'Bear' requirement.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bird House Kit
from Niwot, CO

Building a better bird House

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife has a garden in front of the house where each year she places four bird houses in a decorative setting. She has been buying these bird houses new each year as they never seem to last.
I finally asked “Why are you buying those cheap bird houses made out of pressed wood?” The reply, “Well, they have tin roofs and I can paint them. Plus they are only about $25 each. “ Hmm thinks I. That is $100 a year to make the flower garden more beautiful?
It was then I suggested looking for bird house kits and discovered the kits at Home Depot. We needed something made out of real wood, solid, paintable, and it could be hung easily.
THANK you Home depot. Four of your kits arrived a few days ago and have been assembled, painted and ready for the snow to go away so they can be hung.
Will they last more than a year? I am confident that they will. Even if they don’t, it is still about 1/4 the price I was paying.
PS - Seldom does anyone thing get a 5 from me. That is saved for really exceptional stuff. A four is a great rating for this product.Yeah, if they always got 5's they would stop working to get better.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bird House Kit
from Normal, IL

Wolf Scout Activity

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered 11 of these birdhouses for my Wolf Scouts (2nd grade Cub scouts). We built them as part of our 'Build something useful' achievement. With a little help from each parent, the boys were able to construct them in about 30 minutes. We used wood glue along with the nails that were provided. The kit also came with 2 screws for attaching the bottom (which can be removed in the Fall for cleaning out). Some of us drilled a couple holes along the top of the roof for hanging, but I plan to mount ours to a metal pole after painting it. These are good quality and thus should last awhile. i would highly recommend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bird House Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great build for children

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My son is 7 years old and in Cub Scouts. He was working on a couple achievments and this fit the bill. He needed to "make something useful" and for another he needed to put out a bird house. We built this project to achieve both goals. The wood is pine is good quality and all pre-cut.The directions are clear and easy to follow for a child. The assembly was easy and with a little help he was able to do the majority of the work all by himself. It was a great confidence booster for him. Dont forget to have wood glue and sand paper on hand. We used a waterproof wood glue and painted it with outdoor paint to stand up to the New Jersey weather.
Pros: Easy to Install, good build for young children
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bird House Kit

Bird House and Scouts

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 12 of the bird houses as projects for our cub scout group. We have 7 and 8 year olds working on the project. The houses were built in about an hours time and were awaiting sanding and paint. The scouts enjoyed the challage and gained self confidence. Thanks for a great product and quick delivery.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bird House Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is good for beginners

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this item online, and built it a few days later. While building it, I ran into a few problems. Some of the predrilled marked holes didn't match up, so I had to wing it and make new pilot holes for the nails.
the product came out alright,
Overall design was nice, and kit came with everything needed, only complaint is you may have to redrill your pilot holes if they don't match up.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: pilot holes don't match up
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bird House Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what we were looking for, great gift and project for my grandson

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gave 2 kits to my 9 year old grandson for his birthday..just what we were looking for, he has always wanted to build a bird house. One for his house and one for grandma's. Purchased water based paint to complete the kit. We both enjoyed the project and he has a birdhouse to hang in the tree we planted together in my backyard...
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bird House Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this birdhouse kit. easy to fit and with help, kids can participate in making the birdhouse. My only complaint is that there is no hinge to open back for cleaning or top and no hooks to hang up the bird house.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Shape
Cons: no hooks for hanging, no door hinge to open for cleaning
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bird House Kit
from Greeley, CO

This is a nice little birdhouse

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought six of these kits to build with my grandkids. The kits are easy to do. With a little patience you can produce a very nice and sturdy birdhouse for very little cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bird House Kit
from Boston, MA

Great child's DIY project

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this birdhouse kit as a gift for my nephew's fifth birthday. His house has been under renovation for months, and he's been fascinated by the work and has enjoyed "helping" the contractors.
This kit could be made by a precocious 8yo or competent 10yo, but it was still a good project for this 5yo - with the help of his daddy. It allowed him to assemble, and hammer; perfect for a young boy obsessed with building things! The wood being plain also enabled the child to decide how best to decorate his birdhouse (if at all!) after it was made.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bird House Kit
from Atlanta, GA

great kit

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great little project for spending time with the kiddos!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bird House Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good project

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this project as a Cub Scout project for 8 and 9 years old. The boys had a great time and were able to put the bird house togher by themsleves except for the bottom, that they needed adult help with. All in all a very good, simple project for kids to get a working knowledge of tools and building.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bird House Kit
from Placerville, California

Easy to build for any age

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 5 y/o Daughter built this in a snap, and my 3 y/o daughter did it with help. The pre drilled nail holes and easy to follow direction made this a joy and a treasure piece my girls will enjoy for years to come. They had a great time paining them and picking out a place to hang them in the yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bird House Kit
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great kit project for the Scout Troop

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to visit our local store so the kids could join one of the Saturday morning workshops but just couldn't find a day where everyone could go. Not wanting to leave anyone out of the experience, we decided to order the birdhouse kit and have our own workshop session in one of our troop leaders garages.
The price was just right and the kits arrived in just a few days. The kit was great for the kids. All the wood pieces were pre-cut and pre-drilled so assembly was easy enough for the group of 8 year olds. They learned how to sand the wood pieces, hammer the nails (also included) and finish the project using a screw driver for the finishing touches (yes, screws also included).
It took about 1/2 hour to assemble and looked great when complete. Overall a fun and useful project. Good quality and unbeatable for the price. Highly recommend for those looking for a project for the kids and a few hours of fun. (paint time included).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bird House Kit
from Lake County, CA

Grandson project

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good building project working with kids. Create a habitat as well. All parts pre-cut & pre-drilled. Nice inexpensive alternative to nonproductive toys.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bird House Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for Kid Projects

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered these kits for a Cub Scout activity and were greatly impressed. All peices were pre-cut, drilled and did not have any missing peices. For our sample project we did a wood buring of the scout symbol and then stained the wood. It turned out very nicely.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bird House Kit

great fun birdhouse

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been looking for something that my son and I could do, its a really cute birdhouse and a lot of fun, made from sturdy wood and all the pieces fit together great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bird House Kit
from dubuque, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not large enough for even the smallest of song birds

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
if you're looking for something to simply pound nails into, then this could do. However, it's far too small for real birds. take a look around and get a bigger, practical birdhouse kit made of outdoor lumber instead.
Cons: too small
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bird House Kit

Good - gives my 87 year old dad something to do.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice. Price was okay, but shipping and handling makes it a bit prohibitive to keep ordering.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>