728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Gear Drive Sprinkler

The Vigoro H20-Six Gear 90 sq. ft. Drive Sprinkler has 6 easy-to-adjust spray patterns. This sprinkler adjusts to provide 360° coverage and the high-impact plastic construction is durable. The spike allows for easy installation and features a flow-through design to connect multiple sprinklers (other sprinklers not included).
Overall rating:
2.639 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product24 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(26)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product24 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Bothell, Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet, has a number of settings, and seems to be well made

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to replace an older, metal sprinkler that had a swinging arm. I'm impressed with the range of settings, and the construction is fairly solid. The only complaint is that water leaks out the bottom at some settings, as if the pressure is too much for the sprinkler head. I don't turn the spigot open very far, and this leakage has me a little concerned about longevity of the product. I've been using it about a month now, and have had no other problems with it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: some leakage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Pretty terrible

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second season with the 2 I own and I've spent hours fiddling with the distance so it doesn't spray my house and it think all the settings spray it the same distance. The little plastic things that you can place in front of the spray to disperse it basically just turn water into a mist that floats up into the air. There isn't enough room to grab a hold and push the stakes into the ground without being in danger of bending the house connection. The only nice thing is how quiet they are. But that doesn't outweigh the negatives including that the top just popped off this morning and gushed water all over. Luckily "JohnL" posted a fix for that since I found all the pieces. Don't waste your time and money, find something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By OrbitIrrigationAugust 13, 2015By OrbitIrrigationAugust 13, 2015
Eric, we appreciate your feedback. We'd like to speak with you directly, as we think your input will be valuable in helping us improve product quality. You can reach our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 3 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Orbit Gear Drive Sprinkler.

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hands down, THE Best Sprinkler in the marketplace!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked it for a week

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great twice, then stopped rotating. Took apart, rebuilt, worked for a week, jammed again. took apart, rebuilt, still jammed. I give up. Buying traditional from now on.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationAugust 20, 2015By OrbitIrrigationAugust 20, 2015
Barkley, thank you for your feedback. We'd love to speak with you about your experiences, as we are always looking for input on ways to improve product quality. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 5 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Good little sprinkler head

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like this thing. Pretty flexible for the money it cost and way cheaper that installing a sprinkler system.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: would like a short close-range spray as well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Barnegat,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved it and then it betrayed me!!!

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept and performance was ,for about 2 months, a good thing.I liked the portability and many options for spray size and direction. But,alas after 2 months the thing committed hari kari and its head popped off which could have been bad if not witnessed.For a higher priced sprinkler and how well it worked I was an emotional wreck for a week or so after it expired!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationAugust 11, 2015By OrbitIrrigationAugust 11, 2015
Fredho, thank you for the feedback. This sprinkler has a seven year warranty on it, so please contact us - we'd be happy to send you a new one. You can reach our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 7 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Wouldn't recommend it

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The different settings (small, med, large, flat, vertical, shower) don't really seem to do much. So it's basically not that different from other rotating sprinklers. I also bought this one: NELSON 90 sq. ft. Pattern Pro Sprinkler Model # 50216 Internet # 202562736 Store SKU # 483015 and like it much better. I'm going to return the gear drive and get another Pattern Pro. Much better value. And it actually does what it says it does.
I rated this one fair, rather than average, because its settings didn't seem to do what they said they should.
Cons: diff settings don't do what they purport to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationJune 24, 2015By OrbitIrrigationJune 24, 2015
sprinkleruser, thank you for sharing. We'd like to get your input, as we are always looking for ways to improve product quality, and we think your experiences would be insightful. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 8 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Better than advertised

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to adjust different patterns and area to spray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well before the top popped off

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I too have bought a couple of these over the past few years because I like the job it does. After being frustrated of the top popping off I took a closer look and dicsovered that if you retrieve all the parts ( spring and collar underneath the top that popped off) you can in fact screw it back together. By unscrewing the entire head off the spike you will have access to the hollow threaded tube that the top portion screws back onto. It has a keyway at the opposite end of the tube to tighten with a coin or screwdriver when you piece it back together.Make sure you push down on the top to compress the spring to get the threads started then tighten. I used teflon tape on the threads, screwed it back onto the spike and I was back in business.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from SAT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do the job very well but don't last forever

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've implemented a poor mans irrigation system using 7 of these sprinklers. They perform really well with many options for tuning the profile of water throw. I can run two at a time off an external faucet via a programmer.
I've had a number wear out over the years and found that the only moving part relying on lubrication (gear that rotates the head) is inaccessible and un-serviceable. This may be lime scale buildup, or simply water washing the grease away.
I will continue to purchase these sprinklers and replace those that wear out - they last long enough & it's worth the cost every 3-5 years.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: life span of 3-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Hoover, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TWO LEAKY Sprinklers

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these today. First problem is BOTH of them were leaking at the bottom. No, it was not my water hose, it was the bottom of the sprinkler. Second, they were both set on the same exact setting, yet neither of them were spaying the same way... I would not recommend due to the leaking on the bottom of both of them. I will be returning them this weekend.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationJune 4, 2015By OrbitIrrigationJune 4, 2015
Crystal, thank you for the feedback - we're sorry that you had this issue with these sprinklers. We'd like the opportunity to speak with you directly, not only for troubleshooting purposes, but also so we get the chance to do everything in our power to help resolve and rectify this problem for you. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 12 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No good

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not powerful enough. It really does not work like a true sprinkler
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationMay 6, 2015By OrbitIrrigationMay 6, 2015
Fernan, thank you for the feedback. This could be due to any one of several factors, such as water flow. We'd love the opportunity to speak with you about your experience, and do all we can to help you get this issue resolved. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 13 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Syracuse, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wouldn't buy this again if it were just a dollar!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do they thoroughly test these things before releasing them to the public? Obviously not. I thought I had three lemons, so I replaced them last year. At the beginning of the growing season this year, they failed again. All SIX of the sprinklers I got from Home Depot worked initially, but then just stopped running their pattern.
No matter how low/high the water pressure was, I couldn't get them to continue moving back and forth. I thought they might be gummed-up from the secondary water I was connecting them to, so I washed them inside and out and hooked them up to city water. Again, they worked for awhile, but then just stopped their back-and-forth movement.
Also, the quality is very poor. Trying to fix one of them, I broke it from its spike by accident. I barely put any pressure on the thing! And, the spray adjustment!? Don't get me started on that! The plastic adjuster barely alters the length of the spray. If you want more/less spray, you have to do it with water pressure at the faucet.
All I can say is, if you have to buy a sprinkler, steer clear of this one. You'll save yourself a lot of time and anguish.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, isn't very adjustable, works initially then fails, causes a lot of anguish, needs frequent monitoring
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Extremely Poor Product Reliability

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third Orbitz sprinkler. The first lasted only 2 uses before the head completely popped off. I took that one back and received a replacement. That second one lasted 4 mo's before the head popped off of that one. (I have found that if you try to adjust the sprinkler spay pattern while the sprinkler is operating -- it somehow weakens the sprinkler head). After I had the second sprinkler for a couple of mo's, I purchased another sprinkler because I needed an extra one (good thing because a month later the second one broke). This last sprinkler broke after 3 mo's -- it refuses to rotate.
In short - an extremely inferior product. Do not purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Aurora, CO

This sprinkler is an expensive waste of money

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other review, I bought 2 of these sprinklers and at first they were the best I'd ever had. After 3 months of normal use, the first one missed the stops and spun all the way around. After I shut the water off and went to pull the sprinkler out of the ground, the top popped off and parts came out.
So I put the other sprinkler on the hose, set the stops, turned the water on and all was fine for about 5 minutes. The top had popped off and water was spouting out like a geyser.
I wouldn't recommend this sprinkler to my worst enemy!
I have been an avid Home Depot shopper for several years and will still continue to shop there! They are my favorite store!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Houston

Worse Product

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Vigoro H2O sprinkler is very sensitive. It will only last a few days then it will stop spinning. If you still would like to give it a try I suggest that you never ever touch the plastic part otherwise it will stop working. I barely touched it when I removed it from the ground and it stopped working, I'm having to change the position every so many minutes. I am returning this item to the store very soon. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Old Faithful the Sprinkler/Geyser

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this before reading reviews online. We had this sprinkler for less than a month before, one day, the head popped off and we had a 10 foot geyser flooding our yard. After careful inspection, there appeared to be no fix for this sub-par quality hunk of plastic. Too bad that Home Depot still chooses to carry this item after receiving so much negative feed back.
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions, the head come off, it completely ceased to perform its function
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the beheaded sprinkler

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a large lawn and have tried several sprinklers that would cover as much lawn as possible. I chose this sprinkler and was very happy. Well, I returned to a blown head that flew across the lawn and geyser that flooded the area. No way to fix. I went online to see how to fix and after reading these reviews, I realize can't be fixed. This is a problem that needs to be corrected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 of 4 worked fine, one leaked at base,

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought four and was delighted with the first three, all were quite, had extensive water patern choices and worked well. One functlioned well but leaked extensively at the base where the water connectlion attached... looked like an O-ring ws bad. will return it for an exchange for another just like it. Spray is less water per minute but the pluses out weight that. I just run the water a little longer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Austin, TX

Horrible

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these.. within 6 weeks of use (12 times?), both of them broke. They stopped spinning, then their tops flew off and produced a beautiful 15 ft geyser.
These are VERY cheaply made.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>