728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Gear Drive Sprinkler

The Vigoro H20-Six Gear 90 sq. ft. Drive Sprinkler has 6 easy-to-adjust spray patterns. This sprinkler adjusts to provide 360-degree coverage and the high-impact plastic construction is durable. The spike allows for easy installation and features a flow-through design to connect multiple sprinklers (other sprinklers not included).
Overall rating:
2.485 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product11 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product11 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
MrsGreenjeans
from Boynton Beach, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet but does not last

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Original purchase had "lifetime Warranty" and had to replace several after 2 years. Next came "6 year warranty" and had to replace two. Now packaging does not identify any warranty. Average life 2-3 years before head blows off. Glad I kept receipt and packaging for replacement by Home Depot. Also, originally identified as "Vigoro" product and now "Orbit".
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
DC29
from Añasco, 00610, Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent for plants. Small and large courtyards too.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
JohnL
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well before the top popped off

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I too have bought a couple of these over the past few years because I like the job it does. After being frustrated of the top popping off I took a closer look and dicsovered that if you retrieve all the parts ( spring and collar underneath the top that popped off) you can in fact screw it back together. By unscrewing the entire head off the spike you will have access to the hollow threaded tube that the top portion screws back onto. It has a keyway at the opposite end of the tube to tighten with a coin or screwdriver when you piece it back together.Make sure you push down on the top to compress the spring to get the threads started then tighten. I used teflon tape on the threads, screwed it back onto the spike and I was back in business.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
BensonJon
from Benson Vermont
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really not that bad

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had two Orbit 097 sprinkler heads with tripod setup for over five years. I now am down to one for reasons similar to what the other reviewers mentioned, i.e the top of the unit is "cough...cough" under-designed.
However, as long as one doesn't use the top (and your foot?) to push the unit into the ground, it should last reasonably well. Also, do not store where the temps drop below freezing. The plastic that Oribit uses gets brittle.
The unit works well for watering a garden and will work where there is not enough water pressure to trip the reverse mechanism on a rain bird.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Jimmy

Avoid this one

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few uses, the top blew off as another reviewer said. I returned for a different brand
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
brad

Best sprinkler I've found

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed to buy a lot of sprinklers for my new lawn so I experimented with what HD had to offer and these were the best. A useful array of patterns to choose from and an extremely even spray pattern plus quiet operation made these my favorite. I run three in a series w/no issues. Two of 12 did develop a fault where it would spin to the end of its range and then not return. Pressure wasn't the cause, simply defective.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Lakeshore

Old Faithful the Sprinkler/Geyser

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this before reading reviews online. We had this sprinkler for less than a month before, one day, the head popped off and we had a 10 foot geyser flooding our yard. After careful inspection, there appeared to be no fix for this sub-par quality hunk of plastic. Too bad that Home Depot still chooses to carry this item after receiving so much negative feed back.
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions, the head come off, it completely ceased to perform its function
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Deegardener
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the beheaded sprinkler

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a large lawn and have tried several sprinklers that would cover as much lawn as possible. I chose this sprinkler and was very happy. Well, I returned to a blown head that flew across the lawn and geyser that flooded the area. No way to fix. I went online to see how to fix and after reading these reviews, I realize can't be fixed. This is a problem that needs to be corrected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
MyWiredHomeBlogspot
from Madison, WI, USA

Broke after two seasons

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many reviewers stated, the product quality is not there for long-term use. I used this sprinkler for two seasons, and the top popped off. I attempted to attach the head back on, but it no longer rotates. I'm going to purchase something else from now on.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
fromme2u
from Aurora, CO

This sprinkler is an expensive waste of money

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other review, I bought 2 of these sprinklers and at first they were the best I'd ever had. After 3 months of normal use, the first one missed the stops and spun all the way around. After I shut the water off and went to pull the sprinkler out of the ground, the top popped off and parts came out.
So I put the other sprinkler on the hose, set the stops, turned the water on and all was fine for about 5 minutes. The top had popped off and water was spouting out like a geyser.
I wouldn't recommend this sprinkler to my worst enemy!
I have been an avid Home Depot shopper for several years and will still continue to shop there! They are my favorite store!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Stfd65RT889
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well but just doesn't seem to last

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this Orbit model for three years in my yard and I really like them. But for the 3rd summer in a row it's broken off the spike base for seemingly no reason and with pretty moderate usage. I was adjusting the radius and noticed the head no longer turning. Finally it just popped off entirely sending water straight up.. Once they're broken off there's really no fixing them.. Orbit did replace one for me by mail last summer and were very nice about it.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
guam
from Houston

Worse Product

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Vigoro H2O sprinkler is very sensitive. It will only last a few days then it will stop spinning. If you still would like to give it a try I suggest that you never ever touch the plastic part otherwise it will stop working. I barely touched it when I removed it from the ground and it stopped working, I'm having to change the position every so many minutes. I am returning this item to the store very soon. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
CanAmDan
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does not last!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought and liked how it worked. Used 2 on my yard at one time and it covered in just 2 rotations...BUT I have gone thru 3 sprinklers of the 4 in just last summer and so far this year. Major design flaw. I will be trying to return to Home Depot tomorrow if I find my receipt!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
BG123
from Austin, TX

Horrible

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these.. within 6 weeks of use (12 times?), both of them broke. They stopped spinning, then their tops flew off and produced a beautiful 15 ft geyser.
These are VERY cheaply made.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Chris

My top burst off too - wish I had read these firsts

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product once. Within 45 minutes the top had flown off and I had a fountain flooding my yard and the street. HD took it back with no problem.
Now that I am looking for a sprinkler that will last, I noticed all the reviewers here with the same problem I experienced.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, top falls off right away
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
RestonLady
from Reston, VA, USA

A total waste of money - CHEAP

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't even think about it. It worked for about 20 minutes and then stopped cycling. CHEAP product - shame on HD for handling such poor quality materials. No company name on the product, no serial #, nothing - what does that tell you???
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Matt
from New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great product, others don't know how to use

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The other reviews are flat out wrong. I see a lot of people complaining it doesn't water close to the sprinkler itself. There is a twist piece on the top that allows you to have the water hit a blocker and disperse the water close to the base as well as far away. I have it set on "small" and then this little blocker piece set in front of the sprayer. It does the job really well. There are no directions that come with it, so you do have to fiddle with it for a little bit to understand how it works. I guess people just couldn't figure it out. It took me maybe all of five minutes to figure it out.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
jdb523
from Northern Virginia

Great when it works, but...

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sprinkler is great when it works. But as others have noted, it probably won't work for long. I've had two, and neither one lasted through a year. One had the top fall off, resulting in a geyser that flooded a part of the yard. The other stopped working today. It just started ignoring one of the two stops, and spun all the way around, then all the way back the other way. Great design, poor quality. Don't bother with it. I sure won't buy another one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Grandad
from Keller, tx

Vigoro H20-Six Gear 90 sq. ft. Drive Sprinkler

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other reviews for distance there is to water close to the sprinkler itself. For close in you have to keep the pressure down or tilt the head down and just water a very narrow path... I also used maybe 3 or 4 times when the head popped off and so far i have had no luck in finding directions to repair. I would not recommend this
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
MrDeltoid
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would never get any other type

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been through many types of sprinklers for my lawn and they've all broken or not been adjustable for my weird yard (sloped in the front, very narrow in the back, and lots of trees that obstruct the water flow). This one is half the price of all my previous ones. This one has been beaten up, dragged, dropped, etc. and it still works perfectly after over a year. I am sorry to hear if others' broke (the heads popping off?). Every product has its defective items. I would probably blame that on Home Depot (I have witnessed the way they treat their store items and they destroy them!!!).
Most of the negative reviews (doesn't water close to the sprinkler, must have a really big lawn, not easy to adjust) are because those people don't know how to use this and they don't understand how water works. First, you have to actually figure out the positioning and where to put it. It's not hard, just don't be lazy. Second, it releases small droplets of water which is better for your lawn! So the mist that hits the grass right near it is very good for it. And I have a tiny back yard that is very skinny. I got this thing to water it perfectly. All it took was a few moments of actual thinking. And with the stake it is even better because you can tilt it at different angles to get around (over or under) things like branches and bushes and trees. This product takes a little bit of ingenuity and creativity but once you get past that, it's awesome.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>