728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Gear Drive Sprinkler

The Vigoro H20-Six Gear 90 sq. ft. Drive Sprinkler has 6 easy-to-adjust spray patterns. This sprinkler adjusts to provide 360° coverage and the high-impact plastic construction is durable. The spike allows for easy installation and features a flow-through design to connect multiple sprinklers (other sprinklers not included).
Overall rating:
2.636 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product21 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product21 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Wouldn't recommend it

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The different settings (small, med, large, flat, vertical, shower) don't really seem to do much. So it's basically not that different from other rotating sprinklers. I also bought this one: NELSON 90 sq. ft. Pattern Pro Sprinkler Model # 50216 Internet # 202562736 Store SKU # 483015 and like it much better. I'm going to return the gear drive and get another Pattern Pro. Much better value. And it actually does what it says it does.
I rated this one fair, rather than average, because its settings didn't seem to do what they said they should.
Cons: diff settings don't do what they purport to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By OrbitIrrigationJune 24, 2015By OrbitIrrigationJune 24, 2015
sprinkleruser, thank you for sharing. We'd like to get your input, as we are always looking for ways to improve product quality, and we think your experiences would be insightful. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 2 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Better than advertised

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to adjust different patterns and area to spray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Hoover, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TWO LEAKY Sprinklers

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these today. First problem is BOTH of them were leaking at the bottom. No, it was not my water hose, it was the bottom of the sprinkler. Second, they were both set on the same exact setting, yet neither of them were spaying the same way... I would not recommend due to the leaking on the bottom of both of them. I will be returning them this weekend.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationJune 4, 2015By OrbitIrrigationJune 4, 2015
Crystal, thank you for the feedback - we're sorry that you had this issue with these sprinklers. We'd like the opportunity to speak with you directly, not only for troubleshooting purposes, but also so we get the chance to do everything in our power to help resolve and rectify this problem for you. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 4 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from SAT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do the job very well but don't last forever

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've implemented a poor mans irrigation system using 7 of these sprinklers. They perform really well with many options for tuning the profile of water throw. I can run two at a time off an external faucet via a programmer.
I've had a number wear out over the years and found that the only moving part relying on lubrication (gear that rotates the head) is inaccessible and un-serviceable. This may be lime scale buildup, or simply water washing the grease away.
I will continue to purchase these sprinklers and replace those that wear out - they last long enough & it's worth the cost every 3-5 years.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: life span of 3-5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No good

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not powerful enough. It really does not work like a true sprinkler
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By OrbitIrrigationMay 6, 2015By OrbitIrrigationMay 6, 2015
Fernan, thank you for the feedback. This could be due to any one of several factors, such as water flow. We'd love the opportunity to speak with you about your experience, and do all we can to help you get this issue resolved. Please contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156. Thanks! OrbitIrrigation
Review 6 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well before the top popped off

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I too have bought a couple of these over the past few years because I like the job it does. After being frustrated of the top popping off I took a closer look and dicsovered that if you retrieve all the parts ( spring and collar underneath the top that popped off) you can in fact screw it back together. By unscrewing the entire head off the spike you will have access to the hollow threaded tube that the top portion screws back onto. It has a keyway at the opposite end of the tube to tighten with a coin or screwdriver when you piece it back together.Make sure you push down on the top to compress the spring to get the threads started then tighten. I used teflon tape on the threads, screwed it back onto the spike and I was back in business.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Syracuse, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wouldn't buy this again if it were just a dollar!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do they thoroughly test these things before releasing them to the public? Obviously not. I thought I had three lemons, so I replaced them last year. At the beginning of the growing season this year, they failed again. All SIX of the sprinklers I got from Home Depot worked initially, but then just stopped running their pattern.
No matter how low/high the water pressure was, I couldn't get them to continue moving back and forth. I thought they might be gummed-up from the secondary water I was connecting them to, so I washed them inside and out and hooked them up to city water. Again, they worked for awhile, but then just stopped their back-and-forth movement.
Also, the quality is very poor. Trying to fix one of them, I broke it from its spike by accident. I barely put any pressure on the thing! And, the spray adjustment!? Don't get me started on that! The plastic adjuster barely alters the length of the spray. If you want more/less spray, you have to do it with water pressure at the faucet.
All I can say is, if you have to buy a sprinkler, steer clear of this one. You'll save yourself a lot of time and anguish.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, isn't very adjustable, works initially then fails, causes a lot of anguish, needs frequent monitoring
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Extremely Poor Product Reliability

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third Orbitz sprinkler. The first lasted only 2 uses before the head completely popped off. I took that one back and received a replacement. That second one lasted 4 mo's before the head popped off of that one. (I have found that if you try to adjust the sprinkler spay pattern while the sprinkler is operating -- it somehow weakens the sprinkler head). After I had the second sprinkler for a couple of mo's, I purchased another sprinkler because I needed an extra one (good thing because a month later the second one broke). This last sprinkler broke after 3 mo's -- it refuses to rotate.
In short - an extremely inferior product. Do not purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Aurora, CO

This sprinkler is an expensive waste of money

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other review, I bought 2 of these sprinklers and at first they were the best I'd ever had. After 3 months of normal use, the first one missed the stops and spun all the way around. After I shut the water off and went to pull the sprinkler out of the ground, the top popped off and parts came out.
So I put the other sprinkler on the hose, set the stops, turned the water on and all was fine for about 5 minutes. The top had popped off and water was spouting out like a geyser.
I wouldn't recommend this sprinkler to my worst enemy!
I have been an avid Home Depot shopper for several years and will still continue to shop there! They are my favorite store!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Houston

Worse Product

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Vigoro H2O sprinkler is very sensitive. It will only last a few days then it will stop spinning. If you still would like to give it a try I suggest that you never ever touch the plastic part otherwise it will stop working. I barely touched it when I removed it from the ground and it stopped working, I'm having to change the position every so many minutes. I am returning this item to the store very soon. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Austin, TX

Horrible

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these.. within 6 weeks of use (12 times?), both of them broke. They stopped spinning, then their tops flew off and produced a beautiful 15 ft geyser.
These are VERY cheaply made.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another failure

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While thing looked like a good value, it just did not work.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 of 4 worked fine, one leaked at base,

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought four and was delighted with the first three, all were quite, had extensive water patern choices and worked well. One functlioned well but leaked extensively at the base where the water connectlion attached... looked like an O-ring ws bad. will return it for an exchange for another just like it. Spray is less water per minute but the pluses out weight that. I just run the water a little longer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Avoid this one

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few uses, the top blew off as another reviewer said. I returned for a different brand
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Old Faithful the Sprinkler/Geyser

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this before reading reviews online. We had this sprinkler for less than a month before, one day, the head popped off and we had a 10 foot geyser flooding our yard. After careful inspection, there appeared to be no fix for this sub-par quality hunk of plastic. Too bad that Home Depot still chooses to carry this item after receiving so much negative feed back.
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions, the head come off, it completely ceased to perform its function
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the beheaded sprinkler

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a large lawn and have tried several sprinklers that would cover as much lawn as possible. I chose this sprinkler and was very happy. Well, I returned to a blown head that flew across the lawn and geyser that flooded the area. No way to fix. I went online to see how to fix and after reading these reviews, I realize can't be fixed. This is a problem that needs to be corrected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

My top burst off too - wish I had read these firsts

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product once. Within 45 minutes the top had flown off and I had a fountain flooding my yard and the street. HD took it back with no problem.
Now that I am looking for a sprinkler that will last, I noticed all the reviewers here with the same problem I experienced.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, top falls off right away
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Trumbull CT

Great product very quiet. the spray pattern is great

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am really pleased with all the spray patterns and how quiet this unit is.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Swartz Creek, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best working gear driver sprinkler by far. Easy to adjust and setting easy to read.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great product, others don't know how to use

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The other reviews are flat out wrong. I see a lot of people complaining it doesn't water close to the sprinkler itself. There is a twist piece on the top that allows you to have the water hit a blocker and disperse the water close to the base as well as far away. I have it set on "small" and then this little blocker piece set in front of the sprayer. It does the job really well. There are no directions that come with it, so you do have to fiddle with it for a little bit to understand how it works. I guess people just couldn't figure it out. It took me maybe all of five minutes to figure it out.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>