728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Gear Drive Sprinkler

The Vigoro H20-Six Gear 90 sq. ft. Drive Sprinkler has 6 easy-to-adjust spray patterns. This sprinkler adjusts to provide 360-degree coverage and the high-impact plastic construction is durable. The spike allows for easy installation and features a flow-through design to connect multiple sprinklers (other sprinklers not included).
Overall rating:
2.465 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product14 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product14 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Gear Drive Sprinkler
Review 1 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Extremely Poor Product Reliability

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third Orbitz sprinkler. The first lasted only 2 uses before the head completely popped off. I took that one back and received a replacement. That second one lasted 4 mo's before the head popped off of that one. (I have found that if you try to adjust the sprinkler spay pattern while the sprinkler is operating -- it somehow weakens the sprinkler head). After I had the second sprinkler for a couple of mo's, I purchased another sprinkler because I needed an extra one (good thing because a month later the second one broke). This last sprinkler broke after 3 mo's -- it refuses to rotate.
In short - an extremely inferior product. Do not purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Syracuse, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wouldn't buy this again if it were just a dollar!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do they thoroughly test these things before releasing them to the public? Obviously not. I thought I had three lemons, so I replaced them last year. At the beginning of the growing season this year, they failed again. All SIX of the sprinklers I got from Home Depot worked initially, but then just stopped running their pattern.
No matter how low/high the water pressure was, I couldn't get them to continue moving back and forth. I thought they might be gummed-up from the secondary water I was connecting them to, so I washed them inside and out and hooked them up to city water. Again, they worked for awhile, but then just stopped their back-and-forth movement.
Also, the quality is very poor. Trying to fix one of them, I broke it from its spike by accident. I barely put any pressure on the thing! And, the spray adjustment!? Don't get me started on that! The plastic adjuster barely alters the length of the spray. If you want more/less spray, you have to do it with water pressure at the faucet.
All I can say is, if you have to buy a sprinkler, steer clear of this one. You'll save yourself a lot of time and anguish.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, isn't very adjustable, works initially then fails, causes a lot of anguish, needs frequent monitoring
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another failure

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While thing looked like a good value, it just did not work.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy even a caveman can do it

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the easiest sprinkler that I have ever purchased. Simple to install and program.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Eugene, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for a inline sprinkler

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have these out in place year round. I buried the hoses and I have a semi-in-ground system for my front yard
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from boise
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lasted maybe a year. junk!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had two of these. First one i bought i liked so i went and bought another to get better coverage. One quit working. The top just came off. The second one lasted till a couple months later and did the same thing. tried to repair both to no avail.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love them

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've got 5 now and love them. Made my yard watering a lot easier. Have no trouble with them
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from redmond,wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice sprinkler with great quality

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice one... Like the different modes... Great quality...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Long Island, NY

Complete Piece of Garbage

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It will work for a 1 week at best. It will then intermittently not rotate and get stuck at one of the end positions of the rotation. Finally it will then always not rotate and just keep getting stuck at one end position. Absolute garbage. Read the other reviews since I am not the only one. I returned it and got another with the exact same results.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Connecticut

Don't Buy This!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Sprinkler always gets stuck somewhere in the cycle.
Cons: Not Durable, not consistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well before the top popped off

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I too have bought a couple of these over the past few years because I like the job it does. After being frustrated of the top popping off I took a closer look and dicsovered that if you retrieve all the parts ( spring and collar underneath the top that popped off) you can in fact screw it back together. By unscrewing the entire head off the spike you will have access to the hollow threaded tube that the top portion screws back onto. It has a keyway at the opposite end of the tube to tighten with a coin or screwdriver when you piece it back together.Make sure you push down on the top to compress the spring to get the threads started then tighten. I used teflon tape on the threads, screwed it back onto the spike and I was back in business.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Boynton Beach, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet but does not last

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Original purchase had "lifetime Warranty" and had to replace several after 2 years. Next came "6 year warranty" and had to replace two. Now packaging does not identify any warranty. Average life 2-3 years before head blows off. Glad I kept receipt and packaging for replacement by Home Depot. Also, originally identified as "Vigoro" product and now "Orbit".
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Añasco, 00610, Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent for plants. Small and large courtyards too.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Avoid this one

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few uses, the top blew off as another reviewer said. I returned for a different brand
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Aurora, CO

This sprinkler is an expensive waste of money

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other review, I bought 2 of these sprinklers and at first they were the best I'd ever had. After 3 months of normal use, the first one missed the stops and spun all the way around. After I shut the water off and went to pull the sprinkler out of the ground, the top popped off and parts came out.
So I put the other sprinkler on the hose, set the stops, turned the water on and all was fine for about 5 minutes. The top had popped off and water was spouting out like a geyser.
I wouldn't recommend this sprinkler to my worst enemy!
I have been an avid Home Depot shopper for several years and will still continue to shop there! They are my favorite store!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Houston

Worse Product

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Vigoro H2O sprinkler is very sensitive. It will only last a few days then it will stop spinning. If you still would like to give it a try I suggest that you never ever touch the plastic part otherwise it will stop working. I barely touched it when I removed it from the ground and it stopped working, I'm having to change the position every so many minutes. I am returning this item to the store very soon. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does not last!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought and liked how it worked. Used 2 on my yard at one time and it covered in just 2 rotations...BUT I have gone thru 3 sprinklers of the 4 in just last summer and so far this year. Major design flaw. I will be trying to return to Home Depot tomorrow if I find my receipt!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Austin, TX

Horrible

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these.. within 6 weeks of use (12 times?), both of them broke. They stopped spinning, then their tops flew off and produced a beautiful 15 ft geyser.
These are VERY cheaply made.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gear Drive Sprinkler

Old Faithful the Sprinkler/Geyser

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this before reading reviews online. We had this sprinkler for less than a month before, one day, the head popped off and we had a 10 foot geyser flooding our yard. After careful inspection, there appeared to be no fix for this sub-par quality hunk of plastic. Too bad that Home Depot still chooses to carry this item after receiving so much negative feed back.
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions, the head come off, it completely ceased to perform its function
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gear Drive Sprinkler
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the beheaded sprinkler

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a large lawn and have tried several sprinklers that would cover as much lawn as possible. I chose this sprinkler and was very happy. Well, I returned to a blown head that flew across the lawn and geyser that flooded the area. No way to fix. I went online to see how to fix and after reading these reviews, I realize can't be fixed. This is a problem that needs to be corrected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>