728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
3.994 / 5
4
 / 
5
(666 reviews) 665
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product513 of 634reviews
Rating Breakdown 666 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(347)
4
(160)
3
(45)
2
(36)
1
(78)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product513 of 634reviews
Customer questions and answers:
86 Questions | 237 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from central ma

I'm hotter than the grill

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just fired up my new "RED" It will not reach temps over 425 on the clean setting (outdoor temp 75, no wind). A call to Char broil support line and I am informed that this is normal for this grill and I am lucky to get that high of a temp! Their answer as to why the manual states the clean temp is up to 800 and I can only get to 425: the thermometer is measuring the air temp (no kidding?), and I need to get a grill level thermometer. The thermometer probe is only 6-7 inches above the grill. Can't be a differnce of 375 between them.
Sorry, but the manual should not list temps the themometer will never see. This one is going back to HD to be replaced by a Weber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Great Grill!

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off I would like to say that I debated long and hard about getting this grill after reading some of the reviews here but after much research on the benefits of "infrared" grilling technology I decided to go ahead and get the Red 3 burner ($399) and to keep this particular model based on price, technology, and results.
Many reviewers complained their grill was not heating up correctly stating that the hood temperature gauge was only reaching between 300°F - 350°F only, etc. My temperature gauge reached around 450°F after about 20 minutes. I thought mine too might be a defective temperature gauge so I took off the original that came with it and took it down to Home Depot and they were so kind as to let me switch it out for another one which I did. After firing up my Char-Broil Red 3 burner $399.99 (new lower price) unit I noticed the new temperature gauge read basically the same as the old one so I figured the gauges were most likely functioning okay. I went to the Char-Broil website and they had information about "low flow/flame issues" and after following all the instructions and starting it again the temperature gauge still hovered around 450°F after twenty or so minutes on "Clean" or the "Searing" setting which are the hottest settings.
So I ended up calling Char-Broil and the guy told me that the temperature gauge is reading the "air" temp but that's how ALL the temperature gauges work regardless of make or model right? ;) If you'll notice on the back of the Red 3 burner hood area there is an "open" gap running the length of the grill cover area of about an 1" to an 1 1/2" width. If you put your hand above the area while the grill is cooking you can tell that there is quite a bit of heat escaping and the guy at Char-Broil said that this is normal and that it's to let the smoke out that can accumulate while grilling. So apparently, from the distance of the "grates" to the temperature gauge itself enough heat has escaped out the back near the top of the cover to possibly cause the temperature gauge itself to display the lower temperature(s). That's my guess, since the gauges themselves are probably functioning correctly.
Okay, here's the kicker. The guy at Char-Broil said if I took a temperature probe and measured the temperature of the "grates" themselves he said the temperature(s) on the grates would be more in line with the 600°F - 700°F I was hoping to achieve.
Since I really wanted to get to the bottom of this 'mystery' I went ahead and purchased a Professional HVAC laser guided Temperature Probe called the Fluke-561 infrared thermometer. It reads temperatures up to 1022°F with an accuracy of +/- 2°F. I fired up my Char-Broil Red and turned all three burners on to the "Clean" setting. After 5 minutes (which is roughly the normal amount of time to preheat a grill before cooking) I registered the temperature using the Fluke-561 and the temperature on the "grates" was 478°F after 5 minutes whilst the temperature gauge on the grill itself only measured 275°F. After 10 minutes the "grate" temperature registered 598°F whilst the gauge on the grill itself measured only 350° and after 15 minutes the "grate" temperature registered 701°F whilst the gauge on the grill itself measured around 450°F.
So therein lies the "mystery" of the low temperature gauge readings that not only my Red 3 burner grill displays but many other people's Red 3 burner grills apparently do as well. It's kind of dumb, in my opinion, to have a temperature gauge that won't reach the stated 700°F maximum even when all three burners are on and set to their highest setting, nevertheless, the temperatures DO reach 700°F plus when measuring the "grates" themselves.
So don't let a possible "low" temperature gauge deter you from buying this grill. The temperatures do reach 700°F plus, on the "grates" themselves (where it counts), as evidenced and confirmed by my Professional HVAC laser guided infrared thermometer the Fluke model 561. ;)
Oh BTW, I seared some steaks last night and the response I got was "they're perfect." I concurred. It was the best steak I've had in a long time. Extremely flavorful, very very juicy, and cooked to perfection... Bon appétit! :) Mystery solved!!
The only lingering question in the back of my mind now is whether or not the Red 3 burner ($399) unit will last. I bought a decent cover for it and the weather here in So. California is pretty mild most of the year so I'm hoping the Red will keep on trucking for many many years to come. The burners are guaranteed for life so that's good to know. We'll see. :)
As of right now I'm very happy I purchased this grill. I was thinking about getting a Weber 3 burner (E-310) but it was a $100 bucks more and didn't have the "infrared" technology. Weber's are much more durable from what I understand though. Hopefully my Char-Broil Red will stand the test of time too. Although, if it only lasts a few years I will definitely consider a Weber the next time around.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Amazing

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money - it's amazing. Had friends over last night and grilled chicken. Tender and juicy with no crispy edges. My friends are jealous!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northern California

Charbroil infrared cooking learning experience

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought online since the delivery was free. The box showed no sign of damage. However, there was some damage to a few components - a sign that at some point the box experienced some impact. Not enough for a return and not really that obvious to the casual observer.
The quality of the "stainless" steel used in this grill is not high. I found a rust colored powder on some of the sheet metal parts, but no obvious signs of rust. I don't know how long it will last exposed to the elements.
You need to be a bit handy to assemble the grill. Forget the little stamped metal wrench tool used to tighten the casters. Use a robogrip or some pliers instead. And spread out a blanket or tarp in case you drop one of the screws or bolts.
The "infrared" grill works more like an oven than a regular gas grill. The flame heats a metal "U" that radiates the heat. It will take a bit of getting used to. The grill needs to be preheated on a high setting, otherwise it will not brown and it will take forever to cook anything. I didn't notice that the grill imparted any flavor to the chicken I grilled. It was cooked, but lacked a grill flavor. I think that I'll need to add wood chips, charcoal briquettes or herbs to add additional flavor. There were no flame-ups that would burn the meat. I'll have to experiment with different meats and wood until I figure out what works best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Little Rock

Great grill!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 12 years of continuous use, I ran my previous Weber into the ground so I needed a new one. I bought this grill after reading Consumer Reports as it was highly rated. I used the same cooking techniques of the Weber on this one (MOM), and so far everything has turned out great. I've cooked a 2" steak and hamburgers on it "perfectly". We took advantage of the free shipping, and my husband was able to put it together without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Utah

BBQ'n

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this grill 2 weeks ago and we love it! It is beautiful, cleans-up nice and easy, and cooks in taste that is perfection. The best part is that meats are left moist and not dried out. We are BBQ'n more often because the taste this grill provides is better than any other grill we have tried. We researched many grills for weeks and decided on this one and we could not be happier! Thank you Char-Broil we love your infrared grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Caguas, Puerto Rico

Excellent product

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The grill gets super hot in a matter of minutes. Steaks, ribs and chicken are well done quickly. Even temperature around the cooking area. Having one now I see why consumer reports so highly recommended this grill. Cleaining is easy. Strongly recommend this great grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from sanborn,mn

like it alot

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its so fast i hardly have time to finish one beer, compared to a couple before. i love the grill
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Goosecreek,South Carolina

infraRED is the way to go.

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the grill 3weeks ago used it 4 times.Roasted a whole chicken,grilled wings,grilled fish,grilled steak& grilled corn& potato.Even put some wood chips to smoke some meat and every one of them taste good & juicy.No flare-ups too.
Cleaning is easy too.Will definitely buy it again.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta

Looks good and cooks well

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good - I like it.
I ordered it on line and it was delivered in two days. The assembly instructions say 30 mins but it took a good two hours and I am pretty good at this sort of thing. No way could you do it in 30 mins but I didnt expect that either!! Some of the screw holes were not tapped correctly and it was very difficult to get the bolts in underneath the side trays where access is awkward.
Having said all that I'm happy with it. I haven't cooked much on it yet but what I have was good. I really like the idea that the burners are out of the drips and the cleaning feature is great. No complaints yet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Excellent grill for the money

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grill couple weeks back and so far it has been great. It took me 2 hrs to build this unit by following instructions. Food doesnt char and it is very juicy. Easy to clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from wny

really good grill

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this grill cooks everything really well, only 2 negatives, don't put the heating rack inside the grill, I keep burning the back of my hand getting things off the grill, also the estimated time of assembly is way too low, the instructions say 45 min, it's more like 3 hours and I'm not a stranger to diy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Upstate NY

Great Grill...Heats Up Fast...Cooks Fast...Sturdy

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grill after having a Weber Q for 5 years. I wasn't sure about the quality of Char Broil compaired to Weber, but this RED grill is solid. It's way more sturdy than the weber, it heats up faster, and cooks evenly. I have done a few NY strips on it and they came out juicy and perfectly cooked. As long as it holds up for a while I have nothing bad to say about it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Seattle, WA

I like it!!!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The grill is great! I love the concept. This is the first grill I've purchased in nearly 10 years and I am pleasantly surprised with the improved technology. Char-Broil has made it easy to grill and (equally important) CLEAN-UP! I give a solid "8" on the even-heating across all burners. Some improvements in that area would make the overall rating a "5 Star". Assembly wasn't as bad as I thought. I'm the type of guy that likes to buy things already assembled, but was able to assemble the grill in under an hour! I know...I probably lose man-points for that. :) I'm happy with the product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Poor attention to quality

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product came completely dis-assembled. Parts did not align. During assembly, there was no accounting for making room for tools to fix. Seriously considered giving away and buying something else. 3rd burner still does not work.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Minneapolis

Great Grill, Quality Build, Delicous Food

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was making the change from Charcoal to Gas, and researched too much. This grill was highly recommended for quality cooking and decent build/durability. All the reviews said Weber grills were much higher durability quality. I checked them out. From a sturdiness stand point, this grill was in the same class as the Weber Genesis. The burners seemed to be the same materials, the lines too. I didn't get why that grill was twice as much. Anyway, when compared to most other grills, this grill passes the look and feel test.
So, cooking... This RED grills like a champ. Amazingly juicy meat. Beef, Chicken, Sausage, you name it. Everything turns out great, and in Half the time! This thing leaves perfect marks, sears the outside, juicy as heck in the middle. This thing cooks fast and even. I highly recommend the grill.
Oh, and I bought preassembled at Home Depot, so it saved the time.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Utah

Works great once you understand the controls

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works great once you understand that the knobs aren't a design that indicates the different grill settings. Of 10 people who looked at the knobs all thought the sloped end of the knob indicate on, but it's not. First time I used the grill I thought the side burner was off; and I was preheating the grill, to my surprise the side grill gas ignited and nearly burned me.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

very low, very even heat

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with the heat this thing generates. It can barely sear fish & vegetables, but it doesn't get nearly hot enough to do anything besides bake meat.
The instructions are terrible.
When I got the NG conversion kit (yes, I got the correct one) those instructions were even worse, they said they were 'general' instructions, but mostly were for the 4 burner model, I guess, not even close for my 3 burner model. And then then grill performed even worse. I left it on for 90 minutes with the lid down & it never topped 500 according to the built-in guage. With the lid up, it's barely 300, according to an infrared thermometer.
Overall this grill has been a terrible experience - the whole thing just feels shabby, and the heat output is way too weak. I did give it 2 stars because of how even the heat is. Wish I got the Weber.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Rowlett, TX

This GRILL is THE BOMB!!

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had our new infrared grill for about a month now and have grilled some of the best tasting, chicken, fish and steaks that we've ever eaten. The super hot infrared heat sears meats beautifully and cooks very evenly and quickly. We have found no uneven spots anywhere on the surface of the grates. It's a great looking grill and the 3-burner model is just the right size for us to use for entertaining. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this grill.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>