728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
3.976 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(750 reviews) 749
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Rating Breakdown 750 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(386)
4
(186)
3
(45)
2
(40)
1
(93)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Plano, Texas

My $449 Red Heated up to 500F first time

PostedMay 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just got back from HD, bought the grill ($ 449) preassembled. I hooked up tank, cleaned it, and after 15 minutes on "clean" setting grill temp (according to the temp guage on the lid) was at 500F.
Have not tried it for cooking yet.. But I do note the lid is not that "sturdy", compared with the other "$599 Red" model at my local HD.
So so far so good..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Duluth, MN

Char-Broil RED Infrared Gas Grill 3-Zone

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this last weekend and it is going back to the store this weekend. Do not buy this!
The side burner never worked. We can hear it getting gas but it will not ignite without a match. The 3 main burners all have good flame and they ignite easily but it does not get hot! Even with all 3 main burners on CLEAN, it just barely got to over 300 in over an hour!
We are going to go with a Weber gas grill instead. Excellent reviews on them. The only thing I do not like about the Webers is the controls on the side table and that is really why we went with the Char-Broil.
This grill seemed to make sense at the time we selected it, less flare-ups, easy clean up, etc but grilling is all about cooking over fire and that is where the flavor comes from. So in my opinion, even if it did work, it's one big expensive cast iron pan. No diferent than cooking in the house on my stove.
Very, very disappointed in this grill, especially after more than 2 hours putting it together and we'll have to put the Weber together as well. I hope the manager at Home Depot will do something for us.
We also like to grill all year round, even in the dead of a northern MN winter so we need something that can put out the heat.
Sorry, but I cannot recommend any of the Char-Broil Infra Reds.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Tampa, FL

High praise from a die hard charcoal fan

PostedMay 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coming from a charcoal grill I was hesitant to make the switch to gas.I was interested in the RED due to the fact that I liked the high heat output to sear in juices and carmalize the protiens on the outside for great flavor.
I must say this grill does not disappoint. I noticed on my first preheat/clean phase after assembly that my temperature gauge had maxed out WAY past the 800 degree mark and I routinely get those temperatures. From ribs and steaks to burgers and fish, I get some of the most moist flavorful meat I have ever had on a grill. Vegitables come out looking amazing as well. That was the biggest surprise, how beautiful the food looks. Because of the high heat and the even cooking, you end up with perfect grill marks.
I am also a fan of the ability to add wood chips directly to the U-burner without the need to even soak...this's is never going to allow you to properly smoke food, but it's nice for adding a little extra flavor to your grilling. another nice feature is the coated iron grates. theye mostly non-stick and hold heat amazingly. Don't be afraid if the "mostly" non-stick, because unlike other grills the RED doesn't have an exposed flame, so you are able to spray some canola oil on the grates prior to putting down fish or something else that commonly sticks, without having to worry about flare up.
I hope that this has helped someone who was on the edge. I was coming from a Weber Kettle grill and unsure about the infrared technolory. I read ever single review on this website prior to purchasing and decided to pull the trigger. I have had the grill since April 9th 2010 and today is May 9th 2010. I wanted to use it for a full month before writing a review to make it as thorough as possible. Not one single regret.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Char-Broil Infrared Quality

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This past Saturday I put together the Char-Broil Infrared Grill that I bought the day before. I spent about 2.5 hours putting it together. It is very well packaged and all parts were there. Some very well thought out packaging engineering there. I feel the quality of the unit is top notch, and the pieces all go together real well. Tolerances are very good - screw holes line up with no difficulty. If you follow the directions it is actually a fairly easy assembly.
I fired it up after I was finished and was amazed at how fast it heated to 600+ degrees - faster than any conventional grill I've used. Used it later that evening and was amazed at how fast it cooked burgers. No flare ups, just some nice grill marks and juicy hamburgers. Looking forward to testing it out on a whole lot more this summer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Hoffman Estates, IL

Trust me, buy this grill!!!!

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will never cook over open flames again.
I was skeptical about the grill at first without cooking over open flames, but when I cooked on it for the first time, I was wowed!!
The burner is covered by a metal bowl, so no drippings get onto the burner. That is why they offer a life time warranty on the burner. Also, no drippings means no flame ups. The food cooks more evenly and is the juiciest food I have ever seen.
Trust me, buy this grill!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northeast Ohio

Wasted Time

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill thinking that the new technology would help provide better food. The problem was that it took too long to heat up to ever find out! Twenty minutes just to get to 350 degrees is too long to wait. I'll be returning this product in hopes to find something better.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from PARK CITY, UTAH

Love that Infra-red

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill with the intention of switching it to natural gas so I got the conversion kit and rotisserie at the same time.
Just like for some other reviewers, the grill would simply not heat up as claimed, 325F tops. I tried some fixes suggested by Charbroil, nothing worked. I started the conversion process to natural gas,this required replacing the original orifices with ones with much bigger apertures, after this step, I checked the flame running on propane, it worked great! All the power, 800F cleaning heat was there, and some great grilling at all settings. This infra-red is truly great new technology. (when it works.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from central ma

I'm hotter than the grill

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just fired up my new "RED" It will not reach temps over 425 on the clean setting (outdoor temp 75, no wind). A call to Char broil support line and I am informed that this is normal for this grill and I am lucky to get that high of a temp! Their answer as to why the manual states the clean temp is up to 800 and I can only get to 425: the thermometer is measuring the air temp (no kidding?), and I need to get a grill level thermometer. The thermometer probe is only 6-7 inches above the grill. Can't be a differnce of 375 between them.
Sorry, but the manual should not list temps the themometer will never see. This one is going back to HD to be replaced by a Weber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Dothan, AL

Best Steaks Ever

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had never used an Infared Grill before but I thought I would give it a try. I have cooked steaks, sausage, ribs and chicken on this grill and it is great. Also This model has the unobstructed bowl beneath it so Clean up is a snap. I looked at some Char Broil Infared Grills at Home Depots main competitor and they looked like a nightmare to clean. Not so here. If you follow the instructions and sear the meat first before turning down the heat you will have the best steaks ever. Also it cooks chicken throughly without burning the outside to a crisp. We got some win parts from sams and grilled them up (after defrosting) and poured Kens buffalo marinade/sauce on them and got compliments from everyone present. I highly reccomend this grill, but beaware this model and style is only sold at Home Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Dallas, TX

Great Grill for the price

PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had this grill for over a year and really love it. The grill gets hot amazingly fast. No issues with food grilling, cleaning or the ignition. I do keep it covered at all times when not in use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Taunton

Best Grill I Ever Owned

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Char-Broil Red is everything advertised. Cooks food fast, jucie and cooked to perfection. Steak has the grill marks the good Steak Houses have. Chicken is cooked evenly with golden brown grill marks and still remains juicie. The grill cleaning settings worked perfectly within minuites the temputure was 600 degrees. Clean up the ash easly with a damp paper towel. The grill grates are coated and easly cleaned. Just spray the trough and grates with non flamable cooking spray your ready for the next grilling experience. I have owed Char-Broil for years and this is my 5th grill. You can always depent on Char-Broils good name.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from McKinney, TX

RED 3 Burner Infrared

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A little bit of a pain to put together but just slowly follow the directions and you won't have problems. Still learning how to cook on it but so far everything I've tried has been fine. Electronic start works good. Only thing that could be better is if you could actually see the burners light. The way this is designed you just have to listen for it. Otherwise I am satisfied with the purchase.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Sumter SC

great all around grill

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used only 3 times.I used wood chips 2 times with beautiful results.The meets flavor was excellent.No flare ups,easy lighting and cooks evenly.Always been a charcoal die hard but this grill converted me.Also it is a great value.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Worst Grill Ever!!

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As I write this sending back the FOURTH grill that does not work all within one week. Switching to a different brand. This is a flimsy, POORLY CONSTRUCTED grill.
-27points
6out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from wi

no good

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
a $400.00 mistake. going back to reg gas grill.in 2 weeks the auto start does not work.
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Fargo, ND

Great Grill!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was a breeze. Didn't take long at all to put together. I plan on using the new grill tonight, can't wait to try it out after hearing how well it cooks!!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Queens, NY

Great Grill

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although it took longer than the 30 minutes stated in the manual, in reality, it took 4 hours. Overall, I'm happy with the grill. Infrared speeds up the time it takes to cook!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from New Jersey

Peeling Labels or stickers

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill in May 2010. After putting it together upon closing the lid both sides hit the upper rack and chipped the coating off. I looked at it up and down and figured out the sides where warped in. upon gently bending back they started cracking.. Contacted Char Broil and they sent free replacements out.. Taking the top of the grill apart was not fun... plenty of screws, shields, etc.. they should have sent entire top as it is packaged. within 2 months the labels started peeling off. Again, called up and they are sending out all 3 new front panels with me paying shipping. The following day I went to Home Depot and looked at 15 Char Broil grill all with peeling letters --NEW--. I called to tell char broil that I don't want the 3 pieces sent until they are fixed from this problem.. I was told by a MANAGER that it was cosmetic and not a "Functioning" part of the grill so it is not covered.. I was so taken back. I asked her if her speedometer in her car was functional or cosmetic.. I told her you need the labels to see where you have the grill set at.. she told me you can tell from the flame height.. I told her no flame it is an infrared grill... She then told me that I can see the flames from the holes for manually lighting the grill on the side.. I could not beleive that after 2 months that this is how they treat a customer.. I talked to one of the managers on duty at the Mount Holly Home Depot her name was Valeri and explained the entire situation.. She returned it with no problem and said HD stands behind all of thier products.. Home Depot has made a customer for life.. Hats off to the customer support and great attitudes.. We need more people like this and more companies as well..
Do not puchase Char Broil as we need to send a message that you can not just take our hard earned money and walk away.. It is not fair as we work too hard for it..
Thanks HD
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Great Grill

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this grill in late July '11 and have used it quite well over the last month. Since I bought online and had it shipped to me, I had to assemble per the instructions from CharBroil. Other reviews I read had indicated that the instructions were hard to understand and made assembly a nightmare. My experience was much better. Perhaps CharBroil took the hint re-wrote the instruction manual. I could definitely tell that the person(s) that wrote the instruction manual also had to put this grill together. It takes about 4 hours to assemble start to finished. Only issue I had was a warped warming rack that did not fit. A quick call to CharBroil had a replacement rack on the way in only a few days.
Compared to my old Brinkmann grill, this new grill cooks wonderfully. So far I've cooked salmon, vegges, hot dogs, and chicken. All turned out delicious. Cooks evenly. Also, been pleasantly surprised to be able to use the U grate to add smoke chips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>