728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
3.976 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(750 reviews) 749
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Rating Breakdown 750 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(386)
4
(186)
3
(45)
2
(40)
1
(93)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northeast Ohio

Wasted Time

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill thinking that the new technology would help provide better food. The problem was that it took too long to heat up to ever find out! Twenty minutes just to get to 350 degrees is too long to wait. I'll be returning this product in hopes to find something better.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from PARK CITY, UTAH

Love that Infra-red

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill with the intention of switching it to natural gas so I got the conversion kit and rotisserie at the same time.
Just like for some other reviewers, the grill would simply not heat up as claimed, 325F tops. I tried some fixes suggested by Charbroil, nothing worked. I started the conversion process to natural gas,this required replacing the original orifices with ones with much bigger apertures, after this step, I checked the flame running on propane, it worked great! All the power, 800F cleaning heat was there, and some great grilling at all settings. This infra-red is truly great new technology. (when it works.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from central ma

I'm hotter than the grill

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just fired up my new "RED" It will not reach temps over 425 on the clean setting (outdoor temp 75, no wind). A call to Char broil support line and I am informed that this is normal for this grill and I am lucky to get that high of a temp! Their answer as to why the manual states the clean temp is up to 800 and I can only get to 425: the thermometer is measuring the air temp (no kidding?), and I need to get a grill level thermometer. The thermometer probe is only 6-7 inches above the grill. Can't be a differnce of 375 between them.
Sorry, but the manual should not list temps the themometer will never see. This one is going back to HD to be replaced by a Weber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

initial build review

PostedJuly 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After shopping around at the local Home Depot I decided that this model most closely suited my needs for a replacement grill (the old Ducane finally bit the dust), so I picked this one up in the box and brought it home and assembled it myself. The front of the booklet says it should take 30 minutes, but 1 1/2 hours is more like it if you do like me and read the instructions. The parts were in good condition coming out of the box; nothing bent or missing. The tools I used for assembly were the following:
#2 Phillips screwdriver
#3 Phillips screwdriver
channel-lock pliers
12" crescent wrench to tighten down the spark box.
The grill assembled pretty easily following the directions in the booklet that comes with it and the screw pack was complete with all the correct screws, washers and such needed. But, be careful when removing the screws and washers as they don't give any extra ones. Use the #3 screwdriver on the largest screws as it gets a better bite on the large screws than a #2 Phillips does. Also, when you go to put the front bezel on the left (burner) side shelf, it is hard to tighten the screws due to the burner indentation in the shelf. The pliers did the trick to finish tightening those screws. And if you do like I did and use a large crescent wrench to tighten the spark box down be careful not to overtighten it as it is made of plastic and I imagine that it would strip or break easily. Other than that, it was pretty straightforward to assemble.
I am presently burning it in and it has taken around 15-20 minutes to heat up to 450 degrees on the hood thermometer. So it looks like I have one that heats well, unlike some of the other reviews on this grill. I plan to come back are re-rate this grill some months in the future and let everyone know how this grill is holding up over time for me.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of time and money! Max temp 300F.

PostedMay 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few years with my Weber charcoal grill it was time to up grade. I bought the Red Infrared grill because the specs and manuals claimed that it could get the same temperatures and flavor that I'm used to with charcoal... just add wood chips. Actually the manual says that it could get up to 800F in clean mode. Imagine a grill with self-cleaning, just like my oven, a convenience I couldn’t pass. The versatility and convenience sounded too good to be true, and it was!!
The first time I use the grill I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F. Did what the Char-Broil instructions recommended and nothing changed. Went to my nearest Home Depot and a helpful and knowledgeable employee recommended a few other things. Went home tried it again and nothing. The temperature was not moving north of 350F.
After the THIRD TIME trying the grill I took it to Home Depot thinking that the grill I got was defective and exchange it for another Char-Broil Red Infrared Grill (same model).
I just spent one hour with the new grill and I can't get the temperature past 300F I even used two extra thermometers placed directly in the cooking grates to check the temperature and it will not get hotter than 300F. I also got a fresh tank when I exchanged the grill.
As with other reviewers, I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F even when trying with 2 different grills of the same model. A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!! My ten year-old oven cooks better than this grill.... I'm returning the grill tomorrow. A real disappointment.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Front Royal, Virginia

Outstanding Grill

PostedApril 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been a charcoal/gas grill type all of my life. I prefer the charcoal flavor but must admit that the convenience of gas has it's advantages. From prior experience as a professional chef, I was a little leary of going infra-red. We had replaced an old worn out gas grill with a new infra-red grill. What a piece of junk. It cooked fine but couldn't maintain heat once the grill area was loaded beyond 50%. It was replaced within 30 days back to a regular gas grill. After having read all of the reviews and thinking perhaps the technology had changed over the years I decided to give this grill a try. What a pleasant surprise!
First, I think the one problem that seemed to be mentioned in reviews about the temperature gauge reaching full scale is probably due to operator error. It is even mentioned in the book that the temperature will only read around 250-400 degrees if the tank isn't correctly attached. What happens is this; when you connect the regulator to the tank it tells you to only hand tighten, this is correct, but while you are connecting it you will feel resistance and could think that you have properly tightened it. It will still turn an additional 1/2 to 3/4 of a turn before you really can't tighten it anymore by hand. That extra little half turn is where the regulator is actuated. If you don't do this you will not get proper gas flow. It will seal fine but that last little turn is the trick. The manual refers to this and the symptoms described are identical to the ones these others seem to have experienced. Just check and make sure it is really fully tightened. My gauge went full scale after 10-15 minutes of being first fired up.
All right with that out of the way lets really check this thing out. Assembly was very easy and straight forward although it did take a while (I was in no hurry). I would also say that when assembling the lower cabinet pay close attention to the orientation of the back panel as there are two very slight indentions on the top of the back panel where a heat shield will attach later on. they are only about a 1/2 long and can be easily overlooked if you aren't looking close. BTW, they go to the top of the panel. The bottom half of the grill is adequately made. The casters are fairly robust. While they don't appear to be made for moving this grill all over the back yard they are more than adequate for most applications. The side shelves are also sturdy enough for most practical applications. The only downside is that the bottom half and shelves aren't stainless steel. However with a grill cover they should be just fine for many years.
The upper half (the actual grill itself) is very well constructed. Stainless steel hood and body, stainless steel burners (lifetime warranty), cast iron heating element (the "U" as they call it) and cast iron porcelain coated grates. This thing is very well made and with proper care should last many, many years.
As for cooking, it is excellent. I did some chicken (legs with skin on and thighs with skin off) some veggies (zucchini, onions and portabella mushroom caps). The results were absolutely amazing. First the veggies, nice caramelization on the onions and zucchini with great flavor. The mushroom caps were the biggest surprise as they can sometimes get a bit dry if your not careful. These were perfect, super juicy. The chicken was the real surprise (pleasant at that). First I seared both sides of the meat before reducing the heat to finish them. The skin on the legs was very crispy (not charred or burnt) and incredibly juicy while the meat pulled easily from the bone. The thighs (without skin) were just the same. I somewhat expected them to be a bit drier but they weren't. Probably the best chicken I've ever made. It does cook faster, but there were no flare ups or hot spots. I added some hickory chips (just drop them through the grates onto the "U" and again no flames, just smoke. The only flares I had were when I sprayed some Pam on the grates before cooking (to be expected). Clean up is a breeze, just turn to burners to clean and let them go for 10 minutes or so. Everything was reduced to ash. As for cleaning the grates, I would not use a wire brush as that will most likely damage the porcelain. Just wash them in soap and water and use a scotch-brite pad if necessary before you grill the next time. I am very impressed and would highly recommend this grill to anyone. I give it a full 5 stars. It's a little different than most grills but don't let that scare you away as the results are positively outstanding.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Amazing

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the money - it's amazing. Had friends over last night and grilled chicken. Tender and juicy with no crispy edges. My friends are jealous!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Little Rock

Great grill!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 12 years of continuous use, I ran my previous Weber into the ground so I needed a new one. I bought this grill after reading Consumer Reports as it was highly rated. I used the same cooking techniques of the Weber on this one (MOM), and so far everything has turned out great. I've cooked a 2" steak and hamburgers on it "perfectly". We took advantage of the free shipping, and my husband was able to put it together without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Char-Broil Infrared Quality

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This past Saturday I put together the Char-Broil Infrared Grill that I bought the day before. I spent about 2.5 hours putting it together. It is very well packaged and all parts were there. Some very well thought out packaging engineering there. I feel the quality of the unit is top notch, and the pieces all go together real well. Tolerances are very good - screw holes line up with no difficulty. If you follow the directions it is actually a fairly easy assembly.
I fired it up after I was finished and was amazed at how fast it heated to 600+ degrees - faster than any conventional grill I've used. Used it later that evening and was amazed at how fast it cooked burgers. No flare ups, just some nice grill marks and juicy hamburgers. Looking forward to testing it out on a whole lot more this summer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Dublin (Columbus) Ohio

Fast heat-up, even cooking

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grill seems sturdy, solid is easy to use. We've only had it for a week and used it twice, but were very impressed by the even cooking with no flare ups. The pork chops and chicken that was cooked this past week was juicy and flavorful even before the gill is fully seasoned. The lifetime warranty on the stainless steel burners was also important to me. I look forward to many years of use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Utah

BBQ'n

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this grill 2 weeks ago and we love it! It is beautiful, cleans-up nice and easy, and cooks in taste that is perfection. The best part is that meats are left moist and not dried out. We are BBQ'n more often because the taste this grill provides is better than any other grill we have tried. We researched many grills for weeks and decided on this one and we could not be happier! Thank you Char-Broil we love your infrared grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Orange City, Florida

Awsome

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last year I was looking to replace my "Great outdoors" grill that cost me a lot of $ and was a big disapointment. My nieghbor works At HD in the garden center. So I asked him what he recomended. He showed me this one and I was quite impressed with all the features. However I was a little leary because I have heard bad things about the Charbroil brand. I took my neibors advice and gave it a try. I was not disapointed!
I love this grill! It heats up fast. It cooks evenly, and the food is moist and juicy when it comes off. Cleaning it is easy. I do recomend getting a cover for it. That will help prolong the life of the grill and keep it looking nice. Even if it is kept under something. This grill cooks better than any grill I have ever used before...And I grill a lot. Four time a week on average. I also have a rotisserie that I use with this grill. I have never had food come off of my rotisserie as moist and juicy as it does with this grill. I recomend this grill to everyone. Buy and enjoy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from New Jersey

Peeling Labels or stickers

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill in May 2010. After putting it together upon closing the lid both sides hit the upper rack and chipped the coating off. I looked at it up and down and figured out the sides where warped in. upon gently bending back they started cracking.. Contacted Char Broil and they sent free replacements out.. Taking the top of the grill apart was not fun... plenty of screws, shields, etc.. they should have sent entire top as it is packaged. within 2 months the labels started peeling off. Again, called up and they are sending out all 3 new front panels with me paying shipping. The following day I went to Home Depot and looked at 15 Char Broil grill all with peeling letters --NEW--. I called to tell char broil that I don't want the 3 pieces sent until they are fixed from this problem.. I was told by a MANAGER that it was cosmetic and not a "Functioning" part of the grill so it is not covered.. I was so taken back. I asked her if her speedometer in her car was functional or cosmetic.. I told her you need the labels to see where you have the grill set at.. she told me you can tell from the flame height.. I told her no flame it is an infrared grill... She then told me that I can see the flames from the holes for manually lighting the grill on the side.. I could not beleive that after 2 months that this is how they treat a customer.. I talked to one of the managers on duty at the Mount Holly Home Depot her name was Valeri and explained the entire situation.. She returned it with no problem and said HD stands behind all of thier products.. Home Depot has made a customer for life.. Hats off to the customer support and great attitudes.. We need more people like this and more companies as well..
Do not puchase Char Broil as we need to send a message that you can not just take our hard earned money and walk away.. It is not fair as we work too hard for it..
Thanks HD
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from slidellla

pit

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this pit ready works great no flares when cooking there nothing that i dis like about this grill great
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Bad Luck!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill about a month ago. The first time I used it I could not get the temp above 250 degrees. I called charbroil to question the temps. They were helpful, but after the third replacement part, hours of wasted time installing them, and a full propane tank later, I had enough. I am taking this grill back to Home Depot (They were helpful also) as soon as I can get somebody to help me lift it into my truck!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Florida

Happy with my purchase!

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this grill about a month ago and wanted to wait until I was able to really use the grill before I gave my review. I use the grill at least 4 days a week. It took a little getting used to at first because it is not like a typical gas grill. Food cooks alot faster on this grill so it is easy to overcook things like steaks. I adjusted by buying steaks a little thicker and now I haven't had any problems. You do get great grill marks on the food but the coloring is different from a traditional grill. When you grill things that cook quickly like chicken tenders, kabobs, etc I didn't get the grilled "color" that I was used to.
Everything that I have cooked has been truly good. Chicken stays moist and tender, even chicken breast which has a tendency to dry out on the grill. My favorite thing that I cooked so far was a pork butt. I used wood chips and after I brought the grill up to temperature reduced the heat to low on one side and turned off the middle and other side. I just let the roast cook at around 300 for 4 or 5 hours. Tasted just like it came from a smoker! I even liked the side burner. On my old grill side burner it burned too hot and I couldn't simmer or cook on low. This one is better at temperature control.
I do agree with other posts, it did take a while to put together. Other than that I can honestly say that I am happy with my purchase and would do it again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Tampa, FL

Great grill

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the best grills that I've ever bought. Cooks the food evenly and in less time than other grills that I've owned. Love it! Highly recommend!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>