728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
4.006 / 5
4
 / 
5
(712 reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product552 of 680reviews
Rating Breakdown 712 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(371)
4
(176)
3
(45)
2
(38)
1
(82)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product552 of 680reviews
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Plano, Texas

My $449 Red Heated up to 500F first time

PostedMay 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just got back from HD, bought the grill ($ 449) preassembled. I hooked up tank, cleaned it, and after 15 minutes on "clean" setting grill temp (according to the temp guage on the lid) was at 500F.
Have not tried it for cooking yet.. But I do note the lid is not that "sturdy", compared with the other "$599 Red" model at my local HD.
So so far so good..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from South Carolina

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my red for about 3 weeks I have had no trouble getting the heat up to over 700 after reading some of the reviews I placed a thermometer on the grates themselves and the temp was well over 850 I read that one guy loved the grill it only took him an hour to put it together!!! Maybe this is the problem let the pros do it they do this stuff every day!!! Just like a car or stereo or anything new there is bound to be a few lemons out there.This is one of the best grills I have ever owned for the price.I believe it ranks right up there with the most expensive.I would recommend this grill to everyone even the inexperienced.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Amazing

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money - it's amazing. Had friends over last night and grilled chicken. Tender and juicy with no crispy edges. My friends are jealous!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Conner Montana

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. It gives the food an excellent flavor and keeps it very juicy. Clean up is a breeze. I'm very glad we bought it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

not what I expected

PostedApril 27, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't recommend this grill. It would not heat up beyond 350 degrees even after 30 minutes on the highest setting. I had to replace the gas hose and regulator and then it still did not heat up like it was supposed to. I was told by Home depot (which was helpful) that the company would send replacement parts, but I am returning it and buying a Weber.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of time and money! Max temp 300F.

PostedMay 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few years with my Weber charcoal grill it was time to up grade. I bought the Red Infrared grill because the specs and manuals claimed that it could get the same temperatures and flavor that I'm used to with charcoal... just add wood chips. Actually the manual says that it could get up to 800F in clean mode. Imagine a grill with self-cleaning, just like my oven, a convenience I couldn’t pass. The versatility and convenience sounded too good to be true, and it was!!
The first time I use the grill I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F. Did what the Char-Broil instructions recommended and nothing changed. Went to my nearest Home Depot and a helpful and knowledgeable employee recommended a few other things. Went home tried it again and nothing. The temperature was not moving north of 350F.
After the THIRD TIME trying the grill I took it to Home Depot thinking that the grill I got was defective and exchange it for another Char-Broil Red Infrared Grill (same model).
I just spent one hour with the new grill and I can't get the temperature past 300F I even used two extra thermometers placed directly in the cooking grates to check the temperature and it will not get hotter than 300F. I also got a fresh tank when I exchanged the grill.
As with other reviewers, I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F even when trying with 2 different grills of the same model. A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!! My ten year-old oven cooks better than this grill.... I'm returning the grill tomorrow. A real disappointment.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from STL, MO

Great Grill. Knob Misinterpetation by Reviewers.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. I think that the people who are having issues with this grill are reading the knobs backwards. To me, it seems like the temperature indicator should be at the smaller part of the knob when, in fact, it is at the larger. When one misinterprets these indicators, it looks like it is set to clean when actually it is set to low, which is about 350. When you turn the knob to the exact opposite side and it is then on the clean mode, the temp cranks right up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from kingston ny

best buy

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best grill i ever had.....meat cook well not burn................
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Valencia, CA

Followup review

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had the grill 2 weeks now, and I'm VERY happy. I was concerned at first since this is a "new fangled" way of grilling, but I'm a convert.
The best part about this is the convenience of gas, with the ability to put hickory chips in the well and get the smoke flavoring, so it's the best of 2 worlds. Other bonuses are cooking speed, easy cleanup, no flareups etc. You do have to be careful because it cooks faster, but once you learn the new timing, food comes off the grill perfectly without burns from flareups, tasting great from the added hickory. Go for it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Neptune, NJ

Look no further, Best grill for your money

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about how great this grill is. I bought this grill because it had a Best Buy rating in Consumer Reports magazine. They were completely right with their recommendation. The infrared technology is the key to why this grill is so great. It has a U-shaped trough that is a barrier between the food and the flame, preventing flare-ups and making all of your food moist and juicy. I would recommend buying Charbroil's Brush-Hawg grill brush (also at Home Depot) to clean this grill, and a good pair of long handled grill tongs, a spatula for flipping burgers and a grill cover. It has a cleaning feature that turns off all the grease and drippngs into ash that makes cleaning the grill a breeze. I also recommend buying a digital meat thermometer. This has taken the guesswork out of my grilling experience and has cooked my food to perfection without fail. The grill comes with a small guide that gives you the correct grill settings to cook different types of meats. It also has some great grill recipes that I have used such as a blue cheese topping for my London Broil. Yum!
If you didn't already know yet, I LOVE his grill, and I am sure you will too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from York, Maine

Don't Worry...Be Happy

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read a number of existing reviews before deciding to purchase this grill. I was slightly concerned about the one in which the reviewer described his inability to get "Red" to heat above 250-300 degrees.
I ordered the grill and was able to assemble it with little difficulty. I DID discover a couple of mistakes in the assembly instructions, wherein the verbal description did not match the accompanying diagram. However, this was not a big problem and the customer service people at CharBroil confirmed my assertions about the mistakes, which I felt I had found. Once those two minor issues were sorted out, I was able to continue to assemble the grill with no problem, despite the fact that I am anything but gifted when it comes to this sort of thing. However, I have to say that the estimated assembly time of 30 minutes must be based on the assumption that you have two complete NASCAR pit crews at the ready,from the minute the various unassembled parts are removed from the carton, in which it arrives.
Regarding the performance of the grill, it works very well, indeed. When I fired it up for the first time to clean it and burn off any residual oil from the manufacturing process, in just under 15 minutes, it was cranking at nearly 700 degrees.
I've only used the grill a couple of times so far, but it heats very efficiently, provides even heat distribution and is a joy to use. If I had it to do over again, I would buy this grill again, without reservation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Hoffman Estates, IL

Trust me, buy this grill!!!!

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I will never cook over open flames again.
I was skeptical about the grill at first without cooking over open flames, but when I cooked on it for the first time, I was wowed!!
The burner is covered by a metal bowl, so no drippings get onto the burner. That is why they offer a life time warranty on the burner. Also, no drippings means no flame ups. The food cooks more evenly and is the juiciest food I have ever seen.
Trust me, buy this grill!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Louisburg, NC

One great grill

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 60 years old and have had alot of grills in that time. I got the charbroil and did not believe how fast it warms up and how well it cooks. I read the red book but still did not beleive it could cook that fast so I cooked a 1 inch thick sirlon steak about 5 minutes each side, which on all of my old grills would have been rare, on the charbroil it was almost well done, it had a slight trace of pink in the middle and was real juicy. I cooked chicken breats filets on it for about 8 minutes each side and they were done and juicy. So far the BEST grill I have ever had. This grill does eveything Charbroil says it does and I hooked it up to my house LP. This is the cheapest gas grill I have ever owned and the best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Idaho Falls , Idaho

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the 2 burner model several months ago and was a bit disappointed at first but the more I used the grill, the more things I liked about it. It cooks very evenly and the meat stays very moist. It takes a bit longer to get up to cooking temp. but you adjust to it. I put wood chips in the bottom to get a bit of a smoked taste because there is no flame smoke. I recommend it simply because you just about can't mess up whatever meat you are cooking. I am very happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boynton Beach, FL

I ADMIT IT....I WAS WRONG...

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last review said that I wouldn't recommend it. I take that back now. Apparently, it just needed an adjustment. The first few times we used it, we couldn't get the heat past 300 degrees - even on "clean". (By the way, we used the Natural Gas conversion kit). Today, we blew out the gas line and tightened the orifices and low and behold... it heated up to 700 degrees immediately! So, we just tried it and there is no steakhouse anywhere that makes better burgers! It sears on 600 degrees, BBQ's on 300 degrees - everything it says it would do, it does! I didn't want anyone to not buy it because of my last review. When I'm wrong, I admit it! So, to anyone out there who is not getting the BBQ hot enough, try to adjust the orifices or call the 800 number. It WILL get hot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from California

RED 3 Gas Grill

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this grill because it was highly rated in CR. Be warned--it is really complicated to put together. We started pulling the pieces out of the box and many of them were bent or dented. In fact, the cover has a huge dent in it. I should have sent it back but it was delivered when I wan not home and had someone over to put it together for what was to be a BBQ that evening (we cooked in the over). The material is rather flimsy and the booklet cautions that you should not out anything heavy on the side burner or the shelf! But for $400, what should you expect....
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Richmond, VA

Great Grill

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nice grill. I've done a chicken and a london broil so far ... it was great! This is so much easier than having the flames come up from an old style gas grill. I am able to leave grill and play with my kids without burning the food. The grill gets very hot to sear the meats and then cook them keeping the inside very tender. I'm very happy with the grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>