728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
4.003 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(729 reviews) 728
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product565 of 697reviews
Rating Breakdown 729 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(380)
4
(180)
3
(45)
2
(39)
1
(85)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product565 of 697reviews
Customer questions and answers:
91 Questions | 252 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of time and money! Max temp 300F.

PostedMay 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few years with my Weber charcoal grill it was time to up grade. I bought the Red Infrared grill because the specs and manuals claimed that it could get the same temperatures and flavor that I'm used to with charcoal... just add wood chips. Actually the manual says that it could get up to 800F in clean mode. Imagine a grill with self-cleaning, just like my oven, a convenience I couldn’t pass. The versatility and convenience sounded too good to be true, and it was!!
The first time I use the grill I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F. Did what the Char-Broil instructions recommended and nothing changed. Went to my nearest Home Depot and a helpful and knowledgeable employee recommended a few other things. Went home tried it again and nothing. The temperature was not moving north of 350F.
After the THIRD TIME trying the grill I took it to Home Depot thinking that the grill I got was defective and exchange it for another Char-Broil Red Infrared Grill (same model).
I just spent one hour with the new grill and I can't get the temperature past 300F I even used two extra thermometers placed directly in the cooking grates to check the temperature and it will not get hotter than 300F. I also got a fresh tank when I exchanged the grill.
As with other reviewers, I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F even when trying with 2 different grills of the same model. A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!! My ten year-old oven cooks better than this grill.... I'm returning the grill tomorrow. A real disappointment.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

bbq = good

PostedJune 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised at the negative reviews about this grill. I never review products and felt like this deserved a better rating than what it currently has.
I got this about a week ago, used it several times since then and it's working flawlessly. Best smoked/bbq'ed chicken I've ever made. Did corn, vegetables, hamburgers and steak also, everything came out awesome, moist and savory.
It's a poor workman who blames his tools.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from quincy MA

infrared cooks

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I looked at the reviews and was sceptical about the grill being hot enough. WOW it gets plenty hot enough. I've used it everynight but one since we brought it home. Burgers, keilbasa, ribs, steaks all were great. I still need to get the feel of time that cooking takes. Easy to clean and no flame to flare up and burn you or the food. Best grill I ever used.
The wheels could be bigger if you need to move it over grass although I'm sure that a deck or patio would be fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Chicago

I'm taking it back

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I’ve owned this grill about a month now and I’ve had enough. Just like some of the other reviews, it won’t heat past 300-350 degrees. I’m tired of re-attaching the connections. I’m tired of meat with no char. I’m tired of wasting propane waiting in vain for it to heat up. I’m getting a Weber.
Otherwise, it’s a nice grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Rexburg, Idaho

It works great

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was my first infrared gas stove and i wasnt really sure if i would like it at first but it works very well. It is very easy to use and it cooks amazing. It is built strong too so it wont break as easy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from York, Maine

Don't Worry...Be Happy

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read a number of existing reviews before deciding to purchase this grill. I was slightly concerned about the one in which the reviewer described his inability to get "Red" to heat above 250-300 degrees.
I ordered the grill and was able to assemble it with little difficulty. I DID discover a couple of mistakes in the assembly instructions, wherein the verbal description did not match the accompanying diagram. However, this was not a big problem and the customer service people at CharBroil confirmed my assertions about the mistakes, which I felt I had found. Once those two minor issues were sorted out, I was able to continue to assemble the grill with no problem, despite the fact that I am anything but gifted when it comes to this sort of thing. However, I have to say that the estimated assembly time of 30 minutes must be based on the assumption that you have two complete NASCAR pit crews at the ready,from the minute the various unassembled parts are removed from the carton, in which it arrives.
Regarding the performance of the grill, it works very well, indeed. When I fired it up for the first time to clean it and burn off any residual oil from the manufacturing process, in just under 15 minutes, it was cranking at nearly 700 degrees.
I've only used the grill a couple of times so far, but it heats very efficiently, provides even heat distribution and is a joy to use. If I had it to do over again, I would buy this grill again, without reservation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Durham, NC

Awesome! Just buy it already.

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been grilling for over 20 years with both charcoal and gas grills. I spent a lot of time researching this specific grill and infrared grills in general. I was concerned about making a big investment in a new technology and then being disappointed. After all, my old grills did fine and as they say "if it ain't broke..."
I purchased this grill at HD 3 weeks ago. Since then I have grilled: burgers, brauts, chicken, vegetables and several varieties of steak. Each turned out amazingly well.
Bottom line: Stop worrying and just buy this grill.
Bullet points:
+ Heats fast;
+ Amazing searing, gorgeous grill marks on meats and vegetables;
+ No flare ups;
+ Easy to clean;
+ Very moist food (IR heats the food rather than blowing dry hot air at it like an open fire does);
+ Smokey flavor: drippings and wood chips emit smoke and add great flavor.
+ Easy to add wood chips and they don't burn... they just smoke.
It's worth repeating: The filets I've cooked on this grill were my best. Seared on the outside, evenly cooked and very moist and tender throughout.
Other stuff:
- Windy conditions cause the heat to dissipate, I blocked the front vents with aluminum foil to fix it when it is windy;
- Mid-sized cooking area, this isn't an extra large grill.
- Unknown durability... I've only had it for 3 weeks.
Hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Valencia, CA

Followup review

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had the grill 2 weeks now, and I'm VERY happy. I was concerned at first since this is a "new fangled" way of grilling, but I'm a convert.
The best part about this is the convenience of gas, with the ability to put hickory chips in the well and get the smoke flavoring, so it's the best of 2 worlds. Other bonuses are cooking speed, easy cleanup, no flareups etc. You do have to be careful because it cooks faster, but once you learn the new timing, food comes off the grill perfectly without burns from flareups, tasting great from the added hickory. Go for it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Located in Southern Illinois

Great grill

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered ours online. It was roughed up a little during shipping.The damage amounted to some dinged up sheet metal. After I put it together you could not tell. Heats evenly,easy to clean,sturdy burners, and it runs a long time a tank of L.P.Assembly took a little over 2hours. The instructions were relatively clear and easy to follow.No missing parts either. Some of the illustrations could have been labeled better. One other thing that I did not care for was the side burner is hard to light with the electronic starter. It seems as if the spark is too far away from the bruner holes. OveralI I really like this grill and would recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Louisburg, NC

One great grill

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am 60 years old and have had alot of grills in that time. I got the charbroil and did not believe how fast it warms up and how well it cooks. I read the red book but still did not beleive it could cook that fast so I cooked a 1 inch thick sirlon steak about 5 minutes each side, which on all of my old grills would have been rare, on the charbroil it was almost well done, it had a slight trace of pink in the middle and was real juicy. I cooked chicken breats filets on it for about 8 minutes each side and they were done and juicy. So far the BEST grill I have ever had. This grill does eveything Charbroil says it does and I hooked it up to my house LP. This is the cheapest gas grill I have ever owned and the best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Bad Luck!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill about a month ago. The first time I used it I could not get the temp above 250 degrees. I called charbroil to question the temps. They were helpful, but after the third replacement part, hours of wasted time installing them, and a full propane tank later, I had enough. I am taking this grill back to Home Depot (They were helpful also) as soon as I can get somebody to help me lift it into my truck!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Richmond, VA

Great Grill

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nice grill. I've done a chicken and a london broil so far ... it was great! This is so much easier than having the flames come up from an old style gas grill. I am able to leave grill and play with my kids without burning the food. The grill gets very hot to sear the meats and then cook them keeping the inside very tender. I'm very happy with the grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Shawnee, KS

Just Buy It!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are reading the other reviews and still debating on whether to buy it, let me give you some advice. Buy it. That's what I did and I am very happy with my decision.
I bought this grill in the Spring and have enjoyed it very much. I actually converted mine to natural gas and wondered if it would get hot enough. Boy does it get hot. It is great. My other grill which was natural gas didn't come close to this and took my food a long time to cook. You have to be careful because you can easily overcook things if you don't watch it. You also need to keep the U base clean as this seems to have an affect of how hot the grill will get.
The only issue I have had with this model is remembering to turn it off after taking the food off and turing the cleaning mode on. I have left it on overnight a few times :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from central ma

I'm hotter than the grill

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just fired up my new "RED" It will not reach temps over 425 on the clean setting (outdoor temp 75, no wind). A call to Char broil support line and I am informed that this is normal for this grill and I am lucky to get that high of a temp! Their answer as to why the manual states the clean temp is up to 800 and I can only get to 425: the thermometer is measuring the air temp (no kidding?), and I need to get a grill level thermometer. The thermometer probe is only 6-7 inches above the grill. Can't be a differnce of 375 between them.
Sorry, but the manual should not list temps the themometer will never see. This one is going back to HD to be replaced by a Weber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Danbury, Connecticut

WOW

PostedApril 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this grill and used it for the first time last night. The grilled veggies were done in less than 10 minutes and were unbelievable! The steaks ... the manual said to cook for 4 - 6 minutes each side on the sear setting. Yeah, right steaks done in 12 minutes! Well, we let them cook a few minutes more and the were over done (not pink in the middle) but still so juicy and delicious! Cooking hambergers and more veggies tonight. I told my husband he has to figure out how we grill in the garage in the winter! Love this grill!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Detroit, MI

most impresive grill

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill about a month ago and its the best grill so far that I have owned. The flame less cooking is what sold me, I can put pieces of skin on chicken and not have to worry about flare ups. Thats because the flame is covered by a big bowl like fixture and does not allow the flame to come near the food. The grates are great as long as you clean them up at the end of cooking if not then you are going to have to do some scraping and re-seasoning of the grates with some cooking spray Once and a while you will have to take the pan out to clean out all the burned up drippings. I also like the little storage underneath the grill, it holds my cover nicely and a couple of pots and pans.
The other day I did ribs in it and used only one of the burners and it was able to keep the grille hot enough to cook them perfectly. I was even able to put small mesquite chips right on the inferred pan that covers up the flames to give them a bit of extra smoke flavor. I would recommend, not using the chunks though. We love it, even my wife has been using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Woodstock GA

Made the switch!

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK I guarantee nothing for anyone else but this infrared grill is amazing. Gets super hot super fast! Steak was incredible. I have a big green egg but this will be my "end of the day - I need to cook something fast" grill. No hotspots. Even temperature. I see why consumer reports so highly recommended this grill. I went back and forth in the store yesterday on whether I wanted to make the switch from gas to IR. Glad I made th switch. And hope you have as great of an experience as I did. Cheers!
+38points
80out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Great Grill!

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First off I would like to say that I debated long and hard about getting this grill after reading some of the reviews here but after much research on the benefits of "infrared" grilling technology I decided to go ahead and get the Red 3 burner ($399) and to keep this particular model based on price, technology, and results.
Many reviewers complained their grill was not heating up correctly stating that the hood temperature gauge was only reaching between 300°F - 350°F only, etc. My temperature gauge reached around 450°F after about 20 minutes. I thought mine too might be a defective temperature gauge so I took off the original that came with it and took it down to Home Depot and they were so kind as to let me switch it out for another one which I did. After firing up my Char-Broil Red 3 burner $399.99 (new lower price) unit I noticed the new temperature gauge read basically the same as the old one so I figured the gauges were most likely functioning okay. I went to the Char-Broil website and they had information about "low flow/flame issues" and after following all the instructions and starting it again the temperature gauge still hovered around 450°F after twenty or so minutes on "Clean" or the "Searing" setting which are the hottest settings.
So I ended up calling Char-Broil and the guy told me that the temperature gauge is reading the "air" temp but that's how ALL the temperature gauges work regardless of make or model right? ;) If you'll notice on the back of the Red 3 burner hood area there is an "open" gap running the length of the grill cover area of about an 1" to an 1 1/2" width. If you put your hand above the area while the grill is cooking you can tell that there is quite a bit of heat escaping and the guy at Char-Broil said that this is normal and that it's to let the smoke out that can accumulate while grilling. So apparently, from the distance of the "grates" to the temperature gauge itself enough heat has escaped out the back near the top of the cover to possibly cause the temperature gauge itself to display the lower temperature(s). That's my guess, since the gauges themselves are probably functioning correctly.
Okay, here's the kicker. The guy at Char-Broil said if I took a temperature probe and measured the temperature of the "grates" themselves he said the temperature(s) on the grates would be more in line with the 600°F - 700°F I was hoping to achieve.
Since I really wanted to get to the bottom of this 'mystery' I went ahead and purchased a Professional HVAC laser guided Temperature Probe called the Fluke-561 infrared thermometer. It reads temperatures up to 1022°F with an accuracy of +/- 2°F. I fired up my Char-Broil Red and turned all three burners on to the "Clean" setting. After 5 minutes (which is roughly the normal amount of time to preheat a grill before cooking) I registered the temperature using the Fluke-561 and the temperature on the "grates" was 478°F after 5 minutes whilst the temperature gauge on the grill itself only measured 275°F. After 10 minutes the "grate" temperature registered 598°F whilst the gauge on the grill itself measured only 350° and after 15 minutes the "grate" temperature registered 701°F whilst the gauge on the grill itself measured around 450°F.
So therein lies the "mystery" of the low temperature gauge readings that not only my Red 3 burner grill displays but many other people's Red 3 burner grills apparently do as well. It's kind of dumb, in my opinion, to have a temperature gauge that won't reach the stated 700°F maximum even when all three burners are on and set to their highest setting, nevertheless, the temperatures DO reach 700°F plus when measuring the "grates" themselves.
So don't let a possible "low" temperature gauge deter you from buying this grill. The temperatures do reach 700°F plus, on the "grates" themselves (where it counts), as evidenced and confirmed by my Professional HVAC laser guided infrared thermometer the Fluke model 561. ;)
Oh BTW, I seared some steaks last night and the response I got was "they're perfect." I concurred. It was the best steak I've had in a long time. Extremely flavorful, very very juicy, and cooked to perfection... Bon appétit! :) Mystery solved!!
The only lingering question in the back of my mind now is whether or not the Red 3 burner ($399) unit will last. I bought a decent cover for it and the weather here in So. California is pretty mild most of the year so I'm hoping the Red will keep on trucking for many many years to come. The burners are guaranteed for life so that's good to know. We'll see. :)
As of right now I'm very happy I purchased this grill. I was thinking about getting a Weber 3 burner (E-310) but it was a $100 bucks more and didn't have the "infrared" technology. Weber's are much more durable from what I understand though. Hopefully my Char-Broil Red will stand the test of time too. Although, if it only lasts a few years I will definitely consider a Weber the next time around.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>