728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
4.006 / 5
4
 / 
5
(703 reviews) 702
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product544 of 671reviews
Rating Breakdown 703 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(368)
4
(171)
3
(45)
2
(38)
1
(81)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product544 of 671reviews
Customer questions and answers:
86 Questions | 240 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from South Carolina

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my red for about 3 weeks I have had no trouble getting the heat up to over 700 after reading some of the reviews I placed a thermometer on the grates themselves and the temp was well over 850 I read that one guy loved the grill it only took him an hour to put it together!!! Maybe this is the problem let the pros do it they do this stuff every day!!! Just like a car or stereo or anything new there is bound to be a few lemons out there.This is one of the best grills I have ever owned for the price.I believe it ranks right up there with the most expensive.I would recommend this grill to everyone even the inexperienced.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from STL, MO

Great Grill. Knob Misinterpetation by Reviewers.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. I think that the people who are having issues with this grill are reading the knobs backwards. To me, it seems like the temperature indicator should be at the smaller part of the knob when, in fact, it is at the larger. When one misinterprets these indicators, it looks like it is set to clean when actually it is set to low, which is about 350. When you turn the knob to the exact opposite side and it is then on the clean mode, the temp cranks right up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Durham, NC

Awesome! Just buy it already.

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been grilling for over 20 years with both charcoal and gas grills. I spent a lot of time researching this specific grill and infrared grills in general. I was concerned about making a big investment in a new technology and then being disappointed. After all, my old grills did fine and as they say "if it ain't broke..."
I purchased this grill at HD 3 weeks ago. Since then I have grilled: burgers, brauts, chicken, vegetables and several varieties of steak. Each turned out amazingly well.
Bottom line: Stop worrying and just buy this grill.
Bullet points:
+ Heats fast;
+ Amazing searing, gorgeous grill marks on meats and vegetables;
+ No flare ups;
+ Easy to clean;
+ Very moist food (IR heats the food rather than blowing dry hot air at it like an open fire does);
+ Smokey flavor: drippings and wood chips emit smoke and add great flavor.
+ Easy to add wood chips and they don't burn... they just smoke.
It's worth repeating: The filets I've cooked on this grill were my best. Seared on the outside, evenly cooked and very moist and tender throughout.
Other stuff:
- Windy conditions cause the heat to dissipate, I blocked the front vents with aluminum foil to fix it when it is windy;
- Mid-sized cooking area, this isn't an extra large grill.
- Unknown durability... I've only had it for 3 weeks.
Hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Amazing

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money - it's amazing. Had friends over last night and grilled chicken. Tender and juicy with no crispy edges. My friends are jealous!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northern California

Charbroil infrared cooking learning experience

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought online since the delivery was free. The box showed no sign of damage. However, there was some damage to a few components - a sign that at some point the box experienced some impact. Not enough for a return and not really that obvious to the casual observer.
The quality of the "stainless" steel used in this grill is not high. I found a rust colored powder on some of the sheet metal parts, but no obvious signs of rust. I don't know how long it will last exposed to the elements.
You need to be a bit handy to assemble the grill. Forget the little stamped metal wrench tool used to tighten the casters. Use a robogrip or some pliers instead. And spread out a blanket or tarp in case you drop one of the screws or bolts.
The "infrared" grill works more like an oven than a regular gas grill. The flame heats a metal "U" that radiates the heat. It will take a bit of getting used to. The grill needs to be preheated on a high setting, otherwise it will not brown and it will take forever to cook anything. I didn't notice that the grill imparted any flavor to the chicken I grilled. It was cooked, but lacked a grill flavor. I think that I'll need to add wood chips, charcoal briquettes or herbs to add additional flavor. There were no flame-ups that would burn the meat. I'll have to experiment with different meats and wood until I figure out what works best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Located in Southern Illinois

Great grill

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered ours online. It was roughed up a little during shipping.The damage amounted to some dinged up sheet metal. After I put it together you could not tell. Heats evenly,easy to clean,sturdy burners, and it runs a long time a tank of L.P.Assembly took a little over 2hours. The instructions were relatively clear and easy to follow.No missing parts either. Some of the illustrations could have been labeled better. One other thing that I did not care for was the side burner is hard to light with the electronic starter. It seems as if the spark is too far away from the bruner holes. OveralI I really like this grill and would recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Utah

BBQ'n

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this grill 2 weeks ago and we love it! It is beautiful, cleans-up nice and easy, and cooks in taste that is perfection. The best part is that meats are left moist and not dried out. We are BBQ'n more often because the taste this grill provides is better than any other grill we have tried. We researched many grills for weeks and decided on this one and we could not be happier! Thank you Char-Broil we love your infrared grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Queens, NY

Great Grill

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although it took longer than the 30 minutes stated in the manual, in reality, it took 4 hours. Overall, I'm happy with the grill. Infrared speeds up the time it takes to cook!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from New Jersey

Peeling Labels or stickers

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill in May 2010. After putting it together upon closing the lid both sides hit the upper rack and chipped the coating off. I looked at it up and down and figured out the sides where warped in. upon gently bending back they started cracking.. Contacted Char Broil and they sent free replacements out.. Taking the top of the grill apart was not fun... plenty of screws, shields, etc.. they should have sent entire top as it is packaged. within 2 months the labels started peeling off. Again, called up and they are sending out all 3 new front panels with me paying shipping. The following day I went to Home Depot and looked at 15 Char Broil grill all with peeling letters --NEW--. I called to tell char broil that I don't want the 3 pieces sent until they are fixed from this problem.. I was told by a MANAGER that it was cosmetic and not a "Functioning" part of the grill so it is not covered.. I was so taken back. I asked her if her speedometer in her car was functional or cosmetic.. I told her you need the labels to see where you have the grill set at.. she told me you can tell from the flame height.. I told her no flame it is an infrared grill... She then told me that I can see the flames from the holes for manually lighting the grill on the side.. I could not beleive that after 2 months that this is how they treat a customer.. I talked to one of the managers on duty at the Mount Holly Home Depot her name was Valeri and explained the entire situation.. She returned it with no problem and said HD stands behind all of thier products.. Home Depot has made a customer for life.. Hats off to the customer support and great attitudes.. We need more people like this and more companies as well..
Do not puchase Char Broil as we need to send a message that you can not just take our hard earned money and walk away.. It is not fair as we work too hard for it..
Thanks HD
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Shawnee, KS

Just Buy It!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are reading the other reviews and still debating on whether to buy it, let me give you some advice. Buy it. That's what I did and I am very happy with my decision.
I bought this grill in the Spring and have enjoyed it very much. I actually converted mine to natural gas and wondered if it would get hot enough. Boy does it get hot. It is great. My other grill which was natural gas didn't come close to this and took my food a long time to cook. You have to be careful because you can easily overcook things if you don't watch it. You also need to keep the U base clean as this seems to have an affect of how hot the grill will get.
The only issue I have had with this model is remembering to turn it off after taking the food off and turing the cleaning mode on. I have left it on overnight a few times :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Grand Rapids, MI

Fantastic grill!

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided to buy this grill early this summer when my old Charbroil I bought 10 years ago died on me. I was leary of buying their 'infrared' technology, but decided to take a chance.
This isn't a typical infrared grill. If you're familiar with indirect cooking, then you already know how this grill works. It's got a big pan in the middle and the flame heats the pan. It generates a very even heat and is just like cooking with a drip pan.
It's very easy to overcook your food with this grill, but since it sears the outside quickly, it doesn't completely ruin the food. This means that you'll still have edible food while you're learning to cook on this grill, because things cook much faster. As an example, I have a recipe for a cedar roasted pork loin. On my last gas grill, it took approximately 90 minutes to cook. On this grill, the meat was overcooked in 30 minutes! But it was still tender and juicy instead of being all dried out.
In retrospect, I wish I would have purchased the "red" colored grill. This one is built better and has an automatic cleaning cycle instead of the manual cleaning cycle this one has. Although cleaning is easy (turn knobs to clean, wait 20 minutes, clean out the pan), I've forgotten the grill a couple of times and wasted quite a bit of gas.
On thing you will hear about these grills is that they save on gas, and it's true. I'm still using the same tank that I bought and I grill about every other weekend, and more frequently in the summer months.
I highly recommend this grill, but make sure you give yourself some time to adjust to it before unveiling it at that big party! I've made some of the best food I've ever cooked on mine!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Dothan, AL

Best Steaks Ever

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used an Infared Grill before but I thought I would give it a try. I have cooked steaks, sausage, ribs and chicken on this grill and it is great. Also This model has the unobstructed bowl beneath it so Clean up is a snap. I looked at some Char Broil Infared Grills at Home Depots main competitor and they looked like a nightmare to clean. Not so here. If you follow the instructions and sear the meat first before turning down the heat you will have the best steaks ever. Also it cooks chicken throughly without burning the outside to a crisp. We got some win parts from sams and grilled them up (after defrosting) and poured Kens buffalo marinade/sauce on them and got compliments from everyone present. I highly reccomend this grill, but beaware this model and style is only sold at Home Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Minneapolis, MN

Weber Inrared Poor Performer

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the grill in the summer.
Works great in warm outdoor temps.
However - cold climate beware....
It was 20 degrees outside. I had a full tank of propane and all burners were on high. It took 45 minutes to get the grill to warm-up to a wimpy 400F. Once I placed the food on the grill, it never made it over 350F. The food needed to be finished under the oven broiler.
Definetly do not purchase this product if you intend on grilling in colder climates.
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Fargo, ND

Great Grill!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was a breeze. Didn't take long at all to put together. I plan on using the new grill tonight, can't wait to try it out after hearing how well it cooks!!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Fort Bragg, Ca.

Infrared red bbq

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband had to spend a lot of time looking over the instructions to identify the parts..he said it was so little info on parts.. couldn't find where the ignition wires were.. and had to LOOK for them.. (he doesn't like to bend over) he had to get on the ground on his back to see where they were.. The assembly instructions are not really very good!! BUT WE LOVE THE BBQ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We've cook on it twice so far.. and it's fabulous!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from sanborn,mn

like it alot

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its so fast i hardly have time to finish one beer, compared to a couple before. i love the grill
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Goosecreek,South Carolina

infraRED is the way to go.

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the grill 3weeks ago used it 4 times.Roasted a whole chicken,grilled wings,grilled fish,grilled steak& grilled corn& potato.Even put some wood chips to smoke some meat and every one of them taste good & juicy.No flare-ups too.
Cleaning is easy too.Will definitely buy it again.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boston MA

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered the RED 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill on the internet, I got it about one week later, but there are some problems, two doors are bend and can not close, there is a dent on the top lid. I have to contact the online store, the line is always busy, I still have not solve the problems now. It is about more then one month from I received the grill.
-15points
1out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

So far so good.

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used it for the first time. Cooked frozen fillet Mignon's Extra thick. so it took awhile. and the outside never burnt at all. Inside was extremely juicy. Awesome grill!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>