728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(448 reviews) 447
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product328 of 420reviews
Rating Breakdown 448 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(217)
4
(110)
3
(32)
2
(29)
1
(60)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product328 of 420reviews
Customer questions and answers:
78 Questions | 185 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Crblack
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grille is fantastic for everything a home griller needs.
Don't believe the instructions about install time though. It will take 2-3 hours.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
UncleMorty

If you have Home Depot put it together, check it out first.

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased this BBQ on-line and had Home Depot put it together for no additional charge. It was ready the next day and that made me wonder if it was a floor model. Sure enough, I go to pick it up and it's covered with dust, so I had them wipe it down before they loaded it into the SUV (Hey, paid $399 + tax for it). The whole time driving home I was thinking this might have been put together in a hurry some time back.
That was the case. Had to retighten several screws; had to reconnect one burner electrode; and best of all, no owner's manual! Thought it might be in the box with the grill plates, but no, so went and downloaded from on-line. Finally connected the propane tank and went to start it. Nothing. After going through the troubleshooting guide, I finally saw to check the AA battery for the electronic ignition. Turned out that was dead and once I put in a fresh battery, no problem, all the burners fired up.
I'll update my review once we've cooked on it.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
quercus
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really cooks as well as advertised, but high maintenance?

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Agonized over this purchase--it seemed like I was either going to drop down to a conventional propane grill and expect it to fall apart in 2 years again, or spend twice as much for a Weber. Jury's still out on the durability--but I just ate the best ribs I've ever cooked, and full credit goes to this grill. FINALLY a grill that can properly hold a low temperature without flares for 3-4 hours! I'm excited to experiment more.
Now the down side--this is not a grill for the irresponsible. The emitter "trough" needs to be seasoned before the first use, and it is recommended that it be re-oiled after every use (which I don't believe anyone realistically has time to do). I'm also concerned we will go through more propane with the recommended cleaning regimen of 10-15 minutes burn-off post cooking.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Aerial

Total Junk

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor build quality. It's an absolute rust bucket. I seasoned cleaned and re-seasoned after every use. (major pain) it's easier to use a charcoal grill. After all this work it still rusted out in about a year. As far as cooking, it stinks. You have to burn the outside to get the inside of anything to cook. I've been cooking on grills and smokers for 20 years this is by far the worst product that I have owned. Looks like my food wasn't the only thing that got burn by this product. Avoid this product!!!! Save your pennies for a Weber, it's worth it.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, it's total junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Steve
Gender:Male

Good Overall Grill

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I grill at least three times per week and the grill cooks very well. The infra-red works as advertised but requires a little more cleaning time. There are no flare ups and meat is amazingly juicy. It took four to five hours to put the grill together. The push button on the starter broke in the first couple of weeks but the company sent me out a new one, which arrived in a couple days, for no cost . I had registered my grill online. I think that expedited my warranty claim so I recommend doing so. The grill has three thermometers, one over every burner. The thermometer to the far right always reads a little higher than the other two when the control knobs are set to the same spot so a keep the far right turned down a quarter turn. However, I do not know if that is an aspect of every grill or just this one as I always had just one thermometer in the past and could not compare temperatures on every area of the grill. Overall, I am very happy with the grill.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Sdf20

Great grill at good price

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had this grill for a couple of months now and it works great. This grill cooks very evenly and easy to use.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
BCW1
from Tampa

Great for 1st 18 months..then downhill from there.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Best grill I've ever owned for the first 12-18 months. Can heat to any temperature, all food tastes great. Then...
- The igniter failed in less than 1 year. I tried replacing batteries, no luck. Then the entire assembly just fell apart.
- The bigger issue is the infra-red pan/trough. Started developing a hole on left-most burner and now the entire pan has hugh holes in it. While we grill a lot, this should not happen. Very disappointed.
Cons: pan does not last, igniter broke in less than 1 year
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
JoeK

Cooks very good.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Happy with product. Cooking is quick, and everything cooks thoroughly. Only complaint is there is no way to adjust the bottom doors, which do not line up evenly. Otherwise best grill I have ever purchased, no flareup worries.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: quality of materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Fehringer1
from Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THE Best

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been through 6 grills in my day and after purchaseing snd using this unit for 2 months now I find it to be the best grill I have ever used. I've been fortunate enough to have had the chance to use even the high end grills over the years and never have I had one that can cook as good as this unit!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
CantMesWitDis
from Golden, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The infrared is where its at.

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Besides the packaging arriving damaged and a few bent pieces that I had to correct before assembling (UPS problem), this grill has been great. It cook very even across the grill and has been excellent with keeping everything moist. From chicken to steak to brats to burgers, even vegetables, everything has comes out of this grill excellent. Clean up is extremely easy with the infrared technology, no grease, oils, etc. drip onto the burners.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
BOLIVAR
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Quality Chinese made Grill.....

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought this grill home a month ago today. Home depot assembled it for me and even gave me a great discount price.....Followed the break in instructions to the letter......using the manufacturer's recommended canola oil, I coated the grills AND the heat emitter on BOTH sides, turned on all three burners to high to burn off the manufacturer oils/grease and to season the grill per instructions. After 15 minutes the temperature reached about 550 degrees or so, the smoke stopped and I shut it off......This process alone caused a portion of the top part of the (poor quality) stainless steel outer skin under the closed lid, (about three inches down and clear across the width of where the lid closes) to discolor terribly , obviously from the heat.....so I called Charbroil and they recommended I buy their $10.99 can of stainless steel cleaner/polish and that would restore it to its original luster.......NOT!! went over it three times and it still didn't come off!!!!! STRIKE 1!!!! Then I cooked several hamburgers on it (they turned out very well) and afterward, turned all three burner up to the Clean/pre-heat position for the recommended cleaning process described in the instructions........and after it cooled off, brushed the residue off the grills, and cleaned the emitter pan........A week later I went out to cook some steaks and when I raised the lid, I noticed that there was large amounts of the black glossy finish missing from the porcelain covered grills lying in the emitter pan that were not there after I had cleaned the grill a week earlier.....(STRIKE TWO!) Upon closer inspection, I noticed a whole lot more of this glossy finish flaking off and hanging loosely from all three grills YUK....sure didn't want to be injesting any of that stuff along with my T-bone steaks (STRIKE THREE!)..........so that's when I decided to return it to Home Depot for a friendly refund....and they told me they had gotten a lot of these same grills back for the very same reason.......SO SAVE YOUR MONEY.....DON'T BUY ONE OF THESE CHEAP, INFERIOR CHINESE MADE CHAR BROIL TRUE INFRARED GAS GRILLS........THEY JUST DON'T MEASURE UP.......I AM GOING TO BUY A WEBER NEXT TIME.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Billy
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

.Great product but should be supplied with bolts and not screws as it is a knuckle buster using the supplied screws.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping super. I may need a sale slip as can't seem to copy the interned form. Manufacturer needs proof of purchase.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Ninja
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Grill!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my second Char Broil infrared grill, and I must say, this one is much nicer than the "commercial grade" one I had before. Time will tell if it holds up, but I sure hope so!!
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Jason
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent grill!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grill in May 2010. It is amazing. From the fast warm up, to even cooking, to no flare ups, to the final clean-up at the end, everything about the grill is as advertised. Keep your heat below 400 degrees and you will have no problem with flare ups. Afterwards, turn the burners up and the grill quickly gets up to 650 and chars everything on the grates to a crisp. Nothing is maintenence free. You will still need to take your grates off the the bladder under them out and clean it occasionally. It's not that big of a deal really. Keep the grill covered and you'll have no problem with the exterior. The studs on the emblem (on the front of the lid) aren't stainless. So if you leave the grill uncovered, of course the rain will run down the front, behind the emblem, start the rust process and stain the front of the lid under the emblem. I researched many different brands of grills and would buy this grill over any of them. When you do the final clean up just remember you can't walk off for hours with your grill that hot. You will warp the bladder inside and even possibly burn thru it. 15 minutes is plenty. With the inside bladder catching everything from your grates, nothing gets on your burners. We grill out a lot and this thing has already paid for itself. Use common sense, clean it every once-in-a-while, keep the weather off of it, and you'll have a great grill for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+32points
39out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
GrillinTime
from Philippi, WV

Best Investment for Summer

PostedApril 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first about buying an Infrared grill because I was afraid it would not give me the same "grilled food" taste I have enjoyed over the years. After spending an hour in the store and a trip back after checking it out online I bought it. BEST INVESTMENT for summer!! I have never had better burgers, not even from restaurants. My steaks are unbelievably juicy and cooked to perfection with excellent grill marks. It heats up quickly and truly is a breeze to clean. The book mentioned temps up to 900 degrees for cleaning. I have not tested it yet but my hood temps easily reach around 400 degrees. Searing steaks is quick and it only took about eight minutes to cook a few 2 1/2 thick steaks to medium. I am very pleased with my decision.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
GregH
from Michigan

Bad Luck!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill about a month ago. The first time I used it I could not get the temp above 250 degrees. I called charbroil to question the temps. They were helpful, but after the third replacement part, hours of wasted time installing them, and a full propane tank later, I had enough. I am taking this grill back to Home Depot (They were helpful also) as soon as I can get somebody to help me lift it into my truck!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
GLR801
from South Carolina

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my red for about 3 weeks I have had no trouble getting the heat up to over 700 after reading some of the reviews I placed a thermometer on the grates themselves and the temp was well over 850 I read that one guy loved the grill it only took him an hour to put it together!!! Maybe this is the problem let the pros do it they do this stuff every day!!! Just like a car or stereo or anything new there is bound to be a few lemons out there.This is one of the best grills I have ever owned for the price.I believe it ranks right up there with the most expensive.I would recommend this grill to everyone even the inexperienced.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
dewsyuff
from STL, MO

Great Grill. Knob Misinterpetation by Reviewers.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. I think that the people who are having issues with this grill are reading the knobs backwards. To me, it seems like the temperature indicator should be at the smaller part of the knob when, in fact, it is at the larger. When one misinterprets these indicators, it looks like it is set to clean when actually it is set to low, which is about 350. When you turn the knob to the exact opposite side and it is then on the clean mode, the temp cranks right up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
JimGfromLA

initial build review

PostedJuly 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After shopping around at the local Home Depot I decided that this model most closely suited my needs for a replacement grill (the old Ducane finally bit the dust), so I picked this one up in the box and brought it home and assembled it myself. The front of the booklet says it should take 30 minutes, but 1 1/2 hours is more like it if you do like me and read the instructions. The parts were in good condition coming out of the box; nothing bent or missing. The tools I used for assembly were the following:
#2 Phillips screwdriver
#3 Phillips screwdriver
channel-lock pliers
12" crescent wrench to tighten down the spark box.
The grill assembled pretty easily following the directions in the booklet that comes with it and the screw pack was complete with all the correct screws, washers and such needed. But, be careful when removing the screws and washers as they don't give any extra ones. Use the #3 screwdriver on the largest screws as it gets a better bite on the large screws than a #2 Phillips does. Also, when you go to put the front bezel on the left (burner) side shelf, it is hard to tighten the screws due to the burner indentation in the shelf. The pliers did the trick to finish tightening those screws. And if you do like I did and use a large crescent wrench to tighten the spark box down be careful not to overtighten it as it is made of plastic and I imagine that it would strip or break easily. Other than that, it was pretty straightforward to assemble.
I am presently burning it in and it has taken around 15-20 minutes to heat up to 450 degrees on the hood thermometer. So it looks like I have one that heats well, unlike some of the other reviews on this grill. I plan to come back are re-rate this grill some months in the future and let everyone know how this grill is holding up over time for me.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
strat1955
from Florida

Charbroil red 3 burner grill

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned 3 charbroil grills and the last one was the commercial series 3 burner. I purchased the 3 burner Red about a month ago. This is by far the best one yet. I did read all of the reviews and never experienced any of the problems . I found the grill will reach about 400 to 450 on the gauge. I haven't checked it at the grates. It cooks great . Tends to cook pretty evenly. A little hotter toward the front. The infrared is really cool. No flame , no flare ups. That's why I give it a 5.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>