728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
3.976 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(750 reviews) 749
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Rating Breakdown 750 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(386)
4
(186)
3
(45)
2
(40)
1
(93)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product576 of 718reviews
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Philippi, WV

Best Investment for Summer

PostedApril 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical at first about buying an Infrared grill because I was afraid it would not give me the same "grilled food" taste I have enjoyed over the years. After spending an hour in the store and a trip back after checking it out online I bought it. BEST INVESTMENT for summer!! I have never had better burgers, not even from restaurants. My steaks are unbelievably juicy and cooked to perfection with excellent grill marks. It heats up quickly and truly is a breeze to clean. The book mentioned temps up to 900 degrees for cleaning. I have not tested it yet but my hood temps easily reach around 400 degrees. Searing steaks is quick and it only took about eight minutes to cook a few 2 1/2 thick steaks to medium. I am very pleased with my decision.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Bad Luck!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill about a month ago. The first time I used it I could not get the temp above 250 degrees. I called charbroil to question the temps. They were helpful, but after the third replacement part, hours of wasted time installing them, and a full propane tank later, I had enough. I am taking this grill back to Home Depot (They were helpful also) as soon as I can get somebody to help me lift it into my truck!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

not what I expected

PostedApril 27, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't recommend this grill. It would not heat up beyond 350 degrees even after 30 minutes on the highest setting. I had to replace the gas hose and regulator and then it still did not heat up like it was supposed to. I was told by Home depot (which was helpful) that the company would send replacement parts, but I am returning it and buying a Weber.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of time and money! Max temp 300F.

PostedMay 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few years with my Weber charcoal grill it was time to up grade. I bought the Red Infrared grill because the specs and manuals claimed that it could get the same temperatures and flavor that I'm used to with charcoal... just add wood chips. Actually the manual says that it could get up to 800F in clean mode. Imagine a grill with self-cleaning, just like my oven, a convenience I couldn’t pass. The versatility and convenience sounded too good to be true, and it was!!
The first time I use the grill I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F. Did what the Char-Broil instructions recommended and nothing changed. Went to my nearest Home Depot and a helpful and knowledgeable employee recommended a few other things. Went home tried it again and nothing. The temperature was not moving north of 350F.
After the THIRD TIME trying the grill I took it to Home Depot thinking that the grill I got was defective and exchange it for another Char-Broil Red Infrared Grill (same model).
I just spent one hour with the new grill and I can't get the temperature past 300F I even used two extra thermometers placed directly in the cooking grates to check the temperature and it will not get hotter than 300F. I also got a fresh tank when I exchanged the grill.
As with other reviewers, I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F even when trying with 2 different grills of the same model. A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!! My ten year-old oven cooks better than this grill.... I'm returning the grill tomorrow. A real disappointment.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Chicago

I'm taking it back

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I’ve owned this grill about a month now and I’ve had enough. Just like some of the other reviews, it won’t heat past 300-350 degrees. I’m tired of re-attaching the connections. I’m tired of meat with no char. I’m tired of wasting propane waiting in vain for it to heat up. I’m getting a Weber.
Otherwise, it’s a nice grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northeast Ohio

Wasted Time

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this grill thinking that the new technology would help provide better food. The problem was that it took too long to heat up to ever find out! Twenty minutes just to get to 350 degrees is too long to wait. I'll be returning this product in hopes to find something better.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from PARK CITY, UTAH

Love that Infra-red

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill with the intention of switching it to natural gas so I got the conversion kit and rotisserie at the same time.
Just like for some other reviewers, the grill would simply not heat up as claimed, 325F tops. I tried some fixes suggested by Charbroil, nothing worked. I started the conversion process to natural gas,this required replacing the original orifices with ones with much bigger apertures, after this step, I checked the flame running on propane, it worked great! All the power, 800F cleaning heat was there, and some great grilling at all settings. This infra-red is truly great new technology. (when it works.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from central ma

I'm hotter than the grill

PostedMay 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just fired up my new "RED" It will not reach temps over 425 on the clean setting (outdoor temp 75, no wind). A call to Char broil support line and I am informed that this is normal for this grill and I am lucky to get that high of a temp! Their answer as to why the manual states the clean temp is up to 800 and I can only get to 425: the thermometer is measuring the air temp (no kidding?), and I need to get a grill level thermometer. The thermometer probe is only 6-7 inches above the grill. Can't be a differnce of 375 between them.
Sorry, but the manual should not list temps the themometer will never see. This one is going back to HD to be replaced by a Weber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boynton Beach, FL

I ADMIT IT....I WAS WRONG...

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My last review said that I wouldn't recommend it. I take that back now. Apparently, it just needed an adjustment. The first few times we used it, we couldn't get the heat past 300 degrees - even on "clean". (By the way, we used the Natural Gas conversion kit). Today, we blew out the gas line and tightened the orifices and low and behold... it heated up to 700 degrees immediately! So, we just tried it and there is no steakhouse anywhere that makes better burgers! It sears on 600 degrees, BBQ's on 300 degrees - everything it says it would do, it does! I didn't want anyone to not buy it because of my last review. When I'm wrong, I admit it! So, to anyone out there who is not getting the BBQ hot enough, try to adjust the orifices or call the 800 number. It WILL get hot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from South Carolina

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had my red for about 3 weeks I have had no trouble getting the heat up to over 700 after reading some of the reviews I placed a thermometer on the grates themselves and the temp was well over 850 I read that one guy loved the grill it only took him an hour to put it together!!! Maybe this is the problem let the pros do it they do this stuff every day!!! Just like a car or stereo or anything new there is bound to be a few lemons out there.This is one of the best grills I have ever owned for the price.I believe it ranks right up there with the most expensive.I would recommend this grill to everyone even the inexperienced.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Plano, Texas

My $449 Red Heated up to 500F first time

PostedMay 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just got back from HD, bought the grill ($ 449) preassembled. I hooked up tank, cleaned it, and after 15 minutes on "clean" setting grill temp (according to the temp guage on the lid) was at 500F.
Have not tried it for cooking yet.. But I do note the lid is not that "sturdy", compared with the other "$599 Red" model at my local HD.
So so far so good..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

bbq = good

PostedJune 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised at the negative reviews about this grill. I never review products and felt like this deserved a better rating than what it currently has.
I got this about a week ago, used it several times since then and it's working flawlessly. Best smoked/bbq'ed chicken I've ever made. Did corn, vegetables, hamburgers and steak also, everything came out awesome, moist and savory.
It's a poor workman who blames his tools.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from STL, MO

Great Grill. Knob Misinterpetation by Reviewers.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great grill. I think that the people who are having issues with this grill are reading the knobs backwards. To me, it seems like the temperature indicator should be at the smaller part of the knob when, in fact, it is at the larger. When one misinterprets these indicators, it looks like it is set to clean when actually it is set to low, which is about 350. When you turn the knob to the exact opposite side and it is then on the clean mode, the temp cranks right up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boise, ID

Spectacular product

PostedJune 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just incredible. The Char-Broil Red makes every grilling experience successful and always rewards you with a great meal! We spent hours reading reviews and made several trips to different retailers. We were ready to buy a Weber Genesis when the Char-Broil Red infra-red concept at Home Depot caught our attention. The open cavity under the grate doesn't inspire confidence - you can't see the flame - it doesn't look like it could work. But it seemed like most reviewers really liked these grills. Now we regard the patented design as ingenious.
We took it home assembled and did the natural gas conversion. This grill is amazing. It heats up fast and cooks fast. We have grilled steak, chicken, fish, potatoe slices and even baked artisan bread. It takes raw shrimp and turns them into golden orange morsels with incredible flavor. You don't even turn over shrimp or sliced potatoes because the heat penetrates the food and cooks right through the top, kind of like a microwave, but it never dries out food. Steak is always tender and juicy and tastes like a better grade. Everything it cooks is delicious and has a beautiful grilled appearance with great grill marks. Food cooks fast, but it doesn't burn. A handful of wood chips adds rich smoky flavor to anything. The side burner works great – it boils a heavy pot of corn in no time.
Cleanup is easy - just brush a few times and ash drops into the trough which can be emptied occasionally, but there is no grease cup and no need for one because it just falls into the trough.
The same infra-red trough that makes this grill work also protects the insides from moisture and corrosive grease because the area under the grate is completely separated from the burners. It is just an incomparable design. Flareups never happen - grease never falls into flame. The trough design also accommodates a huge turkey on the rotisserie because you can lift the grates out and there is open space underneath instead of rows of burner tents.
We bought the basic 3-burner and you can tell we like it. Some reviewers describe frustration getting enough heat. Please realize that the lid has a thermal barrier inside which keeps the top cooler to touch, and the temp gauge is behind an inner barrier plate. This may give lower readings on the gauge, but there is more heat than you can use. The gauge moves right up to read 350 in 15 minutes and climbs on up to 450. We turn it on and start cooking in 5-7 minutes, and always back off on the heat - steaks cook in 12-15 minutes. The high heat 'cleaning mode' is effective and reduces crusty residue to ash. Thank you Char-Broil for a great product. What a machine!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from York, PA

From a "grill snob"

PostedJune 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ok, first let me admit it - I am a "grill snob". :)
I have a 10 year old Broilmaster C3 that has been a workhorse. The stainless burner has finally 'given up' - it split along the weld line. I now have a 'blow torch' going on in the center of the grill. I can't complain - 10 years outside and exposed to the elements (in PA - so snow, rain, etc) and I grill year-round. It's been VERY low maintenance.
Looking to replace the cast iron grates and burner would run me $300-$400 plus shipping.
We are putting in a patio and outdoor kitchen next spring, so I figured I would look at HD and see what they have available in the same price range as replacement parts for my trusty Broilmaster, strictly as a "get by" grill.
The 3-zone Red is exactly what I was looking for - just in my price range with HEAVYporcelin coated cast iron grates (don't underestimate the type of grate included with your grill purchase - it is one of my first things to look at). Cast iron is excellent for making those pretty 'grill marks' and it holds heat so well.
The Red is simply not a "lifetime" grill. The construction quality makes that quite evident, but with proper care and attention there is no reason you shouldn't get 5+ happy grilling years out of it.
First cooking impressions (a grill is hardly useful if you can't cook on it after all) were very favorable. The grill heated up to about 500 deg (measured via hood thermometer) in about 15 minutes on a warm day (70s) with a slight breeze. For kicks maybe next time I'll grab my infrared thermometer and get a reading on the grates.
Marinated Flank Steak (aka London Broil) was the first victim. It turned out every bit as nice as steaks cooked on my Broilmaster. Less flare-up (none after the initial marinade run-off) very nice grill marks, cooked to medium rare in pretty much the same time as my old grill.
Overall - for what it cost, I'm quite satisfied with this grill and even after the outdoor kitchen is completed, will continue to use it as an extra or 'quick dinner/lunch' grill.
I hope that I didn't get 'lucky' with my grill, having it work right out of the box compared to other reviews. The quality of construction is pretty much what I would expect on a grill for this price range.
Thin sheet metal and light gauge stainless steel indicate it is going to be a "5 year disposable grill", but the cooking experience so far has been excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Fairfield, Ca

Totally Satisfied

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many years of having a charcoal bbq it was time to purchase a new one - I wanted to try switching to a gas grill but I was just a little afraid of spending money on something that I might not like - After talking with several people and looking at all the choices not to mention all the trips to Home Depot - I finally decided to give the Char-Broil Red Infrared Gas Grill 3-Zone a try - I'm sure glad I did - This grill was easy to start and the temperture gauge rose to grilling temp in no time - The marinated tri-tip we first grilled turned out so moist and with a lot of favor - The clean-up was also fast and easy - This is one grill that I would recommend to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Denver, CO

Great Grill

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the first grill I've owned, but not the first I've used. I just purchased it this past weekend, and its inaugural use yesterday was outstanding. I set it on the clean setting to warm up as suggested by the manual, and it easily achieved an internal ambient temp (according to the built-in hood thermometer) of 600 degrees F. I was duly impressed. I lowered the temperature a bit to cook my food, and all the food came out perfectly. Grilled potatoes, corn on the cob, chicken kabobs, and ribeyes, and they all came out perfectly and evenly cooked; the sear setting made beautiful sear marks on the steaks.
The only reason I won't give the grill 5 stars is the quality of construction. It is decent, but could be better. The assembly was a bit time consuming, and the quality of the parts (very thin sheet metal and low grade stainless) left a little to be desired. Still, the grill performs admirably, and I would absolutely purchase it again if I had it to do over again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>