728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
4.009 / 5
4
 / 
5
(708 reviews) 707
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product549 of 676reviews
Rating Breakdown 708 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(370)
4
(174)
3
(45)
2
(38)
1
(81)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product549 of 676reviews
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Plano, Texas

My $449 Red Heated up to 500F first time

PostedMay 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just got back from HD, bought the grill ($ 449) preassembled. I hooked up tank, cleaned it, and after 15 minutes on "clean" setting grill temp (according to the temp guage on the lid) was at 500F.
Have not tried it for cooking yet.. But I do note the lid is not that "sturdy", compared with the other "$599 Red" model at my local HD.
So so far so good..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

not what I expected

PostedApril 27, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't recommend this grill. It would not heat up beyond 350 degrees even after 30 minutes on the highest setting. I had to replace the gas hose and regulator and then it still did not heat up like it was supposed to. I was told by Home depot (which was helpful) that the company would send replacement parts, but I am returning it and buying a Weber.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boynton Beach, FL

I ADMIT IT....I WAS WRONG...

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last review said that I wouldn't recommend it. I take that back now. Apparently, it just needed an adjustment. The first few times we used it, we couldn't get the heat past 300 degrees - even on "clean". (By the way, we used the Natural Gas conversion kit). Today, we blew out the gas line and tightened the orifices and low and behold... it heated up to 700 degrees immediately! So, we just tried it and there is no steakhouse anywhere that makes better burgers! It sears on 600 degrees, BBQ's on 300 degrees - everything it says it would do, it does! I didn't want anyone to not buy it because of my last review. When I'm wrong, I admit it! So, to anyone out there who is not getting the BBQ hot enough, try to adjust the orifices or call the 800 number. It WILL get hot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from South Carolina

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my red for about 3 weeks I have had no trouble getting the heat up to over 700 after reading some of the reviews I placed a thermometer on the grates themselves and the temp was well over 850 I read that one guy loved the grill it only took him an hour to put it together!!! Maybe this is the problem let the pros do it they do this stuff every day!!! Just like a car or stereo or anything new there is bound to be a few lemons out there.This is one of the best grills I have ever owned for the price.I believe it ranks right up there with the most expensive.I would recommend this grill to everyone even the inexperienced.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of time and money! Max temp 300F.

PostedMay 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a few years with my Weber charcoal grill it was time to up grade. I bought the Red Infrared grill because the specs and manuals claimed that it could get the same temperatures and flavor that I'm used to with charcoal... just add wood chips. Actually the manual says that it could get up to 800F in clean mode. Imagine a grill with self-cleaning, just like my oven, a convenience I couldn’t pass. The versatility and convenience sounded too good to be true, and it was!!
The first time I use the grill I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F. Did what the Char-Broil instructions recommended and nothing changed. Went to my nearest Home Depot and a helpful and knowledgeable employee recommended a few other things. Went home tried it again and nothing. The temperature was not moving north of 350F.
After the THIRD TIME trying the grill I took it to Home Depot thinking that the grill I got was defective and exchange it for another Char-Broil Red Infrared Grill (same model).
I just spent one hour with the new grill and I can't get the temperature past 300F I even used two extra thermometers placed directly in the cooking grates to check the temperature and it will not get hotter than 300F. I also got a fresh tank when I exchanged the grill.
As with other reviewers, I couldn't get the temperature higher than 300F even when trying with 2 different grills of the same model. A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!! My ten year-old oven cooks better than this grill.... I'm returning the grill tomorrow. A real disappointment.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Santa Barbara County, CA

Skeptical at first, but we LOVE it!!!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews on this site I was very skeptical about this grill. I knew I wanted to try the infrared grills but it was a toss up between this one and spending $150 more for the next model with the same number of burners. After much debate my husband and I chose this model and decided if anything were wrong with it right off the bat it would go back immediately. We took it home yesterday and put it together in about 2 hours with the both of us working on it. We only had one real hang-up in the directions in which it was a little vague/confusing. The rest of the directions however were very simple to understand if you actually take the time to read them, and have some common sense, you'll be fine.
As far as the grills performance.... we attached the propane tank and turned it on for about 40 mins to let it burn off all of the oils used in production as well as the plastic like smell that it had at initial lighting. The grill thermometer on the grill lid measures the AIR temp, not the grate temp. So if you are having major issues with the temp not rising, first try getting a cheap little grill thermometer (usually around $8) and set that on the grill grates. We found that within 15 mins or so we were at 400 degrees, and ultimately it reached about 600 degrees before we turned it off. Even when the grill grates were at 600 degrees, the grill's lid thermometer only read 425. So this is something to keep in mind. If you are having problems with it getting to high temps at all, I read from other reviews that adjusting the orifices will take care of your problem.
As far as the food grilled... I guess the rest is all just fluff if it doesn't grill good food. SO the verdict is.... amazingly juicy chicken and burgers!! That’s all we have tried so far, but let me tell you, we decided to test how juicy it actually would keep the meat so we used skinless chicken breasts, and man! they came out the juiciest and most tender breasts ever with great grill marks! The cooking time was also shorter as promised, something we were quite happy about because less gas is used and therefore less dollars spent.
All in all, we love the grill. It has great aesthetics, great grilling abilities, and shorter cooking times. This skeptic has turned into a believer!
NOTE: please do yourselves a favor and buy the $49 grill cover. Why let your investment unnecessarily rust away?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from quincy MA

infrared cooks

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I looked at the reviews and was sceptical about the grill being hot enough. WOW it gets plenty hot enough. I've used it everynight but one since we brought it home. Burgers, keilbasa, ribs, steaks all were great. I still need to get the feel of time that cooking takes. Easy to clean and no flame to flare up and burn you or the food. Best grill I ever used.
The wheels could be bigger if you need to move it over grass although I'm sure that a deck or patio would be fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

initial build review

PostedJuly 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After shopping around at the local Home Depot I decided that this model most closely suited my needs for a replacement grill (the old Ducane finally bit the dust), so I picked this one up in the box and brought it home and assembled it myself. The front of the booklet says it should take 30 minutes, but 1 1/2 hours is more like it if you do like me and read the instructions. The parts were in good condition coming out of the box; nothing bent or missing. The tools I used for assembly were the following:
#2 Phillips screwdriver
#3 Phillips screwdriver
channel-lock pliers
12" crescent wrench to tighten down the spark box.
The grill assembled pretty easily following the directions in the booklet that comes with it and the screw pack was complete with all the correct screws, washers and such needed. But, be careful when removing the screws and washers as they don't give any extra ones. Use the #3 screwdriver on the largest screws as it gets a better bite on the large screws than a #2 Phillips does. Also, when you go to put the front bezel on the left (burner) side shelf, it is hard to tighten the screws due to the burner indentation in the shelf. The pliers did the trick to finish tightening those screws. And if you do like I did and use a large crescent wrench to tighten the spark box down be careful not to overtighten it as it is made of plastic and I imagine that it would strip or break easily. Other than that, it was pretty straightforward to assemble.
I am presently burning it in and it has taken around 15-20 minutes to heat up to 450 degrees on the hood thermometer. So it looks like I have one that heats well, unlike some of the other reviews on this grill. I plan to come back are re-rate this grill some months in the future and let everyone know how this grill is holding up over time for me.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from STL, MO

Great Grill. Knob Misinterpetation by Reviewers.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. I think that the people who are having issues with this grill are reading the knobs backwards. To me, it seems like the temperature indicator should be at the smaller part of the knob when, in fact, it is at the larger. When one misinterprets these indicators, it looks like it is set to clean when actually it is set to low, which is about 350. When you turn the knob to the exact opposite side and it is then on the clean mode, the temp cranks right up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Woodstock GA

Made the switch!

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK I guarantee nothing for anyone else but this infrared grill is amazing. Gets super hot super fast! Steak was incredible. I have a big green egg but this will be my "end of the day - I need to cook something fast" grill. No hotspots. Even temperature. I see why consumer reports so highly recommended this grill. I went back and forth in the store yesterday on whether I wanted to make the switch from gas to IR. Glad I made th switch. And hope you have as great of an experience as I did. Cheers!
+38points
80out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Duluth, MN

Char-Broil RED Infrared Gas Grill 3-Zone

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this last weekend and it is going back to the store this weekend. Do not buy this!
The side burner never worked. We can hear it getting gas but it will not ignite without a match. The 3 main burners all have good flame and they ignite easily but it does not get hot! Even with all 3 main burners on CLEAN, it just barely got to over 300 in over an hour!
We are going to go with a Weber gas grill instead. Excellent reviews on them. The only thing I do not like about the Webers is the controls on the side table and that is really why we went with the Char-Broil.
This grill seemed to make sense at the time we selected it, less flare-ups, easy clean up, etc but grilling is all about cooking over fire and that is where the flavor comes from. So in my opinion, even if it did work, it's one big expensive cast iron pan. No diferent than cooking in the house on my stove.
Very, very disappointed in this grill, especially after more than 2 hours putting it together and we'll have to put the Weber together as well. I hope the manager at Home Depot will do something for us.
We also like to grill all year round, even in the dead of a northern MN winter so we need something that can put out the heat.
Sorry, but I cannot recommend any of the Char-Broil Infra Reds.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Philippi, WV

Best Investment for Summer

PostedApril 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first about buying an Infrared grill because I was afraid it would not give me the same "grilled food" taste I have enjoyed over the years. After spending an hour in the store and a trip back after checking it out online I bought it. BEST INVESTMENT for summer!! I have never had better burgers, not even from restaurants. My steaks are unbelievably juicy and cooked to perfection with excellent grill marks. It heats up quickly and truly is a breeze to clean. The book mentioned temps up to 900 degrees for cleaning. I have not tested it yet but my hood temps easily reach around 400 degrees. Searing steaks is quick and it only took about eight minutes to cook a few 2 1/2 thick steaks to medium. I am very pleased with my decision.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from kingston ny

best buy

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best grill i ever had.....meat cook well not burn................
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Valencia, CA

Initial setup

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With some trepidation, I've taken the leap of faith, purchased, and just finished the assembly. Relieved to see that the temp gauge on top reached over 600+ degrees on the initial cleaning and burn-in. It looks very handsome on the patio!
The manual says assembly should take 30 minutes. Ha! I'm a mechanically inclined guy with good tools, and it took me an hour and 45 minutes. That's with no breaks, confusion, or re-do's. Straight thru start to finish. I think it would take just as long to build a second one, even with experience. Speaking of tools, the provided wrench for the castors doesn't even fit or grip the castor - slips right off, but that was no real problem - I just hand tightened them.
Manual says it takes 2 people to lift and align the top part onto the bottom part, but I was able to do it myself. An earlier post mentioned the knobs - they do point backwards from what you'd think, but you get used to it. (you'll have to see it to understand).
Well now I'm off to the grocery store too pickup some ribeyes for the big test. I'll try to remember to post the results!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Michigan

Bad Luck!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill about a month ago. The first time I used it I could not get the temp above 250 degrees. I called charbroil to question the temps. They were helpful, but after the third replacement part, hours of wasted time installing them, and a full propane tank later, I had enough. I am taking this grill back to Home Depot (They were helpful also) as soon as I can get somebody to help me lift it into my truck!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Located in Southern Illinois

Great grill

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered ours online. It was roughed up a little during shipping.The damage amounted to some dinged up sheet metal. After I put it together you could not tell. Heats evenly,easy to clean,sturdy burners, and it runs a long time a tank of L.P.Assembly took a little over 2hours. The instructions were relatively clear and easy to follow.No missing parts either. Some of the illustrations could have been labeled better. One other thing that I did not care for was the side burner is hard to light with the electronic starter. It seems as if the spark is too far away from the bruner holes. OveralI I really like this grill and would recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Little Rock

Great grill!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 12 years of continuous use, I ran my previous Weber into the ground so I needed a new one. I bought this grill after reading Consumer Reports as it was highly rated. I used the same cooking techniques of the Weber on this one (MOM), and so far everything has turned out great. I've cooked a 2" steak and hamburgers on it "perfectly". We took advantage of the free shipping, and my husband was able to put it together without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Chicago

I'm taking it back

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I’ve owned this grill about a month now and I’ve had enough. Just like some of the other reviews, it won’t heat past 300-350 degrees. I’m tired of re-attaching the connections. I’m tired of meat with no char. I’m tired of wasting propane waiting in vain for it to heat up. I’m getting a Weber.
Otherwise, it’s a nice grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>