728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Overall rating:
4.005 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(726 reviews) 725
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product563 of 694reviews
Rating Breakdown 726 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(379)
4
(179)
3
(45)
2
(39)
1
(84)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product563 of 694reviews
Customer questions and answers:
91 Questions | 251 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
Review 1 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Long Island, NY

Great

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like most people read the reviews for this grill and was a little worried about some of them. Between the online rep. and my local HD salesperson I made the decision to try the grill. I bought the grill about 6 weeks ago and have put it through its paces. I have made chicken, turkey , duck, and pork on the rotisserie with different kinds of wood chips and or rubs, the result was no less than perfect. I have plank cooked fish, I bought the fry pan insert and cooked everything from bacon to tater tots. The first 3 weeks I ran with propane and the last 3 I have converted to Natural Gas and not once after reading the directions before using my grill did I have a problem. The amount of control this grill gives you is unbelievable. This grill gives you allot of bang for the buck.The only complaint that I have with this grill is that there is no place to hang my grilling tools.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from quincy MA

infrared cooks

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I looked at the reviews and was sceptical about the grill being hot enough. WOW it gets plenty hot enough. I've used it everynight but one since we brought it home. Burgers, keilbasa, ribs, steaks all were great. I still need to get the feel of time that cooking takes. Easy to clean and no flame to flare up and burn you or the food. Best grill I ever used.
The wheels could be bigger if you need to move it over grass although I'm sure that a deck or patio would be fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Ca

Fathers day grill

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift . was not sure since I have only used a Char broil basic grill in past . It came assembled , heated it up about 20 min , got up to 450 on temp gauge , I put a temp on the grates they were at 550. Steaks came out flavor ful , moist . Clean up was easy , just burn every thing off. I fell it did not get up to heat level as they say my max on grates was 550. still that seemed to do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from kingston ny

best buy

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
best grill i ever had.....meat cook well not burn................
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

initial build review

PostedJuly 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After shopping around at the local Home Depot I decided that this model most closely suited my needs for a replacement grill (the old Ducane finally bit the dust), so I picked this one up in the box and brought it home and assembled it myself. The front of the booklet says it should take 30 minutes, but 1 1/2 hours is more like it if you do like me and read the instructions. The parts were in good condition coming out of the box; nothing bent or missing. The tools I used for assembly were the following:
#2 Phillips screwdriver
#3 Phillips screwdriver
channel-lock pliers
12" crescent wrench to tighten down the spark box.
The grill assembled pretty easily following the directions in the booklet that comes with it and the screw pack was complete with all the correct screws, washers and such needed. But, be careful when removing the screws and washers as they don't give any extra ones. Use the #3 screwdriver on the largest screws as it gets a better bite on the large screws than a #2 Phillips does. Also, when you go to put the front bezel on the left (burner) side shelf, it is hard to tighten the screws due to the burner indentation in the shelf. The pliers did the trick to finish tightening those screws. And if you do like I did and use a large crescent wrench to tighten the spark box down be careful not to overtighten it as it is made of plastic and I imagine that it would strip or break easily. Other than that, it was pretty straightforward to assemble.
I am presently burning it in and it has taken around 15-20 minutes to heat up to 450 degrees on the hood thermometer. So it looks like I have one that heats well, unlike some of the other reviews on this grill. I plan to come back are re-rate this grill some months in the future and let everyone know how this grill is holding up over time for me.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Duluth, MN

Char-Broil RED Infrared Gas Grill 3-Zone

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this last weekend and it is going back to the store this weekend. Do not buy this!
The side burner never worked. We can hear it getting gas but it will not ignite without a match. The 3 main burners all have good flame and they ignite easily but it does not get hot! Even with all 3 main burners on CLEAN, it just barely got to over 300 in over an hour!
We are going to go with a Weber gas grill instead. Excellent reviews on them. The only thing I do not like about the Webers is the controls on the side table and that is really why we went with the Char-Broil.
This grill seemed to make sense at the time we selected it, less flare-ups, easy clean up, etc but grilling is all about cooking over fire and that is where the flavor comes from. So in my opinion, even if it did work, it's one big expensive cast iron pan. No diferent than cooking in the house on my stove.
Very, very disappointed in this grill, especially after more than 2 hours putting it together and we'll have to put the Weber together as well. I hope the manager at Home Depot will do something for us.
We also like to grill all year round, even in the dead of a northern MN winter so we need something that can put out the heat.
Sorry, but I cannot recommend any of the Char-Broil Infra Reds.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Los Angeles, CA

1 year in - grill falling apart

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When i bought this grill last summer for $399 it performed amazing - steaks cooked fast and they were ridiculously juicy. Grill got up to 650 degrees in the blink of an eye. Now that its getting to be grill weather, i have been using the grill 3-4 times a week and this time around the temperature gets up to 400 degrees maximum. I've tried every trick with the regulator and i've inspected the venturi and all...this grill just flat out stopped getting hot. I am going to HD and demanding my money back. One of the salespeople told me that she won't let anyone buy this grill b/c they are getting a ton of returns with the same issue as mine. Also, the stainless is a joke - it is beginning to rust, even with religious use of a cover. The paint used for the knob settings rubs off when you try to clean it...I thought i was getting a top of the line infrared grill and now i have a rusting hunk of metal in my backyard. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from San Francisco, CA

Excellent

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love how you can have marnate your meat and not have the whole grill go up in flames. Great grill!!! Love it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Fort Knox, KY

3-Zone Infrared Gas Grill

PostedMay 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Following the assembly instructions, it took longer than 30 minutes to assemble. I did take my time to ensure proper placement of all parts. My total assembly time was about 2 1/2 hours. I noticed others had problems with the wheels. When installing the wheels the provided wrench did not help when tightening down the wheels. I used an adjustable spanner wrench to ensure the wheels were secured to the frame. Should be no problem with wheels falling off here.
The overall assembly was straightforward and simple to follow. The pictures really helped to clarify part placement. I would suggest you assemble your grill at the location you plan to use it. The grill is rather large and heavy. No problem moving my grill once assembled.
Again, following the instructions I ran a burn in proceedure to burn away the factory oils used in production. After about 7 minutes my grill achieved 700 degrees and burnt off any oils. Everything went smooth and trouble free, just the assembly time is more than 30 minutes, believe me when I say that!
My first use was also shortly after assembly. Again, using the Red book provided I started my grill and switched to clean for about 7 minutes. The grill was nice and hot (700 degrees) when I set the temp to regular cooking for my T-bones. One thing I suggest is to carefully watch your grill until you become famailar with the way it cooks. The experience is different and this grill cooks really fast. My steaks used to take up to 30 minutes to cook (1/2 inch cut) but with my new Red the time was about 5 minutes. The steaks tasted great.
After cooking I set the burners to clean for about 10 minutes. Although the temp. reached about 725 degrees, not everything was reduced to ash. A good cleaning with a Char-Broil brush did the trick. I also recommed coating the grates with an oil to protect them until next use. A great experience with a great grill. Char-Broil is on to something here.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Northern California

Charbroil infrared cooking learning experience

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought online since the delivery was free. The box showed no sign of damage. However, there was some damage to a few components - a sign that at some point the box experienced some impact. Not enough for a return and not really that obvious to the casual observer.
The quality of the "stainless" steel used in this grill is not high. I found a rust colored powder on some of the sheet metal parts, but no obvious signs of rust. I don't know how long it will last exposed to the elements.
You need to be a bit handy to assemble the grill. Forget the little stamped metal wrench tool used to tighten the casters. Use a robogrip or some pliers instead. And spread out a blanket or tarp in case you drop one of the screws or bolts.
The "infrared" grill works more like an oven than a regular gas grill. The flame heats a metal "U" that radiates the heat. It will take a bit of getting used to. The grill needs to be preheated on a high setting, otherwise it will not brown and it will take forever to cook anything. I didn't notice that the grill imparted any flavor to the chicken I grilled. It was cooked, but lacked a grill flavor. I think that I'll need to add wood chips, charcoal briquettes or herbs to add additional flavor. There were no flame-ups that would burn the meat. I'll have to experiment with different meats and wood until I figure out what works best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Valencia, CA

Followup review

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had the grill 2 weeks now, and I'm VERY happy. I was concerned at first since this is a "new fangled" way of grilling, but I'm a convert.
The best part about this is the convenience of gas, with the ability to put hickory chips in the well and get the smoke flavoring, so it's the best of 2 worlds. Other bonuses are cooking speed, easy cleanup, no flareups etc. You do have to be careful because it cooks faster, but once you learn the new timing, food comes off the grill perfectly without burns from flareups, tasting great from the added hickory. Go for it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Utah

BBQ'n

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this grill 2 weeks ago and we love it! It is beautiful, cleans-up nice and easy, and cooks in taste that is perfection. The best part is that meats are left moist and not dried out. We are BBQ'n more often because the taste this grill provides is better than any other grill we have tried. We researched many grills for weeks and decided on this one and we could not be happier! Thank you Char-Broil we love your infrared grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Queens, NY

Great Grill

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although it took longer than the 30 minutes stated in the manual, in reality, it took 4 hours. Overall, I'm happy with the grill. Infrared speeds up the time it takes to cook!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Caguas, Puerto Rico

Excellent product

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The grill gets super hot in a matter of minutes. Steaks, ribs and chicken are well done quickly. Even temperature around the cooking area. Having one now I see why consumer reports so highly recommended this grill. Cleaining is easy. Strongly recommend this great grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Chicago

I'm taking it back

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I’ve owned this grill about a month now and I’ve had enough. Just like some of the other reviews, it won’t heat past 300-350 degrees. I’m tired of re-attaching the connections. I’m tired of meat with no char. I’m tired of wasting propane waiting in vain for it to heat up. I’m getting a Weber.
Otherwise, it’s a nice grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from cincinnati

Works great, solid purchase

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill has been great, im not sure why its getting such negative reviews! Ive been using it now for about 3 weeks and works wonders.
It heats up pretty quickly and have no problems getting temperatures over 300 degrees. It took me about an hour or so to get it put together.
Id reccomend before using it that you run it on "clean" for about an hour or two to remvoe some of the greese and oil that coats the metal from the factory ( there isnt much but better safe than sorry)
Overall its a pretty good grill, not as good as your $700-900 grills but for the price it cant be beat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Shawnee, KS

Just Buy It!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are reading the other reviews and still debating on whether to buy it, let me give you some advice. Buy it. That's what I did and I am very happy with my decision.
I bought this grill in the Spring and have enjoyed it very much. I actually converted mine to natural gas and wondered if it would get hot enough. Boy does it get hot. It is great. My other grill which was natural gas didn't come close to this and took my food a long time to cook. You have to be careful because you can easily overcook things if you don't watch it. You also need to keep the U base clean as this seems to have an affect of how hot the grill will get.
The only issue I have had with this model is remembering to turn it off after taking the food off and turing the cleaning mode on. I have left it on overnight a few times :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Conner Montana

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great grill. It gives the food an excellent flavor and keeps it very juicy. Clean up is a breeze. I'm very glad we bought it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from York, Maine

Don't Worry...Be Happy

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read a number of existing reviews before deciding to purchase this grill. I was slightly concerned about the one in which the reviewer described his inability to get "Red" to heat above 250-300 degrees.
I ordered the grill and was able to assemble it with little difficulty. I DID discover a couple of mistakes in the assembly instructions, wherein the verbal description did not match the accompanying diagram. However, this was not a big problem and the customer service people at CharBroil confirmed my assertions about the mistakes, which I felt I had found. Once those two minor issues were sorted out, I was able to continue to assemble the grill with no problem, despite the fact that I am anything but gifted when it comes to this sort of thing. However, I have to say that the estimated assembly time of 30 minutes must be based on the assumption that you have two complete NASCAR pit crews at the ready,from the minute the various unassembled parts are removed from the carton, in which it arrives.
Regarding the performance of the grill, it works very well, indeed. When I fired it up for the first time to clean it and burn off any residual oil from the manufacturing process, in just under 15 minutes, it was cranking at nearly 700 degrees.
I've only used the grill a couple of times so far, but it heats very efficiently, provides even heat distribution and is a joy to use. If I had it to do over again, I would buy this grill again, without reservation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner
from Boston

Great Grill BUT.....

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Best Grill ever but a few issues. First YES the decals peel off and Char Broil will NOT do anything about it, hey said its cosmetic. Second issue is after only 3 months of almost daily use (yes we love to cook outside) The "U" is starting to rust. I have a service ticket opened with char broil, they want pictures etc.. I have sent all they wanted in and will see what they plan on doing about this. Mind you I clean after each use by the burn off method and then wipe out what remains. This grill sears to perfection BUT I must warn you the grates are a son of a gun to clean. After all the gas grills I have owned this is the best IF charbroil does not fix the U issue then it may well turn out to be the worst because without the U it won't work. OH I do keep it covered with a heavy duty grill cover so I know its not exposed to elements. I will update when I hear back from company. I can't imagine having to buy a new U every year, its only $40 but it should not rust in 3 months.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>