728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED

2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED

The Melnor 2-Zone Water Timer helps you water 2 separate areas with 1 faucet. Perfect for gardeners who need to manage multiple watering zones, the timer is easy to program and has a start-delay feature. Compatible with drip and soaker hoses.
Overall rating:
2.587 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
walknblues

Don't buy it will fail

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this about 4 months ago and it worked fine. A couple weeks ago I noticed that the ground around the plants for this timer was saturated. The timer had failed with the valve stuck OPEN. I got my water bill last week and it went from around $120 to $175. I'll never buy another Vigoro product. The only reason I gave this one star is because I have to put in something. See attached pics. One shows the timer "off" the other shows the sprinkler watering.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
BJJohnson
from Austin, TX

Waste of money

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I bought two of these last year (2010). The units worked very well....for one year. This year, I installed new batteries and tested the units - neither worked.
On one of the units, one of the valves is stuck open. I hear the motor running to close the valve, but nothing happens other than a periodic click. Either the valve is stuck open, or the "brains" in the thing is confused and is trying to open the valve rather than close it. After a few seconds, the motor stops and the low battery light flashes. The batteries are good (I even tried another set of new ones), I think the flashing indicates an error.
On the other unit, neither valve is open, but both motors run. Again I hear the periodic clicking, but nothing happens. After a few seconds, the motors stop and the low battery light flashes (error).
For $40 ($80 total), I expected something that was going to last more than one summer. I even covered the units last summer to protect them from the elements because I wanted them to last - obviously a waste of time. Additionally, the units are sealed, so you can't get into them to clean them without destroying them.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Anonymous
from Denver, CO

Needs a clock

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this two-zone timer so that I could water my garden and my lawn different amounts on different days. The lack of a clock - allowing you to set it to water at a specific time of day - is a major flaw in the design. If you want to water in the early predawn hours, which is when one should water in hot dry Denver, you need to be up at that hour to set it.
That was annoying enough, but then, after a very early morning spent setting it, the unit short circuited after our first rain (my spigot is up against the house but not fully sheltered).
You will be much better off buying two $20 single-zone programmable timers with clocks than wasting $40 on this disappointing and inferior product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
smackie6213
from Springfield, VA

Very poor quality product

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Failed right out of the box. Valves cycled constantly and Low Battery light flashed with brand new batteries. Taking it back.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
TJ88
from Beaverton, OR

Only worked one season

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased summer 2010 and not working as of spring 2011. The low battery light blinking even when install fresh batteries. Tried different fresh store-bought batteries and still the battery light blinks. Valve froze in the open position. Else, very intuitive all-in-one design. Why can't products just work? Very frustrating.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
watermiser
from South Coast Oregon

Love it!

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the fourth one I have purchased over the past years. It is the only one I have found that can program two different lines. Not having an exact time to program has not been a big problem, I just go out about the time of day I want one to run and set the timer, then go back at the time I want the other to run and it's done! I have learned, the hard way to not leave them out over winter, as the battery compartment will get wet and die. Granted, mine are placed horizontally in the garden, not vertically as it would probably prevent this. The line was already in place, and I have not dug it up to change the configuration.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
evolevets55
from Arizona

Not Happy

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Vigoro two zone timer that I have bought within a year and they both have done the same thing. They start leaking from the valves. It seems that after a very short period of time the valves do not shut down completely. Needless to say this will be the last Vigoro product that I buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
bapace
from Moreno Valley, CA

bad timer

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This timer works well in warm sunny weather, but any adverse weather will cause breakage. Its a ripoff. Poor construction, eats batteries!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Paul
from Midlothian, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not a dependable product

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've given this product the benefit of the doubt for too long. It's priced reasonably, but I've lost more money using this product than what I think I saved. It works fine for little while but soon craps out. I've gone back to get another just because I thought it was a fluke. The last straw was when I got my recent water bill. This product died in the "on" position...while I was on vacation. $130 in water later, I come home to find my well watered lawn. Another limitation, which is bothersome, is the inability to time the next watering session using the current time. I cannot set the current time and set it for a particular future time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
cliltz

Great if you love subpar products

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Some people on sites have complained about the difficulty in setting timings for the timer but honestly, if you read the instructions it becomes pretty simple to operate. My complaint is with the quality. Vigoro does not have any mention of this product on their website and that can't be a good sign of product support. The worst part of the product however, is that it leaks in the battery compartment. In just 2 weeks I replaced the 4 AA batteries twice due to the low battery light. I thought it rather strange that it could go through batteries that quickly. It turns out the water leak corroded the battery terminals. I cleaned them. Still no good. I am back to watering my garden by hand until I find another 2 zone timer that is quality and worth the money spent. There aren't many options for two zone timers but if you can avoid this product you should.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
rd210001
from camarillo 93012
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unreliable

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 1 yr it is irratic...will not shut offf. co-incidentally this is right after battery change. i have the vigoro single valce one. they all seem to be poor quality. wish i had known when i bought it. now i will try orbit. they seem to have better reviews.
on the technical side it seems the solenoid valve does not wok correctly at full water pressure. if i reduce input line to 1/2 open then it appears to be working.any case unreliable so i stopped using it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Steve
from San Diego, CA, USA

Two units, same issue both times.

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First one worked fairly well for a couple of years, but valve stuck and broke the cog inside. So replaced the unit, and exact thing happened again. I have taken them apart, and it's all plastic inside. The problem is that the valve sticks, and then messes up the cog wheels and the electrical system. They need to have better valves and the thing would work fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
acp64
from Atlanta, GA

Good Timer

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a timer for a trip I was taking so my veggie garden could get watered. The timer works well. I can use it manually or put it on automatic. The only bad thing is the price. I thought it was a little steep since you can't program it for an exact time. I did like the fact that I could use 2 different hoses with different time schedules. One other small problem is that it drips water where it connects to the faucet. I did use the supplied washer but it still has a small constant drip.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
geocash
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk do not buy

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have three of these and each one has done the same thing. Battery light starts blnking and valves start to cycle on/off. Replacing batteries does not fix the problem. They maybe last 9-12 months. There are much better choices. I will be retunring to HD for a refund!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Charlie
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

You've read it in other reviews...

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In less than a year they give out. Change batteries & the thing flashes its "low-battery" light & the valves just churn away continuously until new batteries are removed or dead. Don't recommend this product at all. Waste of $$
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Edmund2830
from peoria,az

Excellent water timer

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This water timer is by far the best on the market..No timer is capable of doing what this timer can do.It can be programed with a lot of time choices unlike other timers with only twice a day only. the other unique option this timer has is It has two separate units to use for different areas.before buying water timer try this one you will be glad you did.
Ed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
lynnreva
from Ruidoso, NM

Great Water Saver

PostedMay 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This timer has worked very well and no problems or malfunctions noticed. I can set it to water my new lawn 10 - 15 minutes every 3 or 4 hours through the day. The only thing keeping this timer from getting 5 Stars is; I have to turn it off for the night and re-set it the next day. It makes watering so much easier. I started with one timer and purchased another for the other side of the house.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
RVADIY
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great timer for getting grass growing

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This timer has worked well for when we can't be home and still need to get the grass watered. Also great for regular watering schedule vs. heavy watering in the evening. No leaks noted and timer is accurate, the ability to run to line from the timer on independent schedules is great too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Chot

Erratic Turn On Time

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It never started at the right time since we bought them (2 units). I thought it was my mistake for not reading the instructions correctly.
So, I followed the instructions on how to create a new program and set the new program again. Alas, they still don't turn on at the right time. What's troublesome was that sometimes they turn on at the hottest part of the day.
I rate fair because the duration feature is definitely hand.
We are going to try the timer with actual clock setting next...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Zone Water Timer-DISCONTINUED
Trilogy7
from SW Washington - heavy duty gardener

Worked great for a couple of years - then quit

PostedJune 4, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the predecessor to this (Model 682CT) a couple of years ago. The first couple of years it worked fantastically and I had nothing but good to say about it.
This season it won't work properly. It only does rapid cycling of the water for either of the timers. Regardless of the setting I use, it turns the water on...a few seconds later turns it off...then on...then off, etc. I've tried new batteries but the behavior never changes...other than when it chooses to do nothing at all!
Maybe this problem is solved in this new model...I'm just not willing to spend $40 to find out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>