728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Sander Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

The Hyde Tools Hand Vacuum Sand Kit for Shop-Type Vacuum Cleaners helps you sand drywall with little to no dust. This kit can be used with most shop-type vacuums. It features the Easyclamp system for quick loading. This sand kit comes with a 6 ft. hose, a drywall screen and coupling adapters.
Overall rating:
4.712 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product55 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product55 of 56reviews
Customer reviews for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
Review 1 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't be any happier with this tool.

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To say that I'm a fan of this tool would be an understatement. I had been putting off finishing a drywall repair for about two months because it was in a centrally-located area of the house and I have an infant breathing our indoor air. Needless to say, getting dust everywhere wasn't an option. It really couldn't have been any easier to use this product. Open the box, attach the screen to the tool, attach the hose to the shop vac. That's about it. I did add a little water to my shop vac canister, and used some bundling tape at my hose connections just to be 100% sure that they wouldn't come apart, but I doubt that was necessary. Long story short, I turned on the shop vac and this thing knocked it out of the park. I didn't have any issues the screen leaving ruts as others had mentioned. Overall, a great product. I've already recommended it to a few friends and I doubt I'll stop there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, works as advertised
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

Hyde Dust-Free Drywall Sanding Kit

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried other dust collecting methods and this one by far works the best. Simply attach it to a shop vac and sand away. I do mostly small repair jobs and don't have the budget for a commercial dust collecting system. Of the sanders I've used, this one catches the most dust. The others left a considerable amount of dust floating in the air or falling to the floor. The Hyde, because of its unique design, makes sanding so much less messy. I found the this sander works best with sanding screens rather than sand paper. Also, I found it useful to use a disposable bag in side the shop vac. The fine sanding dust quickly clogs the pleated filter that comes with most shop vacs. While pleated filters can be cleaned, it can be a real mess. I found that using a disposable vacuume cleaner bag inside the vac worked great. I highly recommend this dust collecting sander.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from NC

GREAT PRODUCT; DOES WHAT IT SAYS

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If anyone is going to sand sheetrock: This is a GREAT tool that really does what it says. I am redoing a bedroom and put up new sheetrock. I am at the stage to sand it and I have been dreading it. Well this tool cut the dust down by 90-95%. I even decided to forgo the mask because there was so little dust.
I had to sand a small area and I was amazed how much dust came off the wall when I used one of those sanding sponges. In a 8"x12" area I had about 1 square foot of dust on the carpet so thick I almost couldn't see the gray carpet. Compare that to just a light dusting for the rest of the room.
Now don't get to thinking that I enjoyed the sanding, but it was nice to do it without getting covered in dust and having to clean it up too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing - No Dust!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After starting a bathroom remodel and dealing with lots of drywall dust I purchased this to finish the job and it worked amazingly well. Now I'm prepping the living room walls to paint and had a friend helping. He cannot believe how well it works and has borrowed it to use on his project. He is wishing he had one years ago! The mesh pad cuts through the mud quickly so use it gently. WAY better than sandpaper.
My only complaint was occasional slippage of the hose off the vacuum hose (when I reach too far!) so a couple more feet of hose would help. But a little strip of duct tape prevents that. No mask required. No scalp full of dust. The dreaded project is no longer dreaded!!
Wonderful inexpensive tool!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, simplifies the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Bay Village, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works surprisingly well

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had my doubts when I ordered this, but it really does work the way reviewers said it would. It eliminates 90-95% of the drywall dust. The hose could be longer. I had to pick up the shop vac when doing the areas near the ceiling. It works best going forward and back as you sand. Ear protection is a good idea. Otherwise, your ears will be ringing for a while. Buy extra sanding sheets before you start. It only comes with one, and that doesn't last forever. Also, very important to buy the filter bag for the shop vac. That traps all the dust in the vacuum. The sanding sheet works very well. It comes with fine grit screen, which is good. Get "medium" if you have more jagged areas to sand down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: hose could be a foot longer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An effective product for dustless wallboard/drywall sanding.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this product to meet and further confirm the positive reviews I'd read before purchasing this product. This product provides as an inexpensive and as effective means as one could find of avoiding objectionable dust that results when sanding drywall. The length of flexible hose and different fittings included allow it to be conveniently used with shop vacuums with either 1 1/4 or 2 1/2 inch hoses. There is also a convenient fitting for adjusting vacuum so that vacuum pressure can be reduced so the sanding pad doesn't cling so much against the wall and make sanding effort more easy, which I found did not compromise the ability to reduce sanding dust.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, effective and relatively inexpensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Buffalo, NY

Nice product, but be careful

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works as designed, but my problem with it is that it is not a finish sander. I'm using 220 grit fine screens, and yet it leaves the grooves from the sandpaper screens, which I then must hand sand to a smooth finish coat. I went to a local drywall supply specialty store thinking I'd get finer screens, but 220 is the finest. The guy there said that these things are good for knocking down high stuff, but they are not a finish sander.
It does a good job, though, and there is virtually no dust to speak of. Just don't think your going to be done sanding after using this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes sanding drywall much easier, no cleanup.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The biggest compliant about fixing drywall is the dust and mess made with cleaning. With this sander and a decent Shop-Vac, you get 98% of the dust while sanding. If you are doing new drywall and are good at mudding, I don't know if this is for you, but for the average DYI-er, this will help with the patching and fixing the nail pop outs.
At first I wished it had a handle attachment, but after using it, I think it would make it more difficult with the hoses banging around.
I would buy another one and I recommend it to anyone who qualifies with the above description.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

Exactly what we needed!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much less dust when using this! We have gutted and drywalled almost every room in our home and have always had to deal with a major mess. I saw this product online and decided to give it a try. When sanding our living room it left WAY less dust. My only issue was listening to the shop vac for all that time but i guess i would be listening to it anyways if we were to have to clean up all the mess later! Just remember to buy a special bag to use in your shop vac or you can blow up the motor with the fine dust....spoken from experience ;)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from San Carlos
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job - useful

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product is useful with a couple of caveats. The hose connection was not an exact fit for Shop-Vac and used plastic tape to tighten. What is particularly important is that the vac filter loads up very quickly and gives only about 5-10 minutes of use between clean-outs. Strongly recommend using either the large shop vacuum bags or acquiring a dust separator (see YouTube for some interesting ideas). Product quality is good but not exceptional. It DEFINITELY greatly reduces the sanding dust and truly helps with indoor sanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

Unbelievable!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was so procrastinating boarding and sanding a room of drywall because I hated the thought of dust being every where and on everything, and my furnace blowing the dust throughout the house. For twenty bucks, I didn't believe this would work either, but for twenty bucks decided to try it. I used a shop vac and put about two gallons of water in the bucket first, and it sands with NO dust. Honestly, I don't see any dust. Thrilled with the product, wish I had it years ago. Best twenty dollars I have ever spent for sure.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from East Liverpool, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for drywall sanding

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this over three years ago and thought for $20 i'll give it a try. I have done multiple jobs with it. By far the best $20 i've spent in a long time. I use a bag filter with my shop-vac and it catches just about everthing that comes off the walls. My neighbor is a contractor and was looking at it, he said he paid $1500 for a prfessional sander and this does the same job if not better. It's sturdy, does what it's suppose to do and takes years of abuse.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Alexandria, VA

Worth it's weight in gold

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have any drywall sanding you need done quickly and would like to do it without having to clean for days, get this tool. I used it with sanding screens and a a bucket head shopvac (w. HEPA filter) to sand 500+ sq feet of spackled ceilings. It did a fantastic job. The pole mounted version would have been good too, but with this you can put more pressure and also easily do walls. Fantastic product, fast shipping to store. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, attaches to any vac
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Sherman, TX

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was doing a kitchen remodel and had to do some drywall sanding. I hate the mess the dust makes. It goes everywhere. I knew this product would help some but I was very surpised at how much dust it collected. It got 95% of the dust. I just plugged the sander hose into the shop vac hose which gave me all the hose length I needed. I do recommend you use a dust bag on your shop vac that is made for fine dust or you will be cleaning your filter very often.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

Must have for a drywall job

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finished new drywalls in the entire basement, without even having to wear a mask. There was practically no dust when I was sanding the joints, this tool picked it all up.
I hooked it up to a regular vacuum cleaner - the one with a paper bag, bagless won't work! - replacing the bag every time "full" indicator lit up. The tool's hose is long enough to reach to the ceiling, and it comes with variety of adapters to connect to any vacuum.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, does what it designed for
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Delmont, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not have done it without!!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was a life send. I had tried sanding with a sander and had dust all over. Tried to sand the ceiling and I was eating dust. When I received this product I put it to work right away. Could not believe what a great job it did. Little or no dust at all!!! Had it not been for this product I don't think I could have finished the sanding. I also purchased a bag for my shop vac that made it so the filter would not clog.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose

works well, collects all the dust

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought it to sand dry wall and painted dry wall. once I figured which grit number to use ( it is supplied with a fine grit ), by going to teh store and try a couple of different grit, it worked very well. there is hardly any dust in teh room if the vacuum cleaner runs well. it can turn into a good workout depending on the surface to sand, but it is worth the effort as far as the smootheness of the surface at the end.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from virginia beach
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product but with a few drawbacks.

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sander is sturdy construction, the sanding screens are easy to attach, and the hose attaches easily to the vacuum hose. It's well-designed and eliminates airborne drywall dust when sanding.
The one drawback is that it comes with a 6 feet long 1.5" diameter hose. Sanding ceilings becomes tiresome due to the weight of a 2.5" shopvac hose. Would be less tiresome on the arms with an 8 or 10 foot 1.5" extension hose.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, designed well
Cons: extension hose too short for sanding ceilings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
from Belleville, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was sanding the drywall in our bedroom, and the dust would get everywhere even after putting plastic down. I did not get the special filters for the shopvac, just put water in the bottom and did what I needed to do. It may have dropped the slightest about of dust on the floor, but small enough to wipe up afterwards. Construction is sturdy, and the hoses are more than long enough to reach any spot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dust-Free Drywall Hand Sander Kit with 6-foot Hose
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT ITEM

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used a small shop vac with this product and it did wonders it catches 99.99% of the dry wall dust saves me from dusting and cleaning. if you work in commercial areas where smoke detectors are very powerful this will really help and it does not set of mass dust.
The only down side is at times you may have to use 2 hands at times -- other then that great worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>